Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/27/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0182395 by Iguchi et al. (Iguchi).
With respect to claim 1, Iguchi teaches an operating method of an electronic device, the operating method comprising:
transmitting, by a first metaverse platform (MP), first data for a first avatar registered in the first MP to a second MP that is different from the first MP; (Paragraph 167-169, 174-176 – example first virtual space (metaverse) of first server and second virtual space of second server that operate independently from each other. The general objective of the invention is transferring the user avatar between such virtual spaces; Paragraph 226-254, 246 , Fig. 12– specifically the data of the first avatar of the first virtual space is examined to determine permissions and conversions for such transfer. Paragraph 243 specifically indicates this determination processing and potential conversion may occur at the second server. Accordingly in such an embodiment, the second server would receive the first data for the first avatar (such as corresponding coordination data and object data) to perform the processing) and
determining, by the second MP, a second avatar to be used in the second MP based on the first data. (Paragraph 226-243 – based on coordination data and object data, a determination is made as to whether conversion/substation is needed. If not, the original avatar is determined to be used, otherwise a converted or substituted avatar is determined. Examiner again notes paragraph 243 explicitly indicates such determination can occur at the 2nd server)
With respect to claim 2, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, further comprising: converting, by the second MP, the first data according to a policy of the second MP when the first data transmitted from the first MP to the second MP needs to be converted according to the policy of the second MP. (Paragraphs 232-234, 259-263, 266, 267 – conversion of avatar data may be based on policy including permitted shapes (e.g. – gun shape may be prohibited) as well as display and other format requirements)
With respect to claim 4, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, wherein the first avatar is an original avatar managed by a user to express an identity of the user in the first MP. (Paragraph 31, 82, 174-175 – avatar represents the user in the virtual space, example transfer from first server to second server indicates the first server is the original in context)
With respect to claim 5, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, wherein the second avatar is a roaming avatar in which the first avatar is moved to the second MP and transformed according to a feature and compatibility of the second MP. (Paragraphs 174-175 , 226-243 – first avatar is transferred to the second MP and converted as necessary, thus is a roaming avatar per the claim)
With respect to claim 6, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the second avatar comprises: determining whether the first avatar is allowed in the second MP when the first avatar is an avatar that supports synchronization in the second MP (Paragraphs 244-256 – descriptions of determination of first avatar is allowed based on, for example, permissions); determining the first avatar to be the second avatar when the first avatar is allowed in the second MP (Paragraph 232, 258 – first avatar will be the second avatar when allowed and conversion not necessary) ; and determining the second avatar by modifying the first avatar when the first avatar is not allowed in the second MP (Paragraph 234-235, 259-263, 266, 267 - avatar is modified through conversion or substitution if not allowed based on a particular requirement)
With respect to claim 7, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the second avatar comprises: determining whether an identifier of the first avatar is registered in the second MP when the first avatar is an avatar that does not support synchronization in the second MP; and determining an avatar corresponding to the identifier of the first avatar registered in the second MP to be the second avatar when the identifier of the first avatar is registered in the second MP. (Paragraph 258 = a common ID may be registered in the virtual space and conversion determined unnecessary such that the first avatar will be the second avatar )
With respect to claim 8, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the second avatar comprises determining the second avatar by changing an appearance of the first avatar in the second MP when the first avatar does not support synchronization in the second MP and an identifier of the first avatar is not registered in the second MP. (Paragraph 258-276 – if not a common ID, change in a appearance is part of the conversion processing)
With respect to claim 9, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 8, wherein the appearance of the first avatar, which is not changed in the second MP, is displayed visually differently and changed according to user control. (Paragraphs 82-83, 184-185 – a user’s avatar can be dynamic and thus a user may change their first avatar after a transfer of the avatar to a second virtual space)
With respect to claim 10, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the second avatar comprises determining the second avatar to be a default avatar provided by the second MP when the first avatar is not capable of being used in the second MP or a command to use another avatar in the second MP is received from a user. (Paragraph 234-235, 272– a provided preset substitute avatar acts as an equivalent to a default avatar)
Claims 11-13 and 15-20 are similar in scope to claims 1-2 and 4-10 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi in view of US 2024/0390796 by Troy et al. (Troy).
With respect to claim 3, Iguchi teaches the operating method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: transmitting, by the second MP, second data for the second avatar used in the second MP to the first MP; and synchronizing, by the first MP, the first avatar registered in the first MP with the second avatar, based on the second data.
Troy teaches a system for managing an avatar across multiple metaverse platforms (Abstract, Paragraph 2). This management includes where if changes are made to the avatar on one platform, the data will be sent to and synchronized with other associated platforms. (Paragraphs 86-87 - any changes or updates made to the avatar or assets in one of the 3D rendering platforms 10 are reflected across all other platforms; Any changes made during these sessions are saved and synchronized across platforms)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first avatar on the first MP of Iguchi be synchronized with the second data of the second avatar as in Troy. One would be motivated to have this for the benefit of a seamless user experience across multiple platforms (Troy paragraph 86)
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 3 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
/DAVID R LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455