DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024, 05/05/2025 and 06/08/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (2024/0204942, Corresponding to WO2022266561 (D1) as submitted in IDS), MANOLAKOS hereinafter, in view of Chen et al. (2024/0048174), Chen hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 11, MANOLAKOS teaches a method (Fig. 10 & ¶0006/¶0104-¶0105/¶0140-¶0142) of wireless communication (Fig. 10), and an apparatus (Fig. 3A/Fig., 10, UE, 204/) for wireless communication (Fig. 10) comprising one or more processors (Fig. 3A, 332) and a memory (Fig. 3A, 340) storing instructions (Fig. 3A & ¶0073), execution of which by the one or more processors causes the apparatus to: receive, from a first network device, a first configuration information that configures a frequency hopping of a sounding reference signal (SRS) for positioning (Fig. 10 & ¶0006 - a method of communication performed by a base station includes receiving, from a location server, a positioning information request message including a request for partial frequency sounding (PFS) configuration parameters supported by a user equipment (UE) for frequency hopping sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission; and transmitting, to the location server, a positioning information response message including the PFS configuration parameters supported by the UE, the PFS configuration parameters indicating at least one or more types of PFS patterns the UE is capable of applying to the frequency hopping SRS transmission. Fig. 10 & ¶0140 - At stage 1015, the LMF 270 sends an NRPPa Positioning Information Request to the target UE's 204 serving gNB 222 (or TRP) to request UL-SRS configuration information for the UE 204, as at stage 715. ….LMF 270 may include a request for the PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> parameters supported by the UE 204 for SRS transmission (referred to as “SRS Sub-Hop Properties” in the figure). …. the LMF 270 may include the PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> parameters it wants the UE 204 to apply to SRS transmission. The parameters may include which PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> pattern to apply to the transmission of SRS and the time duration, time interval, number of hops, and/or number of symbols over which to apply the indicated PFS pattern. Fig. 10 & ¶0141 - At stage 1020a, the serving gNB 222 determines the resources available for UL-SRS and configures the target UE 204 with the UL-SRS resource sets, as at stage 720a. The determined configuration also includes at least one PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> configuration (referred to as “SRS Sub-Hop Configuration” in the figure) that may be applied to transmission of the SRS. Fig. 10 & ¶0142 - At stage 1020b, the serving gNB 222 provides the UL-SRS configuration information to the UE 204, as at stage 720b. The serving gNB 222 also provides the PFS <i.e.,partial frequency sounding> configuration(s) determined at stage 1020a.), wherein the first configuration information configures a periodicity and a duration of a transmission window for transmitting the sounding reference signal (Fig. 4-6 & ¶0097 - SRS can also be specifically configured as uplink positioning reference signals for uplink-based positioning procedures, such as uplink time difference of arrival (UL-TDOA), round-trip-time (RTT), uplink angle-of-arrival (UL-AoA), etc. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0099 - In an OTDOA or DL-TDOA positioning procedure, illustrated by scenario 510, a UE measures the differences between the times of arrival (ToAs) of reference signals (e.g., sounding reference signals (SRS), see ¶0093) received from pairs of base stations, referred to as reference signal time difference (RSTD) or time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements, and reports them to a positioning entity. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0104 - To assist positioning operations, a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) may provide assistance data to the UE. For example, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations (or the cells/TRPs of the base stations) from which to measure reference signals, the reference signal configuration parameters (e.g., the number of consecutive positioning subframes, periodicity of positioning subframes, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, reference signal identifier, reference signal bandwidth, etc.), …. