DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larsen et al. (Larsen), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0267617.
Regarding Claims 9 and 14, Larsen discloses a computing system to facilitate a
cellular network, the computing system comprising:
one or more processing devices; and
memory communicatively coupled with and readable by the one or more processing devices and having stored therein processor-readable instructions which, when executed by the one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a network function that handles connection and mobility management tasks in a subsequent-generation visited network, a first data in a subsequent- generation context (i.e., node 104 receives the message transmitted by 5G-RAN 102 in step 306 and, in response, identifies the default QoS flow and GBR QoS flows per PDU session based on associated QoS characteristics; see paragraph [0067]), wherein the first data in the subsequent-generation context is originated by a request from a subsequent-generation capable user equipment (UE) to use a precedent- generation network service (for example, the UE transmitting a registration request message comprising information identifying a set of one or more translation methods for mapping 5G QoS flows to 4G bearers that are supported by the UE.; see paragraph [0029]);
converting the first data in the subsequent-generation context to a second data in a precedent-generation context (i.e., Node 104 then uses the predetermined translation rule to assign an EPS bearer identifier (ID) to one or more of the identified QoS flows (e.g., a first EPS bearer ID may be assigned to the default QoS flow and other EPS bearer IDs are assigned to the GBR QoS flows); see paragraph [0067]);
sending, to a precedent-generation home network, the second data in the precedent- generation context (i.e., The assigned EPS bearer IDs are then included in a handover message generated by node 104. For example, node 104 may sort the QoS flows in priority order according to the predefined rule. This priority order is used to populate a handover message that is generated by node 104 and sent to node 105.; see paragraphs [0067] and [0071]);
receiving, from the precedent-generation home network, a third data in the precedent-generation context, wherein the third data is a result of processing the second data by the precedent-generation home network (i.e., 4G-RAN 103 receives the Handover Request, reserves resources for the requested bearers (i.e., the bearers identified by the E-RAB IDs included in the transparent container), and generates and acknowledgment (ACK) (e.g., the S1AP message Handover Request Acknowledge)… 4G-RAN 103 transmits the ACK to node 105; see paragraphs [0072]-[0075]);
converting the third data in the precedent-generation context to a fourth data in the subsequent-generation context (i.e., in response to receiving the response message transmitted by node 105, node 104 transmits a handover command to 5G-RAN 102.; see paragraph [0076]); and
sending, to the network function in the subsequent-generation visited network, the fourth data in the subsequent-generation context (i.e., node 104 transmits a handover command to 5G-RAN 102… 5G-RAN 102 receives the handover command and then sends a handover command to UE 101; see paragraphs [0076] and [0077]).
Regarding Claim 11, Larsen discloses wherein a first adaptor is used for
sending and receiving data in the subsequent-generation context, and a second adaptor is used for sending and receiving data in the precedent-generation context (see figure 1).
Regarding Claims 12 and 20, Larsen discloses wherein converting the first data
in the subsequent- generation context to the second data in the precedent-generation context further comprises at least one of: translating information from a subsequent-generation procedure into a precedent-generation procedure, or converting a subsequent-generation identity to a precedent-generation identity (see paragraph [0067]).
Regarding Claim 13, Larsen discloses wherein converting the third data in the
precedent- generation context to the fourth data in the subsequent-generation context further comprises at least one of: translating information from a precedent-generation procedure into a subsequent-generation procedure (see paragraph [0076]), or converting a precedent-generation identity to a subsequent-generation identity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen in view of Kaushik et al., U.S. Publication No. 2025/0071711 (Kaushik 711’).
Regarding Claims 10 and 15, Larsen discloses the computing system and one
or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media as described above. Larsen fails to disclose wherein the network function comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF). Kaushik 711’ discloses wherein the network function comprises an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraph [0014]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Kaushik’s invention with Larsen’s invention for increasing availability and performance characteristics as described throughout Kaushik 711’.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen and Kaushik 711’.
