DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 9-12, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Truong et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0129973 (hereinafter “Truong”).
Referring to claim 1, Truong teaches a system for facilitating text editing, the system comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0028] and Figure 2); and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (paragraph [0028] and Figure 2), configured to:
obtain, from a user device, user selection input associated with text content that is displayed on the user device via a user interface of the user device (selecting text in the collaborative content item displayed on the screen, e.g. text span 800 of the collaborative content item 502 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0063], [0068] and [0145]);
identify, based on the user selection input, a portion of the text content (identify selected text, e.g. text span 800 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0063], [0068] and [0145]);
determine editing information associated with the portion of text content (determine comment information associated with the selected text span, e.g. revision thread 804 for text span 800 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]),
wherein the editing information includes analysis information associated with the portion of the text content and version information associated with the portion of the text content (the revision thread for the selected text span includes analysis information such as suggestions, e.g. 802c and version information such as user ID and date/time, e.g. 802b shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]; this is further shown in Figures 5A-5B and 8A-8B); and
transmit the editing information to the user device to cause the user device to display, via the user interface, the editing information (the revision thread 804 is displayed, as shown in Figures 8A-8B for example) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]; this is further shown in Figures 5A-5B and 8A-8B).
Referring to claim 3, Truong teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the analysis information includes one or more edit suggestions associated with the portion of the text content (as shown in Figures 8A-8B for example, suggestion 802c includes suggested replacement text) (paragraph [0145]).
Referring to claim 6, Truong teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
obtain, from the user device, user update input associated with the portion of the text content (for example, the user can input a selection of the suggested replacement text shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0145]-[0146]);
determine, based on the user update input, updated editing information associated with the portion of the text content (in response to user selection of the suggested replacement text, an updated revision thread 804 is displayed as shown in Figure 8B) (paragraphs [0145]-[0146]),
wherein the updated editing information includes updated analysis information associated with the portion of the text content and updated version information associated with the portion of the text content (Figure 8B shows the updated revision thread includes updated information, e.g. 808 and 802d) (paragraphs [0145]-[0146]); and
transmit the updated editing information to the user device to enable the user device to display, via the user interface, the updated editing information (Figure 8B shows the display of the updated revision thread) (paragraphs [0145]-[0146]).
Referring to claim 7, Truong teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
obtain, from the user device, user indication input that indicates that the portion of the text content is to be saved as a primary version of the portion of the text content (if the user approves the version containing the suggested replacement text, the original version is replaced with the current version containing the replacement text) (paragraph [0147]); and
cause the version information to include the portion of the text content as a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content (by storing the approved changes, a historic record of collaborative content item versions is created by the collaborative content management system) (paragraph [0147]).
Referring to claim 9, Truong teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a system (paragraph [0028] and Figure 2), cause the system to:
identify a portion of text content that is displayed on a user device via a user interface of the user device (identify selected text in the collaborative content item displayed on the screen, e.g. text span 800 of the collaborative content item 502 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0063], [0068] and [0145]);
determine editing information associated with the portion of text content (determine comment information associated with the selected text span, e.g. revision thread 804 for text span 800 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]),
wherein the editing information includes analysis information associated with the portion of the text content and version information associated with the portion of the text content (the revision thread for the selected text span includes analysis information such as suggestions, e.g. 802c and version information such as user ID and date/time, e.g. 802b shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]; this is further shown in Figures 5A-5B and 8A-8B); and
transmit the editing information to the user device to enable the user device to display, via the user interface, the editing information (the revision thread 804 is displayed, as shown in Figures 8A-8B for example) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]; this is further shown in Figures 5A-5B and 8A-8B).
Referring to claim 10, Truong teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the system to determine the editing information, cause the system to:
process the portion of the text content to determine the analysis information (determine the suggested revision thread/identifier associated with the selected portion of content in the database) (paragraphs [0053] and [0137]-[0143]).
Referring to claim 11, Truong teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the analysis information includes at least one of:
a score that indicates a quality of the portion of the text content; or
one or more edit suggestions associated with the portion of the text content (as shown in Figures 8A-8B for example, suggestion 802c includes suggested replacement text) (paragraph [0145]).
Referring to claim 12, Truong teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the system to determine the editing information, cause the system to:
communicate with a data structure to determine the version information (searching and retrieving collaborative content elements from the database, e.g. database shown in Figure 6B) (paragraphs [0051], [0097] and [0142]).
Referring to claim 14, Truong teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the system to:
identify user indication input that indicates that the portion of the text content is to be saved as a primary version of the portion of the text content (if the user approves the version containing the suggested replacement text, the original version is replaced with the current version containing the replacement text) (paragraph [0147]); and
cause the version information to include the portion of the text content as a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content (by storing the approved changes, a historic record of collaborative content item versions is created by the collaborative content management system) (paragraph [0147]).
