DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on December 3, 2024 and August 27, 2024 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Six (6) sheets of drawings were filed on August 27, 2024 and have been accepted by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cobb (US 2013/0215923 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, 9, 11-12, and 16; Cobb discloses an apparatus (see Figure 5D), and correspond method, the apparatus comprising:
a dichroic combiner array (F2, F3) configured to combine multiple input optical beams (beams from lasers 12a, 12b, 12c) and generate an output optical beam (composite beam 28), the dichroic combiner array (regions of F3) comprising:
multiple mirrors (the mirrors are formed by reflective surfaces of F2 and F3); and
multiple dichroic filters (filters F2 and F3 are formed of dichroic coatings; see paragraph 142);
wherein a first of the mirrors (a first surface region of F2) is configured to reflect a first of the input optical beams (beam A/A1 from laser 12A) towards a first of the dichroic filters (a first region of F3), the first dichroic filter (first region of F3) is configured to combine the first input optical beam (A1) and a second of the input optical beams (B/B1);
wherein a second of the mirrors (second regions of F2) is configured to reflect a combined optical beam (A1, B1) from the first dichroic filter (first region of F3) to a second of the dichroic filters (second region of F3); and
wherein a last of the dichroic filters (last region of F3) is configured to generate the output optical beam (A1, B1, C1); and
a beam dump array (array of regions of absorber 56; see paragraph 119) comprising multiple beam dumps (multiple region so absorber 56) configured to terminate stray optical energy (stray feedback light FB; see paragraph 119 and Figure 5D), the stray optical energy comprising at least one of: (i) optical energy reflecting from at least one of the dichroic filters and (ii) optical energy transmitted through at least one of the dichroic filters (the feedback light, FB is reflected by the dichroic filters);
wherein:
the dichroic combiner array is configured to receive n input optical beams (3 beams, A, B, C from lasers 12a, 12b, 12c);
the multiple mirrors (multiple regions of F2) comprise a collection of n–1 mirrors (F2 includes at least 2 regions that reflect A1 and A1/B1; the examiner notes that comprises does not preclude the presence of additional elements, in this case additional reflective regions of F2);
the multiple dichroic filters (regions of F3) comprise a collection of n–1 dichroic filters (F3 includes at least 2 regions that allow a beam B, C to pass and reflect beams A1 and A1/B1, respectively; the examiner notes that comprise does not preclude the presence of additional regions of F3);
the beam dump array (regions of 56) includes n beam dumps (absorber 56 includes at least n regions along a length thereof); and
the dichroic filters are collectively configured to generate n–1 combined optical beams (regions of F3 generate n-1 combined optical beams, A1/B1, A1/B1/C1), a final combined optical beam (A1/B1/C1) representing the output optical beam (28);
wherein n is an integer equal to at least three (3 input beams of light A, B, C);
wherein the beam dumps (regions of 56) of the beam dump array are arranged to allow the stray optical energy to strike the beam dumps at least three times (the regions of 56 are arranged across from an opposing surface of refractive plate 42, wherein light may be reflected from the refractive plate at least 3 times, as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, thereby the device allows stray light to strike the beam dump surface at least three times; the examiner notes that configured to allow does not necessarily require this function to occur, but only provides for the allowance of the function to occur), the beam dumps configured to absorb portions of the stray optical energy during each strike (the regions of 56 are absorbent and therefore configured to absorb stray light each time it strikes the surface);
the method comprising using the dichroic combiner array (regions of F2, F3) to generate the composite output beam (28) and terminating stray optical energy using the beam dump array (regions of 56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobb (US 2013/0215923 A1) in view of Johnson et al. (WO 2016/03952 A1), hereafter Johnson.
Regarding claims 4, 8, 13, and 19; Cobb discloses the optical beam combiner apparatus of claim 1, and corresponding method, but does not disclose a manifold configured to provide at least one fluid coolant to the beam dumps and to receive the at least one fluid coolant from the beam dumps, an further comprising an interface plate configured to be connected to the housing and to an external structure; wherein the interface plate comprises a first port configured to receive at least one fluid coolant and a second port configured to provide the at least one fluid coolant.
Johnson teaches that the life of an optical beam combiner apparatus may be extended by providing cooling means which may include liquid cooling via a cooling block to conduct heat away from an optical combiner assembly (see the title, abstract and paragraph 141). Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further providing a manifold (a cooling block for liquid cooling as suggested by the teachings of Johnson) configured to provide at least one fluid coolant to the beam dumps and the entire of Cobb and to receive the at least one fluid coolant from the beam dumps and the entire device of Cobb for the purpose of removing heat therefrom to extend the life thereof, the manifold further comprising an interface plate (a surface of a manifold is considered to be inherently provide and a plate) configured to be connected to the housing and to an external structure (an external structure including a reservoir of cooling fluid and a tank to receive the returned cooling fluid is inherently required for a liquid cooling structure), wherein the interface plate (manifold surface) comprises a first port configured to receive at least one fluid coolant and a second port configured to provide the at least one fluid coolant (ports are inherently required to receive and evacuate fluid, as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art), thus the prior art teaching that liquid coolant is provided via a cooling block inherently suggests the provision of a interface plate of the cooling block (i.e. the manifold) and the provision of ports for the liquid coolant to be applied in a standard manner.
