Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TONG et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0022927 A1), hereinafter, TONG.
Regarding Claim 1, TONG teaches,
A sensing device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the sensing device to perform: -Paragraph [0610, ] ([0610] recites, “The RAN(s), RAN node(s), or sensing agent(s) may perform, implement, or apply the corresponding sensing configurations in the RAN node(s), and associated UE(s) with sensing capability in the example shown, and sensing activities can then be performed to collect sensing data. Sensing capability is labelled in FIG. 23 only at the UEs 2330, 2332 in FIG. 23, but other types of sensing devices, including one or more RAN nodes for example, may also or instead collect sensing data.” [0904] recites, “The device may include a memory to store processor-executable instructions, and a processor to execute the processor-executable instructions. When the processor executes the processor-executable instructions, the processor may be caused perform the method steps of the device as described above, e.g. in relation to FIGS. 33 and/or FIG. 34.”)
determining, based on a first measurement result, whether to activate a wireless sensing service, -Paragraph [0622] ([0622] recites, “Based on the sensing service request 2420, the sensing block 2414 generates and sends, and the BS 2412 receives, a sensing configuration 2422, which may be applied at either or both of the BS and the UE 2410 in this example, depending on whether the BS or the UE is to perform sensing to collect sensing data. Thus, at 2422 FIG. 24 illustrates a step that involves the sensing block 2414 generating and sending a sensing configuration to the BS 2412, and a step that involves the BS 2412 receiving a sensing configuration from the sensing block 2414. A sensing configuration may include, for example, control information for sensing (e.g., sensing configuration (e.g., waveform for sensing signals, sensing frame structure), sensing measurement configuration and/or sensing triggering/feedback command(s)).” As explained above, based on the control information for sensing and measurement (measurement configuration is provided as stated above in the control information), and sensing trigger (activation) of wireless sensing may occur)
wherein the first measurement result comprises indication information indicating whether there is a line of sight. -Paragraph [0295-0296, 0717] ([0296] recites, “passive localization may help in identifying LOS links and mitigating residual non-LOS (NLOS) bias; “ [0717] recites, “Sensing and positioning: In some embodiments, both measured channel data and sensing and positioning data may be available and obtained, due to availability of large bandwidth, new spectrum, dense network and/or more line-of-sight (LOS) links”)
Regarding Claim 2, TONG teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
TONG further teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 1, wherein the first measurement result is obtained by the sensing device by measuring a wireless signal; -Fig. 24; Paragraph [0113, 0699] (Fig. 24 shows sensing data (measurement can be done both at the BS or at the UE. [0113] recites, “Similarly, information related to sensing may be referred to herein in any of various ways, including information for sensing, sensing information, and sensing data. Information related to sensing may include results of sensing or measurements, also referred to herein as, for example, sensed data, sensing measurements, sensing measurement(s) data, sensing measurement(s) information, sensing results, measurement results, or measurements.”[0699] recites, “ In some implementations, for the uplink, the TRP may send information (e.g., an indication of one or more parameters) to the UE, for use by the UE. Examples of such information may include measurement result(s), KPI(s), and/or other information for AI training/updating, data communication, or AI operation performance monitoring, etc.”)