Referring to claim 16, Truong teaches a method, comprising:
displaying, by a user device and via a user interface of the user device, text content (for example, the user interface shown in Figure 8A displays a collaborative text document) (paragraphs [0063] and [0145]);
obtaining, by the user device and based on displaying the text content, user selection input that indicates a portion of the text content (selecting text in the collaborative content item displayed on the screen, e.g. text span 800 of collaborative content item 502 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0063], [0068] and [0145]);
transmitting, by the user device, the user selection input to a system (the content management system communicates with the client device via one or more servers to identify selected text, e.g. text span 800 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0053]-[0057], [0063], [0068] and [0145]);
receiving, by the user device and based on transmitting the user selection input, editing information associated with the portion of text content (the content management system communicates information with the client device, including comment information associated with the selected text span, e.g. revision thread 804 for text span 800 shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0053]-[0057], [0062]-[0068] and [0145]),
wherein the editing information includes analysis information associated with the portion of the text content and version information associated with the portion of the text content (the revision thread for the selected text span includes analysis information such as suggestions, e.g. 802c and version information such as user ID and date/time, e.g. 802b shown in Figure 8A) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]; this is further shown in Figures 5A-5B and 8A-8B); and
displaying, by the user device and via the user interface of the user device, the editing information (the revision thread 804 is displayed, as shown in Figures 8A-8B for example) (paragraphs [0062]-[0068] and [0145]; this is further shown in Figures 5A-5B and 8A-8B).
Referring to claim 17, Truong teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the editing information enables contemporaneous display, on the user device and via the user interface, of at least some of the portion of the text content and at least some of the editing information (as shown in Figure 8A for example, the user interface displays both text span 800 and the editing information 804) (paragraph [0145]).
Referring to claim 18, Truong teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the analysis information includes at least one of:
a score that indicates a quality of the portion of the text content; or
one or more edit suggestions associated with the portion of the text content (as shown in Figures 8A-8B for example, suggestion 802c includes suggested replacement text) (paragraph [0145]).
Referring to claim 20, Truong teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
obtaining, via the user interface, user indication input that indicates that the portion of the text content is to be saved as one of:
a primary version of the portion of the text content, or
an alternate version of the portion of the text content (if the user approves the version containing the suggested replacement text, the original version is replaced with the current version containing the replacement text) (paragraph [0147]); and
transmitting the user indication input to the system to enable update of the version information (by storing the approved changes, a historic record of collaborative content item versions is created by the collaborative content management system) (paragraph [0147]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0129973 (hereinafter “Truong”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mukund et al. U.S. Patent 12,223,272 (hereinafter “Mukund”).
Referring to claim 2, Truong teaches all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. However, Truong fails to explicitly teach wherein the analysis information includes a score that indicates a quality of the portion of the text content. Similar to Truong, Mukund also teaches displaying analysis information associated with text content (analyzing the received text string to display analysis information such as suggestions) (Mukund: column 5, line 5 – column 6, line 5 and column 7, line 65 – column 8, line 27). In addition, Mukund teaches wherein the analysis information includes a score that indicates a quality of the portion of the text content (as shown in Figure 6 for example, a quality score is displayed based on the analysis) (Mukund: column 7, lines 5-21 and column 8, lines 11-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analysis information associated with the portion of text content taught by Truong to include the quality score taught by Mukund. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide real-time analysis of text descriptions so that they can be corrected or updated; this combination provides feedback on the text so the user can see that it is low quality/missing information and make any corrections as needed (Mukund: column 5, lines 42-54).
Claims 4-5, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0129973 (hereinafter “Truong”), as applied to claims 1, 9 and 16 above, and further in view of Siwoff et al. U.S. Patent 10,860,787 (hereinafter “Siwoff”).
Referring to claim 4, Truong teaches all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. However, Truong fails to explicitly teach wherein the version information includes a primary version information that includes at least a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content. Similar to Truong, Siwoff also teaches displaying, via a user interface, editing information associated with a portion of text content selected by the user (as shown in Figure 4A for example, editing information 420 and 430 are displayed on the interface in response to user selection of a sentence 410 of the text content 150) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). In addition, Siwoff teaches that the editing information includes version information (for example, Figure 4A shows a revision history menu 430) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8), wherein the version information includes a primary version information that includes at least a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content (as shown in Figure 4A for example, the revision history menu includes the latest saved version 434 of the selected sentence) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the editing information for the selected portion of text taught by Truong to include a plurality of saved versions of the selected portion of text, including a primary version and an alternate version, as taught by Siwoff. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow users that have collaborated on a document to easily view a revision history made to the document (Siwoff: column 1, line 20-59).
Referring to claim 5, Truong teaches all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. However, Truong fails to explicitly teach wherein the version information includes an alternate version information that includes one or more saved alternate versions of the portion of the text content. Similar to Truong, Siwoff also teaches displaying, via a user interface, editing information associated with a portion of text content selected by the user (as shown in Figure 4A for example, editing information 420 and 430 are displayed on the interface in response to user selection of a sentence 410 of the text content 150) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). In addition, Siwoff teaches that the editing information includes version information (for example, Figure 4A shows a revision history menu 430) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8), wherein the version information includes one or more saved alternate versions of the portion of the text content (as shown in Figure 4A for example, the revision history menu includes an alternate version 432 of the selected sentence) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the editing information for the selected portion of text taught by Truong to include a plurality of saved versions of the selected portion of text, including a primary version and an alternate version, as taught by Siwoff. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow users that have collaborated on a document to easily view a revision history made to the document (Siwoff: column 1, line 20-59).
