Claims 1, 15, and 17 have been amended. Claims 6 and 22 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-21, and 23-29 are currently under review.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues on page 15 of the remarks that Sohn fails to disclose the features “calculating a corresponding degradation value for each sub-pixel data of the image frame data based on at least one decay factor, wherein the corresponding degradation value represents a degradation effect of the corresponding sub-pixel data on a corresponding sub-pixel in the display module”. The Applicant further argues that the grayscale adjustment rate of Sohn is determined based on a maximum degradation value, which is derived from previously accumulated degradation data stored in memory rather than from the same image frame data for which the grayscale adjustment rate is generated. The Applicant argues that Sohn’s degradation-related values may be generated by considering driving conditions etc and are used to update accumulated degradation information for subsequent processing.
The Office disagrees. The claim limitations only requires that “the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data… generates a total degradation value corresponding to current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the current sub-pixel data” but fails to mention how the correspondence is defined. Sohn teaches in figure 2 that the age generator “may generate third degradation values AGE_C (or final accumulated values) by compensating for the accumulated values AGE_P based on a driving frequency (or regeneration factor) of the display device 100, a driving condition (e.g., an ambient temperature), and positions of corresponding blocks”, “may generate second degradation values AGE_N by accumulating (or adding) the third degradation values AGE_C in (or to) the first degradation values AGE_N−1 (i.e., degradation values at a previous time). The second degradation values AGE_N may be stored in the third memory 210”, and “The compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 (i.e., compensated data) by compensating for the scaled data DATA_S based on the second degradation values AGE_N”. Therefore the compensated data is generated by compensating the scaled data DATA_S (which is comprised of the image frame data) with the second degradation values AGE_N (which are final accumulated values - compensating for the accumulated values AGE_P based on a driving frequency (or regeneration factor) of the display device 100, a driving condition (e.g., an ambient temperature), and positions of corresponding blocks). The claim limitations fail to indicate the specifics of operating in a forward-looking manner; therefore the limitations are open for interpretation and include a backward-looking approach. The same discussion applies to claim 17 and its dependents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 23, 25-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sohn et al. (Patent No.: US 11,062,660 B1) hereinafter referred to as Sohn.
With respect to Claim 17, Sohn teaches a pixel degradation compensation method (figs. 2 and 7-9) comprising: generating a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to image frame data (fig. 2, item SR_ISC; column 9, lines 4-6: “The scaling ratio calculator 231 may calculate a scaling ratio SR_ISC based on the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”); based on the grayscale adjustment rate, adjusting grayscales of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data to generate adjusted image frame data (fig. 2, item 232; column 9, lines 15-20: “The first calculator 232 may generate scaled data DATA_S by scaling input image data DATA1 based on the scaling ratio SR_ISC. For example, the first calculator 232 may generate the scaled data DATA_S by multiplying each of grayscale values included in the input image data DATA1 by the scaling ratio SR_ISC”); based on a current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data, generating a total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data (column 8, lines 6-10: “The first degradation values AGE_N−1 stored in the third memory 210 may be updated as second degradation values AGE_N by an operation of the age calculator 240, and, the second degradation values AGE_N may be degradation values at a current time”; column 10, lines 15-20, “The age generator 242 may update the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE based on the second degradation values AGE_N. For example, the age generator 242 may set the greatest degradation value among the second degradation values AGE_N as the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”), wherein the total degradation value represents a historical degradation effect of the current sub-pixel data on a sub-pixel corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in a display module (column 6, lines 9-21: “The blocks BLK may become a reference for calculating stress data DATA_A (age data or accumulated data) which will be described later … the degradation value may be a value obtained by accumulating a grayscale value of at least one pixel PX included in a corresponding block according to time, or a value in proportion to the accumulated value”); and based on the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data, compensating the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data to generate compensated current sub-pixel data in compensated image frame data to the display module (column 10, lines 50-60: “The compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 (i.e., compensated data) by compensating for the scaled data DATA_S based on the second degradation values AGE_N (i.e., the updated stress data DATA_A)”), wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: calculating a corresponding degradation value for each sub-pixel data of the image frame data based on at least one decay factor (column 9, lines 58-63: “The age generator 242 may generate third degradation values AGE_C (or final accumulated values) by compensating for the accumulated values AGE_P based on a driving frequency (or regeneration factor) of the display device 100, a driving condition (e.g., an ambient temperature), and positions of corresponding blocks” – a decay factor is the temperature/driving condition), wherein the corresponding degradation value represents a degradation effect of the corresponding sub-pixel data on a corresponding sub-pixel in the display module (column 9, line 63- column 10, line 5: “the age generator 242 may multiply the accumulated values AGE_P by a first factor corresponding to a driving frequency. For example, the age generator 242 may determine a second factor for a driving condition and a third factor for a position based on a predetermined lookup table (e.g., a lookup table including second factors predetermined for each temperature and third factors predetermined for each position), and multiply the accumulated values AGE_P by the second factor and the third factor”); finding a representative degradation value from a plurality of corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (column 7, lines 14-21); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the representative degradation value (column 9, lines 4-6).
