DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190377116 A1 to Buck.
Regarding Claim 10. Buck discloses a method of making a multi-layered mesogen coatings comprising: providing a thin film having a controlled retardation (Fig. 2 substrate 210); coating the thin film with an alignment layer; creating an alignment information on the coating of the alignment layer (para 29); coating a mesogen layer onto one side of the alignment layer (See para 31); annealing the thin film containing the mesogen layer in an oven (para 31, it is noted the annealing with heat in an oven is well known in the art); curing the mesogen layer of the thin film (See para 31); and coating at least a second mesogen layer onto the cured mesogen layer of the thin film to form a bi-layered mesogen coatings and annealing (See para 31) and curing the second mesogen layer; and repeating the steps of coating, annealing and curing of mesogen coatings to form the multi-layered mesogen coatings (See para 31); wherein coating at least said second mesogen layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film further comprises coating first an interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film and coating next said second mesogen layer onto said interstitial layer (See para 31).
Regarding Claim 11. Buck further discloses the multi-layered mesogen coatings are used for ophthalmic lenses (See para 60. It is noted that this limitation does not further limit the method of making the coating, but rather an intended use of the final product).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190377116 A1 to Buck as applied to claim 10 in view of US 20170324067 A1 to Hirakata et al.
Regarding Claim 12. As sated above Buck discloses all limitations of base claim 10.
Buck does not specifically disclose that the thin film with the alignment layer further comprises coating the thin film with components comprising a polyurethane dispersion, silanes, silica or zirconia.
However, Hirakata discloses that the thin film with the alignment layer further comprises coating the thin film with components comprising a polyurethane dispersion, silanes, silica or zirconia (See para 123), as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(D), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the thin film with the alignment layer further comprises coating the thin film with components comprising a polyurethane dispersion, silanes, silica or zirconia.
Regarding Claim 13. Hirakata further discloses the alignment information on the coating of the alignment layer further comprises rubbing the alignment layer unidirectionally (para 120).
Buck discloses a method of making a multi-layered mesogen coatings comprising: providing a thin film having a controlled retardation (Fig. 2 substrate 210); coating the thin film with an alignment layer; creating an alignment information on the coating of the alignment layer (para 29); coating a mesogen layer onto one side of the alignment layer (See para 31); annealing the thin film containing the mesogen layer in an oven (para 31, it is noted the annealing with heat in an oven is well known in the art); curing the mesogen layer of the thin film (See para 31); and coating at least a second mesogen layer onto the cured mesogen layer of the thin film to form a bi-layered mesogen coatings and annealing (See para 31) and curing the second mesogen layer; and repeating the steps of coating, annealing and curing of mesogen coatings to form the multi-layered mesogen coatings (See para 31); wherein coating at least said second mesogen layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film further comprises coating first an interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film and coating next said second mesogen layer onto said interstitial layer (See para 31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1. The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or disclose, in light of the specifications, “coating first said interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film comprises coating a polyurethane dispersion onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film” in combination with all the other limitations of claim 1.
Claims 3-6 are allowable due to dependency to claim 1.
US 20190377116 A1 to Buck for instance, taken alone or in combination with the prior art of record, fails to teach or disclose, in light of the specifications, the recited claim limitations of claim 1 in combination with the all other limitations of claim 1. Specifically, Buck discloses various limitations of base claim 1: a method of making a multi-layered mesogen coatings for ophthalmic lenses comprising: providing a thin film having a controlled retardation (Fig. 2 substrate 210); coating a mesogen layer onto one side of said thin film (See para 31); annealing said thin film containing said mesogen layer in an oven (para 31, it is noted tha annealing with heat in an oven is well known in the art); curing said mesogen layer of said thin film (See para 31); and coating at least a second mesogen layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film to form a bi-layered mesogen coatings and annealing (See para 31) and curing said second mesogen layer; and repeating the steps of coating, annealing and curing of mesogen coatings to form the multi-layered mesogen coatings for said ophthalmic lenses (See para 31); wherein the coating at least said second mesogen layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film further comprises coating first an interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film and coating next said second mesogen layer onto said interstitial layer (See para 31).
US 20170324067 A1 to Hirakata et al. also discloses coating the thin film with an alignment layer having components comprising a polyurethane dispersion, silanes, silica or zirconia (para 123); creating an alignment information on the coating of the alignment layer by unidirectional rubbing of the alignment layer (See para 120).
However, the prior art of record does not disclose that “coating first said interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film comprises coating a polyurethane dispersion onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film.” Therefore, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach or disclose, in light of the specifications, the recited claim limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2. The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or disclose, in light of the specifications, “coating first said interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film comprises coating plasma or corona onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film.” in combination with all the other limitations of claim 2.
Claims 7-9 are allowable due to dependency to claim 2.
US 20190377116 A1 to Buck for instance, taken alone or in combination with the prior art of record, fails to teach or disclose, in light of the specifications, the recited claim limitations of claim 2 in combination with all other limitations of claim 2. Specifically, Buck discloses various limitations of base claim 2: a method of making a multi-layered mesogen coatings for ophthalmic lenses comprising: providing a thin film having a controlled retardation (Fig. 2 substrate 210); coating a mesogen layer onto one side of said thin film (See para 31); annealing said thin film containing said mesogen layer in an oven (para 31, it is noted tha annealing with heat in an oven is well known in the art); curing said mesogen layer of said thin film (See para 31); and coating at least a second mesogen layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film to form a bi-layered mesogen coatings and annealing (See para 31) and curing said second mesogen layer; and repeating the steps of coating, annealing and curing of mesogen coatings to form the multi-layered mesogen coatings for said ophthalmic lenses (See para 31); wherein the coating at least said second mesogen layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film further comprises coating first an interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film and coating next said second mesogen layer onto said interstitial layer (See para 31).
US 20170324067 A1 to Hirakata et al. also discloses coating the thin film with an alignment layer comprising a polyurethane dispersion, silanes, silica or zirconia (para 123); creating an alignment information on the coating of the alignment layer by unidirectional rubbing of the alignment layer (See para 120).
However, the prior art of record does not disclose that “coating first said interstitial layer onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film comprises coating plasma or corona onto said cured mesogen layer of said thin film..” Therefore, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach or disclose, in light of the specifications, the recited claim limitations of claim 2.
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871