DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,099,145 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the issued patent have only differences in language from the pending claims, while in some instances are verbatim and identical. Furthermore, the independent claims of the issued patent are more detailed than the pending independent claims in the application (except for the column adders limitations), and would fully anticipate the independent claims in the pending application (except for the column adders). See table below for correspondence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi (US 2020/0348416) in view of Mellot (US 2021/0063240).
Regarding Claims 1, 8 and 15, Sakaguchi teaches a system, method and electronic circuit for suppressing ambient light in a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device [0091-95; 0101-4; 0108-09; 0112-13; 0125; 0128-29; 0161-62; 0278-79; 0283], comprising: a plurality of columns of macro-pixels on a photodetector [0091-95; 0101-4; 0108-09; 0112-13; 0125; 0128-29; 0161-62; 0278-79; 0283], a plurality of adders, each adder configured to construct output from each macro- pixel in the one column into a multi-level digital signal. [0140-57; 0214-17]. Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach - but Mellot teaches wherein only one column of the plurality of columns is to receive one or more reflected photons at a time [0067]. It would have been obvious to modify the system and method of Sakaguchi to include using one column for detection at a time to reduce background noise, improve accuracy of distance detection, and/or improve signal to noise ratio in the desired sub-array region.
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18, Sakaguchi also teaches wherein the laser scanner is to scan for a predetermined number of times, each time at a different angle, such that the turned-on column of macro-pixels is to receive the one or more reflected laser pulses of a same portion of a target object from the different angles [0110; 0283; 0290].
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 19 Sakaguchi also teaches wherein the laser scanner to scan for a predetermined number of times, each time at a same angle, such that the turned-on column of macro-pixels is to receive the one or more reflected laser pulses of a same portion of a target object from the same angle [0102; 0110; 0280-83; 0290].
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Sakaguchi also teaches wherein the plurality of columns of macro-pixels are arranged into a macro-pixel array [0091-95; 0101-4; 0108-09; 0112-13; 0125; 0128-29; 0161-62; 0278-79; 0283].
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Sakaguchi also teaches wherein the one or more macro-pixels in the photodetector comprises includes a plurality of single photon avalanche diodes (SPAD) [0091-95; 0101-4; 0108-09; 0112-13; 0125; 0128-29; 0161-62; 0278-79; 0283].
Regarding Claim 20, Sakaguchi also teaches a staircase digital signal [0140-57; 0214-17].
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaguchi (US 2020/0348416) in view of Mellot (US 2021/0063240), as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Ferreira (US 2020/0284883).
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16, Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach – but Ferreira does teach wherein the photons read from the one or more more macro-pixels include one or more signal photons and one or more noise photons [0410; 0474; 0481-84]. It would have been obvious to modify the system and method of Sakaguchi to include signal and noise photons in order to estimate background radiation but maximize signal to noise ratio in the desired sub-array region.
Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 17, Sakaguchi does not explicitly teach – but Ferreira does teach wherein the controlling unit is further configured to register the multi-level digital signal based on a predetermined threshold [1687; 2115; 2918; 2994; 3177; 3191; 3221; 3232]. It would have been obvious to modify the system and method of Sakaguchi to include producing a multi-level signal and setting a threshold in order to estimate background radiation but maximize signal to noise ratio in the desired sub-array region.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645