Regarding Claim 16, Larsen discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media as described above. Larsen further discloses wherein the request comprises a UE registration (see paragraph [0029]), wherein the first data is received (as described in claim 9), wherein the second data is sent (as described in claim 9), wherein the third data is received (as described in claim 9) and wherein the fourth data is received (as described in claim 9). Larsen further teaches mobility management node, such as Mobility Management Entity (MME), as part of the core network (see paragraph [0056]). Therefore, Larsen is considered as data being sent and received via a mobility management entity (MME) interface adaptor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Larsen’s invention for improving user quality and service continuity as described throughout Larsen.
Larsen fails to disclose authentication request, via an authentication server function (AUSF) adaptor or a unified data management (UDM) adaptor. Kaushik 711’ discloses authentication request (see paragraph [0020]), via an authentication server function (AUSF) adaptor or a unified data management (UDM) adaptor (see paragraph [0020]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Kaushik’s invention with Larsen’s invention for increasing availability and performance characteristics as described throughout Kaushik 711’.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen in view of Kaushik et al., U.S. Publication No. 2025/0071524 (Kaushik 524’).
Regarding Claim 19, Larsen discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable storage media as described above. Larsen further discloses wherein the first data is received (as described in claim 9), wherein the second data is sent (as described in claim 9), wherein the third data is received (as described in claim 9) and wherein the fourth data is received (as described in claim 9). Larsen further teaches mobility management node, such as Mobility Management Entity (MME), as part of the core network (see paragraph [0056]). Therefore, Larsen is considered as data being sent and received via a mobility management entity (MME) interface adaptor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Larsen’s invention for improving user quality and service continuity as described throughout Larsen.
Larsen fails to disclose wherein the request comprises a short message service request and via a short message service function (SMSF) adaptor. Kaushik 524’ discloses wherein the request comprises a short message service request (see paragraph [0012]) and via a short message service function (SMSF) adaptor (see paragraph [0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Kaushik 524’s invention with Larsen’s invention for enhancing the communication experiences of users as described throughout Kaushik 524’.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen in view of Kaushik 711’.
Regarding Claim 1, Larsen discloses a method of enabling seamless roaming of
a fifth generation (5G) capable user equipment (UE) from a fourth generation (4G) home network to a 5G visited network, the method comprising:
receiving, in the 5G visited network, a first data in a 5G context (i.e., node 104 receives the message transmitted by 5G-RAN 102 in step 306 and, in response, identifies the default QoS flow and GBR QoS flows per PDU session based on associated QoS characteristics; see paragraph [0067]), wherein the first data in the 5G context is originated by a request from the 5G capable user equipment (UE) to use a 4G network service (for example, the UE transmitting a registration request message comprising information identifying a set of one or more translation methods for mapping 5G QoS flows to 4G bearers that are supported by the UE.; see paragraph [0029]);
converting the first data in the 5G context to a second data in a 4G context (i.e., Node 104 then uses the predetermined translation rule to assign an EPS bearer identifier (ID) to one or more of the identified QoS flows (e.g., a first EPS bearer ID may be assigned to the default QoS flow and other EPS bearer IDs are assigned to the GBR QoS flows); see paragraph [0067]);
sending, to the 4G home network, the second data in the 4G context (i.e., The assigned EPS bearer IDs are then included in a handover message generated by node 104. For example, node 104 may sort the QoS flows in priority order according to the predefined rule. This priority order is used to populate a handover message that is generated by node 104 and sent to node 105.; see paragraphs [0067] and [0071]);
receiving, from the 4G home network, a third data in the 4G context, wherein the third data is a result of processing the second data by the 4G home network (i.e., 4G-RAN 103 receives the Handover Request, reserves resources for the requested bearers (i.e., the bearers identified by the E-RAB IDs included in the transparent container), and generates and acknowledgment (ACK) (e.g., the S1AP message Handover Request Acknowledge)… 4G-RAN 103 transmits the ACK to node 105; see paragraphs [0072]-[0075]);
converting the third data in the 4G context to a fourth data in the 5G context (i.e., in response to receiving the response message transmitted by node 105, node 104 transmits a handover command to 5G-RAN 102.; see paragraph [0076]); and
sending, to the 5G visited network, the fourth data in the 5G context (i.e., node 104 transmits a handover command to 5G-RAN 102… 5G-RAN 102 receives the handover command and then sends a handover command to UE 101; see paragraphs [0076] and [0077]).
