DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term WiFi, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized entirely wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase “processing circuitry” as claimed is structure. None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to “one or more computer-readable storage media” which under the BRI standard, encompasses a transitory signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2023/205205 A1 to Cirik et al. (“Cirik”) [provided by Applicant].
As to claim 1, Cirik discloses an apparatus (fig. 17, para. 0184, illustrated UE; wireless device) comprising: processing circuitry configured to (para. 0186, processors): process configuration information that is sent by a base station and that indicates a first index of a first timing advance group (TAG) and a second index of a second TAG, wherein the base station is associated with a first transmission and reception point (TRP) and a second TRP (fig. 17: configuration parameters, para. 0201, In the existing technologies, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the cell, the at least two TAGs, for example, for a multi-TRP operation (e.g., inter-cell multi-TRP operation, intra-cell multi-TRP operation, and the like). Each TAG of the at least two TAGs may be for (or associated with) a respective TRP of the plurality of TRPs; para. 0204, /mapping of the at least two TAGs with/to the plurality of TRPs, paras. 0205, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the first TAG, a first TAG index. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TAG, a second TAG index; para. 0462); process signaling information that is sent by the base station and that indicates at least one of a non-unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) associated with a multi-TRP uplink transmission or single downlink control information (DCI) associated with the multi-TRP uplink transmission (paras. 0484, 0489, 0587: single DCI [para. 0139, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states (i.e. non-unified TCI) to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI)] may schedule/trigger/indicate the first uplink signal/transmission and the second uplink signal/transmission; para. 0363: first TRP may receive an uplink signal/transmission (e.g., PUSCH, PUCOH, SRS, UCI, PRACH) via an uplink resource of/in a first uplink resource group/set; para. 0364, The second TRP may receive an uplink signal/transmission (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, UCI, PRACH) via an uplink resource in/of a second uplink resource group/set,); determine, based on the configuration information and the signaling information, that the first index is to be used with a first uplink transmission to the first TRP and that the second index is to be used for a second uplink transmission to the second TRP (para. 0205, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the first TAG, a first TAG index. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TAG, a second TAG index; para. 0201, In the existing technologies, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the cell, the at least two TAGs, for example, for a multi-TRP operation (e.g., inter-cell multi-TRP operation, intra-cell multi-TRP operation, and the like). Each TAG of the at least two TAGs may be for (or associated with) a respective TRP of the plurality of TRPs); cause a first uplink transmission to the first TRP based on the first TAG (para. 0502, The wireless device may transmit the first uplink signal/transmission based on the first timing advance value associated with the first TAG); and cause a second uplink transmission to the second TRP based on the second TAG (para. 0507, The wireless device may transmit the second uplink signal/transmission based on the second timing advance value associated with the second TAG).
As to claim 2, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration information indicates a spatial relation configuration for the multi-TRP uplink transmission in a frequency range between 24.25 GHz and 52.6 GHz (para. 0322, the cell may operate in a second frequency range (FR2). The FR2 may, for example, comprise frequency bands from 24 GHz to 52.6 GHz), and wherein the first index and the second index are associated with the spatial relation configuration (para. 0208, In an example embodiment, the first TAG with a lower TAG index may be associated with a first uplink signal/transmission associated with a first TCI state that is associated with a PCI of the cell (or the first TRP). The second TAG with a higher TAG index may be associated with a second uplink signal/transmission associated with a second TCI state that is associated with a second PCI different from the PCI of the cell).
As to claim 3, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration information indicates a power control configuration for the multi-TRP uplink transmission, and wherein the first index and the second index are associated with the power control configuration (paras. 0166, 0168, 0169, transmit power control in DCI for PUSCH or PUCCH, i.e. and indexes associated as they are for uplink).
As to claim 4, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the power control configuration includes physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) power control set information (PUCCH-PowerControlSetInfo), and wherein an information element (IE) of the PUCCH-PowerControlSetInfo includes the first index (para. 0450, the one or more configuration parameters [paras. 0205, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the first TAG, a first TAG index. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TAG, a second TAG index ] may comprise one or more serving cell parameters (e.g., ServingCellConfig) indicating the one or more uplink power control sets. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the one or more uplink power control sets, one or more uplink power control set indexes/identifiers/identities (e.g., Uplink-powerControlld); para. 0033, parameters (or equally called, fields, or Information elements: lEs)).
