DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Day et al. (USPN 10213665) in view of Cleghorn et al. (USPN 10035051).
Regarding claim 1, Day et al. discloses a club head having a body and weight assembly (See Figures 4-9). The body includes a striking face having a lower leading edge and a sole 118 extending from the lower leading edge. The sole also includes a recessed channel 601 having a first sidewall extending in a toe-heel direction with ribs formed in the sidewall. The weight assembly includes a weight 715, cover 401, and fastener 409. The weight is disposed within the recessed channel and configured to move therein. The cover releasably secures the weight within the recessed channel. The fastener couples to the cover to the body. When the cover is in the locked position, the cover is disposed in the recessed channel and secures the weight within the recessed channel wherein a gap between the sole and the exterior of the cover is no more than 5mm (See Column 4, lines 51 through 67). In the unlocked position, the cover is raised and the weight is moveable within the recessed channel. Day et al. discloses ribs in the sidewall for positioning the weight but does not disclose dimples in the sidewall. Cleghorn et al. discloses a club head having a recessed channel with dimpled sidewalls 1185 such that the weight can be adjusted within the recessed channel (See Column 16, lines 40 through 51). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the sidewalls dimpled rather than ribbed, as taught by Cleghorn et al., in order to position the weight within the recessed channel.
Regarding claim 2, Day et al. discloses the club head being a wood golf club head having a crown, face, and sole.
Regarding claim 3, Day et al. discloses 0% of the outer surface of the weight is visible in the locked configuration.
Regarding claim 4, Day et al. discloses the fastener configured to retain the weight within the recessed channel only indirectly by the cover.
Regarding claim 6, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Day et al. discloses the portion of the exterior surface proximal to the first sidewall is an edge of the exterior surface proximal to the first sidewall (See Figures 4-9).
Regarding claim 10, Day et al. discloses the recessed channel has a second sidewall opposite to the first sidewall and extending along the toe-heel direction, wherein the first and second sidewalls are respectfully proximal and distal to the lower leading edge of a striking face plane tangential to an outermost surface of the striking face (See Figures 4-9).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12102895. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application does not claim a weight having a position indicator. Though not claimed in claim 1 of the instant application, the limitations of claim 1 of US Patent 12102895 encompasses the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. In light of the above, claim 1 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of US Patent 12102895. Claim 10 of US Patent 12102895 encompasses the limitations of claim 11 of the instant application, and claim 16 of US Patent 12102895 encompasses the limitations of claim 17 of the instant application.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711