DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 8/27/2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-11, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20230269818A1) in view of Babaei (US20210204215A1)
As claims 1, 15, and 19, Zhang teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: ([0075] In some examples, the computer platform 300 may be suitable for use as UEs 101,)
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and ([0076] The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 305 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the system 300.)
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: ([0076] The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 305 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the system 300.)
receive uplink prescheduling information that indicates uplink prescheduling is to be provided to the UE and one or more parameters associated with the uplink prescheduling; and ([0120] The duration of the inactivity timer (as well as the corresponding CDRX on duration 502 and the CDRX off duration 504, among others) can be defined by the network according to, for example, 3GPP TS 36.321, TS 38.321, and other related technical specifications. [0128] the UE has observed that pre-scheduling is enabled and that an uplink grant 810 has been received)
determine, when uplink data is present at the UE to be transmitted in a first uplink transmission, to skip a transmission of a first scheduling request to request uplink resources for the first uplink transmission, wherein the determination to skip the transmission of the first scheduling request is based at least in part on the one or more parameters associated with the uplink prescheduling. ([0128] Since pre-scheduling is enabled in this example, an uplink grant 810 may be received during the on duration of the CDRX cycle while the SR-DelayTimer is active, which can be observed by the UE. As a result, the UE may not trigger a SR when the SR-DelayTimer expires, as the UE has observed that pre-scheduling is enabled and that an uplink grant 810 has been received. Rather, the UE can use the resources allocated in the uplink grant 810 to send a PUSCH transmission 812 with the packets 802.)
But does not specifically teach:
transmit a capability indication that indicates that the UE supports skipping of scheduling request transmissions for one or more corresponding uplink transmissions;
However Babaei teaches transmit a capability indication that indicates that the UE supports skipping of scheduling request transmissions for one or more corresponding uplink transmissions; ([0160] The skipping process may be based on a wireless device capability and the base station may configure the skipping for a wireless device based on the wireless device supporting this capability. In an example, the wireless device may transmit, to the base station, one or more messages comprising a plurality of wireless device capabilities including the wireless device capability to support skipping.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the signaling of Babaei in order to avoid collisions for other uplink transmissions.
As to claims 2, 16, and 20, Zhang in view of Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a first uplink prescheduling transmission that provides a first uplink grant to the UE; and transmit the first uplink transmission using uplink resources provided in the first uplink grant. (Zhang [0128] Since pre-scheduling is enabled in this example, an uplink grant 810 may be received during the on duration of the CDRX cycle while the SR-DelayTimer is active, which can be observed by the UE. As a result, the UE may not trigger a SR when the SR-DelayTimer expires, as the UE has observed that pre-scheduling is enabled and that an uplink grant 810 has been received. Rather, the UE can use the resources allocated in the uplink grant 810 to send a PUSCH transmission 812 with the packets 802.)
As to claims 7 and 18, Zhang in view of Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters associated with the uplink prescheduling include one or more of a type of uplink data to be transmitted, a trigger condition for initiating the uplink prescheduling, a time interval over which the uplink prescheduling will be provided, a periodicity of associated uplink transmissions, a duration of the uplink prescheduling, a transport block size of uplink grants to be provided by the uplink prescheduling, or any combinations thereof. (Zhang [0120] The duration of the inactivity timer (as well as the corresponding CDRX on duration 502 and the CDRX off duration 504, among others) can be defined by the network according to, for example, 3GPP TS 36.321, TS 38.321, and other related technical specifications.)
As to claim 8, Zhang in view of Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive uplink data to be transmitted in an uplink buffer at the UE, and (Zhang [0127] FIGS. 8A and 8B illustrate examples of adaptive SR delay in accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 8A, an example of adaptive SR delay in the case where pre-scheduling is enabled is shown. In this example, a pair of bundled packets 802 (e.g., bundled voice packets) are received by an uplink buffer of the UE)
wherein the determination to skip the transmission of the first scheduling request is further based at least in part on one or more of a time interval between an arrival of the uplink data in the uplink buffer and a next uplink prescheduling transmission, a quality of service associated with the uplink data, a latency target associated with the uplink data, or any combinations thereof. ([0127]-[0128] Since pre-scheduling is enabled in this example, an uplink grant 810 may be received during the on duration of the CDRX cycle while the SR-DelayTimer is active, which can be observed by the UE. As a result, the UE may not trigger a SR when the SR-DelayTimer expires, as the UE has observed that pre-scheduling is enabled and that an uplink grant 810 has been received. Rather, the UE can use the resources allocated in the uplink grant 810 to send a PUSCH transmission 812 with the packets 802.)
As to claim 9, Zhang in view Babaei teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: maintain a discontinuous transmission off state at the UE during a scheduling request occasion associated with the first scheduling request responsive to the determination to skip the transmission of the first scheduling request. (Zhang [0127] Fig. 8A 808 The UE then determines a time 806 between the arrival of the packets 802 and the target SR occasion 804 The SR-DelayTimer is configured to start at the arrival point of the packets 802 and run for the determined time 806. While the SR-DelayTimer is active, the UE may not trigger a SR (e.g., at the SR occasion 808).)
As to claim 10, Zhang in view of Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, subsequent to the first uplink transmission, uplink data to be transmitted in a second uplink transmission from the UE; and transmit a second scheduling request to request uplink resources for the second uplink transmission based at least in part on a time interval to a next uplink prescheduling transmission being greater than a threshold value. (Zhang [0127] Upon receipt of the packets 802, the UE identifies a target SR occasion 804 occurring after the arrival of the packets 802 and within the on duration of a CDRX cycle. The UE then determines a time 806 between the arrival of the packets 802 and the target SR occasion 804 (e.g., t.sub.target_SR_occasion−t.sub.voice_arrival_point). From here, the UE sets a SR-DelayTimer to the determined time 806 between the arrival of the packets 802 and the target SR occasion 804 (e.g., SR-DelayTimer=t.sub.target_SR_occasion−t.sub.voice_arrival_point). The SR-DelayTimer is configured to start at the arrival point of the packets 802 and run for the determined time 806. While the SR-DelayTimer is active, the UE may not trigger a SR (e.g., at the SR occasion 808).)
As to claim 11, Zhang in view of Babaei teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit an indication to start or stop skipping of scheduling request transmissions at the UE based at least in part on a periodicity of the uplink prescheduling, a transport block size associated with the uplink prescheduling, quality of service class identifier (QCI) of data to be transmitted from the UE, a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, an uplink traffic pattern at the UE, an application associated with the data to be transmitted from the UE, or any combinations thereof. (Zhang [0128] Since pre-scheduling is enabled in this example, an uplink grant 810 may be received during the on duration of the CDRX cycle while the SR-DelayTimer is active, which can be observed by the UE. As a result, the UE may not trigger a SR when the SR-DelayTimer expires, as the UE has observed that pre-scheduling is enabled and that an uplink grant 810 has been received.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 12-14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The combination of Zhang and Babaei does not teach or make obvious additional details of a request to adjust parameters associated with the uplink prescheduling and does not teach or make obvious the first transmission including an indication that one or more subsequent uplink transmission from the UE will be skipped.
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/ Examiner, Art Unit 2465