As to claim 5, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the power control configuration includes reference signal (RS) configuration for a pathloss reference (PathlossReferenceRS-Config) information (para. 0455, The second TCI state may indicate (or comprise or be mapped to or be associated with) one or more second power control parameters (e.g., target received power, closed- loop index, pathloss compensation factor, alpha, pathloss reference signal, and the like). The wireless device may determine the second transmission power determined based on the one or more second power control parameters indicated by (or included in or associated with or mapped to) the second TCI state. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TCI state, the one or more second power control parameters) associated with a sound reference signal (SRS) resource set (para. 0452, The wireless device may transmit a second uplink signal/transmission (e.g., PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmission, transport block, UCI, and the like) based on the second TCI state.), and wherein an information element (IE) of the PathlossReferenceRS-Config information includes the first index ((para. 0450, the one or more configuration parameters [paras. 0205, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the first TAG, a first TAG index. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TAG, a second TAG index]).
As to claim 6, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the power control configuration includes sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and configuration of SRI to PUSCH power control configuration mapping (SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl) information or PUSCH reference signal (RS) configuration for a pathloss reference (PUSCH-PathlossReferenceRS-Config) information wer control parameters) associated with a sound reference signal (SRS) resource set (para. 0452, The wireless device may transmit a second uplink signal/transmission (e.g., PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmission, transport block, UCI, and the like) based on the second TCI state.), and wherein an information element (IE) of the PathlossReferenceRS-Config information includes the first index ((para. 0450, the one or more configuration parameters [paras. 0205, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the first TAG, a first TAG index. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TAG, a second TAG index ]), and wherein an information element (IE) of the SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl information or the PUSCH-PathlossReferenceRS-Config information includes the first index wer control parameters) associated with a sound reference signal (SRS) resource set (para. 0452, The wireless device may transmit a second uplink signal/transmission (e.g., PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmission, transport block, UCI, and the like) based on the second TCI state.), and wherein an information element (IE) of the PathlossReferenceRS-Config information includes the first index ((para. 0450, the one or more configuration parameters [paras. 0205, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the first TAG, a first TAG index. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TAG, a second TAG index]).
As to claim 7, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received based on radio resource control (RRC) signaling (para. 0139, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI)), indicates a configuration of an uplink resource or an uplink resource set (para. 0139, The UE may perform the uplink beam (i.e. resource) selection procedure based on one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources configured to the UE by the base station. The base station may select and indicate uplink beams for the UE based on measurements of the one or more SRS resources transmitted by the UE), and associates the first index with the configuration, wherein the uplink resource is at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource or a sounding reference (SRS) resource (para. 0139, The UE may perform the uplink beam selection procedure based on one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources configured to the UE by the base station. The base station may select and indicate uplink beams for the UE based on measurements of the one or more SRS resources transmitted by the UE), and wherein the uplink resource set is at least one of a PUCCH resource set or an SRS resource set (i.e. further limiting limitation written in alternative).
As to claim 8, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received based on radio resource control (RRC) signaling (para. 0177, The base station may transmit configuration parameters to the UE for a plurality of PUCCH resource sets using, for example, an RRC message), indicates a first configuration of a first list of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources, a second configuration of a second list of PUCCH resources, and a third configuration of a third list of PUCCH resources (para. 0177, “plurality of PUCCH resource sets (e.g., up to four sets)”), and associates the first index with the first list, the second index with the second list, and the first index and the second index with the third list (para. 0270, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the group of cells, the TAG. The one or more TAGs comprise the TAG. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate uplink (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH, PRACH, SRS, and the like) for the group of cells (or for each cell of the group of cells), i.e. tag indexes are all associated with all PUCCH transmissions as they originate from the same device).
As to claim 9, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signaling information includes a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) that identifies a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource to be transmitted and indicates whether the first PUCCH resource is associated with the first index only (para. 0327, The wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., in a random access response or in an absolute timing advance command MAC GE or a timing advance command MAC CE) for a TAG of the one or more TAGs. The timing advance command may, for example, comprise a field (e.g., TAG ID) indicating/identifying the TAG. The wireless device may, for example, receive the timing advance command via a cell associated with the TAG. The TAG may comprise at least one cell that comprise the cell. The one or more cells may comprise the at least one cell that comprise the cell. The wireless device may adjust/determine an uplink timing (i.e. resource) for uplink transmissions (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS transmissions) on/via each cell of the at least one cell in the TAG, for example, based on the timing advance command.), or the second index only, or both the first index and the second index.
