Detailed Action
1. This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 07/07/2026. Claims 17 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 8-9, 11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DEL OJO ELLIAS et al. (WO 2013/079113 A1), in view of Rajagopal et al. (US 9,461,982), hereinafter “ELLIAS” and “Rajagopal”, correspondingly.
5. As to claim 1, ELLIAS discloses a method performed by at least one processor, said method comprising:
receiving a request for a remote browsing session, the request received from a first browser running on a client device ([0052] and [0122]: the user introduces in his pre-installed local (first) browser the URL of a web site … In response to the client device is prompted to formally request an instance of a container in a Secure Browsing Server, which creates a Secure (remote) Browsing Instance);
retrieving customization information associated with the first browser ([0125]: The Client Access Tool is prepared for the session, and all the data (customization information) required for establishing the connection between the (local browser of) the user device and the container (session ID and encryption keys) is embedded in the binary code before signing the software; and [0127]: the web site initially sends a login form so that the user can respond by introducing his credentials (customization information) using the Local Browser);
based on the request, allocating a remote browsing server ([0096]: when receiving the mentioned request, the Connection Manager chooses one of the Secure Browsing Servers to host the new environment and instructs it to create a new Secure Browsing Instance), the remote browsing server comprising a remote browsing connector and a second browser ([0052]: the request is routed to the Access Manager, which will deliver a Client Access Tool 220, being customized for one specific session, to the user’s device 110. At the same time, the Secure Browsing Server 320 hosted in the Secure Server System 210 creates one Secure Browsing Instance 330 (comprising a Secure Remote Browser 335) assigned to the user as a browsing environment for the session and interacts with its corresponding Client Access Tool 220); and
causing the first browser to connect to the second browser via the remote browsing connector such that a video stream of renderings of the second browser are displayed on the first browser ([0052]: A Secure Remote Browser 335, executed inside the Secure Browsing Instance 330, fetches, retrieves and renders, the contents of the destination web site following the usual process, as if it were hosted in the end user’s computing device 110. Once rendered, the web page contents are sent to the Client Access Tool 220 as images, for display on the user’s device display), and user input from the first browser is transmitted to the second browser ([0132]: Keyboard and mouse events are transmitted to the Secure Remote Browser to process them and update the display).
ELLIAS does not explicitly teach “the second browser is configured with the customization information”.
In an analogous art, Rajagopal discloses systems and methods that allow for secure access to websites and web-based applications and other resources available through the [disposable] browser which runs within the secure service environment … The disposable browser session may be populated (i.e., configured) with merchant accounts, user credentials, user bookmarks/favorites, browser histories, plug-ins, extensions, and session states associated with the user’s previous disposable browser session(s) (i.e., the second browser is configured with the customization information) (col. 1, line 64 – col. 2, line24 and col. 5, line 46 – col. 6, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of ELLIAS and Rajagopal to achieve the claimed invention to enable the user’s activities being protected within the secure service environment and to remove the user’s machine from being directly exposed and vulnerable to the public internet (Rajagopal, col. 1, lines 52-57).
6. As to claim 8, ELLIAS-Rajagopal discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: instantiating the remote browsing server after receiving the request (ELLIAS, [0096]: when receiving the mentioned request, the Connection Manager chooses one of the Secure Browsing Servers to host the new environment and instructs it to create a new Secure Browsing Instance).
7. As to claim 9, ELLIAS-Rajagopal teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the allocating comprises selecting the remote browsing server from a plurality of remote browsing servers (ELLIAS, [0096]: when receiving the mentioned request, the Connection Manager chooses one of the Secure Browsing Servers to host the new environment and instructs it to create a new Secure Browsing Instance).
8. As to claims 11 and 18-19, claims 11 and 18-19 are corresponding remote browsing administrator device claims that recites similar limitations as of method claims 1 and 8-9, and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
9. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLIAS-Rajagopal, in view of Gupta (US 2012/0303453 A1).
10. As to claims 2-3, ELLIAS-Rajagopal discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach “the customization information comprises at least one of bookmarks and cookies and is retrieved from a bookmark database on the client device”.
