DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25, 29-32, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being (a)(1) by Kim et al. (US 20180006845 A1).
Considering claim 21, Kim teaches a method, comprising:
receiving first configuration information (CSI-RS configuration, Fig.19), wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of n channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), and n is an integer greater than 1 (Fig. 14-16, 19, [0010] a receiver configured to receive a channel quality indicator calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS, [0139], [0145]);
receiving the n CSI-RSs based on the first configuration information (Fig. 14-16, 19, [0010] a receiver configured to receive a channel quality indicator calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS, [0112]-[0113]);
determining a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on m CSI-RSs and a mapping relationship ([0195]-[0196]), wherein the CQI indicates channel quality of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configured for the user equipment through the generated port; and receiving, from the user equipment, CQI (channel quality indicator)), the mapping relationship is between a data stream of the PDSCH and CSI-RS ports corresponding to the m CSI-RSs (Fig.19, [0196]), the n CSI-RSs comprises the m CSI-RSs ([0197] The BS receives the CQI calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS [S1920]), m is an integer greater than 1, and m is less than or equal to n ([0160]-[0161]); and
sending the CQI (Fig.19, [0197] BS receives the CQI calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS [S1920]).
Considering claim 30, Kim teaches a method, comprising:
determining first configuration information (CSI-RS configuration, Fig.19), wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of n channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), and n is an integer greater than 1 (Fig. 14-16, 19, [0010] a receiver configured to receive a channel quality indicator calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS, [0139], [0145]);
sending the n CSI-RSs based on the first configuration information (Fig. 14-16, 19, [0010] a receiver configured to receive a channel quality indicator calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS, [0112]-[0113]); and
receiving a channel quality indicator (CQI), wherein the CQI is determined based on m CSI-RSs and a mapping relationship ([0195]-[0196]), the CQI indicates channel quality of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the mapping relationship is between a data stream of the PDSCH and CSI-RS ports corresponding to the m CSI-RSs (Fig.19, [0196]), the n CSI-RSs comprises the m CSI-RSs ([0197] The BS receives the CQI calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS [S1920]), m is an integer greater than 1, and m is less than or equal to n ([0160]-[0161]).
Considering claim 37, Kim teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Fig.2); and at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions (Fig.2), to cause the apparatus to perform operations including:
receiving first configuration information (CSI-RS configuration, Fig.19), wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of n channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs), and n is an integer greater than 1 (Fig. 14-16, 19, [0010] a receiver configured to receive a channel quality indicator calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS, [0139], [0145]);
receiving the n CSI-RSs based on the first configuration information (Fig. 14-16, 19, [0010] a receiver configured to receive a channel quality indicator calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS, [0112]-[0113]);
determining a channel quality indicator (CQI) based on m CSI-RSs and a mapping relationship ([0195]-[0196]), wherein the CQI indicates channel quality of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configured for the user equipment through the generated port; and receiving, from the user equipment, CQI (channel quality indicator)), the mapping relationship is between a data stream of the PDSCH and CSI-RS ports corresponding to the m CSI-RSs (Fig.19, [0196]), the n CSI-RSs comprises the m CSI-RSs ([0197] The BS receives the CQI calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS [S1920]), m is an integer greater than 1, and m is less than or equal to n ([0160]-[0161]); and
sending the CQI (Fig.19, [0197] BS receives the CQI calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS [S1920]).
Considering claims 22, 38, wherein before the determining the CQI based on the m CSI-RSs and the mapping relationship, the method further comprises: determining the m CSI-RSs from the n CSI-RSs ([0197]).
Considering claims 23, 39, Kim teaches wherein the determining the m CSI-RSs from the n CSI-RSs comprises: determining the m CSI-RSs based on a first parameter and the n CSI-RSs ([0197] CQI calculated from the transmitted CSI-RS), wherein the first parameter comprises a value of m ([0165]) or a first threshold.
Considering claims 24, 31, 40, Kim teaches wherein the n CSI-RSs correspond to a plurality of measurement assumptions, and wherein the m CSI-RSs corresponding to the CQI are determined based on the plurality of measurement assumptions ([0168], [0196]).
Considering claims 25, 32, Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates at least one measurement assumption of the plurality of measurement assumptions; and determining a measurement assumption from the at least one measurement assumption, wherein the measurement assumption corresponds to the m CSI-RSs ([0168], [0196]).
Considering claims 29, 36, Kim teaches wherein each piece of configuration information in the configuration information of the n CSI-RSs indicates a CSI-RS port set ([0196]-[0197]); and the CSI-RS port set comprises a CSI-RS resource ([0184]]), and n CSI-RS resources belong to a same CSI-RS resource set ([0184]); or the CSI-RS port set comprises at least one port, and ports in n CSI-RS port sets belong to a same CSI-RS resource.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-28 and 33-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641