DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: The claims filed on 08/27/2024. This action is made non-final.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 15 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katalon Studio (“Record web utility in Katalon Studio”, published on July 1, 2022; hereinafter Katalon. Note: this document is recited in the IDS filed on 09/04/2024) in view of Bienfait et al. (US 2023/0281023 A1; hereinafter Bienfait).
As to claim 1, Katalon teaches:
A method comprising:
while recording user actions with respect to a website, detecting that a user entered text within a text field of a webpage of the website (see Page 1, “you only need to manually interact with your website and perform all the desired actions as a real user while the Katalon Recorder Utility record them”. Page 4: when user types in a password in the Password field, Katalon Web Recorder uses the Set Encrypted Text keyword automatically. The input value is encrypted to ensure security);
causing an action pane to be presented, wherein the action pane includes a value text field and a test value text field (See Page 4: “ROCERDED ACTIONS” pane);
in response to the detecting, inserting the text into the test value text field of the action pane (See Page 4: “John Doe”);
wherein the method is performed by one or more computing devices (Page 2: Download and install the Katalon Recorder add-on first and user your preferred browser [which is installed on a computing device] to start recording).
Katalon discloses Save Script, test objects are stored in a selected direction (see Page 4); therefore, it appears Katalon teaches storing an association between the text, the text field, and the test value text field as part of a workflow (see Page 4 and Page 10-11; Variables Name and Default Value are being stored and can be managed using Variables pane). However, Katalon does not explicitly disclose such teaching in text description.
Bienfait is relied upon for teaching the limitations. Specifically, Bienfait teaches a method and a system for automatically creating workflow automations (see Abstract and ¶ 0026); the method is performed by one or more computing devices (see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0030-0032) comprising: storing an association between the text, the text field, and the test value text field as part of a workflow (see ¶ 0032-0034; data generated by the recorder is stored in the storage device 113, the stored data includes application data 114 may comprise images of application user interfaces, as well as data defining various elements of such user interfaces. As will be described below, an element may be defined by its location and dimensions within a user interface, its type (e.g., text box, drop-down menu, selectable toggle), and an identifier. Interaction data 115 may represent individual interactions (e.g., clicks, selections and text entries) of a user with elements of one or more user interfaces. For example, over a user-designated period of time, recorder 112 may generate and store interaction data 115 which indicates a sequence of user interactions performed on various elements of a user interface).
Both references are related to creating workflow automations; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Katalon with the teachings of Bienfait to provide a method that allows the user to record user actions with text fields of a webpage as claimed. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because of the overlapping subject matter, and the advantages described in Bienfait of providing a mechanism to generate automated workflows efficiently and with reduced development time and errors (Bienfait: see ¶ 0004).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: wherein the action pane is presented in response to the detecting (Katalon: See Page 4: “ROCERDED ACTIONS” pane).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: detecting a plurality of test values in the workflow; causing one or more prompts to be presented that allows a second user to select, for each test value of the plurality of test values, either said test value or a parameterized option (Katalon: Pages 7-10; run options).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: wherein detecting the plurality of test values and causing the one or more prompts to be presented are performed prior to initiating a test run of the workflow (Katalon: Pages 7-10; run options).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: receiving, from a computing device a first user, input that specifies a secret parameter to be associated with a particular text field in the website; wherein a value of the secret parameter is not viewable by the first user and was established by a second user, that is different than the first user, prior to receiving the input; wherein the secret parameter is a username or a password (Katalon: Page 4: when user types in a password in the Password field, Katalon Web Recorder uses the Set Encrypted Text keyword automatically. The input value is encrypted to ensure security).
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: while recording the user actions with the website, automatically creating one or more pre-validations for one or more graphical nodes in the workflow that is created based on the recording; while executing the workflow, processing the one or more pre-validations (Katalon: see Pages 6-7; Validate UI elements).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: wherein a particular pre-validation of the one or more pre-validations includes a timer, the expiration of which causes a robot that executes the workflow to generate a message that is part of the particular pre-validation (Katalon: see Pages 6-8; Validate UI elements; error message).
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: wherein a particular pre-validation of the one or more pre-validations is the existence of a user interface element, wherein a robot that executes the workflow, when processing the particular pre-validation, makes multiple attempts to access the UI element when the UI element is not yet visible or rendered (Katalon: see Pages 6-8; Validate UI elements; error message).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: further comprising: while recording the user actions with respect to the website, detecting that the user selects particular text on a second webpage of the website; causing, to be presented, a second action pane; receiving, through the second action pane, user input that specifies a location where to save the particular text (Katalon: see Page 4; choose a directory you want your test objects to be stored in to continue).
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait further teach: further comprising: wherein the location is one of an output source of an entity that executes the workflow, an internal variable that is used later in the workflow, or a third-party data source (Katalon: see Page 4; choose a directory you want your test objects to be stored in to continue).
As to claim 15, claim 15 is directed to one or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the computer to implement the method of claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Bienfait: see ¶ 0037, 0082).
As to claim 17, claim 17 is directed to one or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the computer to implement the method of claim 7; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Bienfait: see ¶ 0037, 0082).
As to claim 18, claim 18 is directed to one or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the computer to implement the method of claim 9; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Bienfait: see ¶ 0037, 0082).
As to claim 19, claim 19 is directed to one or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the computer to implement the method of claim 10; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Bienfait: see ¶ 0037, 0082).
As to claim 20, claim 20 is directed to one or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the computer to implement the method of claim 13; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Bienfait: see ¶ 0037, 0082).
Claims 3-6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katalon/Bienfait further in view of Katalon Studio (“Katalon Studio: Best Practices”, published Jan-2022, hereinafter Katalon_2).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Katalon and Bienfait do not appear to teach receiving, through the action pane, user input that selects a reference, to a source of input, to include in the text field during execution of the workflow. Katalon_2 is relied upon for teaching the deficient limitations. Specifically, Katalon_2 discloses receiving, through the action pane, user input that selects a reference, to a source of input, to include in the text field during execution of the workflow (see Page 6: Do not use any hard coding values for test cases; use some files, Excel, and a database to manage input values).
The references, each is related to creating workflow automations; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Katalon/Bienfait with the teaching of Katalon_2 to provide a method that allows the user to manage input values as claimed. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because of the overlapping subject matter, and the advantages described in Katalon_2 of providing a mechanism to manage input values; thus, enhance user experience with the workflow automations (Katalon_2: Page 6).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Katalon/Bienfait/Katalon_2 further teach: in response to selection of the reference, updating the value text field, in the action pane, to include the reference (Katalon_2: Page 6-9; Page 9 shows the test Data File being updated/included). Thus, combining Katalon/Bienfait/Katalon_2 would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Katalon/Bienfait/Katalon_2 further teach: in response to selection of the reference, updating the value text field, in the action pane, to include the reference (Katalon_2: Page 6-9; Page 9 shows Variable Binding pane). Thus, combining Katalon/Bienfait/Katalon_2 would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Katalon/Bienfait/Katalon_2 further teach: before or during a test run of the workflow, causing a prompt to be presented, wherein the prompt asks a second user whether the text in the test value text field should be used during the test run or whether the reference in the value text field should be used during the test run (Katalon: Pages 7-10; run options).
As to claim 16, claim 16 is directed to one or more non-transitory storage media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more computing devices, cause the computer to implement the method of claim 3; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Bienfait: see ¶ 0037, 0082).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179