or the first measurement result is obtained by the sensing device, and the first measurement result is obtained by measuring a wireless signal transmitted by the sensing device. -Fig. 24; Paragraph [0653, 0709, 0939, 0941]([0653] recites, “when operating in AI mode 1, the UE 2502 may transmit, to the network device 2552, information used for training at the network device 2552, and/or information (e.g., measurement results and/or information on error rates) used by the network device 2552 to monitor and/or adjust the AI optimization.” [0709] recites, “In one example, a TRP transmits, to a UE, a reference signal (such as a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)). The reference signal is used by the UE to perform a measurement and thereby obtain a measurement result. For example, the measurement may be measuring CSI to obtain the CSI. The UE then transmits a measurement report to report some or all of the measurement result, for example to report some or all of the CSI.” [0939] recites, “the UE 4002 may send a response or confirmation to the network device 4004 at 4014, and collect sensing data at 4016. Sensing measurement results, also referred to herein as sensing data, are transmitted by the UE 4002 and received by the network device 4004 at 4020, in a sensing or measurement report for example. The network device 4004 uses the received sensing data for AI training (not shown), and may transmit to the UE 4002 “)
Regarding Claim 7, TONG teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
TONG further teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the sensing device to further perform: receiving first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate that a sensed target supports a wireless communication function, or the first information is used to indicate that a sensed target supports a wireless signal transmitting function, or the first information is used to indicate that a sensed target supports a function of measuring a received wireless signal. -Fig. 24-25; Paragraph [0369-0373, 0622-0623] ([0622-0623] recites, “Based on the sensing service request 2420, the sensing block 2414 generates and sends, and the BS 2412 receives, a sensing configuration 2422, which may be applied at either or both of the BS and the UE 2410 in this example, depending on whether the BS or the UE is to perform sensing to collect sensing data. Thus, at 2422 FIG. 24 illustrates a step that involves the sensing block 2414 generating and sending a sensing configuration to the BS 2412, and a step that involves the BS 2412 receiving a sensing configuration from the sensing block 2414. A sensing configuration may include, for example, control information for sensing (e.g., sensing configuration (e.g., waveform for sensing signals, sensing frame structure), sensing measurement configuration and/or sensing triggering/feedback command(s)). Sensing control information or a sensing configuration may be sent by the BS 2412 and received by the UE 2410 as illustrated by the dashed line at 2430. This involves the BS 2412 sending, to the UE 2410, a sensing parameter measurement configuration in the example shown. At the UE 2410, a step of receiving the sensing parameter measurement configuration from the BS 2412 may be performed. A sensing parameter measurement configuration, also referred to herein as a sensing measurement configuration, may include, for example, one or more of: sensing quantity configuration (e.g., specifying a parameter or type of information that is to be sensed), frame structure (FS) configuration (e.g., sensing symbols), sensing periodicity, etc.” [0369-0373] recites, “Position determination may be by the UE itself and/or by network devices such as base stations and may involve measuring reference signals and analyzing measured information such as signal delays between the UE and the network devices….. a RAN node has no built-in AI agent or sensing agent but may be able to provide wireless communication measurements to support AI and/or sensing operations;”)
Regarding Claim 8, TONG teaches the limitations of Claim 7.
TONG further teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 7, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: identity information of the sensed target, a cell radio network temporary identifier C-RNTI of the sensed target, a cell identity of a serving cell of the sensed target, or information of a serving base station of the sensed target. -Fig. 24-25; Paragraph [0621] ([0621] recites, “…A sensing service request may include, for example, information indicating one of more of sensing task, sensing parameters, sensing resources, or other sensing configuration for a sensing operation.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that sensing configuration includes cell identification of serving cell, C-RNTI of the sensed target etc.)
Regarding Claim 9, TONG teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
TONG further teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first measurement result is obtained by the sensing device by measuring a wireless signal, a configuration of the wireless signal is indicated by the sensing device, or a configuration of the wireless signal is indicated by a serving base station of a sensed target. -Fig. 24; Paragraph [0622-0623] (Fig. 24 (2422, 2430) shows BS and UE can receive sensing configuration and may do sensing data collection (2424, 2430) based on the configuration. [0622-0623] recites, “Thus, at 2422 FIG. 24 illustrates a step that involves the sensing block 2414 generating and sending a sensing configuration to the BS 2412, and a step that involves the BS 2412 receiving a sensing configuration from the sensing block 2414. A sensing configuration may include, for example, control information for sensing (e.g., sensing configuration (e.g., waveform for sensing signals, sensing frame structure), sensing measurement configuration and/or sensing triggering/feedback command(s)). Sensing control information or a sensing configuration may be sent by the BS 2412 and received by the UE 2410 as illustrated by the dashed line at 2430. This involves the BS 2412 sending, to the UE 2410, a sensing parameter measurement configuration in the example shown. At the UE 2410, a step of receiving the sensing parameter measurement configuration from the BS 2412 may be performed. A sensing parameter measurement configuration, also referred to herein as a sensing measurement configuration, may include, for example, one or more of: sensing quantity configuration (e.g., specifying a parameter or type of information that is to be sensed), frame structure (FS) configuration (e.g., sensing symbols), sensing periodicity, etc.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TONG
in view of CHANG SIK et al. (Patent No: KR 2024-0065246 A), hereinafter, CHANG SIK.
