DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/30/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2008/0299160 to Agboh in view of USPAP 2009/0241504 to Liu and further in view of (when necessary) USPAP 2023/0218448 to Ratko.
Claim 1, Agboh discloses a functional filament, comprising a polymer matrix and functional nanoparticles dispersed within the polymer matrix, wherein the functional filament has a cross-sectional diameter ranging from 1 µm to 30 µm, and the functional nanoparticles comprise element(s) selected from the group consisting of Au, Ag, Ti, Ge, Zn, Al, Mg, Si, Cu, Ca, Fe, Ba, K, Na, Mn, Ni, Ga, Pt, and combinations thereof (see entire document including [0001], [0007]-[0019], [0026]-[0031], [0035]-[0043], [0060] and Example 3).
Agboh does not appear to mention the nanoparticles having a shell but Liu discloses that it is known in the art to provide a particle with a shell material that contains silane to improve multiple properties including dispersion of the particle within the polymer matrix (see entire document including [0007]-[0011], [0028], [0047], [0048], [0051], [0125] and [0135]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the nanoparticles of Agboh with the claimed shell to improve one or more properties such as dispersion of the particle within the polymer matrix.
Claim 2, the cross-sectional diameter of the functional filament ranges from 5 µm to 20 µm [0043].
Claim 3, an average particle size of the functional nanoparticles ranges from 1 nm to 300 nm [0019].
Claim 4, the functional nanoparticles may comprise Fe ([0029]-[0031]). Agboh does not appear to specifically mention the use of Ti or Ca but Agboh discloses that nanoparticles may comprise any metal or combination of metals [0020] and that the nanoparticles preferably have antimicrobial properties [0030]. Ratko discloses that it is known in the art to include antimicrobial nanoparticles in a fiber and that the nanoparticles may comprise Ti and Ca (see entire document including [0012] and [0034]-[0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include any suitable antimicrobial nanoparticle material(s), such as claimed, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 5, the functional nanoparticles further comprise element(s) selected from the group consisting of Al, Ba, Cu, Mg, Ni, Zn, Mn, and combinations thereof ([0029]-[0031]).
Claims 6-10, the polymer matrix is selected from the group consisting of polyester, polyurethane (PU), poly(vinyl chloride) (PVC), polypropylene (PP), polyamide (PA), an amino-comprising polymer, silicone, and mixtures thereof [0027].
Claims 11-15, the polymer matrix comprises polyester [0027].
Claims 16 and 17, considering that the applied prior art teach a filaments with a substantially identical material and diameter ([0027] and [0043]), the claimed a fiber fineness of less than 0.7 denier is inherently taught. Plus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the filament with any suitable fineness, such as claimed, based on the intended use and the desired/required application properties.
Claim 18, Agboh discloses a functional fabric which is manufactured from the fiber material ([0001], [0014], [0033] and [0060]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789