In an analogous art, Gupta discloses “the customization information comprises at least one of bookmarks and cookies and is retrieved from a bookmark database on the client device” ([0017] and [0030]: when a user visits login page 5-2, the browser application may send cookie information to one or more servers 508 … The browser cookie may be stored on a storage device on the user’s computer device and the browser application may retrieve the cookie and transmitted to one or more servers 508).
It have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to combine the teachings of ELLIAS-Rajagopal and Gupta to achieve the claimed invention to allow users to be targeted with advertisements selected appropriately such that they can be properly displayed on different user devices based on various information extracted from the cookie information (Gupta, [0033]).
11. As to claim 5, ELLIAS-Rajagopal-Gupta teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining at least one of a user profile or session profile associated with the request (Gupta, [0023]: a profile for the user may be determined based at least in part on the demographic information included in the targeting information extracted from the cookie information).
12. As to claim 6, ELLIAS-Rajagopal-Gupta teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the customization information is selected based on the user profile (Gupta, [0023]: the user may be targeted with one or more advertisements based at least in part on [the information retrieved from] the user profile).
13. As to claims 12-13 and 15-16, claims 12-13 and 15-16 are corresponding remote browsing administrator device claims that recites similar limitations as of method claim 12-13 and 15-16, and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
14. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLIAS-Rajagopal, in view of MacLachlan et al. (US 2012/0271702 A1), hereinafter “MacLachlan”.
15. As to claim 4, ELLIAS-Rajagopal discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “the customization information is retrieved from a bookmark database associated with a remote browsing service”.
In an analogous art, MacLachlan discloses “the customization information is retrieved from a bookmark database associated with a remote browsing service” ([0021]: The electronic commerce server (remote browsing service) may include a profile database 36, which stores a plurality of user profiles 38. The user profile 38 may include one or more of: browsing history data (which may include bookmark data), transaction history data, demographic data, location data, IP address, email address and payment data. Each user profile may be associated with a user tag 42 of an authenticated user of client program 40… For some types of user profile data, the electronic commerce server may read the cookie to retrieve information from the client device 44 and store it in the user profile 38 at the server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ELLIAS-Rajagopal and MacLachlan to achieve the claimed invention to enable the system to collect session data to identify individual users and retain user preferences to be used in future browsing sessions.
16. As to claim 14, claim 14 is a corresponding remote browsing administrator device claim that recites similar limitations as of method claim 4, and does not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
17. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLIAS-Rajagopal-Gupta, in view of Moturu (US 10,069,812 B1).
18. As to claim 7, ELLIAS-Rajagopal-Gupta discloses the method of claim 5, but does not explicitly discloses “the customization information is selected based on the session profile”.
In an analogous art, Moturu discloses “the customization information is selected based on the session profile” (col. 4, lines 49-56: After the server receives the initial request from the browser, the server checks whether a login cookie was sent with the initial request. If a login cookie was sent, the server simple validates the login cookie and retrieves session information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of ELLIAS-Rajagopal-Gupta and Moturu to achieve the claimed invention to enable the system collect session data to identify individual users and retain user preferences to be used in future browsing sessions.
19. As to claim 17, claim 17 is a corresponding remote browsing administrator device claim that recites similar limitations as of method claim 7, and does not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
20. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLIAS-Rajagopal, in view of Ellis et al. (US 2005/0028208 A1), hereinafter “Ellis”.
21. As to claim 10, ELLIAS-Rajagopal discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “updating at least one of a bookmark database on the client device or a bookmark database associated with a remote browsing service in response to changes to the customization information on the second browser”.
In an analogous art, Ellis discloses “updating at least one of a bookmark database on the client device or a bookmark database associated with a remote browsing service in response to changes to the customization information on the second browser” ([0176]: After the user adds a bookmark with a remote access Internet browser, the remote access Internet browser may exchange one or more access communications with a local Internet browser to add the bookmark to the local browser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ELLIAS-Rajagopal and Ellis to achieve the claimed invention to enable the system to synchronize bookmarks across devices to improve search and access speed.
22. As to claim 20, claim 20 is a corresponding remote browsing administrator device claim that recites similar limitations as of method claim 10, and does not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
23. Further references of interest are cited on Form PTO-892, which is an attachment to this Office Action.
/QUANG N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453