DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Madnani (U.S. Publication 2008/0162651), hereinafter ‘Madnani’.
As to claim 1, Madnani discloses computer implemented messaged value retrieval and management system comprising in combination:
i. a computing system comprising at least one server comprising: a. at least one processor (Madnani, see fig. 3, processor);
b. at least one computer memory (Madnani, see fig. 3, memory);
c. at least one network interface (Madnani, see fig. 3 and [0208], communication interface); and
ii. an off-account filter service at the at least one server operable to perform content distribution control using off-account content filtering, the off-account content filtering comprising one or more configurable filters (Madnani, see [0140], email can have set up user-specified criteria, wherein criteria include certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc.).
As to claim 2, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises an order updates filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 3, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, but is silent to wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a sponsored content filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 4, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a limited marketing filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 5, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a discount filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 6, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a clearance filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 7, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a limited release filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 8, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises new arrivals filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 9, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a back in stock filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 10, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises an events filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 11, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a trip detail filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 12, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a socially conscious filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 13, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a brand filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 14, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a by item filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc).
As to claim 15, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, wherein the one or more configurable filters comprises a by keyword-based filter (Madnani, see [0140], user-specified criteria can classify emails based on certain email addresses, certain domain names, certain words in the subject header or the body of the email, etc. See [0171], filtering criteria include key words in subject field or body of email).
As to claim 16, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, further comprising an off-account message collection service operable to collect email messages (Madnani, see [0157], emails are collected with all the related content together in a single composite email).
As to claim 17, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 1, further comprising an off-account messaged distribution service operable to distribute email messages (Madnani, see [0061] and [0210], computer system can send messages and receive data).
As to claim 18, Madnani discloses everything disclosed in claim 17, further comprising an off-account message collection service operable to collect email messages (Madnani, see [0157], emails are collected with all the related content together in a single composite email).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. This includes: U.S. Publication 2004/0088359, which describes predictive management of electronic messages. U.S. Publication 2006/0256012, which describes managing content exchange on wireless device. U.S. Publication 2010/0223349, which describes message targeting and filtering.
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443