With respect to Claim 23, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the representative degradation value is a maximum degradation value among the corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (column 7, lines 14-21: “The degradation compensator 141 may load degradation values AGE included in stress data DATA_A from the first memory 150, update the degradation values AGE based on grayscale values and a maximum degradation value, which are included in input image data DATA1, and generate image data DATA2 (or compensated data) by compensating for the input image data DATA1 based on the updated degradation values”).
With respect to Claim 25, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein an operation of generating the adjusted image frame data comprises: multiplying each sub-pixel data of the image frame data by the grayscale adjustment rate to generate the adjusted image frame data (column 9, lines 15-20: “the first calculator 232 may generate the scaled data DATA_S by multiplying each of grayscale values included in the input image data DATA1 by the scaling ratio SR_ISC”).
With respect to Claim 26, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein an operation of generating the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data comprises: generating a current degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the current sub-pixel data (column 8, lines 6-10: “The first degradation values AGE_N−1 stored in the third memory 210 may be updated as second degradation values AGE_N by an operation of the age calculator 240, and, the second degradation values AGE_N may be degradation values at a current time”; column 10, lines 15-20, “The age generator 242 may update the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE based on the second degradation values AGE_N. For example, the age generator 242 may set the greatest degradation value among the second degradation values AGE_N as the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”; column 10, lines 50-60: “The compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 (i.e., compensated data) by compensating for the scaled data DATA_S based on the second degradation values AGE_N (i.e., the updated stress data DATA_A)”), wherein the current degradation value represents a current degradation effect of the current sub-pixel data on a sub-pixel corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in the display module (column 8, lines 8-10, “the second degradation values AGE_N may be degradation values at a current time”); and accumulating the current degradation value to the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data (column 9, lines 25-40).
With respect to Claim 27, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein an operation of generating the compensated current sub-pixel data in the compensated image frame data comprises: generating a compensation value based on the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data (column 10, lines 50-60: “The compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 (i.e., compensated data) by compensating for the scaled data DATA_S based on the second degradation values AGE_N (i.e., the updated stress data DATA_A)”); and compensating the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the compensation value to generate the compensated current sub-pixel data to the display module (column 10, lines 50-60: “For example, the compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 by using a predetermined lookup table LUC_C. The lookup table LUC_C may include a compensation grayscale value (or compensated grayscale value) according to a degradation value, and the compensator 250 may determine a compensation grayscale value corresponding to a grayscale value included in the scaled data DATA_”).
With respect to Claim 29, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the at least one decay factor comprises an operating temperature (column 9, lines 58-63, a driving condition (e.g. ambient temperature)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-16, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn in view of Tann et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0105131 A1) hereinafter referred to as Tann.
With respect to Claim 1, Sohn teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100: display device) comprising: a processing circuit (fig. 1, item 140 comprises a processing circuit that generates a scan control signal SCS and a data control signal DCS; column 7, lines 6-11); and a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 141), coupled to the processing circuit to receive image frame data (fig. 1, item DATA1: image frame data, the degradation compensator is within the timing controller and therefore is coupled with other electrical connections/components of the timing controller/processing circuit), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (column 7, lines 14-21: “The degradation compensator 141 may load degradation values AGE included in stress data DATA_A from the first memory 150, update the degradation values AGE based on grayscale values and a maximum degradation value, which are included in input image data DATA1, and generate image data DATA2 (or compensated data) by compensating for the input image data DATA1 based on the updated degradation values”), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (fig. 2, item SR_ISC; column 9, lines 4-6: “The scaling ratio calculator 231 may calculate a scaling ratio SR_ISC based on the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”), the pixel degradation compensation circuit adjusts grayscales of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data based on the grayscale adjustment rate to generate adjusted image frame data (column 9, lines 15-20: “the first calculator 232 may generate the scaled data DATA_S by multiplying each of grayscale values included in the input image data DATA1 by the scaling ratio SR_ISC”), the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a total degradation value corresponding to current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the current sub-pixel data (column 10, lines 50-60, “the compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 by using a predetermined lookup table LUC_C. The lookup table LUC_C may include a compensation grayscale value (or compensated grayscale value) according to a degradation value, and the compensator 250 may determine a compensation grayscale value corresponding to a grayscale value included in the scaled data DATA_”), the total degradation value represents a historical degradation effect of the current sub-pixel data on a sub-pixel corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in the display module (column 6, lines 9-21: “The blocks BLK may become a reference for calculating stress data DATA_A (age data or accumulated data) which will be described later … the degradation value may be a value obtained by accumulating a grayscale value of at least one pixel PX included in a corresponding block according to time, or a value in proportion to the accumulated value”), and the pixel degradation compensation circuit compensates the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data to generate compensated current sub-pixel data in the compensated image frame data to the display module (column 10, lines 50-60: “The compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 (i.e., compensated data) by compensating for the scaled data DATA_S based on the second degradation values AGE_N (i.e., the updated stress data DATA_A)”), wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: calculating a corresponding degradation value for each sub-pixel data of the image frame data based on at least one decay factor (column 9, lines 58-63: “The age generator 242 may generate third degradation values AGE_C (or final accumulated values) by compensating for the accumulated values AGE_P based on a driving frequency (or regeneration factor) of the display device 100, a driving condition (e.g., an ambient temperature), and positions of corresponding blocks” – a decay factor is the temperature/driving condition), wherein the corresponding degradation value represents a degradation effect of the corresponding sub-pixel data on a corresponding sub-pixel in the display module (column 9, line 63- column 10, line 5: “the age generator 242 may multiply the accumulated values AGE_P by a first factor corresponding to a driving frequency. For example, the age generator 242 may determine a second factor for a driving condition and a third factor for a position based on a predetermined lookup table (e.g., a lookup table including second factors predetermined for each temperature and third factors predetermined for each position), and multiply the accumulated values AGE_P by the second factor and the third factor”); finding a representative degradation value from a plurality of corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (column 7, lines 14-21); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the representative degradation value (column 9, lines 4-6).
