March 4, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph [0001] of the specification, under the “Cross-Reference to Related Applications” section of the specification, Applicant needs to insert - - now U.S. Patent No. 12,075,920 B2 - - after “This application comprises a continuation application of U.S. Application No. 17/727,399 filed April 22, 2022,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “interfacing side edge 106b-3” defined in clam 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Nothing in the specification has been identified as a “interfacing side edge 106b-3”. However, In Fig. 4, there is a reference numeral 106-3. Should that reference number be 106b-3 instead? See below
Applicant needs to read through the specification and compare it to the drawings to ensure that all of the reference numerals that appear in the drawings are in the specification and to ensure that all reference numerals in the specification appear in the drawings and correctly label the correct part or feature.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: As mentioned above, reference numeral “106b-3” does not appear in the drawings. As recommended above, Applicant needs to read through the specification and compare it to the drawings to ensure that all of the reference numerals that appear in the drawings are in the specification and to ensure that all reference numerals in the specification appear in the drawings and correctly label the correct part or feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KEKLEN et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2,572,732).
As for claim 1, KEKLEN et al. teach a structure comprising:
a first body member 60 including a first interfacing side edge and a first interconnecting component at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 38 including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
As for claim 2, KEKLEN et al. teach that each of the first interconnecting component and the second interconnecting component includes a wall having a wall length, a coupling flange extending from a wall edge and forming a receiving cavity 44 between the coupling flange and the wall, and an engaging portion 40.
As for claim 4, KEKLEN et al. teach that the first body member is of a unibody construction that is a first half of the structure, and wherein the second body member is of a unibody construction that is a second half of the structure.
As for claims 6-7, KEKLEN et al. teach that each of the first and second body members includes a top portion including a side edge connected to the interfacing side edge, wherein each top portion includes a side surface extending from the side edge, wherein each top portion includes first and second planar members extending from the side surface adjacent to the interfacing side edge, and wherein the first and second planar members include openings such that the openings of abutting planar members align when the first and second body members are secured together and each pair of abutting planar members receives a securing member 48,66; wherein the openings of abutting planar members align when the first and second interconnecting component of the first and second body members are secured together, and further comprising a securing member positioned within the aligned openings of the abutting planar members..
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruggles (U.S. Patent No. 3,826,206).
As for claim 1, Ruggles teaches a structure comprising:
a first body member 10 including a first interfacing side edge 44 and a first interconnecting component 52 at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 10 including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component 54 at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
As for claim 4, Ruggles teaches that the first body member is of a unibody construction that is a first half of the structure, and wherein the second body member is of a unibody construction that is a second half of the structure.
As for claim 6, Ruggles teaches that each of the first and second body members includes a top portion including a side edge connected to the interfacing side edge, wherein each top portion includes a side surface extending from the side edge, wherein each top portion includes first and second planar members extending from the side surface adjacent to the interfacing side edge, and wherein the first and second planar members include openings such that the openings of abutting planar members align when the first and second body members are secured together and each pair of abutting planar members receives a securing member.
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiss et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,883,149 B1).
As for claim 1, Weiss et al. teach a structure comprising:
a first body member 207a including a first interfacing side edge and a first interconnecting component 230A at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 207b including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component 225B at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
As for claim 4, Weiss et al. teach that the first body member 207a is of a unibody construction that is a first half of the structure, and wherein the second body member 207b is of a unibody construction that is a second half of the structure.
As for claim 5, Weiss et al. teach that the second body member 207a is identical to the first body member 207b.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gansow et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,882,939 B2).
As for claim 1, Gansow et al. teach a structure comprising:
a first body member 24 including a first interfacing side edge and a first interconnecting component 26,28 at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 24 including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component 26,28 at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
As for claim 3, Gansow et al. teach that the receiving cavity 26,28 of the first interlocking component receives the engaging portion of the wall of the second interlocking component, and wherein the receiving cavity 26,28 of the second interlocking component receives the engaging portion of the wall of the first interlocking component.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hrib (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0207442 A1).
As for claim 1, Hrib teaches a structure comprising:
a first body member 10 including a first interfacing side edge and a first interconnecting component 12 at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 10 including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component 14 at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Croom (U.S. Patent No. 5,509,720 A).
As for claim 1, Croom teaches a structure comprising:
a first body member 12 including a first interfacing side edge and a first interconnecting component 22 at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 14, 16,18 including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component 24 at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (U.S. Patent No. 3,944,282).
As for claim 1, Nakamura teaches a structure comprising:
a first body member 6 including a first interfacing side edge and a first interconnecting component 7 at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 6’ including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component 8 at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
As for claim 3, Gansow et al. teach that the receiving cavity 26,28 of the first interlocking component receives the engaging portion of the wall of the second interlocking component, and wherein the receiving cavity 26,28 of the second interlocking component receives the engaging portion of the wall of the first interlocking component.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lohmeyer (U.S. Patent No. 3,669,494).
As for claim 1, Lohmeyer teaches a structure comprising:
a first body member 1 including a first interfacing side edge and a first interconnecting component 4 at the first interfacing side edge; and
a second body member 1 including a second interfacing side edge and a second interconnecting component 5 at the second interfacing side edge;
wherein the first interconnecting component engages with the second interconnecting component to secure the first body member and the second body member together.
As for claim 3, Lohmeyer teaches that the receiving cavity 5 of the first interlocking component receives the engaging portion 4 of the wall of the second interlocking component, and wherein the receiving cavity 5 of the second interlocking component receives the engaging 4 portion of the wall of the first interlocking component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KEKLEN et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2,572,732).
KEKLEN et al. teaches the structure substantially a s claimed but does not teach that the securing members comprise a threaded bolt and wing nut. However, the bolts 48,66 disclosed by KEKLEN et al. is nothing more than an alternative conventional method of coupling the first and second body members to each other.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention .
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636