DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stam et al. US 20030123705 in view of Gerginov US 20200259498.
Regarding claim 1, Stam et al. teach A vehicle control apparatus, comprising: a front illumination sensor configured to sense brightness in front of a vehicle; (Stam et al. US 20030123705 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0025]; [0081]-[0085]; [0122]-[0124]; [0129]; [0135]-[0143]; [0146];[0149]; [0166]-[0168]; [0180]-[0183]; [0186]-[0190]; [0232]-[0235]; [0223]; [0240]; [0274]; figures 1-50)
A controlled vehicle 100 (FIG. 1) having an automatic headlamp dimmer includes an optical sensor system 102 for detecting the headlamps 104 of an oncoming vehicle 105 and the tail lights 108 of a preceding vehicle 110. The headlamps 111 of the controlled vehicle 100 are controlled automatically to avoid shining the high beams, or bright lights, directly into the eyes of a driver of oncoming vehicle 105 or by reflection into the eyes of the driver of the preceding vehicle 110. The optical sensor assembly 102 is illustrated mounted in the windshield area of the vehicle, but those skilled in the art will recognize that the sensor could be mounted at other locations that provide the sensor with a view of the scene in front of the vehicle (Stam et al. par 83).
an upper illumination sensor configured to sense brightness above the vehicle;
Some additional features may be provided with the above-described hardware and software configuration. One such feature is daytime running lights (DRLs). On some vehicles, DRLs are provided by operating the high beams at a reduced intensity. By using the PWM drive circuitry provided, the high beams can be set to a reduced intensity during daylight conditions. The ambient light sensor 1107 can be used to determine daylight conditions and switch the headlamps to normal low beam operation at dusk. In particular, the ambient light level can have one or more light level thresholds associated therewith. When the ambient light level is a daytime one threshold, the daytime running lights will be ON. Below that threshold, but above another lower threshold, the low beams can be ON. Below that lower bright activate ambient light level threshold, the high beams may be operated automatically if the driver does not manually disable high beam operation (Stam et al. par 182). Even without the use of DRLs, it is desirable to have automatic activation of the low beam headlamps at dusk. This control can be provided by the use of the ambient light sensor 1107. For better performance, an additional light sensor can be provided which senses light from a direction upwards rather than looking straightforward as the ambient light sensor 1107 does (Stam et al. par. 183). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle (Stam et al. par. 232).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the light sensor that senses the light from a direction upwards as the upper illumination sensor.
a memory storing a program instruction; and a processor configured to execute the program instruction,
The microcontroller 1105 analyzes images acquired by the image sensor assembly 201 responsive to which it detects oncoming or preceding vehicles in the forward field of view. The microcontroller 1105 uses this information in conjunction with the various other inputs thereto to determine the current control state for the headlamps 1131, 1132. The current control state of the headlamps refers to the brightness of the high beams and the low beams. In a variable control system, this brightness is varied by changing the duty cycle of the beams or the DC voltage applied to the lamps as described above. In a non-variable system, the control state refers to whether the high beams and low beams are ON or OFF. A more detailed schematic showing the connections to the microcontroller 1105 is shown in FIG. 13. The microcontroller 1105 can be implemented using a microcontroller, a microprocessor, a digital signal processor, a programmable logic unit, a discrete circuitry, or combination thereof. Additionally, the microcontroller may be implemented using more than one microprocessor (Stam et al. par. 129). During production tests, the location of these white spots can be measured and stored in a programmable memory associated with microcontroller 1105 (Stam et al. par. 223).
wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a correction value of a front illumination value that reduces a fluctuation range of the front illumination value measured based on the brightness in front of the vehicle, the brightness being sensed by the front illumination sensor;
The forward ambient light sensor 1107 and rear glare sensor 1109 measure the forward and rear light levels, as indicated in step 1401 (FIG. 14). The forward ambient measurement is used to control both the low beam and high beam headlamps 1131, 1132 and the electrochromic mirror 1102. Additionally, the forward ambient measurement may be used to control the brightness of the daytime running lights and the brightness of the tail lights. The rear glare measurement is used for the control of the electrochromic mirror 1102 reflectivity. The forward ambient light level measurement is averaged with prior measurements to compute a forward time averaged ambient light level. This average light level is computed as the average of measurements taken over a 25-30 second interval (Stam et al. par. 135). If it is determined in step 1403 that the automatic mode is active, the microcontroller 1105 uses the average ambient light level measured in step 1401 to determine whether the ambient light level is below a low beam minimum threshold in step 1404. The threshold may for example be 1-3 lux, and in one implementation was 2 lux. If the ambient light level is above the threshold, indicating that high beam headlamps would not provide significant advantage, high beam control will not be used, and the microcontroller 1105 returns to step 1401. If the ambient light level is below the low beam minimum, for example below approximately 2 lux, the use of high beam headlamps may be desired. In this case, the microcontroller 1105 will operate to control the headlamps 1131, 1132. In addition to the average ambient light level discussed above, it is also advantageous to consider the instantaneous ambient light level. Should the instantaneous ambient light level suddenly drop to a very low value, for example less than 0.5 lux, automatic high beam operation may begin immediately rather than waiting for the average ambient light level to reach the threshold for operation of the high beams. This situation may occur when a vehicle sitting under a well lit intersection suddenly crosses the intersection into a dark street where high beam operation is desired immediately. The microcontroller 1105 analyzes images of the forward scene acquired by image sensor 201 to detect the presence of oncoming or preceding vehicles as indicated in step 1405. Based upon the results of step 1405, the microcontroller sets the control state of the headlamps in step 1406 (Stam et al. par. 136).