Sohn does not mention a processor comprising: the processing circuit; and the pixel degradation compensation circuit.
Tann teaches a processor (fig. 1, item 18; ¶43, “the image processing circuitry 28 may be included in the processor core complex 18”) comprising: a processing circuit (fig. 6, item 28: image processing circuitry; ¶42); and a pixel compensation circuit (figs. 6 and 9, item 52; ¶46), coupled to the processing circuit to receive image frame data (fig. 9, item 86: input image data), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶50-51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Sohn, such that the timing controller is a processor that comprises: the processing circuit; and the pixel degradation compensation circuit, as taught by Tann so as to provide an alternative implementation instead of within a timing controller.
With respect to Claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the representative degradation value is a maximum degradation value among the corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (column 7, lines 14-21: “The degradation compensator 141 may load degradation values AGE included in stress data DATA_A from the first memory 150, update the degradation values AGE based on grayscale values and a maximum degradation value, which are included in input image data DATA1, and generate image data DATA2 (or compensated data) by compensating for the input image data DATA1 based on the updated degradation values”).
With respect to Claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein an operation of generating the adjusted image frame data comprises: multiplying each sub-pixel data of the image frame data by the grayscale adjustment rate to generate the adjusted image frame data (column 9, lines 15-20: “the first calculator 232 may generate the scaled data DATA_S by multiplying each of grayscale values included in the input image data DATA1 by the scaling ratio SR_ISC”).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein an operation of generating the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data comprises: generating a current degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the current sub-pixel data (column 8, lines 6-10: “The first degradation values AGE_N−1 stored in the third memory 210 may be updated as second degradation values AGE_N by an operation of the age calculator 240, and, the second degradation values AGE_N may be degradation values at a current time”; column 10, lines 15-20, “The age generator 242 may update the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE based on the second degradation values AGE_N. For example, the age generator 242 may set the greatest degradation value among the second degradation values AGE_N as the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”; column 10, lines 50-60: “The compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 (i.e., compensated data) by compensating for the scaled data DATA_S based on the second degradation values AGE_N (i.e., the updated stress data DATA_A)”), wherein the current degradation value represents a current degradation effect of the current sub-pixel data on a sub-pixel corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in the display module (column 8, lines 8-10, “the second degradation values AGE_N may be degradation values at a current time”); and accumulating the current degradation value to the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data (column 9, lines 25-40).
