DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites a second timing advance used prior to the determination that the location information is unavailable. However, the meaning of the a second timing advance used prior to the determination is unclear from the context of the claim as neither the instant claim nor the parent claim recite a second timing advance. Therefore, the manner in which a second timing advanced is used is unclear from the context of the claim. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 12, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beijing Xiaomi Software Co. Ltd. (CN 118020357 A), hereinafter referred to as D1.
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 20, D1 discloses a method, terminal, network device, and storage medium, which comprises:
a processing system configured to: operate in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state with a second network entity (In response to a failure in measuring the terminal location information, entering a RRC IDLE. See page 7, second paragraph.);
determine that location information associated with the first network entity is unavailable (Determining that a global navigation satellite system module of the terminal is unavailable, the GNSS module being used to measure terminal location information. See page 20, paragraphs two and three.);
initiate a first timer based on a determination that the location information is unavailable (Terminal 101 may determine that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than a threshold. The terminal may determine that the validity period of the GNSS has expired; thereby, determining that the GNSS module is unavailable. The GNSS module may be determined to be unavailable due to failure in measuring the terminal location information through GNSS; thereby, comprising a timer to determine the validity period of the GNSS. See page 20, paragraphs two and three.);
transition to a first sub-state of the RRC connected state from a second sub-state of the RRC connected state based on expiration of the first timer, wherein the first sub-state is associated with the location information being unavailable and the second sub-state is associated with the location information being available (When the terminal determines that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than a threshold, it can report to the network devise that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than the threshold, so that the network device sends the first information to the terminal to enable the terminal to determine the adjustment method of the TAM and maintain uplink time domain synchronization. Interpreted as transitioning to the first sub-state when the terminal receives the adjustment information and adapts the synchronization under a broad literal reasonable claim interpretation as the claim does not set forth any functional or structural limitations regarding the sub-states. See page 20, paragraphs two to five.); and
communicate with the second network entity in accordance with a first uplink synchronization procedure based on the transition to the first sub-state, wherein the first uplink synchronization procedure is configured for use by the first network entity to maintain uplink synchronization with the second network entity while the first network entity operates in the first sub-state of the RRC connected state (Note, the limitation “for use . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not given patentable weight. The claim limitation is not a positive recitation but merely a statement of some intended future purpose. The prior art is also capable of such a purpose. When the terminal determines that the GNS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than a threshold, it can report to the network device that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than the threshold, so that the network device sends the first time information to the terminal to enable the terminal to determine the adjustment method of the TA and maintain uplink time domain synchronization. Interpreted as transitioning to the first sub-state when the terminal receives the adjustment information and adapts the synchronization under a broad literal reasonable claim interpretation as the claim does not set forth any functional or structural limitations regarding the sub-state. See page 20, paragraphs two to five.)
Regarding claims 2 and 16, D1 discloses receive configuration information that indicates a first set of time-frequency adjustment parameters associated with the first uplink synchronization procedure and a second set of time-frequency adjustment parameters associated with a second uplink synchronization procedure, wherein the second uplink synchronization procedure is configured for use by the first network entity to maintain the uplink synchronization with the second network entity while the first network entity operates in the second sub-state of the RRC connected state (Note, the limitation “for use . . .” is considered an intended-use limitation and is not given patentable weight. The claim limitation is not a positive recitation but merely a statement of some intended future purpose. The prior art is also capable of such a purpose. The adjustment method of TA includes at least one of the following: adjusting TA based on a first TA adjustment amount and a second TA adjustment amount, wherein the first TA adjustment amount is determined based on a TA command, and the second TA adjustment amount is determined based on satellite ephemeris information and terminal position information, wherein the second TA adjustment amount is a second TA adjustment amount at a predefined moment, or the second TA adjustment amount is determined based on the terminal position information at a predefined moment; or adjusting TA based on the first TA adjustment amount; or adjusting TA based on the first TA adjustment amount, the second TA adjustment amount and a third TA adjustment amount, wherein the third TA adjustment amount is used to assist in adjusting TA; or adjusting TA based on the first TA adjustment amount and the third TA adjustment amount. See page 22, paragraphs two and three. Obtaining time and frequency configuration via the PRACH, which is associated with the timing advance. See page 14, paragraph five.)
Regarding claims 4 and 18, D1 discloses transmit, to the second network entity and prior to the expiration of the first timer, a first message that indicates that the location information associated with the first network entity is unavailable (When the terminal determines that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than a threshold, it can report to the network device that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than the threshold, so that the network device sends the first information to the terminal to enable the terminal to determine the adjustment method of the TA and maintain uplink time domain synchronization. The terminal may determine that the validity period of the GNSS has expired; thereby, determining that the GNSS module is unavailable. The GNSS module may be determined to be unavailable due to failure in measuring the terminal location information through GNSS; thereby, comprising prior to a timer to determine the validity period of the GNSS. See page 20, see paragraphs three and fourth.)
