DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson (EP 2905063-appears on the PTO-892).
Richardson teaches methods related generally to the removal of atmospheric pollutants from the gas phase, as well as related apparatus, processes and uses thereof. A single-stage air scrubbing apparatus is provided that includes at least one reaction vessel, at least one introduction duct, and a turbulence component, wherein a residence time is sufficient to allow the conversion of at least one atmospheric pollution compound to at least one other compound, molecule or atom. The at least one atmospheric pollution compound comprises sulfur oxide. Additionally, methods of removing atmospheric pollution compounds from a waste gas stream are disclosed that include introducing a waste gas stream and at least one additional gas stream, mist stream (atomized), liquid stream or combination thereof into a single-stage air scrubbing apparatus at a flow rate sufficient to allow for conversion of the at least one atmospheric pollution compound (see abstract).
A single-stage air scrubbing apparatus is disclosed that includes: at least one reaction vessel having a first end, a second end, an enclosure, comprising at least one wall, a volume within enclosure and a residence time component, at least one introduction duct that is coupled to the reaction vessel, and a turbulence component, wherein the residence time component is sufficient to allow the conversion of at least one atmospheric pollution compound to at least one other compound, molecule or atom. In some embodiments, the at least one atmospheric pollution compound comprises sulfur oxide (para 0037).
The method comprises introducing into a reaction vessel a waste gas containing sulfur oxide; introducing chlorine dioxide into the reaction vessel; introducing turbulence into a mixture of the waste gas and the chlorine dioxide, whereby the chlorine dioxide reacts with the component, such that the component is converted into at least one other compound, molecule or atom (see para 0038). The chlorine dioxide is introduced into the reaction vessel via at least one introduction duct (see para 0042). Turbulence is introduced by passing at least one of the waste gas and the chlorine dioxide through a plurality of tubes arranged in a parallel configuration, wherein each tube is positioned at an angle of from 5 to 95 degrees off an axis of the reaction vessel, and wherein each tube is less than 0.5 meters in length (see para 0044). The turbulence inducing device may be vanes, baffles, diffusers and tube arrays (see para 0051).
The chlorine dioxide is dissolved in a liquid, e.g., water, a chlorine dioxide fluid material or aqueous material is sprayed, released or propelled into the waste gas stream. In contemplated embodiments, the chlorine dioxide fluid material is sprayed, released or propelled a point just downstream of the point at which the gas is swirled by the turbulence component, and in many embodiments, through a single nozzle (see para 0100).
The reactor can be of any suitable configuration, e.g., a straight tube, a helical coil, a tortuous path provided by a series of baffles in a cylindrical tube, a tube including a series of switchbacks (serpentine), multiple parallel tubes, or any other suitable configuration (see para 0085). Richardson meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
Richardson does not specifically teach one or more instances of an internal structure disposed in the piping. However, Richardson teaches the helical coil and the tubing including a series of switchbacks are within the scope of his invention and states that any other suitable configuration may be used. Richardson also teaches that a tortuous paths provided with a series of baffles in a cylindrical tube may be used. This teaching suggests internal structure disposed in the piping. With respect to claim 8, the skilled artisan would recognize that the serpentine configuration may not require an internal structure that is not a baffle.
Claims 3-7 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to teach or suggest the claimed method wherein the claimed treatment composition.
Claims 16-20 are allowed because the prior art fails to teach or suggest the claimed method comprising the claimed treatment composition.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18816690/20260604