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0105 - In the case of an OTDOA i.e., observed time difference of arrival > or DL-TDOA <DL- time difference of arrival> positioning procedure, the assistance data may further include an expected RSTD <i.e., reference signal time difference > value and an associated uncertainty, or search window, around the expected RSTD. … the value range of the expected RSTD may be +/−500 microseconds (μs). … when any of the resources used for the positioning measurement are in FR1, the value range for the uncertainty of the expected RSTD <i.e., reference signal time difference > may be +/−32 μs. .. when all of the resources used for the positioning measurement(s) are in FR2, the value range for the uncertainty of the expected RSTD may be +/−8 μs. Fig. 10 & ¶0140 - At stage 1015, the LMF 270 sends an NRPPa Positioning Information Request to the target UE's 204 serving gNB 222 (or TRP) to request UL-SRS configuration information for the UE 204, as at stage 715. ….LMF 270 may include a request for the PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> parameters supported by the UE 204 for SRS transmission (referred to as “SRS Sub-Hop Properties” in the figure). …. the LMF 270 may include the PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> parameters it wants the UE 204 to apply to SRS transmission. The parameters may include which PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> pattern to apply to the transmission of SRS and the time duration, time interval, number of hops, and/or number of symbols over which to apply the indicated PFS pattern);
Yet, MANOLAKOS does not expressly teach transmit the SRS for positioning according to the frequency hopping.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses transmit the SRS for positioning according to the frequency hopping. (Fig. 11A-Fig. 13 & ¶0005 - receiving configuration information associated with configuring a set of sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions on a set of frequencies, wherein the set of SRS transmissions on the set of frequencies comprise an SRS frequency hopping pattern. The method may include transmitting the set of SRS transmissions on the set of frequencies in accordance with the SRS frequency hopping pattern. Fig.6-Fig.9 & ¶0098 - As shown in FIG. 6, starting positions, within a time domain, for an SRS resource may span a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbol indices. A UE may be configured with a maximum sounding bandwidth (mSRS,0) that is less than the whole bandwidth part. … Within the maximum sounding bandwidth, the UE may be configured with an actual sounding bandwidth (e.g., that is less than or equal to the maximum sounding bandwidth). The actual sounding bandwidth may be associated with a set of parameters, such as bhop, which is a frequency hopping bandwidth of an SRS that is to be transmitted by the UE, and nRRC, which is a frequency domain position of the SRS. The first parameter, bhop, can be configured as an integer value (e.g., 0-3), which corresponds to an actual sounding bandwidth mSRS,b, where b=bhop. Similarly, the second parameter nRRC, can be configured as an integer value (e.g., 0-67), which corresponds to a position of the actual sounding bandwidth within the maximum sounding bandwidth. A third parameter, BSRS, can be configured as an integer value (e.g., 0-3), which corresponds to a quantity of PRBs within the actual sounding bandwidth that are sounded in each hop of a frequency hopping cycle. Frequency hopping may be enabled, for the UE, based at least in part on a relationship of the second parameter and the third parameter, such as when bhop<BSRS. Also, see ¶0103-¶0105 along with Fig. 8-9. Fig.11A-Fig.13 & ¶0127 - process 1200 may include transmitting the set of SRS transmissions on the set of frequencies in accordance with the SRS frequency hopping pattern (block 1220). For example, the UE …..may transmit the set of SRS transmissions on the set of frequencies in accordance with the SRS frequency hopping pattern. Also, see 1220 in Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS’s invention of a system and a method for signaling between a serving base station and a location server for partial frequency sounding patterns in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method for frequency hopping for sounding reference signal transmission in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for uplink channel estimation, paves the way for improved scheduling, link adaptation, precoder selection, or beam management by a network node for serving a plurality of user equipment (UEs) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0001/¶0083, Chen)
Re. Claims 2 and 12, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 1 and 11.
MANOLAKOS further teaches applying, by the user device, a component carrier level SRS instead of a bandwidth part (BWP) level SRS. (Fig. 4-5 & ¶0098 - Several enhancements over the previous definition of SRS have been proposed for SRS-for-positioning (also referred to as “UL-PRS”), such as a new staggered pattern within an SRS resource (except for single-symbol/comb-2), a new comb type for SRS, new sequences for SRS, a higher number of SRS resource sets per component carrier, and a higher number of SRS resources per component carrier. Fig. 8-9 & ¶0131 - a MAC-CE command (from the serving base station to the UE) can be used to activate/deactivate a PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding> pattern. The indication can be on a per SRS resource set or per BWP or per cell basis).