According to the cited passage and figure, examiner interpret the system increasing/decreasing the brightness base on the determination of ambient light level compare to the threshold as mention in the par. 136 above.
calculate a correction value of an upper illumination value that reduces a fluctuation range of the upper illumination value measured based on the brightness above the vehicle, the brightness being sensed by the upper illumination sensor;
If it is determined in step 1403 that the automatic mode is active, the microcontroller 1105 uses the average ambient light level measured in step 1401 to determine whether the ambient light level is below a low beam minimum threshold in step 1404. The threshold may for example be 1-3 lux, and in one implementation was 2 lux. If the ambient light level is above the threshold, indicating that high beam headlamps would not provide significant advantage, high beam control will not be used, and the microcontroller 1105 returns to step 1401. If the ambient light level is below the low beam minimum, for example below approximately 2 lux, the use of high beam headlamps may be desired. In this case, the microcontroller 1105 will operate to control the headlamps 1131, 1132. In addition to the average ambient light level discussed above, it is also advantageous to consider the instantaneous ambient light level. Should the instantaneous ambient light level suddenly drop to a very low value, for example less than 0.5 lux, automatic high beam operation may begin immediately rather than waiting for the average ambient light level to reach the threshold for operation of the high beams. This situation may occur when a vehicle sitting under a well lit intersection suddenly crosses the intersection into a dark street where high beam operation is desired immediately. The microcontroller 1105 analyzes images of the forward scene acquired by image sensor 201 to detect the presence of oncoming or preceding vehicles as indicated in step 1405. Based upon the results of step 1405, the microcontroller sets the control state of the headlamps in step 1406 (Stam et al. par. 136). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle. In some conditions, it may be desirable to compare the relative brightness as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases. The headlamp controller determines that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases due to the reflection of the headlamp light off the snow in the forward scene (Stam et al. par. 232).
According to the cited passage and figure, examiner interpret the system increasing/decreasing the brightness base on the determination of ambient light level compare to the threshold as mention in the par. 136 above apply for both of the sensors like forward sensor (front illumination sensor) and sky sensor (upper illumination sensor).
calculate a final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value, a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof; and control a light source device of the vehicle, the light source device comprising at least one of a display of the vehicle, lighting inside the vehicle, or any combination thereof, based on the final photosensitive brightness value.
Although the present invention primarily addresses the control of the vehicle headlamps, embodiments are described below for controlling the tail lights and foul weather lights. In some embodiments, the present invention is generally described as controlling the "exterior lights," which broadly includes any exterior lighting on the vehicle. For example, the present invention may be used in some circumstances to control the perceived brightness of a turn signal mounted in an outside rearview mirror assembly so as to provide sufficient light output for signaling a driver in another vehicle without causing excessive glare in the eyes of the driver of the vehicle having the signal mirrors. Also, the present invention may be employed to control the instrument panel lights as well as other interior display lights based upon the sensed ambient light. Other examples will be apparent to those skilled in the art (Stam et al. par. 82). Another method of aiming calibration is to take a very high gain image and look for the reflection of the road. The average point where this reflection occurs can be used to calibrate the aim (Stam et la. Par. 215). To detect snowfall, it is preferable to provide a sensing system that senses light levels forward and above the vehicle. To obtain the light level above the vehicle, a separate light sensor may be positioned to sense light from the sky above the vehicle. Such a sky sensor may include a single pixel sensor positioned at a 45.degree. angle relative to the sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle. The sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle may be a single pixel sensor or the image array sensor used to image the scene forward of the vehicle for headlamp control. The values sensed by the forward and sky sensor may be averaged over a period of time (Stam et al. par. 231). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle. In some conditions, it may be desirable to compare the relative brightness as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases. The headlamp controller determines that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases due to the reflection of the headlamp light off the snow in the forward scene (Stam et al. par. 232). When the controller determines that snow is falling, it may activate the low beam headlamps if they are not already activated and can disable the high beams from being activated either through automatic control or manually. Further, automatic control may be disabled and foul weather lights may be activated. Additionally, the brightness of the vehicle's tail lights and/or brake lights may be increased to increase the visibility of the vehicle to other rearward vehicles (Stam et al. par. 233).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the forward sensor and sky sensor are used to determine surrounding brightness level and reflection ratio to adjust the vehicle lights to be adapting with the environment.
Stam et al. do not explicitly teach by applying a first stabilization process; by applying a second stabilization process.
Gerginov teaches by applying a first stabilization process; by applying a second stabilization process (Gerginov US 20200259498 abstract; paragraphs [0020]; [0023]; [0025]; [0027]; [0049]-[0052]; [0064]; [0072]-[0074]; figures 1-12)
FIG. 4A is a schematic block diagram 400 illustrating an example the stabilization process of the device of FIGS. 2A-2C. As illustrated in FIG. 4A, light sources 402 send two input light fields 404 and 408 at different frequencies, ω.sub.1 and ω.sub.2 to spectroscopy module 410. As a result, the feedback values and process are more complicated. In addition, the power of the ω.sub.1 beam can be lower than that used in the conventional systems (see, e.g., FIG. 1A-1C), which allows absorption detection of the remaining ω.sub.1 light after the absorber (see, e.g., 204 in FIG. 2C) with reduced light relative intensity noise (RIN) and photon shot noise contributions, resulting in a higher signal to noise ratio (Gerginov par. 72).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the stabilization process can be applied for multiple events.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the stabilization process as taught by Gerginov reference into the system of Stam et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for adjusting a vehicle light brightness in the balance state.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: calculate the final photosensitive brightness value, while maintaining the sum of the first reflection ratio and the second reflection ratio as a total value of predetermined reflection ratios.
If it is determined in step 1403 that the automatic mode is active, the microcontroller 1105 uses the average ambient light level measured in step 1401 to determine whether the ambient light level is below a low beam minimum threshold in step 1404. The threshold may for example be 1-3 lux, and in one implementation was 2 lux. If the ambient light level is above the threshold, indicating that high beam headlamps would not provide significant advantage, high beam control will not be used, and the microcontroller 1105 returns to step 1401. If the ambient light level is below the low beam minimum, for example below approximately 2 lux, the use of high beam headlamps may be desired. In this case, the microcontroller 1105 will operate to control the headlamps 1131, 1132. In addition to the average ambient light level discussed above, it is also advantageous to consider the instantaneous ambient light level. Should the instantaneous ambient light level suddenly drop to a very low value, for example less than 0.5 lux, automatic high beam operation may begin immediately rather than waiting for the average ambient light level to reach the threshold for operation of the high beams. This situation may occur when a vehicle sitting under a well lit intersection suddenly crosses the intersection into a dark street where high beam operation is desired immediately. The microcontroller 1105 analyzes images of the forward scene acquired by image sensor 201 to detect the presence of oncoming or preceding vehicles as indicated in step 1405. Based upon the results of step 1405, the microcontroller sets the control state of the headlamps in step 1406 (Stam et al. par. 136). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle. In some conditions, it may be desirable to compare the relative brightness as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases. The headlamp controller determines that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases due to the reflection of the headlamp light off the snow in the forward scene (Stam et al. par. 232).