With respect to Claim 11, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein an operation of generating the compensated current sub-pixel data in the compensated image frame data comprises: generating a compensation value based on the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data (column 10, lines 50-60: “The compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 (i.e., compensated data) by compensating for the scaled data DATA_S based on the second degradation values AGE_N (i.e., the updated stress data DATA_A)”); and compensating the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the compensation value to generate the compensated current sub-pixel data to the display module (column 10, lines 50-60: “For example, the compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 by using a predetermined lookup table LUC_C. The lookup table LUC_C may include a compensation grayscale value (or compensated grayscale value) according to a degradation value, and the compensator 250 may determine a compensation grayscale value corresponding to a grayscale value included in the scaled data DATA_”).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit (figs. 1 & 2, item 141) comprises: a frame grayscale adjustment circuit (fig. 2, item 230) coupled to the processing circuit (fig. 1, item DATA1: image frame data, the degradation compensator is within the timing controller and therefore a frame grayscale adjustment circuit is coupled with other electrical connections/components of the processing circuit) to receive the image frame data (figs. 1 & 2, item DATA1 = image frame data), wherein the frame grayscale adjustment circuit (fig. 2, item 230) generates the grayscale adjustment rate (fig. 2, item SR_ISC = grayscale adjustment rate; column 9, lines 4-14) corresponding to the image frame data, and the frame grayscale adjustment circuit adjusts the grayscales of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data based on the grayscale adjustment rate to generate the adjusted image frame data (column 9, lines 15-20); and a degradation compensator (fig. 2, item 250) coupled to the frame grayscale adjustment circuit to receive the adjusted image frame data (column 10, lines 50-60), wherein the degradation compensator generates the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the current sub-pixel data (column 6, lines 7-21: “the degradation value may be a value obtained by accumulating a grayscale value of at least one pixel PX included in a corresponding block according to time, or a value in proportion to the accumulated value” ; column 10, lines 50-60: “the compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 by using a predetermined lookup table LUC_C. The lookup table LUC_C may include a compensation grayscale value (or compensated grayscale value) according to a degradation value, and the compensator 250 may determine a compensation grayscale value corresponding to a grayscale value included in the scaled data DATA_”), and the degradation compensator compensates the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data to generate the compensated current sub-pixel data in the compensated image frame data to the display module (column 10, lines 50-60).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 13 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the frame grayscale adjustment circuit (fig. 2, item 230 and 240) comprises: a degradation value circuit (fig. 2, item 232, 241, and 242) coupled to the processing circuit to receive the image frame data, wherein the degradation value circuit converts each sub-pixel data of the image frame data into the corresponding degradation value (column 9, lines 15-24: “The scaling ratio calculator 231 may calculate a scaling ratio SR_ISC based on the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”), the corresponding degradation value represents a degradation effect of the corresponding sub-pixel data on a corresponding sub-pixel in the display module (column 9, lines 15-24), and the degradation value circuit finds a representative degradation value from the plurality of corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (column 10, lines 15-22); an adjustment rate circuit (fig. 2, item 231) coupled to the degradation value circuit (fig. 2, item 232, 241, and 242) to receive the representative degradation value, wherein the adjustment rate circuit correspondingly sets the grayscale adjustment rate based on the representative degradation value (column 9, lines 4-8: “The scaling ratio calculator 231 may calculate a scaling ratio SR_ISC based on the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”); and a multiplier (fig. 2, item 232 also functions as a multiplier) coupled to the adjustment rate circuit to receive the grayscale adjustment rate (column 9, lines 15-17), and coupled to the processing circuit to receive the image frame data, wherein the multiplier multiplies all sub-pixel data of the image frame data by the grayscale adjustment rate to generate the adjusted image frame data (column 9, lines 15-17).
With respect to Claim 16, claim 13 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the degradation compensator (fig. 2, items 210, 240, and 250) comprises: a degradation value generation circuit (fig. 2, item 240) coupled to the frame grayscale adjustment circuit (fig. 2, item 230) to receive the adjusted image frame data, wherein the degradation value generation circuit (fig. 2, item 240) generates a current degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the current sub-pixel data (column 9, lines 33-38: “The age calculator 240 may generate second degradation values AGE_N (i.e., degradation values at a current time) by accumulating the grayscale values included in the scaled data DATA_S”); a degradation value accumulation circuit (fig. 2, item 210) coupled to the degradation value generation circuit to receive the current degradation value, wherein the degradation value accumulation circuit accumulates the current degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data to the total degradation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data (column 8, lines 8-15: “the second degradation values AGE_N may be degradation values at a current time. For example, an interval between the current time and the previous time may be one frame, the second degradation values AGE_N may be degradation values for a current frame, and the first degradation values AGE_N−1 may be degradation values for a previous frame prior to the current frame”); a compensation value circuit (fig. 2, item 250 comprises a compensation value circuit) coupled to the degradation value accumulation circuit to receive the total degradation value, wherein the compensation value circuit generates a compensation value corresponding to the current sub-pixel data based on the total degradation value (column 10, lines 50-60: “the compensator 250 may generate image data DATA2 by using a predetermined lookup table LUC_C. The lookup table LUC_C may include a compensation grayscale value (or compensated grayscale value) according to a degradation value”); and a compensation circuit (fig. 2, item 250) coupled to the frame grayscale adjustment circuit to receive the adjusted image frame data, and coupled to the compensation value circuit to receive the compensation value, wherein the compensation circuit compensates the current sub-pixel data in the adjusted image frame data based on the compensation value to generate the compensated current sub-pixel data to the display module (column 10, lines 50-60: “the compensator 250 may determine a compensation grayscale value corresponding to a grayscale value included in the scaled data DATA_S”).
With respect to Claim 28, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the at least one decay factor comprises an operating temperature (column 9, lines 58-63, a driving condition (e.g. ambient temperature)).
Claims 2-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn and Tann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0368737 A1) hereinafter referred to as Jun.
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein a driving value range of the display module is divided into an image region and a compensation region (fig. 2, the compensation region of the driving value range is the portion due to the age data, as scaled by item 232 and then compensated), each sub-pixel data of the image frame data belongs to the image region (fig. 2, the image region of the driving value range is the portion due to the scaled first image data).