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses receive, from the second network entity and based on transmission of the first message, a second message that comprises a command to perform a random access procedure via a first set of time-frequency resources, wherein the first set of time-frequency resources are associated with a physical random access channel configured for operations in the first sub-state of the RRC connected state (When the terminal determines that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than a threshold, it can report to the network device that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than the threshold, so that the network device sends the first information to the terminal to enable the terminal to determine the adjustment method of the TA and maintain uplink time domain synchronization. See page 20, see paragraphs three and fourth. Obtaining time and frequency configuration via the PRACH (associated with a PRACH configured for operations in the first sub-state of the RRC connected state), which is associated with the timing advance. See page 14, paragraph five.)
Regarding claim 12, D1 discloses determine a first timing advance for communication of an uplink signal based on a second timing advance used prior to the determination that the location information is unavailable (The adjustment method of TA includes at least one of the following: adjusting TA based on a first TA adjustment amount and a second TA adjustment amount, wherein the first TA adjustment amount is determined based on a TA command, and the second TA adjustment amount is determined based on satellite ephemeris information and terminal position information, wherein the second TA adjustment amount is a second TA adjustment amount at a predefined moment, or the second TA adjustment amount is determined based on the terminal position information at a predefined moment; or adjusting TA based on the first TA adjustment amount; or adjusting TA based on the first TA adjustment amount, the second TA adjustment amount and a third TA adjustment amount, wherein the third TA adjustment amount is used to assist in adjusting TA; or adjusting TA based on the first TA adjustment amount and the third TA adjustment amount. See page 22, paragraphs two and three.)
Regarding claim 14, D1 discloses a position engine operable to obtain one or more measurements from a non-terrestrial navigation network, wherein the determination that the location information is unavailable is based on the one or more measurements (The terminal may determine that the GNSS module is unavailable (interpreted as operable to obtain . . . as the system is also capable), and at this time may receive the first information sent by the network device and determine the TA adjustment method to achieve uplink time domain synchronization. See page 7, paragraph four and page 20, paragraph two.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beijing Xiaomi Software Co. Ltd. (CN 118020357 A), hereinafter referred to as D1, in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0292273 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, D1 does not disclose wherein the processing system is configured to: receive configuration information that indicates a duration of the first timer, wherein the duration is common to a set of one or more network entities that comprises the first network entity or the duration is configured in accordance with one or more capabilities of the first network entity.
D2 teaches a system and method for providing timing advance values, which comprises UE 110 may send a UTS based on a synchronization timer (ST). For example, when the ST expires (and returns back to zero to start recounting), then the UE 110 sends a UTS. The base station 170 may be able to configure the ST in the UE 110, e.g. change its expiry value to have a UTS transmitted less often or more often. In some embodiments, instead of or in addition to a ST, there may exist other trigger conditions for sending a UTS, e.g. a UTS may be transmitted after receiving a group message (e.g. as per step 528 of FIG. 11) to be used for TA refinement. It may be determined how often to send a UTS (or more generally update a TA value) based on certain criteria, e.g. criteria such as keeping uplink timing error for the UE within the required timing error limit for different scenarios (e.g. for certain carrier frequency bands, SSB SCS, data channel SCS, etc.). Configuration of the UE 110 may be based on different factors, which may possibly control when a UTS is sent. Factors may include: mobility status, e.g., the UE 110 is static, slow moving, fast moving, etc.; moving speed and direction, e.g., a UTS is sent more often if the UE 110 is fast moving; UE 110 transmit and receive beam directions, e.g., if UE transmit and receive beams have different directions; RRM measurements the UE 110 can support and/or UE capability on measurement, e.g. the RRM measurement may be associated with a UTS, e.g., RRM measurement reporting, including beam measurement reporting info may be a factor; configuration of a synchronized timer (ST). The ST value may be configured semi-statically and/or dynamically. The ST value may be configured to be associated with a DRX cycle, or it may be configured to be independent of a DRX cycle. The ST may be updated or reconfigured once the UE mobility status changes (received configuration information that indicates a duration of the first timer/duration is configured in accordance with one or more capabilities of the first network entity). See paragraphs 0144-0145.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the timer configuration of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to control synchronization signaling in different power states; thereby, reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the primary reference further teaches receive an uplink synchronization adjustment command from the second network entity based on transmission of the first message, wherein, to communicate with the second network entity in accordance with the first uplink synchronization procedure, the processing system is configured to: communicate one or more uplink signals via one or more slots in accordance with a first timing advance adjustment (When the terminal determines that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than a threshold, it can report to the network device that the GNSS module is unavailable or the uplink time domain synchronization error of the terminal is greater than the threshold, so that the network device sends the first information to the terminal to enable the terminal to determine the adjustment method of the TA and maintain uplink time domain synchronization (comprising time slots). See page 20, see paragraphs three and fourth.)