According to the cited passage and figure, examiner interpret the system increasing/decreasing the brightness base on the determination of ambient light level compare to the threshold as mention in the par. 136 above apply for both of the sensors like forward sensor (front illumination sensor) and sky sensor (upper illumination sensor).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first reflection ratio comprises a first fixed reflection ratio, a ratio value of which is fixed for each specific situation comprising at least one of daytime driving, nighttime driving on a road with street lights on, nighttime driving on a road without street lights, driving in a tunnel, or driving in an indoor parking lot, or any combination thereof, wherein the second reflection ratio includes a second fixed reflection ratio, a ratio value of which is fixed for each specific situation, and wherein the processor is further configured to: calculate the final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying the first fixed reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value or a result value obtained by applying the second fixed reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof.
It is envisioned that the system can detect a tunnel using the image sensor and a sky sensor. In particular, a potential tunnel condition is detected when a large area of contiguous dark pixels is detected that meets a size threshold level and is located in the center of the image, under daytime ambient light conditions. If the dark area grows while the ambient light conditions continue to sense day ambient light conditions, the potential tunnel condition will continue. If the image sensor continues to see a large dark area forward of the vehicle when the daylight ambient conditions are no longer detected, the vehicle will be determined to be in a tunnel, and the headlights will be ON. The headlights will remain on until the daylight ambient conditions are detected, at which time the headlights will be turned OFF and daylight running lights will be turned ON if the controlled vehicle has daytime running lights (Stam et al. par. 184).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first reflection ratio comprises a first variable reflection ratio, a ratio value of which varies with a value of a specific variable including a speed of the vehicle, a distance between the vehicle
A large number of variations of the scheme just described are possible. For example, more states can be added to increase or decrease the time it takes to fade the high beams in and out. The number of required states will depend upon the image acquisition and analysis cycle time. Ideally, the fade in/out period is about one to two seconds. Another alternative is to decrement states as a function of the brightest light source detected in the light list rather than to decrement a single state for every cycle. In this way, the brightness of the high beam is adjusted as a function of the distance of an oncoming or preceding vehicle rather than just fading in and out. This is particularly advantageous where the control mechanism is to vary the beam angle of the high beams rather than the intensity of the beams. Yet another alternative is to decrement states as a function of the current speed of the controlled vehicle. The rate at which states are decremented could increase at high vehicle speeds, since oncoming cars will overtake the controlled vehicle at a more rapid rate. Yet another alternative is to decrement states as a vehicle slows down. This would allow the high beams to fade out as a vehicle comes to a stop: a feature that may be desirable for some drivers. Finally, it should be noted that the use of discrete states is only exemplary. The intensity and/or aim of the high beam headlamps can be controlled by continuum of values from fully ON to fully OFF(Stam et al. par. 180).
and a front tunnel, a distance between the vehicle and a front indoor parking lot, a gradient of a road ahead, or a combination thereof, wherein the second reflection ratio includes a second variable reflection ratio, a ratio value of which varies with the value of the specific variable, and wherein the processor is further configured to: calculate the final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying the first variable reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value or a result value obtained by applying the second variable reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof.
These images are taken at a low sensitivity. Sensitivity of the image sensor 201 may for example be dictated by the frame exposure time, the analog amplifier gain, and the DAC high and low references. The image sensor should be just sensitive enough to image oncoming headlamps at the maximum distance for which the controlled vehicle's headlamps should be dimmed. These images will be sufficient to detect oncoming headlamps at any distance of interest and nearby tail lamps without being washed out by bright headlamps or other noise light sources. In this mode, the sensor should not be sensitive enough to detect reflections off signs or reflectors except in rare cases where the reflecting object is very near to the controlled vehicle. During dark ambient light conditions, this sensitivity will be low enough to detect only lighted objects (Stam et al. par. 137). It is envisioned that the system can detect a tunnel using the image sensor and a sky sensor. In particular, a potential tunnel condition is detected when a large area of contiguous dark pixels is detected that meets a size threshold level and is located in the center of the image, under daytime ambient light conditions. If the dark area grows while the ambient light conditions continue to sense day ambient light conditions, the potential tunnel condition will continue. If the image sensor continues to see a large dark area forward of the vehicle when the daylight ambient conditions are no longer detected, the vehicle will be determined to be in a tunnel, and the headlights will be ON. The headlights will remain on until the daylight ambient conditions are detected, at which time the headlights will be turned OFF and daylight running lights will be turned ON if the controlled vehicle has daytime running lights (Stam et al. par. 184).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: while the vehicle is traveling, if a difference between the brightness in front of the vehicle and the brightness above the vehicle is greater than a predetermined threshold: apply at least one weight to any one of the first reflection ratio or the second reflection ratio.
According to yet another aspect of the invention, a headlamp control system is provided for controlling the headlamps of a controlled vehicle that comprises an imaging system configured to image the scene forward of the controlled vehicle and to detect an ambient light level outside the vehicle, and a control circuit coupled to the imaging system for determining an ambient light level outside the vehicle, for identifying and determining the brightness of light sources in images obtained from the imaging system, and for controlling the headlamps to vary a beam pattern of the headlamps as a function of the brightness of light sources within the images when the ambient light level is above a threshold level (Stam et al. par. 16). To detect snowfall, it is preferable to provide a sensing system that senses light levels forward and above the vehicle. To obtain the light level above the vehicle, a separate light sensor may be positioned to sense light from the sky above the vehicle. Such a sky sensor may include a single pixel sensor positioned at a 45.degree. angle relative to the sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle. The sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle may be a single pixel sensor or the image array sensor used to image the scene forward of the vehicle for headlamp control. The values sensed by the forward and sky sensor may be averaged over a period of time (Stam et al. par. 231). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle. In some conditions, it may be desirable to compare the relative brightness as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases. The headlamp controller determines that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases due to the reflection of the headlamp light off the snow in the forward scene (Stam et al. par. 232).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: change at least one of the first stabilization process, the second stabilization process, the first reflection ratio, or the second reflection ratio, or any combination thereof, depending on a time zone, and calculate the final photosensitive brightness value.