Regarding Claim 3, TONG teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly mention,
The sensing device according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on a first measurement result, whether to activate a wireless sensing service comprises: in a case that there is a line of sight, determining to activate the wireless sensing service; and/or in a case that there is no line of sight, determining not to activate the wireless sensing service.
However, in an analogous invention, CHANG SIK teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on a first measurement result, whether to activate a wireless sensing service comprises: in a case that there is a line of sight, determining to activate the wireless sensing service; and/or in a case that there is no line of sight, determining not to activate the wireless sensing service. -Paragraph [0095] ([0095] recites, “Positioning devices 510-515 that are part of a positioning session may be managed. Positioning devices can be activated or deactivated from participating in a positioning session. For example, a positioning device responding to an availability query may be instructed to broadcast PRS and measure PRS from other participants in the positioning session. If a positioning device 510-515 receiving pre-PRS signaling is NLOS for PRS that occurs more frequently than a threshold number of positioning devices 510-515 in a positioning session and/or more frequently than a threshold NLOS frequency, then Positioning devices 510-515 may be deactivated, e.g., instructed not to transmit PRS and/or PRS transmitted from positioning devices 510-515 may be transmitted to other of the positioning devices 510-515” [0117] recites, “In an example implementation, obtaining the LOS/NLOS status for the plurality of pairs of the plurality of positioning devices includes a combination of multiple LOS/NLOS indications corresponding to different times for each of the plurality of pairs of the plurality of positioning devices. It includes the step of deciding. For example, the LOS/NLOS determination unit 670 of the management positioning device 705 may determine the LOS/NLOS status of the pair, e.g., to ensure that the LOS/NLOS determination is strengthened over time. More than one LOS/NLOS indication for a pair of positioning devices may be used to determine the LOS/NLOS status. Processor 610, possibly in combination with memory 630, may include means for determining a combination of multiple LOS/NLOS indications. As another example, processor 310, possibly in combination with memory 311, may include means for determining a combination of multiple LOS/NLOS indications. In another example implementation, determining a combination of the multiple LOS/NLOS indications includes determining an average of the
multiple LOS/NLOS indications. For example, LOS/NLOS determination unit 670 of management positioning device 705 may determine that a particular pair of positioning devices has a LOS of 60% of the samples. The LOS/NLOS determination unit 670 of the management positioning device 705 may, for example, assign numerical values to the LOS and NLOS indications (e.g., assign a value of 1 to LOS and a value of 0 to NLOS). Assignment) You can average the indications by summing the N values (corresponding to N LOS/NLOS indications) and dividing by N. In another example implementation, obtaining a LOS/NLOS status for a plurality of pairs of a plurality of positioning devices may include obtaining a LOS/NLOS status based on exceeding a threshold percentage of a plurality of LOS/NLOS indications for the pair indicating that the pair is NLOS. For each of the plurality of pairs of positioning devices, determining that the pair is NLOS. For example, LOS/NLOS determination unit 670 of management positioning device 705 may determine the LOS/NLOS status of a pair of positioning devices if the indications for that pair indicate an NLOS greater than a threshold percentage for a given set of indications. It may be determined that the LOS/NLOS status is LOS, if not, or if more than a threshold percentage of LOS/NLOS indications for that pair indicates LOS.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “in a case that there is a line of sight, determining to activate the wireless sensing service; and/or in a case that there is no line of sight, determining not to activate the wireless sensing service.” of CHANG SIK . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy, latency, clock drift and/or power consumption [0019].
Regarding Claim 4, TONG teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly mention,
The sensing device according to claim 1, wherein in a case of determining not to activate the wireless sensing service, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the sensing device to further perform: transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the sensing device rejects to activate or cannot activate wireless sensing.
