DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 8/27/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination, the rejection cited as stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claims 1 recites “configuring, on a client device, a first profile and a second profile; configuring the client device with a set of network profiles associated with a plurality of networks; querying a user of the client device for a profile choice for one of the plurality of networks; and associating with the one of the plurality of networks according to the profile choice provide by the user.” The relationship between the recited “a first profile”, “a second profile”, “a set of network profiles”, and “a profile choice” cannot be definitely determined. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner assumes any relationship. Claims 2-20 are similarly rejected.
b) Claim 4 recites “wherein the profile choice comprises at least one of the first profile, the second profile, both the first profile and the second profile, and a sequence”. The scope of “a sequence” cannot be definitely determined in the context of a profile. Applicant is required to clarify. For the sake of the examination, Examiner interprets as any profile. Claims 7 and 13 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 13-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Luo et al (“Integrating Wireless LAN and Cellular Data for the Enterprise”, submitted by IDS).
As to claim 1, Luo discloses a method comprising:
configuring, on a client device, a first profile and a second profile (page. 26, right column, last two paragraphs to page 27, left column (“… a cellular profile, and several WLAN profiles. Multiple profiles are needed because we assume the user will need to use various networks”, wherein the cellular profile is a first profile, and one of the WLAN profiles is a second profile);
configuring the client device with a set of network profiles associated with a plurality of networks (page. 26, right column, last two paragraphs to page 27, left column (“…a cellular profile, and several WLAN profiles. Multiple profiles are needed because we assume the user will need to use various networks”);
querying a user of the client device for a profile choice for one of the plurality of networks (page 29, left column, “If the IRC detects no WLAN, or if the WLANs detected have SSIDs that don't match a WLAN profile in the user's VSA record, the best available wireless network is the cellular network specified in the VSA record. If the IRC detects a WLAN with an SSID that matches a WLAN profile in the user's VSA record and with an RSSI value that is above the stated threshold for a quality WLAN signal, that WLAN is the best available wireless network.” It is to be noted that the claim does not require a specific way to query a user therefore querying a user’s VSA record reads on querying a user); and
associating with the one of the plurality of networks according to the profile choice provide by the user (see citation in rejection to the preceding limitation).
As to claim 10, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 14, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 4, Luo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the profile choice comprises at least one of the first profile, the second profile, both the first profile and the second profile, and a
Sequence (see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., page 29, left column, “If the IRC detects no WLAN, or if the WLANs detected have SSIDs that don't match a WLAN profile in the user's VSA record, the best available wireless network is the cellular network specified in the VSA record. If the IRC detects a WLAN with an SSID that matches a WLAN profile in the user's VSA record and with an RSSI value that is above the stated threshold for a quality WLAN signal, that WLAN is the best available wireless network”).
As to claim 13, see similar rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 4.
As to claim 6, Luo discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising distinguishing between the first profile and the second profile based on a Vendor Specific Attribute (VSA) (see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., page 29, left column, “If the IRC detects no WLAN, or if the WLANs detected have SSIDs that don't match a WLAN profile in the user's VSA record, the best available wireless network is the cellular network specified in the VSA record. If the IRC detects a WLAN with an SSID that matches a WLAN profile in the user's VSA record and with an RSSI value that is above the stated threshold for a quality WLAN signal, that WLAN is the best available wireless network”).
As to claim 19, see similar rejection to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 11-12, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of RIVA et al (WO 2016/200842, submitted via IDS).
As to claim 2, Luo discloses the claimed invention substantially as discussed in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the first profile is a personal profile. RIVA discloses a concept for a profile to be a personal profile ([0018], “allows users to have on the same phone a plurality of application profiles (e.g., a work profile, a personal profile, or another type of profile), isolated and governed by profile-specific policies (i.e., each profile may have its own security and 15 privacy policies; applications and data associated with one profile will not interact within the device itself, with applications and data associated with other profiles”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Luo and RIVA. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to allows users to have on the same phone a plurality of application profiles (RIVA, [0018]).
As to claim 11, see similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 15, see similar rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 3, Luo-RIVA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second profile is a work profile (RIVA, [0018]).
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 16, see similar rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 5, Luo-RIVA discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising distinguishing between the first profile and the second profile based on a called-Session-ID (RIVA, [0059], “the called application switches profile after the user is prompted with a dialog and approves the switch” indicating that the called application have a separate profile).
As to claim 18, see similar rejection to claim 5.
Claims 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sinai (US 2006/0003802, submitted by IDS).
As to claim 7, Luo discloses the claimed invention substantially as discussed in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose marking a plurality of socket calls as being associated with one of the first profile and the second profile. Sinai discloses marking a plurality of socket calls as being associated with one of the first profile and the second profile ([0023], “When terminal 200 operates in accordance with a first wireless communication profile, socket 211 may operate as an input socket able to receive input signals provided to module 210 for processing, and socket 212 may operate as an output socket able to provide output signals produced by module 210. In accordance with some embodiments of the invention, when terminal 200 operates in accordance with a second wireless communication profile, the functionality of sockets 211 and 212 may be swapped or switched”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine Luo and Sinai. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to allocate input and output sockets to different networks (Sinai, [0023]).
As to claim 20, see similar rejection to claim 7.
As to claim 8, Luo discloses the method of claim 7, wherein marking the plurality of socket calls comprises marking the plurality of socket calls based on a container associated with one of the first profile and the second profile.
As to claim 9, Luo discloses the method of claim 7, wherein marking the plurality of socket calls comprises marking the plurality of socket calls based on an application associated with one of the first profile and the second profile.
Conclusion
/HUA FAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458