The forward ambient light sensor 1107 and rear glare sensor 1109 measure the forward and rear light levels, as indicated in step 1401 (FIG. 14). The forward ambient measurement is used to control both the low beam and high beam headlamps 1131, 1132 and the electrochromic mirror 1102. Additionally, the forward ambient measurement may be used to control the brightness of the daytime running lights and the brightness of the tail lights. The rear glare measurement is used for the control of the electrochromic mirror 1102 reflectivity. The forward ambient light level measurement is averaged with prior measurements to compute a forward time averaged ambient light level. This average light level is computed as the average of measurements taken over a 25-30 second interval (Stam et al. par. 135). A forward-facing ambient light sensor 1107 and a rearward-facing glare sensor 1109 are also preferably provided in mirror body 1000. Additionally, a sky sensor 3402 may be provided in mirror housing 1000, which is inclined at an angle to view the scene of the sky above and slightly in front of the vehicle. Such a sky sensor 3402 may be used for detecting snow or other ambient light conditions (Stam et al. par. 240)
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the forward sensor and sky sensor to measure ambient light. Therefore, it can be use at any time zone.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first reflection ratio comprises: a first variable reflection ratio, a ratio value of which varies with a value of a specific variable including a speed of the vehicle, a distance between the vehicle and a front tunnel, a distance between the vehicle and a front indoor parking lot, or a gradient of a road ahead, wherein the second reflection ratio includes a second variable reflection ratio, a ratio value of which varies with the value of the specific variable, and wherein the processor is further configured to: calculate the final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying the first variable reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value or a result value obtained by applying the second variable reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof.
These images are taken at a low sensitivity. Sensitivity of the image sensor 201 may for example be dictated by the frame exposure time, the analog amplifier gain, and the DAC high and low references. The image sensor should be just sensitive enough to image oncoming headlamps at the maximum distance for which the controlled vehicle's headlamps should be dimmed. These images will be sufficient to detect oncoming headlamps at any distance of interest and nearby tail lamps without being washed out by bright headlamps or other noise light sources. In this mode, the sensor should not be sensitive enough to detect reflections off signs or reflectors except in rare cases where the reflecting object is very near to the controlled vehicle. During dark ambient light conditions, this sensitivity will be low enough to detect only lighted objects (Stam et al. par. 137). It is envisioned that the system can detect a tunnel using the image sensor and a sky sensor. In particular, a potential tunnel condition is detected when a large area of contiguous dark pixels is detected that meets a size threshold level and is located in the center of the image, under daytime ambient light conditions. If the dark area grows while the ambient light conditions continue to sense day ambient light conditions, the potential tunnel condition will continue. If the image sensor continues to see a large dark area forward of the vehicle when the daylight ambient conditions are no longer detected, the vehicle will be determined to be in a tunnel, and the headlights will be ON. The headlights will remain on until the daylight ambient conditions are detected, at which time the headlights will be turned OFF and daylight running lights will be turned ON if the controlled vehicle has daytime running lights (Stam et al. par. 184).
According to the cited passages and figure, paragraph 137 show the sensor can detected oncoming headlamp (light or reflection) at any distance of interest. Therefore, it’s obvious for user to design any distance from the object like (tunnel or other vehicle).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first reflection ratio comprises: a first fixed reflection ratio, a ratio value of which is fixed for each specific situation including at least one of daytime driving, nighttime driving on a road with street lights on, nighttime driving on a road without street lights, driving in a tunnel, or driving in an indoor parking lot, or any combination thereof, wherein the second reflection ratio comprises a second fixed reflection ratio, a ratio value of which is fixed for each specific situation, and wherein the processor is further configured to: calculate the final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying the first fixed reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value or a result value obtained by applying the second fixed reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof.
According to yet another embodiment, a method of detecting snowfall or fog outside a vehicle is accomplished. The method comprises the steps of: sensing light levels forward above the vehicle; comparing the relative brightness of the light levels forward and above the vehicle; and determining that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold (Stam et al. par. 12). According to another aspect of the present invention, a control system is provided to control the headlamps of a vehicle. The control system comprises an ambient light sensor for sensing the ambient light outside of the vehicle, and a control circuit for varying the beam pattern of daytime running lamps in response to the ambient light level sensed by the ambient light sensor (Stam et al. par. 13). These images are taken at a low sensitivity. Sensitivity of the image sensor 201 may for example be dictated by the frame exposure time, the analog amplifier gain, and the DAC high and low references. The image sensor should be just sensitive enough to image oncoming headlamps at the maximum distance for which the controlled vehicle's headlamps should be dimmed. These images will be sufficient to detect oncoming headlamps at any distance of interest and nearby tail lamps without being washed out by bright headlamps or other noise light sources. In this mode, the sensor should not be sensitive enough to detect reflections off signs or reflectors except in rare cases where the reflecting object is very near to the controlled vehicle. During dark ambient light conditions, this sensitivity will be low enough to detect only lighted objects (Stam et al. par. 137). It is envisioned that the system can detect a tunnel using the image sensor and a sky sensor. In particular, a potential tunnel condition is detected when a large area of contiguous dark pixels is detected that meets a size threshold level and is located in the center of the image, under daytime ambient light conditions. If the dark area grows while the ambient light conditions continue to sense day ambient light conditions, the potential tunnel condition will continue. If the image sensor continues to see a large dark area forward of the vehicle when the daylight ambient conditions are no longer detected, the vehicle will be determined to be in a tunnel, and the headlights will be ON. The headlights will remain on until the daylight ambient conditions are detected, at which time the headlights will be turned OFF and daylight running lights will be turned ON if the controlled vehicle has daytime running lights (Stam et al. par. 184).
According to the cited passages and figure, paragraph 137 show the sensor can detected oncoming headlamp (light or reflection) at any distance of interest. Therefore, it’s obvious for user to design any distance from the object like (tunnel or other vehicle).