Re. Claims 3 and 13, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, MANOLAKOS does not expressly teach wherein the first configuration information indicates a number of overlapping resource blocks.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the first configuration information indicates a number of overlapping resource blocks. (Fig.5-Fig.9 /Fig. 11A-Fig. 13 & ¶0094 - different SRS resource sets indicated to the UE 120 (e.g., having different use cases) may overlap (e.g., in time and/or in frequency, such as in the same slot). For example, as shown by reference number 515, a first SRS resource set (e.g., shown as SRS Resource Set 1) is shown as having an antenna switching use case. As shown, this example antenna switching SRS resource set includes a first SRS resource (shown as SRS Resource A) and a second SRS resource (shown as SRS Resource B). Thus, antenna switching SRS may be transmitted in SRS Resource A (e.g., a first time-frequency resource) using antenna port 0 and antenna port 1 and may be transmitted in SRS Resource B (e.g., a second time-frequency resource) using antenna port 2 and antenna port 3. Also, see ¶0087-¶0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS’s invention of a system and a method for signaling between a serving base station and a location server for partial frequency sounding patterns in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method for frequency hopping for sounding reference signal transmission in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for uplink channel estimation, paves the way for improved scheduling, link adaptation, precoder selection, or beam management by a network node for serving a plurality of user equipment (UEs) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0001/¶0083, Chen)
Re. Claims 7 and 17, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, MANOLAKOS does not expressly teach wherein the frequency hopping is configured in one SRS resource, wherein the user device is configured to perform SRS frequency hopping with the one SRS resource on a bandwidth that is extended.
However, in the analogous art, Chen explicitly discloses wherein the frequency hopping is configured in one SRS resource, wherein the user device is configured to perform SRS frequency hopping with the one SRS resource on a bandwidth that is extended. (Fig.6-Fig.9 & ¶0098 - As shown in FIG. 6, starting positions, within a time domain, for an SRS resource may span a bandwidth part (BWP) and a set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbol indices. A UE may be configured with a maximum sounding bandwidth (mSRS,0) that is less than the whole bandwidth part. … Within the maximum sounding bandwidth, the UE may be configured with an actual sounding bandwidth (e.g., that is less than or equal to the maximum sounding bandwidth). The actual sounding bandwidth may be associated with a set of parameters, such as bhop, which is a frequency hopping bandwidth of an SRS that is to be transmitted by the UE, and nRRC, which is a frequency domain position of the SRS. The first parameter, bhop, can be configured as an integer value (e.g., 0-3), which corresponds to an actual sounding bandwidth mSRS,b, where b=bhop. Similarly, the second parameter nRRC, can be configured as an integer value (e.g., 0-67), which corresponds to a position of the actual sounding bandwidth within the maximum sounding bandwidth. A third parameter, BSRS, can be configured as an integer value (e.g., 0-3), which corresponds to a quantity of PRBs within the actual sounding bandwidth that are sounded in each hop of a frequency hopping cycle. Frequency hopping may be enabled, for the UE, based at least in part on a relationship of the second parameter and the third parameter, such as when bhop<BSRS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS’s invention of a system and a method for signaling between a serving base station and a location server for partial frequency sounding patterns in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Chen’s invention of a system and a method for frequency hopping for sounding reference signal transmission in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for uplink channel estimation, paves the way for improved scheduling, link adaptation, precoder selection, or beam management by a network node for serving a plurality of user equipment (UEs) operating in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0001/¶0083, Chen)
Re. Claims 8 and 18, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 1 and 11.
MANOLAKOS further teaches wherein the first configuration information includes a starting resource block of the SRS and a bandwidth of an SRS resource. (Fig.4/Fig. 7A & ¶0133 - Referring to the NRPPa Positioning Information Response message (at stage 720c) in the context of PFS <i.e., partial frequency sounding>, this message includes the SRS configuration provided to the UE 204 (at stage 720b). The SRS configuration includes a number of parameters, including an SRS resource information element (IE). An SRS resource IE includes parameters such as the SRS resource ID, the number of ports, the type of comb (including offset and cyclic shift), the start position and number of symbols, the repetition factor, the frequency domain position, and the frequency domain shift. The SRS resource IE also includes parameters regarding frequency hopping, specifically, “C-SRS,” “B-SRS,” and “B-Hop” parameters. The “C-SRS” parameter may have a value from ‘0’ to ‘63.’ The “B-SRS” and “B-Hop” parameters may have a value from ‘0’ to ‘3. Also, see ¶0098 along with Fig. 4).
