DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1-20 canceled.
Claims 21-40 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 8/27/2024 have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23,25,27-30,32,34-37,39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murray(US 2018/0082076).
Claim 21: Murray disclose performing, at an object storage service of a cloud computing environment: storing, in response to a write request, a data item; and in response to a read request directed to at least the data item in (page 10[0147];page 11[0158]: shim 105 reads from cloud storage. Otherwise shim generates those fields to their default values. It then generates the HMAC signature of all the fields of file-metadata using file-key to derive the secret key and attempts to write file-metadata of file F.sub.c in cloud storage). Murray disclose determining a key which was used to encrypt at least a first portion of the data item prior to storing the data item, and decrypting, using the key, at least the first portion of the data item prior to providing the first portion of the data item in (page 2[0016],[0029-0030];page 10[0148]:Partial data encryption is disclosed. If client application had requested only certain data blocks or range of blocks, only those respective blocks are read and delivered to the client. It is able to partially read/decrypt protected file without having to decrypt the entire file. Further, encrypt files in a range of blocks or bytes to allow for efficient reads of a part of an encrypted file without decrypting the whole file).
Claim 22: Murray disclose an algorithm utilized for said decrypting is indicated in the read request in (page 10[0148]).
Claim 23: Murray disclose the key is indicated in the read request in (page 10[0147]).
Claim 25: Murray disclose de-compressing at least the first portion of the data item before providing the first portion in response to the read request in (page 11[0158],[0160]).
Claim 27: Murray disclose storing, based at least in part on the caching policy, at least the first portion of the data item in a cache; and retrieving, from the cache, at least the first portion of the data item to respond to another read request in (page 11[0161]).
Claim 28: Murray disclose one or more computing devices wherein the one or more computing devices include instructions in (page 5[0076]). Murray disclose store, in response to a write request, a data item at an object storage service of a cloud computing environment; and in response to a read request directed to at least the data item in (page 10[0147];page 11[0158]: shim 105 reads from cloud storage. Otherwise shim generates those fields to their default values. It then generates the HMAC signature of all the fields of file-metadata using file-key to derive the secret key and attempts to write file-metadata of file F.sub.c in cloud storage). Murray disclose determine a key which was used to encrypt at least a first portion of the data item prior to storing the data item, and decrypt, using the key, at least the first portion of the data item prior to providing the first portion of the data item in (page 2[0016],[0029-0030];page 10[0148]:Partial data encryption is disclosed. If client application had requested only certain data blocks or range of blocks, only those respective blocks are read and delivered to the client. It is able to partially read/decrypt protected file without having to decrypt the entire file. Further, encrypt files in a range of blocks or bytes to allow for efficient reads of a part of an encrypted file without decrypting the whole file).
Claim 29: Murray disclose an algorithm utilized for said decrypting is indicated in the read request in (page 10[0148]).
Claim 30: Murray disclose the key is indicated in the read request in (page 10[0147]).
Claim 32: Murray disclose de-compressing at least the first portion of the data item before providing the first portion in response to the read request in (page 11[0158],[0160]).
Claim 34: Murray disclose storing, based at least in part on the caching policy, at least the first portion of the data item in a cache; and retrieving, from the cache, at least the first portion of the data item to respond to another read request in (page 11[0161]).
Claim 35: Murray disclose performing, at an object storage service of a cloud computing environment: storing, in response to a write request, a data item; and in response to a read request directed to at least the data item in (page 10[0147];page 11[0158]: shim 105 reads from cloud storage. Otherwise shim generates those fields to their default values. It then generates the HMAC signature of all the fields of file-metadata using file-key to derive the secret key and attempts to write file-metadata of file F.sub.c in cloud storage). Murray disclose determining a key which was used to encrypt at least a first portion of the data item prior to storing the data item, and decrypting, using the key, at least the first portion of the data item prior to providing the first portion of the data item in (page 2[0016],[0029-0030];page 10[0148]:Partial data encryption is disclosed. If client application had requested only certain data blocks or range of blocks, only those respective blocks are read and delivered to the client. It is able to partially read/decrypt protected file without having to decrypt the entire file. Further, encrypt files in a range of blocks or bytes to allow for efficient reads of a part of an encrypted file without decrypting the whole file).
Claim 36: Murray disclose an algorithm utilized for said decrypting is indicated in the read request in (page 10[0148]).
Claim 37: Murray disclose the key is indicated in the read request in (page 10[0147]).
Claim 39: Murray disclose de-compressing at least the first portion of the data item before providing the first portion in response to the read request in (page 11[0158],[0160]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24,26,31,33,38,40 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
USPTO Contact Information
/HOSUK SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435