Regarding claim 13, Stam et al. teach A vehicle control method, comprising: sensing, by a front illumination sensor, brightness in front of a vehicle; (Stam et al. US 20030123705 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0025]; [0081]-[0085]; [0122]-[0124]; [0129]; [0135]-[0143]; [0146];[0149]; [0166]-[0168]; [0180]-[0183]; [0186]-[0190]; [0232]-[0235]; [0223]; [0240]; [0274]; figures 1-50)
A controlled vehicle 100 (FIG. 1) having an automatic headlamp dimmer includes an optical sensor system 102 for detecting the headlamps 104 of an oncoming vehicle 105 and the tail lights 108 of a preceding vehicle 110. The headlamps 111 of the controlled vehicle 100 are controlled automatically to avoid shining the high beams, or bright lights, directly into the eyes of a driver of oncoming vehicle 105 or by reflection into the eyes of the driver of the preceding vehicle 110. The optical sensor assembly 102 is illustrated mounted in the windshield area of the vehicle, but those skilled in the art will recognize that the sensor could be mounted at other locations that provide the sensor with a view of the scene in front of the vehicle (Stam et al. par 83).
sensing, by an upper illumination sensor, brightness above the vehicle;
used to determine daylight conditions and switch the headlamps to normal low beam operation at dusk. In particular, the ambient light level can have one or more light level thresholds associated therewith. When the ambient light level is a daytime one threshold, the daytime running lights will be ON. Below that threshold, but above another lower threshold, the low beams can be ON. Below that lower bright activate ambient light level threshold, the high beams may be operated automatically if the driver does not manually disable high beam operation (Stam et al. par 182). Even without the use of DRLs, it is desirable to have automatic activation of the low beam headlamps at dusk. This control can be provided by the use of the ambient light sensor 1107. For better performance, an additional light sensor can be provided which senses light from a direction upwards rather than looking straightforward as the ambient light sensor 1107 does (Stam et al. par. 183). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle (Stam et al. par. 232).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the light sensor that senses the light from a direction upwards as the upper illumination sensor.
calculating, by a processor, a correction value of a front illumination value that reduces a fluctuation range of the front illumination value measured based on the brightness in front of the vehicle, the brightness being sensed by the front illumination sensor;
The forward ambient light sensor 1107 and rear glare sensor 1109 measure the forward and rear light levels, as indicated in step 1401 (FIG. 14). The forward ambient measurement is used to control both the low beam and high beam headlamps 1131, 1132 and the electrochromic mirror 1102. Additionally, the forward ambient measurement may be used to control the brightness of the daytime running lights and the brightness of the tail lights. The rear glare measurement is used for the control of the electrochromic mirror 1102 reflectivity. The forward ambient light level measurement is averaged with prior measurements to compute a forward time averaged ambient light level. This average light level is computed as the average of measurements taken over a 25-30 second interval (Stam et al. par. 135). If it is determined in step 1403 that the automatic mode is active, the microcontroller 1105 uses the average ambient light level measured in step 1401 to determine whether the ambient light level is below a low beam minimum threshold in step 1404. The threshold may for example be 1-3 lux, and in one implementation was 2 lux. If the ambient light level is above the threshold, indicating that high beam headlamps would not provide significant advantage, high beam control will not be used, and the microcontroller 1105 returns to step 1401. If the ambient light level is below the low beam minimum, for example below approximately 2 lux, the use of high beam headlamps may be desired. In this case, the microcontroller 1105 will operate to control the headlamps 1131, 1132. In addition to the average ambient light level discussed above, it is also advantageous to consider the instantaneous ambient light level. Should the instantaneous ambient light level suddenly drop to a very low value, for example less than 0.5 lux, automatic high beam operation may begin immediately rather than waiting for the average ambient light level to reach the threshold for operation of the high beams. This situation may occur when a vehicle sitting under a well lit intersection suddenly crosses the intersection into a dark street where high beam operation is desired immediately. The microcontroller 1105 analyzes images of the forward scene acquired by image sensor 201 to detect the presence of oncoming or preceding vehicles as indicated in step 1405. Based upon the results of step 1405, the microcontroller sets the control state of the headlamps in step 1406 (Stam et al. par. 136).
calculating, by a processor, a correction value of an upper illumination value that reduces a fluctuation range of the upper illumination value measured based on the brightness above the vehicle, the brightness being sensed by the upper illumination sensor;
If it is determined in step 1403 that the automatic mode is active, the microcontroller 1105 uses the average ambient light level measured in step 1401 to determine whether the ambient light level is below a low beam minimum threshold in step 1404. The threshold may for example be 1-3 lux, and in one implementation was 2 lux. If the ambient light level is above the threshold, indicating that high beam headlamps would not provide significant advantage, high beam control will not be used, and the microcontroller 1105 returns to step 1401. If the ambient light level is below the low beam minimum, for example below approximately 2 lux, the use of high beam headlamps may be desired. In this case, the microcontroller 1105 will operate to control the headlamps 1131, 1132. In addition to the average ambient light level discussed above, it is also advantageous to consider the instantaneous ambient light level. Should the instantaneous ambient light level suddenly drop to a very low value, for example less than 0.5 lux, automatic high beam operation may begin immediately rather than waiting for the average ambient light level to reach the threshold for operation of the high beams. This situation may occur when a vehicle sitting under a well lit intersection suddenly crosses the intersection into a dark street where high beam operation is desired immediately. The microcontroller 1105 analyzes images of the forward scene acquired by image sensor 201 to detect the presence of oncoming or preceding vehicles as indicated in step 1405. Based upon the results of step 1405, the microcontroller sets the control state of the headlamps in step 1406 (Stam et al. par. 136). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle. In some conditions, it may be desirable to compare the relative brightness as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases. The headlamp controller determines that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases due to the reflection of the headlamp light off the snow in the forward scene (Stam et al. par. 232).
calculating, by the processor, a final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value or a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof; and controlling, by the processor, a light source device of the vehicle, the light source device including at least one of a display of the vehicle, lighting inside the vehicle, or any combination thereof, based on the final photosensitive brightness value.
Although the present invention primarily addresses the control of the vehicle headlamps, embodiments are described below for controlling the tail lights and foul weather lights. In some embodiments, the present invention is generally described as controlling the "exterior lights," which broadly includes any exterior lighting on the vehicle. For example, the present invention may be used in some circumstances to control the perceived brightness of a turn signal mounted in an outside rearview mirror assembly so as to provide sufficient light output for signaling a driver in another vehicle without causing excessive glare in the eyes of the driver of the vehicle having the signal mirrors. Also, the present invention may be employed to control the instrument panel lights as well as other interior display lights based upon the sensed ambient light. Other examples will be apparent to those skilled in the art (Stam et al. par. 82). Another method of aiming calibration is to take a very high gain image and look for the reflection of the road. The average point where this reflection occurs can be used to calibrate the aim (Stam et la. Par. 215). To detect snowfall, it is preferable to provide a sensing system that senses light levels forward and above the vehicle. To obtain the light level above the vehicle, a separate light sensor may be positioned to sense light from the sky above the vehicle. Such a sky sensor may include a single pixel sensor positioned at a 45.degree. angle relative to the sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle. The sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle may be a single pixel sensor or the image array sensor used to image the scene forward of the vehicle for headlamp control. The values sensed by the forward and sky sensor may be averaged over a period of time (Stam et al. par. 231). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle. In some conditions, it may be desirable to compare the relative brightness as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases. The headlamp controller determines that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases due to the reflection of the headlamp light off the snow in the forward scene (Stam et al. par. 232). When the controller determines that snow is falling, it may activate the low beam headlamps if they are not already activated and can disable the high beams from being activated either through automatic control or manually. Further, automatic control may be disabled and foul weather lights may be activated. Additionally, the brightness of the vehicle's tail lights and/or brake lights may be increased to increase the visibility of the vehicle to other rearward vehicles (Stam et al. par. 233).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the forward sensor and sky sensor are used to determine surrounding brightness level and reflection ratio to adjust the vehicle lights to be adapting with the environment.