However, in an analogous invention, CHANG SIK teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 1, wherein in a case of determining not to activate the wireless sensing service, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the sensing device to further perform: transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the sensing device rejects to activate or cannot activate wireless sensing.-Paragraph [00109-00110] ([00109-00110] recites, “The first positioning device 701 may be implicitly instructed not to transmit. Accordingly, message 752 may be a new PRS information message. As another example, based on it being determined that the second positioning device 702 is NLOS with at least a threshold amount of other positioning devices 701, 705, the message 752 may be 1 PRS measurement by the positioning device 701 can be disabled. Message 752 may (explicitly or implicitly) instruct first positioning device 701 not to measure PRS from second positioning device 702 during a positioning session, for example. Message 752 instructs positioning device 702 to leave the positioning session (e.g., not transmit PRS 722 and not measure PRS 721, 723) to determine PRS for positioning device 702”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the sensing device rejects to activate or cannot activate wireless sensing” of CHANG SIK . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy, latency, clock drift and/or power consumption [0019].
Regarding Claim 10, TONG teaches,
A target device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the target device to perform: -Paragraph [0270] ([0270] recites, “In some implementations (not shown in the drawing), the ED 110 may include an interface and a processor. The processor 210 may optionally store a program. The ED 110 may optionally include a memory, shown by way of example at 208. The memory may optionally store a program for execution by the processor 210. These components work together to provide the ED with various functionality described in this disclosure. For example, an ED processor and interface may work together to provide wireless connectivity between a TRP and an ED.
obtaining a first measurement result by measuring a wireless signal, and transmitting the first measurement result, -Paragraph [0653] ([0653] recites, “the UE 2502 may transmit, to the network device 2552, information used for training at the network device 2552, and/or information (e.g., measurement results and/or information on error rates) used by the network device 2552 to monitor and/or adjust the AI optimization.”)
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly mention,
wherein the first measurement result is used to determine whether to activate a wireless sensing service.
However, in an analogous invention, CHANG SIK teaches,
wherein the first measurement result is used to determine whether to activate a wireless sensing service. -Paragraph [0005] ([0005] recites, “..a positioning method includes establishing a positioning session between a plurality of positioning devices including a first positioning device and a second positioning device; Obtaining a line-of-sight (LOS)/non-line-of-sight (NLOS) state for a plurality of positioning device pairs, each of which is a plurality of pairs of positioning devices; “ As explained above the wireless sensing service (activation) is based on measurement and based on the state on whether or not there is LOS (LOS/NLOS state))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “the first measurement result is used to determine whether to activate a wireless sensing service” of CHANG SIK . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy, latency, clock drift and/or power consumption [0019].
Regarding Claim 11, TONG and CHANG SIK teach the limitations of Claim 10.
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly mention,
The target device according to claim 10, wherein the first measurement result comprises indication information indicating whether there is a line of sight.
However, in an analogous invention CHANG SIK teaches,
The target device according to claim 10, wherein the first measurement result comprises indication information indicating whether there is a line of sight. -Paragraph [00117] ([00117] recites, “….In an example implementation, obtaining the LOS/NLOS status for the plurality of pairs of the plurality of positioning devices includes a combination of multiple LOS/NLOS indications corresponding to different times for each of the plurality of pairs of the plurality of positioning devices. It includes the step of deciding. For example, the LOS/NLOS determination unit 670 of the management positioning device 705 may determine the LOS/NLOS status of the pair, e.g., to ensure that the LOS/NLOS determination is strengthened over time….”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “the first measurement result comprises indication information indicating whether there is a line of sight” of CHANG SIK . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy, latency, clock drift and/or power consumption [0019].
Regarding Claim 12, TONG and CHANG SIK teach the limitations of Claim 11.
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly mention,
The target device according to claim 11, wherein in a case that there is the line of sight, the first measurement result is used to determine to activate the wireless sensing service; and/or in a case that there is no line of sight, the first measurement result is used to determine not to activate the wireless sensing service.
However, in an analogous invention CHANG SIK teaches,
The target device according to claim 11, wherein in a case that there is the line of sight, the first measurement result is used to determine to activate the wireless sensing service; and/or in a case that there is no line of sight, the first measurement result is used to determine not to activate the wireless sensing service.