Claims 5-7, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobb (US 2013/0215923 A1) in view of Scobey et al. (US 5,859,717), hereafter Scobey.
Regarding claims 5-7 and 14-15; Cobb discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and corresponding method, as applied above, further comprising a platform (42) configured to carry the dichroic combiner array (F2, F3) and the beam dump array (56) but fails to disclose multiple connectors configured to receive the input optical beams, wherein the multiple connectors are configured to be coupled to multiple optical fibers, a housing configured to receive an optical bench comprising the platform, the dichroic combiner array, and the beam dump array; and a cover configured to secure the optical bench in the housing.
Scobey teaches that an optical beam combiner platform (2) and multiple connectors (collimators 6, 24, which optically and physically connect to optical fibers 4, 48) configured to receive the input optical beams, wherein the multiple connectors (6) are configured to be coupled to multiple optical fibers (4, 48), a housing (housing 52) configured to receive an optical bench (56) comprising the platform (2), the dichroic combiner array, and the beam dump array (dichroic filters 20, 32; see column 5, lines 22-30 and column 11, lines 16-17); and a cover (54) configured to secure the optical bench in the housing (see Figures 2, 3, and 5).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further provide multiple connectors configured to receive the input optical beams, wherein the multiple connectors are configured to be coupled to multiple optical fibers, a housing configured to receive an optical bench comprising the platform, the dichroic combiner array, and the beam dump array; and a cover configured to secure the optical bench in the housing for the purpose of providing an optical module that prevent damage to the optical beam combiner components provided within a house and allows for optical fibers to transmit optical signals to in from the device in alternative to the provision of laser diodes near the device such that the device may be easily handled and used in any desired system, since all of these elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 17-18 and 20, as applied to the apparatus above, Cobb and Scobey render obvious a corresponding method comprising:
placing an optical bench in a housing (Scobey teaches that a beam combiner platform 2 is placed on an optical bench formed by the surface of 56, within a housing 52, Cobb discloses a platform 42 that would be obvious to place within a housing in view of the teachings of Scobey as discussed above); and
securing the optical bench (56) within the housing (52);
wherein the optical bench comprises:
a dichroic combiner array (F2, F3) configured to combine multiple input optical beams (beams from lasers 12a, 12b, 12c) and generate an output optical beam (composite beam 28), the dichroic combiner array (regions of F3) comprising:
multiple mirrors (the mirrors are formed by reflective surfaces of F2 and F3); and
multiple dichroic filters (filters F2 and F3 are formed of dichroic coatings; see paragraph 142);
wherein a first of the mirrors (a first surface region of F2) is configured to reflect a first of the input optical beams (beam A/A1 from laser 12A) towards a first of the dichroic filters (a first region of F3), the first dichroic filter (first region of F3) is configured to combine the first input optical beam (A1) and a second of the input optical beams (B/B1);
wherein a second of the mirrors (second regions of F2) is configured to reflect a combined optical beam (A1, B1) from the first dichroic filter (first region of F3) to a second of the dichroic filters (second region of F3); and
wherein a last of the dichroic filters (last region of F3) is configured to generate the output optical beam (A1, B1, C1); and
a beam dump array (array of regions of absorber 56; see paragraph 119) comprising multiple beam dumps (multiple region so absorber 56) configured to terminate stray optical energy (stray feedback light FB; see paragraph 119 and Figure 5D), the stray optical energy comprising at least one of: (i) optical energy reflecting from at least one of the dichroic filters and (ii) optical energy transmitted through at least one of the dichroic filters (the feedback light, FB is reflected by the dichroic filters);
wherein securing the optical bench (2 of Scobey) within the housing (52) comprises:
placing a cover (54) over the optical bench (56); and
connecting the cover to the housing (52).
wherein the beam dumps (regions of 56) of the beam dump array are arranged to allow the stray optical energy to strike the beam dumps at least three times (the regions of 56 are arranged across from an opposing surface of refractive plate 42, wherein light may be reflected from the refractive plate at least 3 times, as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, thereby the device allows stray light to strike the beam dump surface at least three times; the examiner notes that configured to allow does not necessarily require this function to occur, but only provides for the allowance of the function to occur), the beam dumps configured to absorb portions of the stray optical energy during each strike (the regions of 56 are absorbent and therefore configured to absorb stray light each time it strikes the surface).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, which is the most relevant prior art known, does not disclose or reasonably suggest the apparatus of Claim 9, wherein each beam dump comprises two major surfaces, the major surfaces of each beam dump having grooves in combination with all of the limitations of base claim 1 and all of the limitations of intervening claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 2011/0058771 A1) discloses a light combiner (see the entire disclosure);
Lu et al. (US 10,409,013 B1) discloses a light combiner (see the entire disclosure);
Shin (US 2013/0168537 A1) discloses a light combiner (see the entire disclosure); and
Mathai et al. (US 9,798,087 B1) discloses a light combiner (see the entire disclosure).
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874