DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2011111949 A2.
In regard to claim 1, WO 2011111949 A2 discloses an electrical connector assembly (fig. 4), comprising:
a connector housing 42 defining a cavity in which an electrical terminal (terminals connected the cell modules 41 together) is disposed; and
a cover 43 that is configured to enclose the cavity, thereby protecting the electrical terminal and thermally manage heat within the cavity, the cover 43 having a thermal management mechanism 60, 70, 80 including a plurality of pneumatic ports 43a, 90 configured to direct an air flow though the cavity.
In regard to claim 2, WO 2011111949 A2 discloses the thermal management mechanism is integral with the cover 43.
In regard to claim 9, WO 2011111949 A2 discloses the plurality of pneumatic ports 43a, 90 comprises an air flow inlet port 43a configured to enter the air flow into the cavity and an air flow outlet port 90 configured to exhaust the air flow from the cavity.
In regard to claim 10, WO 2011111949 A2 discloses the air flow inlet port 43a and the air flow outlet port 90 are integrally formed with the cover 43.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavallieri et al. (US 9192075 B1).
In regard to claim 1, Cavallieri et al. discloses an electrical connector assembly 10, comprising:
a connector housing (col. 3, line 57) defining a cavity in which an electrical terminal (col. 3, lines 60-62) is disposed; and
a cover 20 that is configured to enclose the cavity, thereby protecting the electrical terminal and thermally manage heat within the cavity (col. 3, lines 60-64), the cover 20 having a thermal management mechanism (see figures 3, 6 and 7) including a plurality of pneumatic ports 56 configured to direct an air flow though the cavity (col. 5, lines 5-14).
In regard to claim 2, Cavallieri et al. discloses the thermal management mechanism 56 is integral with the cover 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13, 15-18 are allowed.
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a "a connector housing defining a cavity in which an electrical terminal is disposed" is not satisfied by the WO '949 battery tray that holds prismatic cell modules and does not disclose a terminal disposed in the cavity of a connector housing.
Contrary to applicant’s argument, WO '949 discloses a connector housing 42 defining a cavity in which an electrical terminal (terminals connected the cell modules 41 together). Further, one skill in the art would recognize that the cell modules in the housing 42 would not be electrically connected without terminals.
In response to applicant’s argument that Cavallieri's wire dress cover 20 is not the claimed cover enclosing a cavity defined by a connector housing in which an electrical terminal is disposed.
Contrary to applicant’s argument, Cavallieri et al. discloses a connector housing (col. 3, line 57) defining a cavity in which an electrical terminal (col. 3, lines 60-62) is disposed; and a cover 20 that is configured to enclose the cavity, thereby protecting the electrical terminal and thermally manage heat within the cavity (col. 3, lines 60-64), the cover 20 having a thermal management mechanism (see figures 3, 6 and 7) including a plurality of pneumatic ports 56 configured to direct an air flow though the cavity (col. 5, lines 5-14). (NOTE: Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because applicant did not address all of the above bold/underlined provide by Examiner in the last Office Action).
Further, even though Cavallieri et al. does not disclose the term “pneumatic”, one skill in the art would recognize that a process involving heat disclosed by Cavallieri et al. could be part of a pneumatic system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tdt
8/9/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834