Detailed Action
1. This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 03/02/2026. Claims 1, 9, 10, 18, 23, 31, 33, 38, 46, 51, 53 and 56 have been amended. Claims 1-58 are presented for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 02/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
3. The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/02/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of prior patent numbers 10404808 and 12107926 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-42 and 53-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soman et al. (US 2018/0159896 A1), hereinafter “Soman”.
6. As to claim 1, Soman teaches a method by a remote browsing administrator device comprising at least one processor, the method comprising:
receiving, from a client device, a request to open an application ([0021]: secure browsing device 120 receives (201) a request for an internet browser from end user device 110);
allocating a remote browsing server, the remote browsing server comprising a remote instantiation of the application and a remote browsing connector ([0023]: after receiving the request from end user device 110, operation 200 further directs secure browsing service 120 to allocate (202) a virtual machine with an instance of the internet browser executing thereon to the end user device);
redirecting the request to open the application to the remote browsing connector, wherein the remote browsing connector generates a video stream of renderings from the remote instantiation of the application and transmits user inputs received from the client device to the remote instantiation of the application ([0025]: After allocating the virtual machine to end user device 110, secure browsing 120 further provides (203) a remote connection to the internet browser to end user device 110 to permit the end user device to receive the visual representation of the browser executing in the virtual machine as well as provide user input to the browser to the virtual machine); and
causing the client device to connect to the remote instantiation of the application through the remote browsing connector such that the client device displays the video stream and captures the user inputs, and the remote browsing connector transmits the user inputs to the remote instantiation of the application ([0027]: When the end user device is accessing the browser on the virtual machine using a remote desktop protocol, the graphical user interface (GUI) of the desktop is generated on the server hosting the virtual machine and the GUI image data is then encoded and transmitted over the network to the client device, where it is decoded and displayed to the user … Any user input information, such as keyboard and mouse events detected over the secure browser window on the end user device, are transmitted from the device to the virtual machine over the network connection).
7. As to claim 2, Soman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request to open the application further comprises an indication of a uniform resource indicator associated with the application ([0022]: Once a request by the end user corresponds to an untrusted web destination (URL or IP address) that requires the use of secure browsing service 120, a request may be transferred to the secure browsing service 120 to accommodate the secure browsing requirement).
8. As to claim 3, Soman teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the uniform resource indicator identifies a type of application associated with the application ([0022]: Once a request by the end user corresponds to an untrusted web destination (URL or IP address) that requires the use of secure browsing service 120, a request may be transferred to the secure browsing service 120 to accommodate the secure browsing requirement).
9. As to claim 4, Soman teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the uniform resource indicator is not a Hypertext Transfer Protocol link ([0022]: The determination may be made based on the uniform resource identifiers or locators (URIs/URLs) associated with requests, the IP addresses associated with requests).
10. As to claim 5, Soman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request to open the application is received from a browser associated with the client device ([0022]: browser request module 115 may monitor the operations of the user on a local browser installed at the end user device 110 to identify URIs/URLs associated with requests).
11. As to claim 6, Soman teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the browser associated with the client device displays the video stream and captures the user inputs from the client device ([0027]: When the end user device is accessing the browser on the virtual machine using a remote desktop protocol, the graphical user interface (GUI) of the desktop is generated on the server hosting the virtual machine and the GUI image data is then encoded and transmitted over the network to the client device, where it is decoded and displayed to the user … Any user input information, such as keyboard and mouse events detected over the secure browser window on the end user device, are transmitted from the device to the virtual machine over the network connection).
12. As to claim 7, Soman teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the request to open the application is received from an operating system associated with the client device ([0022]: receive a request for a secure remote browser from an icon being selected by the user or browser request module 115 may monitor the operations of the user on a local browser installed at the end user device 110 to identify URIs/URLs associated with requests).
13. As to claim 8, Soman teaches the method of claim 7, wherein a local application instance executing on the client device displays the video stream and captures the user inputs from the client device ([0027]: When the end user device is accessing the browser on the virtual machine using a remote desktop protocol, the graphical user interface (GUI) of the desktop is generated on the server hosting the virtual machine and the GUI image data is then encoded and transmitted over the network to the client device, where it is decoded and displayed to the user … Any user input information, such as keyboard and mouse events detected over the secure browser window on the end user device, are transmitted from the device to the virtual machine over the network connection).