-Paragraph [00118] ([00118] recites, “For example, positioning devices in a current positioning session may be notified that the devices could benefit from being in a positioning session with each other. In another example implementation, the deactivation message indicates that the first positioning device and the second positioning device establish a second positioning session based on the LOS/NLOS status of the first positioning device with respect to the second positioning device being LOS. For example, if devices in a current positioning session are frequently LOS to each other, for example, exceeding a threshold percentage of decisions, the devices may be instructed to form a positioning session with each other. Devices may or may not be removed from the current location session. For example, if the device(s) are NLOS more than a threshold number of other devices in the current positioning session, one or more of the devices may be removed from the current positioning session. transmitting a deactivation message to a first positioning device based on the LOS/NLOS status of at least one of the first positioning device or the second positioning device being non-line-of-sight to at least a subset of the plurality of positioning devices, wherein the deactivation message is configured to: 1 indicates deactivating at least one of transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals from a positioning device or measurement by the first positioning device of one or more second positioning reference signals from a second positioning device.
Obtain line-of-sight/non-line-of-sight status (LOS/NLOS status) for a plurality of positioning device pairs, each of which is a plurality of pairs of positioning devices; configured to transmit a deactivation message to the first positioning device based on the LOS/NLOS status of at least one of the first positioning device or the second positioning device being non-line-of-sight to at least a subset of the plurality of positioning devices, wherein the deactivation message is configured to: Indicates deactivating at least one of transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals from a first positioning device or measurement of one or more second positioning reference signals from a second positioning device by the first positioning device.
means for establishing a positioning session between a plurality of positioning devices including a first positioning device and a second positioning device;
means for obtaining line-of-sight/non-line-of-sight status (LOS/NLOS status) for a plurality of positioning device pairs, each of which is a plurality of pairs of positioning devices; and
Means for transmitting a deactivation message to a first positioning device based on the LOS/NLOS status of at least one of the first positioning device or the second positioning device being line-of-sight to at least a subset of the plurality of positioning devices, the deactivation message comprising: Indicates deactivating at least one of transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals from a first positioning device or measurement by the first positioning device of one or more second positioning reference signals from a second positioning device.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “in a case that there is the line of sight, the first measurement result is used to determine to activate the wireless sensing service; and/or in a case that there is no line of sight, the first measurement result is used to determine not to activate the wireless sensing service.” of CHANG SIK . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy, latency, clock drift and/or power consumption [0019].
Regarding Claim 13, TONG teaches,
A sensing functional entity, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the sensing functional entity to perform: -Paragraph [0640, 0904] ([0640] recites, “The network node or UE may have its own sensing functionality and/or dedicated sensing node(s) to obtain sensing information (e.g., network data) for AI operations.” [0904] recites, “The device may include a memory to store processor-executable instructions, and a processor to execute the processor-executable instructions. When the processor executes the processor-executable instructions, the processor may be caused perform the method steps of the device as described above, e.g. in relation to FIGS. 33 and/or FIG. 34. “)
transmitting first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate that a sensed target supports a wireless communication function, or the first information is used to indicate that a sensed target supports a wireless signal transmitting function, or the first information is used to indicate that a sensed target supports a function of measuring a received wireless signal; -Fig. 24; Paragraph [0621-0622, 0916] ([0620-0621] recites, “FIG. 24 illustrates the AI block 2416 sending, and the sensing block 2414 receiving, a sensing service request at 2420. Thus, 2420 denotes a step that involves the AI block 2416 sending a sensing service request to the sensing block 2414, and a step that involves the sensing block 2414 receiving a sensing service request from the AI block 2416. A sensing service request may include, for example, information indicating one of more of sensing task, sensing parameters, sensing resources, or other sensing configuration for a sensing operation. Based on the sensing service request 2420, the sensing block 2414 generates and sends, and the BS 2412 receives, a sensing configuration 2422, which may be applied at either or both of the BS and the UE 2410 in this example, depending on whether the BS or the UE is to perform sensing to collect sensing data. Thus, at 2422 FIG. 24 illustrates a step that involves the sensing block 2414 generating and sending a sensing configuration to the BS 2412, and a step that involves the BS 2412 receiving a sensing configuration from the sensing block 2414. A sensing configuration may include, for example, control information for sensing (e.g., sensing configuration (e.g., waveform for sensing signals, sensing frame structure), sensing measurement configuration and/or sensing triggering/feedback command(s)). [0916] recites, “The UE 3702 transmitting to the network device 3704, and the network device receiving, signaling at 3710 that is indicative of an AI/ML capability associated with the UE. AI/ML capability may be indicated by an index or other identifier of a UE feature, UE category, or AI/ML processing capability, for example. UE capability may be indicated in an RRC message carried in PUSCH or uplink control information carried in PUCCH/PUSCH, for example.”)