Stam et al. do not explicitly teach by applying a first stabilization process; by applying a second stabilization process.
Gerginov teaches by applying a first stabilization process; by applying a second stabilization process (Gerginov US 20200259498 abstract; paragraphs [0020]; [0023]; [0025]; [0027]; [0049]-[0052]; [0064]; [0072]-[0074]; figures 1-12)
FIG. 4A is a schematic block diagram 400 illustrating an example the stabilization process of the device of FIGS. 2A-2C. As illustrated in FIG. 4A, light sources 402 send two input light fields 404 and 408 at different frequencies, ω.sub.1 and ω.sub.2 to spectroscopy module 410. As a result, the feedback values and process are more complicated. In addition, the power of the ω.sub.1 beam can be lower than that used in the conventional systems (see, e.g., FIG. 1A-1C), which allows absorption detection of the remaining ω.sub.1 light after the absorber (see, e.g., 204 in FIG. 2C) with reduced light relative intensity noise (RIN) and photon shot noise contributions, resulting in a higher signal to noise ratio (Gerginov par. 72).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the stabilization process can be applied for multiple events.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the stabilization process as taught by Gerginov reference into the method of Stam et al. reference and the result of the substitution would be predictable for adjusting a vehicle light brightness in the balance state.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the calculating the final photosensitive brightness value comprises: calculating, by the processor, the final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying a first fixed reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value or a result value obtained by applying a second fixed reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof, wherein the first reflection ratio comprises the first fixed reflection ratio, a ratio value of which is fixed for each specific situation including at least one of daytime driving, nighttime driving on a road with street lights on, nighttime driving on a road without street lights, driving in a tunnel, or driving in an indoor parking lot, or any combination thereof, and wherein the second reflection ratio comprises the second fixed reflection ratio, a ratio value of which is fixed for each specific situation.
According to yet another embodiment, a method of detecting snowfall or fog outside a vehicle is accomplished. The method comprises the steps of: sensing light levels forward above the vehicle; comparing the relative brightness of the light levels forward and above the vehicle; and determining that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold (Stam et al. par. 12). According to another aspect of the present invention, a control system is provided to control the headlamps of a vehicle. The control system comprises an ambient light sensor for sensing the ambient light outside of the vehicle, and a control circuit for varying the beam pattern of daytime running lamps in response to the ambient light level sensed by the ambient light sensor (Stam et al. par. 13). These images are taken at a low sensitivity. Sensitivity of the image sensor 201 may for example be dictated by the frame exposure time, the analog amplifier gain, and the DAC high and low references. The image sensor should be just sensitive enough to image oncoming headlamps at the maximum distance for which the controlled vehicle's headlamps should be dimmed. These images will be sufficient to detect oncoming headlamps at any distance of interest and nearby tail lamps without being washed out by bright headlamps or other noise light sources. In this mode, the sensor should not be sensitive enough to detect reflections off signs or reflectors except in rare cases where the reflecting object is very near to the controlled vehicle. During dark ambient light conditions, this sensitivity will be low enough to detect only lighted objects (Stam et al. par. 137). It is envisioned that the system can detect a tunnel using the image sensor and a sky sensor. In particular, a potential tunnel condition is detected when a large area of contiguous dark pixels is detected that meets a size threshold level and is located in the center of the image, under daytime ambient light conditions. If the dark area grows while the ambient light conditions continue to sense day ambient light conditions, the potential tunnel condition will continue. If the image sensor continues to see a large dark area forward of the vehicle when the daylight ambient conditions are no longer detected, the vehicle will be determined to be in a tunnel, and the headlights will be ON. The headlights will remain on until the daylight ambient conditions are detected, at which time the headlights will be turned OFF and daylight running lights will be turned ON if the controlled vehicle has daytime running lights (Stam et al. par. 184).
According to the cited passages and figure, paragraph 137 show the sensor can detected oncoming headlamp (light or reflection) at any distance of interest. Therefore, it’s obvious for user to design any distance from the object like (tunnel or other vehicle).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the calculating the final photosensitive brightness value comprises: calculating, by the processor, the final photosensitive brightness value, based on at least one of the following: a result value obtained by applying a first variable reflection ratio to the correction value of the front illumination value or a result value obtained by applying a second variable reflection ratio to the correction value of the upper illumination value, or any combination thereof, wherein the first reflection ratio comprises the first variable reflection ratio, a ratio value of which varies with a value of a specific variable comprising a speed of the vehicle, a distance between the vehicle and a front tunnel, a distance between the vehicle and a front indoor parking lot, or a gradient of a road ahead, and wherein the second reflection ratio comprises the second variable reflection ratio, a ratio value of which varies with the value of the specific variable.