As to claim 10, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received based on radio resource control (RRC) signaling (para. 0177, the base station may transmit configuration parameters to the UE for a plurality of PUCCH resource sets using, for example, an RRC message), indicates a first configuration of a first list of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources and a second configuration of a second list of SRS resources, and associates the first index with the first list only and the second index with the second list only (para. 0207, the first TAG with a lower TAG index may be associated with a first uplink signal/transmission associated with a first SRS resource set (or the first TRP). The second TAG with a higher TAG index may be associated with a second uplink signal/transmission associated with a second SRS resource set (or the second TRP)).
As to claim 11, Cirik further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signaling information includes a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) para. 0327, The wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., in a random access response or in an absolute timing advance command MAC GE or a timing advance command MAC CE) for a TAG of the one or more TAGs. The timing advance command may, for example, comprise a field (e.g., TAG ID) indicating/identifying the TAG. The wireless device may, for example, receive the timing advance command via a cell associated with the TAG. The TAG may comprise at least one cell that comprise the cell. The one or more cells may comprise the at least one cell that comprise the cell. The wireless device may adjust/determine an uplink timing (i.e. resource) for uplink transmissions (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS transmissions) on/via each cell of the at least one cell in the TAG, for example, based on the timing advance command.) that identifies a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second SRS resource set and indicates that the first SRS resource set is associated with the first index only and that the second SRS resource set is associated with the second index only (para. 0207, the first TAG with a lower TAG index may be associated with a first uplink signal/transmission associated with a first SRS resource set (or the first TRP). The second TAG with a higher TAG index may be associated with a second uplink signal/transmission associated with a second SRS resource set (or the second TRP)).
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 1. Further, Cirik discloses the one or more computer-readable storage media instructions that, upon execution by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (para. 0185, Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities discussed in the present application).
As to claim 13, Cirik further discloses the one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 12, wherein the single DCI associates the first index with an uplink joint TCI state (para. 0405, For example, unified-TCI-state-type parameter may be set to “JointULDL”. The wireless device may use/apply the plurality of TCI states for both uplink transmissions (e.g., PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS transmissions) of the cell and downlink receptions (e.g., PDCCH/PDSCH/CSI-RS receptions) of the cell, for example, based on the one or more configuration parameters comprising the unified-TCI-state-type parameter set to “JointULDL”.).
As to claim 17, Cirik further discloses the one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: causing a transmission of capability information to the base station, wherein the capability information indicates that a UE supports the single DCI for the multi-TRP uplink transmission and supports multiple TAGs, and wherein the capability information further indicates whether the UE supports the multiple TAGs in association with the single DCI (para. 0264, A wireless device may transmit/report, to a base station, a user-equipment (UE) capability message (e.g., UE capability information). The wireless device may transmit/report, to the base station, the UE capability message, for example, based on receiving, from the base station, a UE capability enquiry/request. The base station may request, via/by the UE capability enquiry/request, from the wireless device to send/transmit the UE capability message. The UE capability message (or the UE capability information) may be an RRC message that the wireless device transmits/sends/reports to the base station. The wireless device may transmit the UE capability message, for example, during initial registration process; para. 0265, The UE capability message may indicate a supported number of TAGs (supportedNumberTAG); para. 0587: single DCI; para. 0592, DCI scheduling…TAG; para. 0565, DCI…TRP index).