Sohn and Tann combined do not mention and the processing circuit remaps an original image frame data to the image frame data.
Jun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 3, item 310; ¶69, “Each region may be assigned a corresponding compensation parameter that is determined by the display driver 310 based on degradation indicators 306. A compensation parameter for an individual region may be computed as a function (e.g., an average) of the compensation parameters for the pixels in the region. Alternatively, the display driver 310 may compute a region-specific compensation parameter using the degradation indicators 306 that are relevant to the pixels in the region, without computing pixel-specific compensation parameters. In some embodiments, the information that the display driver 310 uses to compute the compensation parameters 304 (e.g., at least some of the degradation indicators 306) may also be stored in the memory 330”), to receive image frame data (fig 3, item 308: image data), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶71), and a display system remaps an original image frame data to the image frame data (figs. 6A to 6B; ¶79, “the display system may be configured with an initial gamma curve 602 that maps each brightness (grayscale) level to a corresponding drive current”; ¶80-81).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined processor of Sohn and Tann, such that the display system corresponds to the processing circuit resulting in the processing circuit remaps an original image frame data to the image frame data, as taught by Jun so as to maintain brightness associated with a grayscale after a pixel has degraded (¶80).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn and Tann combined do not teach wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module; and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time.
Jun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 3, item 310; ¶69, “Each region may be assigned a corresponding compensation parameter that is determined by the display driver 310 based on degradation indicators 306. A compensation parameter for an individual region may be computed as a function (e.g., an average) of the compensation parameters for the pixels in the region. Alternatively, the display driver 310 may compute a region-specific compensation parameter using the degradation indicators 306 that are relevant to the pixels in the region, without computing pixel-specific compensation parameters. In some embodiments, the information that the display driver 310 uses to compute the compensation parameters 304 (e.g., at least some of the degradation indicators 306) may also be stored in the memory 330”), to receive image frame data (fig 3, item 308: image data), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶71), wherein an operation of generating a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module (¶70, “the display driver 310 may be configured to accumulate historical data regarding how long each pixel has been used (e.g., number of hours of on-time), usage frequency (e.g., average on-time), and the brightness of the image data 308 (e.g., average luminance or grayscale value for each pixel over the course of multiple image frames). The historical data can include statistical data such as a histogram for each pixel or each display region” – a counter must exist in order to determine who long a pixel has been used or the usage frequency); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time (¶71, “The display driver 310 may be configured to execute an algorithm to estimate the degradation of each pixel and/or each display region as a function of the degradation indicators 306. In some embodiments, display driver 310 may be configured to apply a model of the pixel degradation. The display driver 310 can update the model over time to reflect changes in the way the pixels are driven, for example, to account for adjustments to the voltage or current level of a control signal as a result of a calibration operation”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Sohn and Tann, wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module; and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time, as taught by Jun, so as to reduce burn-in (¶29).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn does not teach wherein the processing circuit comprises: an image processing circuit; and a remapping circuit coupled to the image processing circuit to receive an original image frame data.
Tann teaches a processor (fig. 1, item 18; ¶43, “the image processing circuitry 28 may be included in the processor core complex 18”) comprising: a processing circuit (fig. 6, item 28: image processing circuitry; ¶42); and a pixel compensation circuit (figs. 6 and 9, item 52; ¶46), coupled to the processing circuit to receive image frame data (fig. 9, item 86: input image data), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶50-51); wherein the processing circuit comprises: an image processing circuit (fig. 6, item 28 = image processing circuit; ¶30); and a remapping circuit coupled to the image processing circuit to receive an original image frame data (¶53).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Sohn, wherein the processing circuit comprises: an image processing circuit; and a remapping circuit coupled to the image processing circuit to receive an original image frame data, as taught by Tann so as to maintain perceived brightness (¶53).
Sohn and Tann combined do not mention wherein a driving value range of the display module is divided into an image region and a compensation region, each sub-pixel data of the image frame data belongs to the image region, and the remapping circuit remaps the original image frame data to the image frame data.
Jun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 3, item 310; ¶69, “Each region may be assigned a corresponding compensation parameter that is determined by the display driver 310 based on degradation indicators 306. A compensation parameter for an individual region may be computed as a function (e.g., an average) of the compensation parameters for the pixels in the region. Alternatively, the display driver 310 may compute a region-specific compensation parameter using the degradation indicators 306 that are relevant to the pixels in the region, without computing pixel-specific compensation parameters. In some embodiments, the information that the display driver 310 uses to compute the compensation parameters 304 (e.g., at least some of the degradation indicators 306) may also be stored in the memory 330”), to receive image frame data (fig 3, item 308: image data), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶71); wherein a driving value range of the display module is divided into an image region and a compensation region (fig. 6B, item 604 up to 220 = image region and item 604 extending to region 620 = compensation region; ¶81), each sub-pixel data of the image frame data belongs to the image region, and a remapping circuit remaps an original image frame data to the image frame data (¶79, “the display system may be configured with an initial gamma curve 602 that maps each brightness (grayscale) level to a corresponding drive current”; ¶80-81).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined processor of Sohn and Tann, such that the remapping circuit comprises wherein a driving value range of the display module is divided into an image region and a compensation region, each sub-pixel data of the image frame data belongs to the image region, and the remapping circuit remaps the original image frame data to the image frame data, as taught by Jun so as to maintain brightness associated with a grayscale after a pixel has degraded (¶80).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn, Tann, and Jun as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0223104 A1) hereinafter referred to as Sun.