and the first information is used to trigger transmitting of a wireless signal, -Paragraph [0622] ([0622] recites, “…A sensing configuration may include, for example, control information for sensing (e.g., sensing configuration (e.g., waveform for sensing signals, sensing frame structure), sensing measurement configuration and/or sensing triggering/feedback command(s)).”)
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly teach,
and/or the first information is used to trigger determining, based on a first measurement result, of whether to activate a wireless sensing service, wherein the first measurement result comprises indication information indicating whether there is a line of sight.
However, in an analogous invention CHANG SIK teaches,
and/or the first information is used to trigger determining, based on a first measurement result, of whether to activate a wireless sensing service, wherein the first measurement result comprises indication information indicating whether there is a line of sight. -Paragraph [0005] ([0005] recites, “..a positioning method includes establishing a positioning session between a plurality of positioning devices including a first positioning device and a second positioning device; Obtaining a line-of-sight (LOS)/non-line-of-sight (NLOS) state for a plurality of positioning device pairs, each of which is a plurality of pairs of positioning devices; “ As explained above the wireless sensing service (activation) is based on measurement and based on the state on whether or not there is LOS (LOS/NLOS state))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “the first information is used to trigger determining, based on a first measurement result, of whether to activate a wireless sensing service, wherein the first measurement result comprises indication information indicating whether there is a line of sight.” of CHANG SIK . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy, latency, clock drift and/or power consumption [0019].
Regarding Claim 14, TONG and CHANG SIK teach the limitations of Claim 13.
TONG further teaches,
The sensing functional entity according to claim 13, wherein the first measurement result is obtained by measuring the wireless signal. -Paragraph [0369] ([0369] recites, “Positioning is a very specific feature that relates to determining the physical location of a UE in a wireless network (e.g., in a cell). Position determination may be by the UE itself and/or by network devices such as base stations and may involve measuring reference signals and analyzing measured information such as signal delays between the UE and the network devices. For actual wireless communication and optimized control, positioning of a UE is one measurement element among multiple possible measurement metrics. For example, a network may use information about surroundings of the UE, such as channel conditions, surrounding environment, etc., for better communication scheduling and control. In sensing operations, all related measurement information can be obtained for better communication.”
Claim 15 is essentially the same as Claim 8 except, claim 15 is a dependent claim of independent claim 13, while claim 8 is dependent of Claim 7. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 8 above which is rejected. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 8.
Claim 16 is essentially the same as Claim 12 except, claim 16 is a dependent claim of independent claim 13, while claim 12 is dependent of Claim 11. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 12 above which is rejected. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 12.
Claim 17 is essentially the same as Claim 4 except, claim 17 is a dependent claim of independent claim 13, while claim 4 is dependent of Claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 4 above which is rejected. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 20, TONG and CHANG SIK teach the limitations of Claim 13.
TONG further teaches,
The sensing functional entity according to claim 13, wherein a configuration of the wireless signal is indicated by a sensing device, or a configuration of the wireless signal is indicated by a serving base station of the sensed target. -Paragraph [0622] ([0622] recites, “ …BS 2412 receiving a sensing configuration from the sensing block 2414. A sensing configuration may include, for example, control information for sensing (e.g., sensing configuration (e.g., waveform for sensing signals, sensing frame structure), sensing measurement configuration and/or sensing triggering/feedback command(s)). Sensing control information or a sensing configuration may be sent by the BS 2412 and received by the UE 2410 as illustrated by the dashed line at 2430. This involves the BS 2412 sending, to the UE 2410, a sensing parameter measurement configuration in the example shown. At the UE 2410, a step of receiving the sensing parameter measurement configuration from the BS 2412 may be performed. A sensing parameter measurement configuration, also referred to herein as a sensing measurement configuration, may include, for example, one or more of: sensing quantity configuration (e.g., specifying a parameter or type of information that is to be sensed), frame structure (FS) configuration (e.g., sensing symbols), sensing periodicity, etc.”)