Referring to claim 13, Truong teaches all of the limitations as applied to claim 9 above. However, Truong fails to explicitly teach wherein the version information includes at least one of: at least a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content; or one or more saved alternate versions of the portion of the text content. Similar to Truong, Siwoff also teaches displaying, via a user interface, editing information associated with a portion of text content selected by the user (as shown in Figure 4A for example, editing information 420 and 430 are displayed on the interface in response to user selection of a sentence 410 of the text content 150) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). In addition, Siwoff teaches that the editing information includes version information (for example, Figure 4A shows a revision history menu 430) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8), wherein the version information includes at least one of: at least a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content; or one or more saved alternate versions of the portion of the text content (as shown in Figure 4A for example, the revision history menu includes the latest saved primary version 434 and an alternate version 432 of the selected sentence) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the editing information for the selected portion of text taught by Truong to include a plurality of saved versions of the selected portion of text, including a primary version and an alternate version, as taught by Siwoff. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow users that have collaborated on a document to easily view a revision history made to the document (Siwoff: column 1, line 20-59).
Referring to claim 19, Truong teaches all of limitations as applied to claim 16 above. However, Truong fails to explicitly teach wherein the version information includes at least one of: at least a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content; or one or more saved alternate versions of the portion of the text content. Similar to Truong, Siwoff also teaches displaying, via a user interface, editing information associated with a portion of text content selected by the user (as shown in Figure 4A for example, editing information 420 and 430 are displayed on the interface in response to user selection of a sentence 410 of the text content 150) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). In addition, Siwoff teaches that the editing information includes version information (for example, Figure 4A shows a revision history menu 430) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8), wherein the version information includes at least one of: at least a latest saved primary version of the portion of the text content; or one or more saved alternate versions of the portion of the text content (as shown in Figure 4A for example, the revision history menu includes the latest saved primary version 434 and an alternate version 432 of the selected sentence) (Siwoff: column 1, line 57-column 2, line 5 and column 7, line 51-column 8, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the editing information for the selected portion of text taught by Truong to include a plurality of saved versions of the selected portion of text, including a primary version and an alternate version, as taught by Siwoff. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to allow users that have collaborated on a document to easily view a revision history made to the document (Siwoff: column 1, line 20-59).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0129973 (hereinafter “Truong”), as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Yao et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0004808 (hereinafter “Yao”).
Referring to claim 8, Truong teaches all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. However, Truong fails to explicitly teach: obtain, from the user device, user indication input that indicates that the portion of the text content is to be saved as alternate version of the portion of the text content; and cause the version information to include the portion of the text content as a latest saved alternate version of the portion of the text content. Similar to Truong, Yao also teaches a text editing user interface that receives user input associated with a portion of text content (Figure 2 shows a text editing user interface that allows a user to edit a portion of the displayed text) (Yao: paragraphs [0038]-[0039]). In addition, Yao teaches: obtain, from the user device, user indication input that indicates that the portion of the text content is to be saved as alternate version of the portion of the text content (user selection of “Yes” in Figure 9C indicating that the user edits should be saved as a copy of the original file) (Yao: paragraph [0080]); and cause the version information to include the portion of the text content as a latest saved alternate version of the portion of the text content (saving the user edits as a copy) (Yao: paragraph [0080]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Truong’s text editing user interface to further include the above features taught by Yao. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to minimize unintended or undesired edits to a document so as not to affect the workflow of other users collaborating on the document (Yao: paragraphs [0003] and [0036]).
Referring to claim 15, Truong teaches all of the limitations as applied to claim 9 above. However, Truong fails to explicitly teach: identify user indication input that indicates that the portion of the text content is to be saved as alternate version of the portion of the text content; and cause the version information to include the portion of the text content as a latest saved alternate version of the portion of the text content. Similar to Truong, Yao also teaches a text editing user interface that receives user input associated with a portion of text content (Figure 2 shows a text editing user interface that allows a user to edit a portion of the displayed text) (Yao: paragraphs [0038]-[0039]). In addition, Yao teaches: identify user indication input that indicates that the portion of the text content is to be saved as alternate version of the portion of the text content (user selection of “Yes” in Figure 9C indicating that the user edits should be saved as a copy of the original file) (Yao: paragraph [0080]); and cause the version information to include the portion of the text content as a latest saved alternate version of the portion of the text content (saving the user edits as a copy) (Yao: paragraph [0080]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Truong’s text editing user interface to further include the above features taught by Yao. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to minimize unintended or undesired edits to a document so as not to affect the workflow of other users collaborating on the document (Yao: paragraphs [0003] and [0036]).
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action. The documents cited therein (US20120233137 US20100094815) teach similar text editing systems that display editing information such as version information associated with a selected portion of text content.
Conclusion
/TING Z LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171