Re. Claims 9 and 19, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 1 and 11.
MANOLAKOS further teaches wherein the first configuration information configures an SRS resource, and wherein the SRS resource is outside a currently active BWP. (Fig. 4 & ¶0098 - Several enhancements over the previous definition of SRS have been proposed for SRS-for-positioning (also referred to as “UL-PRS”), such as a new staggered pattern within an SRS resource (except for single-symbol/comb-2), a new comb type for SRS, new sequences for SRS, a higher number of SRS resource sets per component carrier, and a higher number of SRS resources per component carrier. In addition, the parameters “SpatialRelationInfo” and “PathLossReference” are to be configured based on a downlink reference signal or SSB from a neighboring TRP. Further still, one SRS resource may be transmitted outside the active BWP, and one SRS resource may span across multiple component carriers.)
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS, in view of Chen, further in view of Oteri et al. (2024/0056242), Oteri hereinafter.
Re. Claims 4 and 14, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 3 and 13.
Yet, MANOLAKOS and Chen do not expressly teach wherein the number of overlapping resource blocks is between subsequent hops of the frequency hopping.
However, in the analogous art, Oteri explicitly discloses wherein the number of overlapping resource blocks is between subsequent hops of the frequency hopping. (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0147 - as illustrated by FIG. 9B. As shown, for a repetition factor of 2 and a hopping factor of 4, a base station may transmit a full bandwidth PRS for all UEs and additional FH PRSs for RedCap UEs, e.g., RedCap UEs may frequency hop for the first two repetitions of the full bandwidth PRS and then receive FH PRSs for the remaining PRS repetitions. Note that hopping pattern should be from a smallest to largest frequency or largest to smallest frequency….a PRS configuration may be enhanced to include a parameter indicating a reception bandwidth of a UE (e.g., of a RedCap UE) (e.g., such as a DL-PRS-HoppingBW). Further, an amount of overlap of PRBs may need to be determined. Thus, a base station may indicate, to a UE, a number and/or percentage of overlapping PRBs, a change in a number of PRBs, and/or a start resource. Additionally, a UE may implicitly determine a PRS resource bandwidth and/or a hopping bandwidth. For example, FIG. 9C illustrates an example of overlapping PRBs for frequency hopping, … for a PRS resource with a bandwidth of 32 PRBs and a frequency hopping bandwidth of 12 PRBs, an overlap may be defined as 2 PRBs (e.g., a=2) with a change in a number of PRBs defined as 10 (e.g., b=10). Fig. 8-12 & ¶0149 - sounding reference signal (SRS) frequency hopping for a positioning SRS with overlap may be defined. In such instances, a repetition factor may be introduced to indicate a number of repetitions (e.g., to configure a number of positioning SRS repetitions), e.g., similar to a PRS number of repetitions factor. Additionally, a frequency hopping factor may be introduced to indicate a number and/or percentage of overlapping resource blocks (e.g., a percentage of resource blocks may be added to a legacy definition). …. an overlap for each hop may be explicitly and/or implicitly indicated, e.g., similar to the PRS scenario described above.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS’s invention of a system and a method for signaling between a serving base station and a location server for partial frequency sounding patterns in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method for frequency hopping for sounding reference signal transmission in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Oteri’s invention of a system and a method for positioning reference signals (PRSs) for reduced capacity devices operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an enhanced supporting mechanism to coherent stitching with tone-overlap, in turn, avoids a phase discontinuity, allows for the reduced capable devices in receiving PRS <for positioning reference signals> or in sending SRS (sounding reference signal) that is frequency hopped over a larger bandwidth with overlap in tones for the different hops, ensuring that phases are coherent, a requirement for reduced capacity devices working for a plurality of applications in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0008-¶0010/¶0144, Oteri)
Re. Claims 5 and 15, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 1 and 11.