14. As to claims 9-16, claims 9-16 are corresponding remote browsing administrator device claims that recite similar limitations as of method claims 1-8; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
15. As to claims 17-32, claims 17-32 are corresponding method and client device claims that recite similar limitations as of method claims 1-8; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
16. As to claims 33-42, claims 33-42 are corresponding method and remote browsing administrator device claims that recite similar limitations as of method claims 1-4 and 6; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
17. As to claims 53-58, claims 53-58 are corresponding method and client device claims that recite similar limitations as of method claims 1-8, with the additional limitation “determining, based on a behavioral analysis associated with a user profile of the client device satisfying a predefined criterion, forwarding to a remote browsing administrator device, a request to open the application” ([0034]: browser request module 115 may be used to monitor, the URIs and IP addresses accessed by a browser executing locally on end user device 110 … if the user typed in a particular URI, browser request module 115 may compare the URI to blacklist or whitelist rules to determine whether the request should be processed locally via the local browser or externally via a browser executing on a virtual machine); therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claims 43-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soman, in view of Gyorffy et al. (US 2010/0287382 A1), hereinafter “Gyorffy”.
20. As to claim 43, Soman teaches a method by a client device comprising at least one processor, the method comprising:
forwarding, to a remote browsing administrator device, a request to open the file or application wherein the request also comprises the file or application ([0023]: after receiving the request from end user device 110, operation 200 further directs secure browsing service 120 to allocate (202) a virtual machine with an instance of the internet browser executing thereon to the end user device);
receiving instructions, from the remote browsing administrator device to connect to a remote browsing server via a remote browsing connector ([0025]: After allocating the virtual machine to end user device 110, secure browsing 120 further provides (203) a remote connection to the internet browser to end user device 110 to permit the end user device to receive the visual representation of the browser executing in the virtual machine as well as provide user input to the browser to the virtual machine);
receiving, from the remote browsing server, a video stream of renderings from a remote execution of the file or application at the remote browsing server; displaying the video stream of renderings from the remote execution of the file application via the client device; and providing, to the remote browsing server, user inputs received from the client device ([0027]: When the end user device is accessing the browser on the virtual machine using a remote desktop protocol, the graphical user interface (GUI) of the desktop is generated on the server hosting the virtual machine and the GUI image data is then encoded and transmitted over the network to the client device, where it is decoded and displayed to the user … Any user input information, such as keyboard and mouse events detected over the secure browser window on the end user device, are transmitted from the device to the virtual machine over the network connection).
Soman does not explicitly disclose “determining that at least one of a file or application from a removable drive is about to be executed on the client device”.
In an analogous art, Gyorffy discloses “determining that at least one of a file or application from a removable drive is about to be executed on the client device” ([0059]: The user will access the USB device like a normal file system and run a Web browser by double clicking on the executable program stored in the device’s flash memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Soman and Gyorffy to achieve the claimed invention to ensure that the user application, downloaded from the USB device and executed on the user machine, is free from infection or corruption.
21. As to claim 44, Soman-Gyorffy teaches the method of claim 43, wherein the removable drive is a Universal Serial Bus drive (Gyorffy, [0059]).
22. As to claim 45, Soman-Gyorffy teaches the method of claim 43, wherein the forwarding the request to open the file or application is via an operating system on the client device (Gyorffy, [0059] and Soman, [0022] and [0034]).
23. As to claim 46, Soman-Gyorffy teaches the method of claim 45, wherein the displaying the video stream of renderings from the remote execution of the file or application comprises displaying the video stream of renderings via a browser on the client device (Soman, [0027]: When the end user device is accessing the browser on the virtual machine using a remote desktop protocol, the graphical user interface (GUI) of the desktop is generated on the server hosting the virtual machine and the GUI image data is then encoded and transmitted over the network to the client device, where it is decoded and displayed to the user).
24. As to claim 47, Soman-Gyorffy teaches the method of claim 43, wherein the displaying the video stream of renderings from the remote execution of the file or application comprises displaying the video stream of renderings via a local application instance executing on the client device (Soman, [0027]: When the end user device is accessing the browser on the virtual machine using a remote desktop protocol, the graphical user interface (GUI) of the desktop is generated on the server hosting the virtual machine and the GUI image data is then encoded and transmitted over the network to the client device, where it is decoded and displayed to the user).
25. As to claims 48-52, claims 48-52 are corresponding client device claims that recite similar limitations as of method claims 43-47; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
26. Further references of interest are cited on Form PTO-892, which is an attachment to this Office Action.
/QUANG N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441