DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-13 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A).
Regarding claim 9, Dai et al. discloses a club head having a striking face portion and a body portion attached to the striking face wherein the striking face portion and the body portion define an internal cavity wherein the internal cavity includes an additive manufactured fill.
Regarding claim 10, Dai et al. discloses the additive manufactured fill being metal.
Regarding claim 11, Dai et al. discloses the additive manufactured fill being a lattice structure.
Regarding claim 12, Dai et al. discloses the lattice structure having a first lattice structure portion having a first lattice structure density and a second lattice structure having a second lattice structure density wherein the second lattice structure density is less than the first lattice structure density.
Regarding claim 13, Dai et al. discloses the lattice structure making up more than 30% of the internal cavity volume.
Regarding claim 17, see the above regarding claims 9 and 11.
Regarding claim 18, Dai et al. discloses the lattice structure having a first lattice structure portion having a first lattice structure density and a second lattice structure having a second lattice structure density wherein the second lattice structure density is less than the first lattice structure density.
Regarding claim 19, see the above regarding claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleghorn et al. (US 2017/0173420) in view of Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A).
Regarding claim 1, Cleghorn et al. discloses a club head having a striking face portion and a body portion attached to the rear of the striking face portion. The striking face portion and the body portion formed an internal cavity. The body portion further includes a weight adjustment portion having an elongated channel having a plurality of scalloped depressions along a lower wall of the elongate channel, a weight member having a fastener aperture, and a fastener having a fastener head and threaded shaft (See Figures 40 and 43). Cleghorn et al. notes that the club head design can be applied to utility type club heads (See Paragraph 0116). Cleghorn et al. does not disclose the internal cavity having an additive manufactured fill. Dai et al. discloses a utility club head having a striking face and a body attached to the striking face wherein the striking face and the body define an internal cavity wherein the internal cavity includes an additive manufactured fill. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an additive manufactured fill in the internal cavity, as taught by Dai et al., in order to improve the hitting sound of the club head.
Regarding claim 2, Dai et al. discloses the additive manufactured fill being metal.
Regarding claim 3, Dai et al. discloses the additive manufactured fill being a lattice structure.
Regarding claim 4, Dai et al. discloses the lattice structure having a first lattice structure portion having a first lattice structure density and a second lattice structure having a second lattice structure density wherein the second lattice structure density is less than the first lattice structure density.
Regarding claim 5, Dai et al. discloses the lattice structure making up more than 30% of the internal cavity volume.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 9-13, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 14 of Application No. 18736764 in view of Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A). Application No. 18/736764 claims the same subject matter except for having an additive manufactured fill. Dai et al. discloses a utility club head having a striking face and a body attached to the striking face wherein the striking face and the body define an internal cavity wherein the internal cavity includes an additive manufactured fill. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an additive manufactured fill in the internal cavity, as taught by Dai et al., in order to improve the hitting sound of the club head.
This is a provisional obvious double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-5, 9-13, and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15, and 16 of US Patent 11925841 in view of Dai et al. (CN 110665198 A). US Patent 11925841 claims the same subject matter except for having an additive manufactured fill. Dai et al. discloses a utility club head having a striking face and a body attached to the striking face wherein the striking face and the body define an internal cavity wherein the internal cavity includes an additive manufactured fill. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an additive manufactured fill in the internal cavity, as taught by Dai et al., in order to improve the hitting sound of the club head.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 14-16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711