MANOLAKOS further teaches receiving, by the user device from the first network device, the PRS (Fig. 7B & ¶0122 - At stage 745a, the target UE 204 performs measurements (here, Rx-Tx time difference measurements) of the DL-PRS transmitted by the involved gNBs based on the assistance data received at stage 730);
Yet, MANOLAKOS and Chen do not expressly teach receiving, by the user device from a second network device, a second configuration information that configures a reception of a positioning reference signal (PRS); and reporting, by the user device to the second network device, a measurement based on the PRS, wherein the PRS is associated with multiple hops, and wherein the measurement is performed based on the multiple hops.
However, in the analogous art, Oteri explicitly discloses receiving, by the user device from a second network device, a second configuration information that configures a reception of a positioning reference signal (PRS) (Fig. 8-14 & ¶0007 - a UE may be configured to receive, from a network (e.g., from a base station and/or an LMF; see Fig. 6A-6B), a first repetition of a frequency hopping (FH) PRS in a first frequency bandwidth. The first frequency bandwidth may be a subset of a full bandwidth used for full bandwidth PRSs. Fig. 8-14 & ¶0008 - a UE may be configured to may receive, from a network (e.g., from a base station and/or an LMF; see Fig. 6A-6B) a reference signal configuration for the positioning procedure, e.g., based on one or more capabilities reported by the UE. The reference signal configuration may support coherent stitching (e.g., frequency hopping) with tone-overlap. Additionally, the UE may be configured to receive downlink positioning reference signals and mute at least a portion of downlink positioning reference signal resources. Also, see step 1104 in Fig. 11; see step 1202 & step 1206 in Fig. 12 & ¶0158);and reporting, by the user device to the second network device, a measurement based on the PRS, wherein the PRS is associated with multiple hops, and wherein the measurement is performed based on the multiple hops (Fig. 8-14 & ¶0164 - UE may report, to the network, measurements of at least the first repetition of the FH PRS <frequency hopping (FH) positioning reference signal> and the second repetition of the FH PRS. Also, see ¶0155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS’s invention of a system and a method for signaling between a serving base station and a location server for partial frequency sounding patterns in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method for frequency hopping for sounding reference signal transmission in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Oteri’s invention of a system and a method for positioning reference signals (PRSs) for reduced capacity devices operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an enhanced supporting mechanism to coherent stitching with tone-overlap, in turn, avoids a phase discontinuity, allows for the reduced capable devices in receiving PRS <for positioning reference signals> or in sending SRS (sounding reference signal) that is frequency hopped over a larger bandwidth with overlap in tones for the different hops, ensuring that phases are coherent, a requirement for reduced capacity devices working for a plurality of applications in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0008-¶0010/¶0144, Oteri)
Re. Claims 6 and 16, MANOLAKOS, Chen and Oteri teach claims 5 and 15.
Yet, MANOLAKOS and Chen do not expressly teach wherein the user device is a reduced capability user equipment, and wherein the multiple hops form a bandwidth that is greater than a maximum bandwidth of the reduced capability user equipment.
