DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
REJECTION BASED ON CHANG
Claim(s) 30-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 7,418,097 to Chang.
Regarding claim 30, Chang discloses a bracket for releasably securing a lock to a wheeled cycle (the bracket is capable of this intended use), the bracket comprising: a housing (11, 17) configured for mounting to the wheeled cycle (the housing is capable of mounting to a cycle); a first arm (15) mounted to the housing for movement between a first holding position to hold the lock and a first release position to release the lock, the first arm comprising a first arm shoulder (Fig. 3 – flat portion of rack gear 1521 engaging flat portion of 145); a second arm (16) mounted to the housing for movement between a second holding position to hold the lock and a second release position to release the lock, the second arm comprising a second arm shoulder (Fig. 3 – flat portion of rack gear 1621 engaging flat portion of 145); a latch (14) movably mounted to the housing, the latch having a latching position (Fig. 3) in which the latch is operable to maintain the first arm in the first holding position, the latch having an unlatching position (Fig. 5) in which the latch permits movement of the first arm from the first holding position toward the first release position; a bias mechanism (12) urging the latch toward the latching position; and a first ramp (slanted portion of rack gear 1521 to the right of the first shoulder) configured to urge the latch from the latching position toward the unlatching position against urging of the bias mechanism during movement of the first arm from the first release position toward the first holding position (the slanted portion of 1521 forces the latch upward as the two arms are brought together); wherein the bias mechanism is configured to return the latch to the latching position as the first arm approaches the first holding position (once the arms are pushed inward to the position in Fig. 3, the spring 12 forces the latch downward into the position shown in Fig. 3), wherein the latch comprises: a first latch shoulder (flat portion of 145 engaging the flat portion of rack gear 1521 to hold the arm 15 inward in Fig. 3) that abuts the first arm shoulder when the first arm is in the first holding position and the latch is in the latching position (Fig. 3) and a second latch shoulder (flat portion of 145 engaging the flat portion of rack gear 1621 to hold the arm 16 inward in Fig. 3) that abuts the second arm shoulder when the second arm is in the second holding position and the latch is in the latching position (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 31, Chang discloses wherein one of the latch or the first arm comprises the first ramp (Fig. 3 – first arm has the first ramp).
Regarding claim 32, Chang discloses wherein the other of the latch or the first arm comprises a second ramp (slanted portion of left 145 in Fig. 3) configured to engage the first ramp during the movement of the first arm from the first release position toward the first holding position.
Regarding claim 33, Chang discloses a manual actuator (13) operable to move the latch from the latching position to the unlatching position.
Regarding claim 34, Chang discloses wherein the latch is configured to move from the latching position to the unlatching position in a first direction (upward in Fig. 3); wherein the manual actuator is mounted for movement in a second direction (right/left in Fig. 3) transverse to the first direction; and wherein the bracket further comprises an additional ramp (132) configured to cause movement of the latch in the first direction in response to movement of the manual actuator in the second direction.
Regarding claim 35, Chang discloses a second ramp (slanted portion of rack gear 1621 to the left of the second shoulder in Fig. 3) configured to urge the latch from the latching position toward the unlatching position against urging of the bias mechanism during movement of the second arm from the second release position toward the second holding position (the slanted portion of 1621 forces the latch upward as the two arms are brought together); wherein the bias mechanism is configured to return the latch to the latching position as the second arm approaches the second holding position (once the arms are pushed inward to the position in Fig. 3, the spring 12 forces the latch downward into the position shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of CN 106347538 to Liu.
Regarding claim 36, Chang fails to disclose the first and second arms moving in unison. However, Liu discloses a bracket wherein the second arm is engaged with the first arm such that the first arm and the second arm move in unison between the holding positions thereof and the release positions thereof (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have linked the first and second arms together to allow them to move simultaneously, as taught by Liu (page 4, 5th paragraph).
Regarding claim 37, the combination from claim 36 discloses wherein the first arm comprises a first rack gear (Liu Fig. 3 – 23 on one arm); wherein the second arm comprises a second rack gear (Liu Fig. 3 – 23 on other arm); wherein the bracket further comprises a pinion (Liu – 6) engaged with each of the first rack gear and the second rack gear to thereby cause the first arm and the second arm to move in unison between the holding positions thereof and the release positions thereof.
REJECTION BASED ON MULLER
Claim(s) 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Published Application 2018/0354574 to Muller in view of US Patent 1,974,628 to Presley.
Regarding claim 26, Muller discloses a bracket for releasably securing a lock to a wheeled cycle, the bracket comprising: a housing (Fig. 1) configured for mounting to a frame of the wheeled cycle, the housing comprising a base plate (rear portion of housing contacting the rear surface of the lock (at the end of lead line 15 in Fig. 1)) that partially defines a receiving space operable to receive the lock. Muller fails to disclose movable arms. However, Presley discloses a clamp including a pair of arms (20) movably mounted to a base plate in opposition to one another, wherein the arms are movable between inward positions (with arms clamped) to capture the held object and outward positions (with arms released) to release the held object; and a latch (32, 34) movably mounted to the base plate (Fig. 1), the latch having a latching position (Fig. 1 – with 34 secured to an inner portion of 32) in which the latch is operable to maintain the arms in the inward positions, the latch having an unlatching position (with 34 removed from 32, or at least secured to an outer portion of 32) in which the latch permits movement of the arms from the inward positions to the outward positions (the arms can move outward with 34 in these positions); wherein, for each of the arms, the inward position is offset from the outward position in a direction transverse to the base plate such that the arms slide translationally toward and away from the baseplate in the direction transverse to the base plate as the arms move between the inward positions and the outward positions (Fig. 1 – with arms moving to the outward released position, the arms ride along the lower inclined surfaces (14, 15) to translationally create more offset between the base plate and the retention flanges when compared to the inward clamped position). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used Presley’s clamp for Muller’s top latch device (21) because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent securing element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 27, the combination from claim 26 discloses wherein the arms are configured to move obliquely relative to the base plate as the arms slide translationally between the inward positions and the outward positions (Presley Fig. 1 – arms move obliquely as they clamp/unclamp).
Regarding claim 28, the combination from claim 26 discloses wherein each arm comprises a corresponding and respective engagement portion (Annotated Fig. 1 below) extending away from the base plate, and a corresponding and respective retention flange (Annotated Fig. 1) extending toward the other of the arms; wherein the retention flanges are offset from the base plate by a first offset distance when the arms are in the outer positions; wherein the retention flanges are offset from the base plate by a second offset distance when the arms are in the inner positions; and wherein the first offset distance is greater than the second offset distance (Presley Fig. 1 – flanges are farther away from the base plate in the unclamped position as compared to the clamped position).
Presley Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 29, the combination from claim 26 discloses wherein the housing further comprises a basket (51 – Muller) operable to receive a portion of the lock.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38-39 and 41-45 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to applicant’s argument that the arms move pivotally in Presley (page 10), the arms are brought together translationally by bolt (31). The pivotal capability of the arms only allows them to adjust to holding different objects having different angular surfaces.
As to applicant’s argument that the prior art fails to disclose the new language in independent claim 30 (page 11), see the new rejection above based on Chang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734