According to yet another embodiment, a method of detecting snowfall or fog outside a vehicle is accomplished. The method comprises the steps of: sensing light levels forward above the vehicle; comparing the relative brightness of the light levels forward and above the vehicle; and determining that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold (Stam et al. par. 12). According to another aspect of the present invention, a control system is provided to control the headlamps of a vehicle. The control system comprises an ambient light sensor for sensing the ambient light outside of the vehicle, and a control circuit for varying the beam pattern of daytime running lamps in response to the ambient light level sensed by the ambient light sensor (Stam et al. par. 13). These images are taken at a low sensitivity. Sensitivity of the image sensor 201 may for example be dictated by the frame exposure time, the analog amplifier gain, and the DAC high and low references. The image sensor should be just sensitive enough to image oncoming headlamps at the maximum distance for which the controlled vehicle's headlamps should be dimmed. These images will be sufficient to detect oncoming headlamps at any distance of interest and nearby tail lamps without being washed out by bright headlamps or other noise light sources. In this mode, the sensor should not be sensitive enough to detect reflections off signs or reflectors except in rare cases where the reflecting object is very near to the controlled vehicle. During dark ambient light conditions, this sensitivity will be low enough to detect only lighted objects (Stam et al. par. 137). It is envisioned that the system can detect a tunnel using the image sensor and a sky sensor. In particular, a potential tunnel condition is detected when a large area of contiguous dark pixels is detected that meets a size threshold level and is located in the center of the image, under daytime ambient light conditions. If the dark area grows while the ambient light conditions continue to sense day ambient light conditions, the potential tunnel condition will continue. If the image sensor continues to see a large dark area forward of the vehicle when the daylight ambient conditions are no longer detected, the vehicle will be determined to be in a tunnel, and the headlights will be ON. The headlights will remain on until the daylight ambient conditions are detected, at which time the headlights will be turned OFF and daylight running lights will be turned ON if the controlled vehicle has daytime running lights (Stam et al. par. 184).
According to the cited passages and figure, paragraph 137 show the sensor can detected oncoming headlamp (light or reflection) at any distance of interest. Therefore, it’s obvious for user to design any distance from the object like (tunnel or other vehicle).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the calculating the final photosensitive brightness value comprises: applying, by the processor, at least one weight to any one of the first reflection ratio or the second reflection ratio, if a difference between the brightness in front of the vehicle and the brightness above the vehicle is greater than a predetermined threshold, while the vehicle traveling.
According to yet another aspect of the invention, a headlamp control system is provided for controlling the headlamps of a controlled vehicle that comprises an imaging system configured to image the scene forward of the controlled vehicle and to detect an ambient light level outside the vehicle, and a control circuit coupled to the imaging system for determining an ambient light level outside the vehicle, for identifying and determining the brightness of light sources in images obtained from the imaging system, and for controlling the headlamps to vary a beam pattern of the headlamps as a function of the brightness of light sources within the images when the ambient light level is above a threshold level (Stam et al. par. 16). To detect snowfall, it is preferable to provide a sensing system that senses light levels forward and above the vehicle. To obtain the light level above the vehicle, a separate light sensor may be positioned to sense light from the sky above the vehicle. Such a sky sensor may include a single pixel sensor positioned at a 45.degree. angle relative to the sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle. The sensor used to sense light forward of the vehicle may be a single pixel sensor or the image array sensor used to image the scene forward of the vehicle for headlamp control. The values sensed by the forward and sky sensor may be averaged over a period of time (Stam et al. par. 231). The controller is coupled to receive the output of both the forward sensor and the sky sensor and compares the relative brightness in front of the vehicle with that above the vehicle. In some conditions, it may be desirable to compare the relative brightness as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases. The headlamp controller determines that it is snowing or foggy when a ratio of the relative brightness forward of the vehicle to that above the vehicle reaches a threshold as the brightness of the vehicle's headlights increases due to the reflection of the headlamp light off the snow in the forward scene (Stam et al. par. 232).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Stam et al. and Gerginov disclose The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the calculating the final photosensitive brightness value comprises: changing, by the processor, at least one of the first stabilization process, the second stabilization process, the first reflection ratio, or the second reflection ratio, or any combination thereof, depending on a time zone, and calculating, by the processor, the final photosensitive brightness value.
The forward ambient light sensor 1107 and rear glare sensor 1109 measure the forward and rear light levels, as indicated in step 1401 (FIG. 14). The forward ambient measurement is used to control both the low beam and high beam headlamps 1131, 1132 and the electrochromic mirror 1102. Additionally, the forward ambient measurement may be used to control the brightness of the daytime running lights and the brightness of the tail lights. The rear glare measurement is used for the control of the electrochromic mirror 1102 reflectivity. The forward ambient light level measurement is averaged with prior measurements to compute a forward time averaged ambient light level. This average light level is computed as the average of measurements taken over a 25-30 second interval (Stam et al. par. 135). A forward-facing ambient light sensor 1107 and a rearward-facing glare sensor 1109 are also preferably provided in mirror body 1000. Additionally, a sky sensor 3402 may be provided in mirror housing 1000, which is inclined at an angle to view the scene of the sky above and slightly in front of the vehicle. Such a sky sensor 3402 may be used for detecting snow or other ambient light conditions (Stam et al. par. 240).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7, 12, 14, 17 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, Stam et al. US 20030123705, Gerginov US 20200259498, Stam et al. US 20040201483, Sugawara US 20080309939, Stam et al. US 20080044062, Stam US 20060177098, Pawlicki et al. US 20040016870, Stam et al. US 20040143380, Schofield et al. US 20030205661, Niemann et al. US 20120007507, Yoo US 20130141577 and Hung et al. US 20090034087 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 2 except for this limitation cited “The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first stabilization process comprises a process of calculating a correction value of a front illumination value at a specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first weight to the front illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second weight to a correction value of a front illumination value calculated before the specified time point, and wherein the second stabilization process comprises a process of calculating a correction value of an upper illumination value at the specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined third weight to the upper illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined fourth weight to a correction value of an upper illumination value calculated before the specified time point.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 2 “The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first stabilization process comprises a process of calculating a correction value of a front illumination value at a specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first weight to the front illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second weight to a correction value of a front illumination value calculated before the specified time point, and wherein the second stabilization process comprises a process of calculating a correction value of an upper illumination value at the specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined third weight to the upper illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined fourth weight to a correction value of an upper illumination value calculated before the specified time point.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first stabilization process comprises a process of calculating a correction value of a front illumination value at a specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first weight to the front illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second weight to a correction value of a front illumination value calculated before the specified time point, and wherein the second stabilization process comprises a process of calculating a correction value of an upper illumination value at the specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined third weight to the upper illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined fourth weight to a correction value of an upper illumination value calculated before the specified time point.