With respect to Claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated, Sohn, Tann, and Jun combined do not teach wherein, in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone, the grayscale adjustment rate is set to an initial adjustment rate; in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone, the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate; and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone, the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate.
Sun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 118; ¶25) configured to compensate image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶27), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (¶28); wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module (fig. 2, item 120; ¶28; ¶34); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time (¶34); wherein, in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to an initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven – rate is 1 = no change; ¶36; ¶38); in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 5% decrease in luminance/0.95 adjustment rate); and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 10% decrease in luminance/0.90 adjustment rate).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined processor of Sohn, Tann, and Jun, wherein, in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone, the grayscale adjustment rate is set to an initial adjustment rate; in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone, the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate; and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone, the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate, as taught by Sun so as to provide pixel compensation due to usage (¶3).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated, Sohn, Tann, and Jun combined do not mention wherein the initial adjustment rate is 1.
Sun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 118; ¶25) configured to compensate image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶27), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (¶28); wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module (fig. 2, item 120; ¶28; ¶34); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time (¶34); wherein, in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to an initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven – rate is 1 = no change; ¶36; ¶38); in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 5% decrease in luminance/0.95 adjustment rate); and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 10% decrease in luminance/0.90 adjustment rate); wherein the initial adjustment rate is 1 (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven – rate is 1 = no change; ¶36; ¶38).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined processor of Sohn, Tann, and Jun, wherein the initial adjustment rate is 1, as taught by Sun so as to provide pixel compensation due to usage (¶3).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn and Tann as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Sun.
With respect to Claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Sohn and Tann combined do not teach wherein the operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data further comprises: in response to the representative degradation value indicating no degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to 1; and in response to the representative degradation value indicating degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a corresponding adjustment rate less than 1, wherein the corresponding adjustment rate corresponds to the representative degradation value.
Sun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 118; ¶25) configured to compensate image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶27), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (¶28); wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: converting each sub-pixel data of the image frame data into a corresponding degradation value (¶28; ¶34), where the corresponding degradation value represents a degradation effect of corresponding sub-pixel data on a corresponding sub-pixel in the display module (¶34 – degradation effect = aging of the pixel cell); finding a representative degradation value from a plurality of corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (¶7, “For each frame, the accumulated aging or luminance degradation of one or more pixel cells (e.g., a cell having the maximum long term aging decay) may be used to identify an updated peak luminance for the display, and this updated peak luminance may be used to adjust the pixel values for one or more (e.g., each) of the other pixel cells of the display to compensate for the degradation”; ¶48, “To determine the compensated or updated pixel values, the LTA value corresponding to the pixel cell of the display with the current maximum LTA value may be determined (e.g., the max_LTA of the display 104)”); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the representative degradation value (¶50); wherein the operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data further comprises: in response to the representative degradation value indicating no degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to 1 (fig. 3A, 0 luminance drop at 100% brightness and 50% brightness, the adjustment rate is 1; ¶36); and in response to the representative degradation value indicating degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a corresponding adjustment rate less than 1 (fig. 3A, 10% luminance drop at 100% brightness at 700 hours and 50% brightness at 1700 hours, the adjustment rate is 0.90; ¶36), wherein the corresponding adjustment rate corresponds to the representative degradation value (fig. 3A; ¶36).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined processor of Sohn and Tann, wherein the operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data further comprises: in response to the representative degradation value indicating no degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to 1; and in response to the representative degradation value indicating degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a corresponding adjustment rate less than 1, wherein the corresponding adjustment rate corresponds to the representative degradation value., as taught by Sun so as to provide pixel compensation due to usage (¶3).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein the frame grayscale adjustment circuit (fig. 2, items 210, 230, and 240) comprises: a usage time counting circuit (fig. 2, items 242 and 210) configured to accumulate age data of the display module (column 10, lines 6-14); an adjustment rate circuit (fig. 2, item 231) coupled to the usage time counting circuit, wherein the adjustment rate circuit correspondingly sets the grayscale adjustment rate based on the accumulated age data (fig. 2, item SR_ISC = grayscale adjustment rate; column 9, lines 4-8: “The scaling ratio calculator 231 may calculate a scaling ratio SR_ISC based on the maximum degradation value MAX_AGE”); and a multiplier (item 232 also functions as a multiplier) coupled to the adjustment rate circuit to receive the grayscale adjustment rate (column 9, lines 15-17), and coupled to the processing circuit to receive the image frame data, wherein the multiplier multiplies all sub-pixel data of the image frame data by the grayscale adjustment rate to generate the adjusted image frame data (column 9, lines 15-17).