D1 does not disclose a first frequency adjustment indicated by the uplink synchronization adjustment command.
D2 teaches certain parameters can be configured for the UE 110, e.g. TA-related parameters. Any configuration described herein may be predefined or dynamically configured using physical layer control signaling (e.g. DCI) or semi-statically configured (e.g. using higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling, or a MAC CE, etc.). As one example, whether a TA refinement is to be performed for a UE (e.g. whether the UE 110 is to receive the TA update/refinement in step 530 of FIG. 11) may be semi-statically configured or dynamically configured, e.g. as part of the TA-related information. As another example, the particular time-frequency resource at which TA-related information is received may be predefined, or configured semi-statically or dynamically. If time-frequency resources for receiving TA-related information is configured, the following are example possibilities. The time-frequency resources may be located at monitoring time instants for a UE in a power-saving state. The time-frequency resources may have an association with a DRX cycle configuration, e.g. the monitoring time instant may be in every DRX_on period or in one in every multiple DRX_on periods. The time locations of the time-frequency resources may be at monitoring time locations, and the frequency location(s) of the time-frequency resources may be predefined or configured semi-statically or dynamically. See paragraphs 0149-0150.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the configuration control of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to control synchronization signaling in different power states; thereby, reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 6, the primary reference further teaches determine the first timing advance adjustment according to a feedback loop, wherein the feedback loop is initialized based on a second timing advance adjustment and a second frequency adjustment used prior to the determination that the location information is unavailable (The terminal reports capability indication information for indicating the ability to maintain its uplink time domain synchronization based on closed-loop command adjustment when GNSS is unavailable. The capability indication information is the fourth information. When the capability indication information reported by the terminal indicates the ability of the terminal to maintain its uplink synchronization based on the closed- loop adjustment command when the GNSS is unavailable, the base station can still maintain the connection with the terminal and maintain the uplink synchronization of the terminal through the adjustment command when determining that the GNSS of the terminal may be unavailable. See page 39, paragraphs one to three and last paragraph.)
D1 does not disclose the first frequency adjustment.
D2 teaches certain parameters can be configured for the UE 110, e.g. TA-related parameters. Any configuration described herein may be predefined or dynamically configured using physical layer control signaling (e.g. DCI) or semi-statically configured (e.g. using higher layer signaling such as RRC signaling, or a MAC CE, etc.). As one example, whether a TA refinement is to be performed for a UE (e.g. whether the UE 110 is to receive the TA update/refinement in step 530 of FIG. 11) may be semi-statically configured or dynamically configured, e.g. as part of the TA-related information. As another example, the particular time-frequency resource at which TA-related information is received may be predefined, or configured semi-statically or dynamically. If time-frequency resources for receiving TA-related information is configured, the following are example possibilities. The time-frequency resources may be located at monitoring time instants for a UE in a power-saving state. The time-frequency resources may have an association with a DRX cycle configuration, e.g. the monitoring time instant may be in every DRX_on period or in one in every multiple DRX_on periods. The time locations of the time-frequency resources may be at monitoring time locations, and the frequency location(s) of the time-frequency resources may be predefined or configured semi-statically or dynamically. See paragraphs 0149-0150.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the configuration control of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to control synchronization signaling in different power states; thereby, reducing signaling overhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Leather et al. (US 2025/0267694 A1) - The network entity is configured for using a wireless interface of the network entity for the communication. The network entity comprises a control unit configured for processing configuration information indicating a change of an availability of the resource. The control unit is configured for adapting the configuration based on the configuration information to react on the change of the availability.
Leng et al. (US 2024/0048227 A1) - The method of UE comprises: receiving, from a BS, first information including satellite assistance information for a target satellite; receiving, from the BS, second information including timing information, wherein the timing information includes at least one of a start time and a time duration for a synchronization operation; determining whether a RACH-less synchronization operation is configured; and initiating, based on the satellite assistance information and the timing information.
Li et al. (US 2024/0244701 A1) - The base station transmits and the communication device receives an on-off indication, when the communication device is in an inactive state or in an idle state. The on-off indication indicates an availability state of a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam. The communication device then determines the availability state of the SSB beam and a starting time as of which the communication device is expected to use the SSB beam if the (indicated) availability state corresponds to an on-state of the SSB beam, and not use the SSB beam if the (indicated) availability state corresponds to an off-state of the SSB beam.
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462