However, in the analogous art, Oteri explicitly discloses wherein the user device is a reduced capability user equipment (Fig. 8-14 & ¶0134 - 3GPP Release 17 introduced reduced capacity (RedCap) devices (e.g., UEs) with reduced capabilities as compared to existing enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) devices in both Frequency Range 1 (FR1) (e.g., frequencies below 7.125 GHz and Frequency Range 2 (FR2) (e.g., frequencies above 24.25 GHz).), and wherein the multiple hops form a bandwidth that is greater than a maximum bandwidth of the reduced capability user equipment. (Fig. 8-14 & ¶0134 - in FR1, a RedCap UE, as compared to existing eMBB devices, may have a reduced maximum UE bandwidth, not support all duplex modes, not support carrier aggregation or dual connectivity, have a lower minimum number of receive branches, have lower downlink and uplink peak data rates for single carrier, and a different maximum modulation order. As another example, in FR2, a RedCap UE, as compared to existing eMBB devices, may have a reduced maximum UE bandwidth, may not support carrier aggregation or dual connectivity, a reduced maximum number of receive branches, and have lower downlink and uplink peak data rates for single carrier. Fig. 8-14 & ¶0142 - the maximum number of downlink PRS resources that the UE can process in a slot assumes no bandwidth part (BWP) switching or RF retuning (e.g., in the case of frequency hopping, e.g., where the RedCap UE with its maximum PRS bandwidth may hop across a larger frequency bandwidth to create a larger effective PRS bandwidth to improve the positioning performance). Thus, in some instances, given a RedCap UE's need for BWP switching and radio frequency (RF) retuning with PRS in different bands, the reported capabilities of the RedCap UE may be assumed to be within a single BWP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS’s invention of a system and a method for signaling between a serving base station and a location server for partial frequency sounding patterns in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method for frequency hopping for sounding reference signal transmission in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Oteri’s invention of a system and a method for positioning reference signals (PRSs) for reduced capacity devices operating in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an enhanced supporting mechanism to coherent stitching with tone-overlap, in turn, avoids a phase discontinuity, allows for the reduced capable devices in receiving PRS <for positioning reference signals> or in sending SRS (sounding reference signal) that is frequency hopped over a larger bandwidth with overlap in tones for the different hops, ensuring that phases are coherent, a requirement for reduced capacity devices working for a plurality of applications in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0008-¶0010/¶0144, Oteri)
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS, in view of Chen, further in view of Wang et al. (2026/0095358), Wang hereinafter.
Re. Claims 10 and 20, MANOLAKOS and Chen teach claims 9 and 19.
Yet, MANOLAKOS and Chen do not expressly teach wherein an identical subcarrier spacing (SCS) is applied for hops within the SRS resource.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses wherein an identical subcarrier spacing (SCS) is applied for hops within the SRS resource. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0031 - except for the active UL BWP, SRS for positioning resources outside of the active UL BWP may be defined directly on the common resource block (CRB) grid on the UL carrier. In this case, the UE may be configured with a common numerology (subcarrier spacing (SCS) and cyclic prefix (CP) length)) for use in each of the frequency hops or be provided with different numerology across the frequency hops. In one example, the common numerology may follow that defined for the UL carrier. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0032 - except for the active UL BWP, SRS for positioning resources outside of the active UL BWP may be associated with UL frequency regions defined on the CRB grid instead of UL BWPs. In this case, the UE may be configured with a common numerology (subcarrier spacing (SCS) and cyclic prefix (CP) length)) for use in each of the frequency hops or be provided with different numerology across the frequency hops. In one example, the common numerology may follow that defined for the UL carrier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MANOLAKOS’s invention of a system and a method for signaling between a serving base station and a location server for partial frequency sounding patterns in 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system and Chen’s invention of a system and a method for frequency hopping for sounding reference signal transmission in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system to include Wang’s invention of a system and a method configuring sounding reference signal resources across multiple frequency locations for device positioning in a 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in supporting an improved positioning accuracy for bandwidth limited RedCap UE (Reduced Capacity User equipment) operating in mmWave (millimeter wave) frequency bands (e.g., between 24 GHz and 40 GHz) in the 5G/NR <New Radio> wireless communication system. (¶0024/¶0027, Wang)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #111; R1-2212126; Source: Qualcomm Incorporated; Title: Positioning for Reduced Capabilities UEs; Toulouse, France, November 14th – 18th, 2022. See §2.1, §2.2, §2.3.1, §2.3.3, §3. See snapshots below applicable for independent claims 1 & 11.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #111; R1-2210905; Source: Huawei, HiSilicon; Title: Remaining issues of RedCap positioning; Toulouse, France, November 14 – 18, 2022. See §2, §3, §4.2. ee snapshots below applicable for independent claims 1 & 11.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467