Sohn and Tann combined do not teach that the accumulated age data comprises historical usage time such that the usage time counting circuit counts a historical usage time of the display module.
Sun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 118; ¶25) configured to compensate image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶27), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (¶28); wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: converting each sub-pixel data of the image frame data into a corresponding degradation value (¶28; ¶34), where the corresponding degradation value represents a degradation effect of corresponding sub-pixel data on a corresponding sub-pixel in the display module (¶34 – degradation effect = aging of the pixel cell); finding a representative degradation value from a plurality of corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (¶7, “For each frame, the accumulated aging or luminance degradation of one or more pixel cells (e.g., a cell having the maximum long term aging decay) may be used to identify an updated peak luminance for the display, and this updated peak luminance may be used to adjust the pixel values for one or more (e.g., each) of the other pixel cells of the display to compensate for the degradation”; ¶48, “To determine the compensated or updated pixel values, the LTA value corresponding to the pixel cell of the display with the current maximum LTA value may be determined (e.g., the max_LTA of the display 104)”); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the representative degradation value (¶50); wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit comprises: a frame grayscale adjustment circuit (fig. 2, item 120); and a degradation compensator (fig. 2, item 118); wherein the frame grayscale adjustment circuit comprises: a usage time counting circuit (fig. 2, item 120) configured to count a historical usage time of the display module (¶28; ¶34; ¶36).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined processor of Sohn and Tann, such that the accumulated age data comprises historical usage time resulting in wherein the frame grayscale adjustment circuit comprises: a usage time counting circuit configured to count a historical usage time of the display module, as taught by Sun so as to provide pixel compensation due to usage time (¶3).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Jun.
With respect to Claim 18, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn teaches wherein a driving value range of the display module is divided into an image region and a compensation region (fig. 2, the compensation region of the driving value range is the portion due to the age data, as scaled by item 232 and then compensated), each sub-pixel data of the image frame data belongs to the image region (fig. 2, the image region of the driving value range is the portion due to the scaled first image data).
Sohn does not mention and the pixel degradation compensation method further comprises: remapping an original image frame data to the image frame data.
Jun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 3, item 310; ¶69, “Each region may be assigned a corresponding compensation parameter that is determined by the display driver 310 based on degradation indicators 306. A compensation parameter for an individual region may be computed as a function (e.g., an average) of the compensation parameters for the pixels in the region. Alternatively, the display driver 310 may compute a region-specific compensation parameter using the degradation indicators 306 that are relevant to the pixels in the region, without computing pixel-specific compensation parameters. In some embodiments, the information that the display driver 310 uses to compute the compensation parameters 304 (e.g., at least some of the degradation indicators 306) may also be stored in the memory 330”), to receive image frame data (fig 3, item 308: image data) and a method for the same (fig. 11; ¶97), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶71), and a display system remaps an original image frame data to the image frame data (figs. 6A to 6B; ¶79, “the display system may be configured with an initial gamma curve 602 that maps each brightness (grayscale) level to a corresponding drive current”; ¶80-81).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Sohn, such that the pixel degradation compensation method further comprises: remapping an original image frame data to the image frame data, as taught by Jun so as to maintain brightness associated with a grayscale after a pixel has degraded (¶80).
With respect to Claim 19, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn does not mention wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module; and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time.
Jun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 3, item 310; ¶69, “Each region may be assigned a corresponding compensation parameter that is determined by the display driver 310 based on degradation indicators 306. A compensation parameter for an individual region may be computed as a function (e.g., an average) of the compensation parameters for the pixels in the region. Alternatively, the display driver 310 may compute a region-specific compensation parameter using the degradation indicators 306 that are relevant to the pixels in the region, without computing pixel-specific compensation parameters. In some embodiments, the information that the display driver 310 uses to compute the compensation parameters 304 (e.g., at least some of the degradation indicators 306) may also be stored in the memory 330”), to receive image frame data (fig 3, item 308: image data), and a method for the same (fig. 11; ¶97), and configured to compensate the image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶71), wherein an operation of generating a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module (¶70, “the display driver 310 may be configured to accumulate historical data regarding how long each pixel has been used (e.g., number of hours of on-time), usage frequency (e.g., average on-time), and the brightness of the image data 308 (e.g., average luminance or grayscale value for each pixel over the course of multiple image frames). The historical data can include statistical data such as a histogram for each pixel or each display region” – a counter must exist in order to determine who long a pixel has been used or the usage frequency); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time (¶71, “The display driver 310 may be configured to execute an algorithm to estimate the degradation of each pixel and/or each display region as a function of the degradation indicators 306. In some embodiments, display driver 310 may be configured to apply a model of the pixel degradation. The display driver 310 can update the model over time to reflect changes in the way the pixels are driven, for example, to account for adjustments to the voltage or current level of a control signal as a result of a calibration operation”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Sohn, wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module; and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time, as taught by Jun, so as to reduce burn-in (¶29).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn and Jun as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Sun.
