DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of figure 3 and claims 1, 2, 6-7, 14-15 in the reply filed on 5/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the Office has not established that the pending claims lack a generic claim or that the identified species require restriction if a generic claim is ultimately found allowable. Applicant therefore respectfully requests examination of the elected Figure 3 species and of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 14, and 15. Applicant further requests withdrawal of the restriction requirement, or, at minimum, rejoinder of any non-elected claims if a generic claim is found allowable.” In response, the examiner notes that upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an image acquisition part in claims 1 and 14-15; single Bessel beam generation part in claims 1-2, 6-7, and 14-15; multiple Bessel beam generation part in claims 1-2 and 14-15; a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition part in claim 1; and a second harmonic signal image acquisition part in claim 7. Note that the other elected claims have sufficient structure that they don’t invoke 112f.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Truong (US 20110122488 A1; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Truong teaches an open-top two-photon light sheet microscope comprising:
a laser irradiation part configured to irradiate a sample with a two-photon excitation laser beam (figure 6a; paragraphs 34 and 82-83); and
an image acquisition part (CCD) configured to receive a two-photon fluorescence signal (paragraphs 34, 87, and 95; figure 6a) and a second harmonic signal generated by the irradiating laser beam (paragraphs 12, 47, 119 and figure 6a; as explained in paragraph 119, the same setup detects both the two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal),
wherein the laser irradiation part comprises a single Bessel beam generation part (paragraph 21) configured to generate a single Bessel beam or a multiple Bessel beam generation part configured to generate multiple Bessel beams (paragraphs 21 and 75; claim 10)
For the reasons given above, the examiner considers Truong as anticipating the claim. Alternatively, if one were to consider the Bessel beam generation to be a different embodiment, then Truong teaches that a single Bessel beam generation part (paragraph 21) configured to generate a single Bessel beam or a multiple Bessel beam generation part configured to generate multiple Bessel beams (paragraphs 21 and 75; claim 10) provides the benefit of a larger field of view and are particularly advantageous for two-photon excitation (paragraphs 21 and 75; claim 10). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the laser irradiation part of Truong comprise a single Bessel beam generation part configured to generate a single Bessel beam or a multiple Bessel beam generation part configured to generate multiple Bessel beams in order to obtain the benefit of a larger field of view and because Truong teaches it’s particularly advantageous for two-photon excitation.
Regarding claim 2, Truong teaches the laser irradiation part comprises a first objective lens (EO-1 and EO-2; figure 6A; paragraph 85), and the image acquisition part comprises a second objective lens (DO; figure 6A; paragraphs 86-87),
wherein the first objective lens and the second objective lens are orthogonal to each other (figure 6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20240175798 A1; also published as WO2022208061A1).
Regarding claim 6, Truong teaches the multiple Bessel beam generation part comprises: a light source part (laser) configured to generate a laser beam (figure 6A);; a spatial light modulator configured to convert the collimated line-shaped beam into the multiple Bessel beams (paragraph 21); a first cylindrical lens configured to convert a point-shaped laser beam generated from the light source part into a line-shaped beam (paragraph 75); and a y-direction scan mirror configured to generate multiple Bessel sheet beams by scanning the converted multiple Bessel beams in a y direction (paragraphs 62-63).
Truong doesn’t explicitly teach a second cylindrical lens configured to organize the converted line-shaped beam into a collimated beam.
Like Truong (and like the instant application), Lee is directed to light sheet microscopy and teaches adding a cylindrical lens in order to recollimated, or in other words, it teaches a first cylindrical lens (8a) configured to generate from the light source part into a line-shaped beam; and a second cylindrical lens (8b) configured to organize the converted line-shaped beam into a collimated beam (paragraph 54).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the multiple Bessel beam generation part comprises: a first cylindrical lens configured to convert a point-shaped laser beam generated from the light source part into a line-shaped beam; a second cylindrical lens configured to organize the converted line-shaped beam into a collimated beam – in order to ensure the light is collimated as it enters the downstream optical elements.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong and Lee as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Fujimoto (US 20180259762 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Truong doesn’t explicitly teach the image acquisition part comprises: a dichroic mirror configured to receive a reaction beam generated from the sample and separate the reaction beam into the two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal; a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition part configured to receive the two-photon fluorescence signal passing through the dichroic mirror; and a second harmonic signal image acquisition part configured to receive the second harmonic signal reflected from the dichroic mirror.