As to claim 18, Cirik discloses a method (fig.17) comprising: sending, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information that indicates a first index of a first timing advance group (TAG) and a second index of a second TAG (fig. 17: configuration parameters, para. 0201, In the existing technologies, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the cell, the at least two TAGs, for example, for a multi-TRP operation (e.g., inter-cell multi-TRP operation, intra-cell multi-TRP operation, and the like). Each TAG of the at least two TAGs may be for (or associated with) a respective TRP of the plurality of TRPs; para. 0204, /mapping of the at least two TAGs with/to the plurality of TRPs, paras. 0205, The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the first TAG, a first TAG index. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the second TAG, a second TAG index; para. 0462); sending, to the UE, signaling information that indicates at least one of a non-unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) associated with a multi-transmission and reception point (TRP) uplink transmission or single downlink control information (DCI) associated with the multi-TRP uplink transmission (paras. 0484, 0489, 0587: single DCI [para. 0139, the base station may indicate one or more TCI states (i.e. non-unified TCI) to the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or a DCI)] may schedule/trigger/indicate the first uplink signal/transmission and the second uplink signal/transmission; para. 0363: first TRP may receive an uplink signal/transmission (e.g., PUSCH, PUCOH, SRS, UCI, PRACH) via an uplink resource of/in a first uplink resource group/set; para. 0364, The second TRP may receive an uplink signal/transmission (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS, UCI, PRACH) via an uplink resource in/of a second uplink resource group/set,); processing first information corresponding to a first uplink transmission received from the UE by a first TRP of the base station, the first uplink transmission based on the first TAG (para. 0502, The wireless device may transmit the first uplink signal/transmission based on the first timing advance value associated with the first TAG); and processing second information corresponding to a first uplink transmission received from the UE by a second TRP of the base station, the second uplink transmission based on the second TAG (para. 0507, The wireless device may transmit the second uplink signal/transmission based on the second timing advance value associated with the second TAG).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/205205 A1 to Cirik et al. (“Cirik”) [provided by Applicant] over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0279453 A1 to Dinan.
As to claim 14, Cirik does not expressly disclose the one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the first index is to be used with a third uplink transmission to the first TRP and that the second index is to be used with a fourth uplink transmission to the second TRP; determining a collision between the third uplink transmission and the fourth uplink transmission based on the first TAG and the second TAG; causing the third uplink transmission to the first TRP; and causing the third uplink transmission to be dropped.
Dinan discloses at para. 0124: according to some of the various embodiments, the UEs may not transmit PUCCH format 2 signals without a HARQ-ACK whenever a type 1 triggered SRS and PUCCH format 2 without HARQ-ACK transmissions happen to coincide in the same subframe. In this embodiment, UEs may drop SRS transmission when an SRS transmission would collide with a PUCCH transmission when there is an overlap between different TAGs (i.e. first and second) and the UE does not have sufficient power (i.e. “third” and “fourth” UL transmissions are numerical convention hence any UL transmission may map to them).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the collision as taught by Dinan into the
invention of Cirik. The suggestion/motivation would have been for operating multiple timing advance groups (Dinan, para. 0027). Including the collision as taught by Dinan into the invention of Cirik was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Dinan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2020102481 A1 at para. 0036 discloses: In some embodiments, transmission timing associated with different uplink (UL) beam pair links (BPLs) in a same serving cell may be different. Therefore, in some embodiments, UL signals associated with the different UL beams associated with the UE 204 may arrive at the gNodeB 202 at different timings, thereby causing inter-symbol interference. Therefore, in order to avoid inter-symbol interference between UL signals associated with different UL beams, in some embodiments, the gNodeB 202 is configured to configure a set of timing advance groups (TAGs) for a set of uplink (UL) beams respectively associated with the UE 204, based on a time of arrival of the set of UL beams at the gNodeB 202. In some embodiments, each UL beam of the set of UL beams associated with the UE 204 may be associated with a different TAG. However, in other embodiments, one or more UL beams of the set of UL beams associated with the UE 204 may be associated with the same TAG, based on the time of arrival associated with the respective UL beams at the gNodeB 202. In some embodiments, UL beams with similar timings (or similar time of arrival) may be associated with a same TAG and UL beams with different timings (or different time of arrival) may be associated with different TAGs. In some embodiments, the TAG is configured by the gNodeB 202 for each UL beam of the set of UL beams, in order to enable the UE 204 to apply different transmission timings (e.g., a timing delay or timing advance) when transmitting UL signals/channels using different UL beams of the set of beams associated with the UE 204. In some embodiments, applying different transmission timings when transmitting UL signals/channels using different UL beams of the set of beams, enables the UL signals/channels associated with the different UL beams to arrive at the gNodeB 202 at the same time or within a safe time limit, thereby reducing inter-symbol interference.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463