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Claims 3 and 7 depend on and further limit of independent claim 2, therefore claims 3 and 7 are considered allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 12, Stam et al. US 20030123705, Gerginov US 20200259498, Stam et al. US 20040201483, Sugawara US 20080309939, Stam et al. US 20080044062, Stam US 20060177098, Pawlicki et al. US 20040016870, Stam et al. US 20040143380, Schofield et al. US 20030205661, Niemann et al. US 20120007507, Yoo US 20130141577 and Hung et al. US 20090034087 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 12 except for this limitation cited “The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first stabilization process comprises: a process of calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on a simple moving average (SMA) technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of front illumination values measured during a specific duration; or a process of calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on an exponential moving average (EMA) technique for assigning a greater weight to a front illumination value measured recently among the front illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the front illumination values measured during the specific duration, and wherein the second stabilization process comprises: a process of calculating the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the SMA technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of upper illumination values measured during the specific duration; or a process of calculating the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the EMA technique for assigning a greater weight to an upper illumination value measured recently among the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 12 “The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first stabilization process comprises: a process of calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on a simple moving average (SMA) technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of front illumination values measured during a specific duration; or a process of calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on an exponential moving average (EMA) technique for assigning a greater weight to a front illumination value measured recently among the front illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the front illumination values measured during the specific duration, and wherein the second stabilization process comprises: a process of calculating the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the SMA technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of upper illumination values measured during the specific duration; or a process of calculating the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the EMA technique for assigning a greater weight to an upper illumination value measured recently among the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The vehicle control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first stabilization process comprises: a process of calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on a simple moving average (SMA) technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of front illumination values measured during a specific duration; or a process of calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on an exponential moving average (EMA) technique for assigning a greater weight to a front illumination value measured recently among the front illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the front illumination values measured during the specific duration, and wherein the second stabilization process comprises: a process of calculating the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the SMA technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of upper illumination values measured during the specific duration; or a process of calculating the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the EMA technique for assigning a greater weight to an upper illumination value measured recently among the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Regarding claim 14, Stam et al. US 20030123705, Gerginov US 20200259498, Stam et al. US 20040201483, Sugawara US 20080309939, Stam et al. US 20080044062, Stam US 20060177098, Pawlicki et al. US 20040016870, Stam et al. US 20040143380, Schofield et al. US 20030205661, Niemann et al. US 20120007507, Yoo US 20130141577 and Hung et al. US 20090034087 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 14 except for this limitation cited “The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the applying the first stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, a correction value of a front illumination value at a specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first weight to the front illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second weight to a correction value of a front illumination value calculated before the specified time point, and wherein the applying the second stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, a correction value of an upper illumination value at the specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined third weight to the upper illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined fourth weight to a correction value of an upper illumination value calculated before the specified time point.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 14 “The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the applying the first stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, a correction value of a front illumination value at a specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first weight to the front illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second weight to a correction value of a front illumination value calculated before the specified time point, and wherein the applying the second stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, a correction value of an upper illumination value at the specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined third weight to the upper illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined fourth weight to a correction value of an upper illumination value calculated before the specified time point.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the applying the first stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, a correction value of a front illumination value at a specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined first weight to the front illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined second weight to a correction value of a front illumination value calculated before the specified time point, and wherein the applying the second stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, a correction value of an upper illumination value at the specific time point, based on a result value obtained by applying a predetermined third weight to the upper illumination value measured at the specific time point and a result value obtained by applying a predetermined fourth weight to a correction value of an upper illumination value calculated before the specified time point.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Claim 17 depend on and further limit of independent claim 14, therefore claim 17 is considered allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claim 20, Stam et al. US 20030123705, Gerginov US 20200259498, Stam et al. US 20040201483, Sugawara US 20080309939, Stam et al. US 20080044062, Stam US 20060177098, Pawlicki et al. US 20040016870, Stam et al. US 20040143380, Schofield et al. US 20030205661, Niemann et al. US 20120007507, Yoo US 20130141577 and Hung et al. US 20090034087 are the closest art. They are teaching every limitation of claim 20 except for this limitation cited “The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the applying the first stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the front illumination, based on a simple moving average (SMA) technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of front illumination values measured during a specific duration; or calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on an exponential moving average (EMA) technique for assigning a greater weight to a front illumination value measured recently among the front illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the front illumination values measured during the specific duration, and wherein the applying the second stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the upper illumination, based on the SMA technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of upper illumination values measured during the specific duration; or calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the EMA technique for assigning a greater weight to an upper illumination value measured recently among the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration.”.
After update search, there are none of the prior arts of record singularly or combination, teaches or fairly suggest the features present in the claim 20 “The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the applying the first stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the front illumination, based on a simple moving average (SMA) technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of front illumination values measured during a specific duration; or calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on an exponential moving average (EMA) technique for assigning a greater weight to a front illumination value measured recently among the front illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the front illumination values measured during the specific duration, and wherein the applying the second stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the upper illumination, based on the SMA technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of upper illumination values measured during the specific duration; or calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the EMA technique for assigning a greater weight to an upper illumination value measured recently among the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration.”.
Prior arts of record fail to disclose “The vehicle control method of claim 13, wherein the applying the first stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the front illumination, based on a simple moving average (SMA) technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of front illumination values measured during a specific duration; or calculating the correction value of the front illumination value, based on an exponential moving average (EMA) technique for assigning a greater weight to a front illumination value measured recently among the front illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the front illumination values measured during the specific duration, and wherein the applying the second stabilization process comprises: calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the upper illumination, based on the SMA technique for calculating an arithmetic mean value of upper illumination values measured during the specific duration; or calculating, by the processor, the correction value of the upper illumination value, based on the EMA technique for assigning a greater weight to an upper illumination value measured recently among the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration and calculating an average value of the upper illumination values measured during the specific duration.”. However, upon consideration of the claim invention, there is no reasoning to combine the applied references to arrive in the context of the claim invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that arts of record Stam et al. and Gerginov failed to teach or suggest the amendment “control of vehicle display lighting or lighting inside the vehicle” as disclosed in the independent claim 1 and 13.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully submit that arts of record Stam et al. and Gerginov do teacht the amendment “control of vehicle display lighting or lighting inside the vehicle” as disclosed in the independent claim 1 and 13 as follow:
Paragraphs 82, 215 and 231-233 do teach “control of vehicle display lighting or lighting inside the vehicle”, for example paragraph 82 disclosed “Also, the present invention may be employed to control the instrument panel lights as well as other interior display lights based upon the sensed ambient light.”. Since arts of record still read on the claim invention, therefore the rejection is maintained. Please see above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686