Claims 5-6 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TONG
in view of CHANG SIK and further in view of AU et al. (Patent No: US 2020/0319324 A1), hereinafter, AU.
Regarding Claim 5, TONG and CHANG SIK teach the limitations of claim 4.
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly teach,
The sensing device according to claim 4, wherein the first indication information comprises a reason field, and the reason field is used to indicate a reason why the sensing device rejects to activate or cannot activate wireless sensing.
However, in an analogous invention, AU teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 4, wherein the first indication information comprises a reason field, and the reason field is used to indicate a reason why the sensing device rejects to activate or cannot activate wireless sensing. -Paragraph [0380] ([0380] recites, “…a requirement of a predecessor signal to which a probe signal is a reply in a handshake, a data field requirement of a probe signal that causes the obtaining of CI by the Type 2 device, a header field requirement of a probe signal that causes the obtaining of CI by the Type 2 device, a data field requirement of a packet of a probe signal that causes the obtaining of CI by the Type 2 device, a control data field requirement of a probe signal that causes the obtaining of CI by the Type 2 device, and another signal-related requirement.” Also, as mentioned in CHANG SIK [0008] “ the processor-readable instructions cause a processor of an apparatus to display a plurality of devices including a first positioning device and a second positioning device. means for establishing a positioning session between the positioning devices of; means for obtaining line-of-sight/non-line-of-sight status (LOS/NLOS status) for a plurality of positioning device pairs, each of which is a plurality of pairs of
positioning devices; and providing means for transmitting a deactivation message to a first positioning device based on the LOS/NLOS status of at least one of the first positioning device or the second positioning device being non-line-of-sight to at least a subset of the plurality of positioning devices. and the deactivation message indicates deactivating at least one of the transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals from the first positioning device” From AU and CHANG SIK’s teachings, It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that when sensing device rejects or cannot activate wireless sensing based on LOS/NLOS status, it can indicate the reasoning in the control data field in the same way. )
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “in a case of determining not to activate the wireless sensing service, the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the sensing device to further perform: transmitting first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate that the sensing device rejects to activate or cannot activate wireless sensing.” of AU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless sensing accuracy [0199].
Regarding Claim 6, TONG, CHANG SIK and AU combination teach the limitations of Claim 5.
Although implicit, TONG does not explicitly mention,
The sensing device according to claim 5, wherein the reason comprises that there is no line of sight or a sensed target is not reachable.
However, in an analogous invention, CHANG SIK teaches,
The sensing device according to claim 5, wherein the reason comprises that there is no line of sight or a sensed target is not reachable. -Paragraph [0008] ([0008] “the processor-readable instructions cause a processor of an apparatus to display a plurality of devices including a first positioning device and a second positioning device. means for establishing a positioning session between the positioning devices of; means for obtaining line-of-sight/non-line-of-sight status (LOS/NLOS status) for a plurality of positioning device pairs, each of which is a plurality of pairs of
positioning devices; and providing means for transmitting a deactivation message to a first positioning device based on the LOS/NLOS status of at least one of the first positioning device or the second positioning device being non-line-of-sight to at least a subset of the plurality of positioning devices. and the deactivation message indicates deactivating at least one of the transmission of one or more first positioning reference signals from the first positioning device.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS ON WIRELESS NETWORK ARCHITECTURE AND AIR INTERFACE” proposed by TONG to include the concept of “the reason comprises that there is no line of sight or a sensed target is not reachable.” of CHANG SIK . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve accuracy, latency, clock drift and/or power consumption [0019].
Claim 18 is essentially the same as Claim 5 except, claim 18 is a dependent of claim 17, while claim 5 is dependent of Claim 4. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 5 above which is rejected. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 5.
Claim 19 is essentially the same as Claim 6 except, claim 19 is a dependent of claim 18, while claim 6 is dependent of Claim 5. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 6 above which is rejected. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475