DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima et al (US 20190101561) in view of Gao (CN 211690012).
Regarding claim 1, Nakashima et al teach (Figs. 1-5) a photoelectric sensor, comprising: a housing having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface and a second surface; and a first indicator lamp (22) wherein the first indicator lamp is located on the first surface (top surface of element 12), the first surface and the second surface are parallel to each other, and the information indicated is at least one of an on-off state of a power supply ([0027]) or a workpiece detection state.
Nakashima et al do not teach a second indicator lamp located on the second surface. Gao teaches protruding indicator lamps on both sides of the housing that work symmetrically (redundantly) to provide two warning lamps. It would have been at the time of invention to provide two indicator lamps on both side of an electronic device to provide additional warning to another side of the device.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Nakashima et al further teaches the first surface is a top surface with a display, and the second surface is a bottom surface.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Nakashima et al teach the first indicator lamp protrudes from the first surface, and the second indicator lamp protrudes from the second surface.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Nakashima et al teach the first indicator and the second indicator lamp redundantly indicate the information at a same time. (symmetrically).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Nakashima et al in view of Komai (US Patent 10466079).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Nakashima et al teach the invention set forth above. The modified Nakashima et al do not teach a display board on which a display is mounted; and a power supply board connected to a power cable to supply power to an electronic component in the housing, wherein the first indicator lamp includes a light source mounted on the display board, and the second indicator lamp includes a light source mounted on the power supply board. Komai teaches (Figs. 1-4)
a display board (51) on which a display is mounted; and a power supply board (71) connected to a power cable (72) to supply power to an electronic component in the housing, wherein the first indicator lamp includes a light source mounted on the display board, and the second indicator lamp includes a light source mounted on the power supply board.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Nakashima further in view of Lill et al (US Patent 10149460).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the modified Nakashima teaches the invention set forth above. The modified Nakashima does not teach the photoelectric sensor is configured to select a mode to turn off light with a specific wavelength for the first indicator lamp and/or the second indicator lamp. Lill et al teach (Figs. 1-18, Columns 18-19) the photoelectric sensor is configured to select a mode to turn off light with a specific wavelength (RF) for the first indicator lamp and/or the second indicator lamp (“It then turns off the flashing warning lights…”). It would have been obvious at the time of invention to design the photoelectric sensor to be configured to select a mode to turn off light with a specific wavelength for the first indicator lamp and/or the second indicator lamp to reduce undesired energy consumption.
Conclusion
/TONY KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878
TK