Larsen fails to disclose from an access and mobility management function
(AMF) and to the AMF.
Kaushik 711’ discloses from an access and mobility management function
(AMF) and to the AMF (see paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Kaushik’s invention with Larsen’s invention for increasing availability and performance characteristics as described throughout Kaushik 711’.
Regarding Claim 2, Larsen and Kaushik 711’ disclose the method as described above. Larsen further discloses wherein the request comprises a UE registration (see paragraph [0029]), wherein the first data is received (as described in claim 9), wherein the second data is sent (as described in claim 9), wherein the third data is received (as described in claim 9) and wherein the fourth data is received (as described in claim 9). Larsen further teaches mobility management node, such as Mobility Management Entity (MME), as part of the core network (see paragraph [0056]). Therefore, Larsen is considered as data being sent and received via a mobility management entity (MME) interface adaptor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Larsen’s invention for improving user quality and service continuity as described throughout Larsen.
Larsen fails to disclose authentication request, via an authentication server function (AUSF) adaptor or a unified data management (UDM) adaptor. Kaushik 711’ discloses authentication request (see paragraph [0020]), via an authentication server function (AUSF) adaptor or a unified data management (UDM) adaptor (see paragraph [0020]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Kaushik’s invention with Larsen’s invention for increasing availability and performance characteristics as described throughout Kaushik 711’.
Regarding Claim 6, Larsen and Kaushik 711’ disclose the method as described above. Larsen further discloses wherein a first adaptor is used for sending and receiving data in a 5G context, and a second adaptor is used for sending and receiving data in a 4G context (see figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Larsen and Kaushik 711’ disclose the method as described above. Larsen further discloses wherein converting the first data in the 5G context to the second data in the 4G context further comprises at least one of: translating information from a 5G procedure into a 4G procedure, or converting a 5G identity to a 4G identity (see paragraph [0067]).
Regarding Claim 8, Larsen and Kaushik 711’ disclose the method as described above. Larsen further discloses wherein converting the third data in the 4G context to the fourth data in the 5G context further comprises at least one of: translating information from a 4G procedure into a 5G procedure (see paragraph [0076]), or converting a 4G identity to a 5G identity.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen and Kaushik 524’.
Regarding Claim 5, Larsen discloses the method as described above. Larsen further discloses wherein the first data is received (as described in claim 9), wherein the second data is sent (as described in claim 9), wherein the third data is received (as described in claim 9) and wherein the fourth data is received (as described in claim 9). Larsen further teaches mobility management node, such as Mobility Management Entity (MME), as part of the core network (see paragraph [0056]). Therefore, Larsen is considered as data being sent and received via a mobility management entity (MME) interface adaptor. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Larsen’s invention for improving user quality and service continuity as described throughout Larsen.
Larsen fails to disclose wherein the request comprises a short message service request and via a short message service function (SMSF) adaptor. Kaushik 524’ discloses wherein the request comprises a short message service request (see paragraph [0012]) and via a short message service function (SMSF) adaptor (see paragraph [0010]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Kaushik 524’s invention with Larsen’s invention for enhancing the communication experiences of users as described throughout Kaushik 524’.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aherrao et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0133448 discloses systems and methods for
USN monitoring via virtual tap.
Lu et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0084675 discloses method, apparatus and device
for allowing terminal to move between 4G and 5G networks.
Watanabe et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0258766 discloses techniques to facilitate
mobility management entity (MME) identification for user equipment context transfer.
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
August 10, 2026