With respect to Claim 20, claim 19 is incorporated, Sohn and Jun combined do not teach wherein an operation of setting the grayscale adjustment rate comprises: in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to an initial adjustment rate; in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate; and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate.
Sun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 118; ¶25) and a method (figs. 6-7; ¶52) for the same, configured to compensate image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶27), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (¶28); wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module (fig. 2, item 120; ¶28; ¶34); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time (¶34); wherein, in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to an initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven – rate is 1 = no change; ¶36; ¶38); in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 5% decrease in luminance/0.95 adjustment rate); and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 10% decrease in luminance/0.90 adjustment rate).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined method of Sohn and Jun, wherein an operation of setting the grayscale adjustment rate comprises: in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to an initial adjustment rate; in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate; and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate, as taught by Sun so as to provide pixel compensation due to usage (¶3).
With respect to Claim 21, claim 20 is incorporated, Sohn and Jun combined do not teach wherein the initial adjustment rate is 1.
Sun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 118; ¶25) and a method (figs. 6-7; ¶52) for the same, configured to compensate image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶27), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (¶28); wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: counting a historical usage time of the display module (fig. 2, item 120; ¶28; ¶34); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the historical usage time (¶34); wherein, in response to the historical usage time falling within an initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to an initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven – rate is 1 = no change; ¶36; ¶38); in response to the historical usage time falling within a first usage time zone after the initial usage time zone (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a first adjustment rate that is less than the initial adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 800 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 5% decrease in luminance/0.95 adjustment rate); and in response to the historical usage time falling within a second usage time zone after the first usage time zone (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304), the grayscale adjustment rate is set to a second adjustment rate that is less than the first adjustment rate (fig. 3A, 1700 hours at 50% brightness/line 304 has 10% decrease in luminance/0.90 adjustment rate); wherein the initial adjustment rate is 1 (fig. 3A, 0 hours driven – rate is 1 = no change; ¶36; ¶38).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined method of Sohn and Jun, wherein the initial adjustment rate is 1, as taught by Sun so as to provide pixel compensation due to usage (¶3).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Sun.
With respect to Claim 24, claim 17 is incorporated, Sohn does not teach wherein the operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data further comprises: in response to the representative degradation value indicating no degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to 1; and in response to the representative degradation value indicating degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a corresponding adjustment rate less than 1, wherein the corresponding adjustment rate corresponds to the representative degradation value.
Sun teaches a pixel degradation compensation circuit (fig. 1, item 118; ¶25) and a method (figs. 6-7; ¶52) for the same, configured to compensate image frame data to generate compensated image frame data to a display module (¶27), wherein the pixel degradation compensation circuit generates a grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data (¶28); wherein an operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data comprises: converting each sub-pixel data of the image frame data into a corresponding degradation value (¶28; ¶34), where the corresponding degradation value represents a degradation effect of corresponding sub-pixel data on a corresponding sub-pixel in the display module (¶34 – degradation effect = aging of the pixel cell); finding a representative degradation value from a plurality of corresponding degradation values of all sub-pixel data of the image frame data (¶7, “For each frame, the accumulated aging or luminance degradation of one or more pixel cells (e.g., a cell having the maximum long term aging decay) may be used to identify an updated peak luminance for the display, and this updated peak luminance may be used to adjust the pixel values for one or more (e.g., each) of the other pixel cells of the display to compensate for the degradation”; ¶48, “To determine the compensated or updated pixel values, the LTA value corresponding to the pixel cell of the display with the current maximum LTA value may be determined (e.g., the max_LTA of the display 104)”); and setting the grayscale adjustment rate correspondingly based on the representative degradation value (¶50); wherein the operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data further comprises: in response to the representative degradation value indicating no degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to 1 (fig. 3A, 0 luminance drop at 100% brightness and 50% brightness, the adjustment rate is 1; ¶36); and in response to the representative degradation value indicating degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a corresponding adjustment rate less than 1 (fig. 3A, 10% luminance drop at 100% brightness at 700 hours and 50% brightness at 1700 hours, the adjustment rate is 0.90; ¶36), wherein the corresponding adjustment rate corresponds to the representative degradation value (fig. 3A; ¶36).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Sohn, wherein the operation of generating the grayscale adjustment rate corresponding to the image frame data further comprises: in response to the representative degradation value indicating no degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to 1; and in response to the representative degradation value indicating degradation, setting the grayscale adjustment rate to a corresponding adjustment rate less than 1, wherein the corresponding adjustment rate corresponds to the representative degradation value., as taught by Sun so as to provide pixel compensation due to usage (¶3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONNA V Bocar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621