However, Truong teaches that the image acquisition part can receive two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal (see citations above). Additionally, Fujimoto is directed to a multi-photon microscope and teaches the image acquisition part comprises: a dichroic mirror (220) configured to receive a reaction beam generated from the sample and separate the reaction beam into the multi-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal (paragraph 62); a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition part configured to receive the two-photon fluorescence signal passing through the dichroic mirror; and a second harmonic signal image acquisition part configured to receive the second harmonic signal reflected from the dichroic mirror (paragraph 62; and figure 2, where the filters are 221 and detectors are 223).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the image acquisition part comprises: a dichroic mirror configured to receive a reaction beam generated from the sample and separate the reaction beam into the two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal; a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition part configured to receive the two-photon fluorescence signal passing through the dichroic mirror; and a second harmonic signal image acquisition part configured to receive the second harmonic signal reflected from the dichroic mirror – in order to implement the measurement of the two-photon fluorescence and second harmonic signal taught by Truong using a system that separates them into distinct channels and allows the accurate measurement of each.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Siebenmorgen (US 20190170995 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Truong teaches a sample holder configured to hold the sample (paragraph 86); and a motorized stage configured to transport the sample holder in an x direction (paragraph 86),
Truong doesn’t explicitly teach the sample holder comprises a liquid prism to eliminate an off-axis optical aberration.
However, Truong teaches the sample holder comprises a liquid and a prism (paragraph 86). Additionally, Siebenmorgen is directed to light sheet microscopy and teaches the sample holder comprises a liquid prism to eliminate an off-axis optical aberration (paragraph 12).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the sample holder comprises a liquid prism to eliminate an off-axis optical aberration in order to reduce aberration as is a motivation in the prior art as evidenced by Siebenmorgen, paragraph 12, and thereby increase measurement accuracy.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong and Fujimoto.
Regarding claim 15, Truong teaches an operating method of an open-top two-photon light sheet microscope, the method comprising (see the citations in the above device for more details):
a laser beam irradiation step of irradiating a sample with a laser beam (figure 6a; paragraphs 34 and 82-83); and
an image acquisition step by an image acquisition part (CCD) receiving a two-photon fluorescence signal (paragraphs 34, 87, and 95; figure 6a) and a second harmonic signal generated by the irradiating laser beam (paragraphs 12, 47, 119 and figure 6a; as explained in paragraph 119, the same setup detects both the two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal),
wherein the laser beam irradiation step comprises:
a laser beam generation step by a light source part generating a laser beam (figure 6a; paragraphs 34 and 82-83);
a single Bessel beam generation step (paragraph 21) or a multiple Bessel beam generation step by a single Bessel beam generation part or a multiple Bessel beam generation part converting the laser beam generated in the laser beam irradiation step into a single Bessel beam or multiple Bessel beams (paragraphs 21 and 75; claim 10); and
a scanning step by a y-direction scan mirror generating a single Bessel sheet beam or multiple Bessel sheet beams by scanning the single Bessel beam or the multiple Bessel beams converted in the single Bessel beam generation step or the multiple Bessel beam generation step in a y direction (paragraphs 62-63),
wherein the image acquisition step comprises:
an image separation step by a reaction beam passing through a second objective lens into the two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal (paragraphs 12, 47, 119 and figure 6a);
a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition step by a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition part receiving the two-photon fluorescence signal passing through (paragraphs 12, 47, 119 and figure 6a); and
a second harmonic signal image acquisition step by a second harmonic signal image acquisition part receiving the second harmonic signal reflected (paragraphs 12, 47, 119 and figure 6a).
Truong doesn’t explicitly teach an image separation step by a dichroic mirror separating a reaction beam passing through a second objective lens into the two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal;
However, Truong teaches that the image acquisition part can receive two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal (see citations above). Additionally, Fujimoto is directed to a multi-photon microscope and teaches the image acquisition part comprises: a dichroic mirror (220) configured to receive a reaction beam generated from the sample and separate the reaction beam into the multi-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal (paragraph 62); a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition part configured to receive the two-photon fluorescence signal passing through the dichroic mirror; and a second harmonic signal image acquisition part configured to receive the second harmonic signal reflected from the dichroic mirror (paragraph 62; and figure 2, where the filters are 221 and detectors are 223).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the image acquisition part comprises: a dichroic mirror configured to receive a reaction beam generated from the sample and separate the reaction beam into the two-photon fluorescence signal and the second harmonic signal; a two-photon fluorescence signal image acquisition part configured to receive the two-photon fluorescence signal passing through the dichroic mirror; and a second harmonic signal image acquisition part configured to receive the second harmonic signal reflected from the dichroic mirror – in order to implement the measurement of the two-photon fluorescence and second harmonic signal taught by Truong using a system that separates them into distinct channels and allows the accurate measurement of each.
Additional Prior Art
US 2021/0161385 discloses a two-photon light miscroscope
Conclusion
/RUFUS L PHILLIPS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877