DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s current amendment (dated 05 AUGUST 2026), has been entered. The status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1-35 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference(s) and/or citations being used in the current rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant is suggested to review the prosecution histories for related Applications 15/235,000 and 16/697,090, in order to aid in possibly expediting and moving prosecution forward to an Allowance. This is just a note and suggestion by the Examiner, any amendments made by Applicant will be searched thoroughly before a final indication on Allowability is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-16, 19-25, 28, 30, 31, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al., US 8,850,490 in view of Ellis, US 2007/0157248 and further in view of Togashi et al., US 2010/0083316.
Regarding claim 1, Thomas discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device with a display device and one or more input devices (with at least client device(s); Fig 1, elements 105, and col. 7, lines 4-11, and/or machine(s); Fig. 28, element 2800, and col. 45, lines 3-26, and including at least a display; col. 45, lines 49-59, and Fig. 28, element 2810, and inputs; col. 45, lines 49-59, and Fig. 28, elements 2812 and 2814):
generating for display, on the display device, a user interface that includes concurrently displaying playing content for a respective channel (can display at least a Watch GUI, which displays currently playing channel media; Fig. 22A, element 2205, and col. 40, lines 32-67) and displaying a channel bar including a plurality of representations of a first plurality of channels in a respective order along a first axis in a user interface that correspond to currently-available content on the first plurality of channels (in the GUI, User Lists and Filters section/interface can be provided which contains channels of currently available content which are presented in a certain order/organization, along at least a vertical axis; Fig. 22A, element 1515, and col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15);
while the channel bar is displayed on the display device, receiving an input, via the one or more input devices (col. 21, lines 51-55, and col. 45, lines 49-59, and Fig. 28, elements 2812 and 2814), corresponding to a request to display a content guide on the display device (while displaying the GUI, can receive user input to navigate between the various GUI’s; col. 30, lines 53-62, and col. 38, lines 3-6, i.e. such as from the current Watch GUI to a Composite Channel Home GUI/Subscribed Composite Channel Home GUI which presents a plurality of channels; Fig. 21, elements 2150 and 2155, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, or from the current Watch GUI to a Browse Channels GUI which presents a plurality of channels; Fig. 17, element 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30); and
in response to receiving the input, generating, for display on the display device, an updated user interface that includes: displaying the content guide in the updated user interface, the content guide including information about content items for a second plurality of channels (navigating to Composite Channel Home GUI/Subscribed Composite Channel Home GUI which presents a plurality of channels and content; Fig. 21, elements 2150, 2155, 2157, and 2158, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, or from the current Watch GUI to a Browse Channels GUI which presents a plurality of channels and content; Fig. 17, element 1705, 1710, 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30), including the first channel and the second channel, included in the first plurality of channels (GUIs contain at least first/second channels; Fig. 21, elements 2150, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and when the channels are subscribed channels, these are also included in the previously presented first plurality of channels from the User Lists and Filters interface; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15), the content items including content (channels include various content; Fig. 21, elements 2157 and 2158, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20), and the information arranged in adjacent arrays that are organized in a respective order along the first axis (channel information/content is presented in arrays which are adjacently along the vertical axis; Fig. 21, elements 2150 and 2155, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and again with certain order/organization; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15),
including: a first array, representing the first channel, that extends along a second axis in the updated user interface, the first array including information about content items for the first channel, the information arranged along the second axis in the first array (at least a first component channel media items array which presents information about the content items that extends along a horizontal axis; Fig. 21, elements 2155, and 2157, and Fig. 26, elements 2655, and 1657), and a second array, adjacent to the first array and representing the second channel, displayed along the second axis in the updated user interface, the second array including information about content items for the second channel, the information arranged along the second axis in the second array (at least a second component channel media items array which presents information about the content items that extends along the horizontal axis and is adjacent to the first/other array(s); Fig. 21, elements 2155, and 2158, and Fig. 26, elements 2655, and 1658).
While Thomas does disclose a guide (col. 31, lines 48-51, and col. 34, lines 12-16), as well as the plurality of representations of a first plurality of channels (in the GUI, User Lists and Filters section/interface can be provided which contains channels of currently available content which are presented in a certain order/organization, along at least a vertical axis; Fig. 22A, element 1515, and col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15), Thomas does not explicitly disclose a channel bar including a plurality of representations of channels, wherein the plurality of representations of channels includes a representation of a first channel at a first position within a respective order and a representation of a second channel at a second position, adjacent to the first position, within the respective order, and wherein the representation of the first channel includes an indication of a first content item that is currently available on the first channel, and the representation of the second channel includes an indication of a second content item that is currently available on the second channel;
a content guide including channels presenting currently-available content, including the first content item and the second content item, and future content, information arranged along a second axis in a first array in accordance with times at which content items for a first channel are available on the first channel, and information arranged along the second axis in a second array in accordance with times at which content items for a second channel are available on the second channel; and
displaying a content guide with a plurality of channels, including the first channel and the second channel and information on currently available content including the first content item and the second content item, and the information arranged in adjacent arrays that are organized in the respective order along an axis.
In a related art, Ellis does disclose a content guide including channels presenting currently-available content and future content (user can navigate to a content guide which shows channels arranged along a vertical axis and content of the channels that is currently available, i.e. current time, and content available in the future, i.e. future times; Fig. 10, elements 1000 and 1050, and page 14, paragraph 127), information arranged along a second axis in a first array in accordance with times at which content items for a first channel are available on the first channel (information about the programs/content that are available for at least a first channel are presented in the specific channel array along a horizontal axis, and arranged based on times when available; page 14, paragraph 127, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and see array for channel “ESPN” which shows programs available at particular times), and information arranged along the second axis in a second array, adjacent to the first array, in accordance with times at which content items for a second channel are available on the second channel (information about the programs/content that are available for at least a second channel are presented in the specific channel array, adjacent to at least a first/other channel array, along a horizontal axis, and arranged based on times when available; page 14, paragraph 127, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and see array for channel “Fox Sports” which shows programs available at particular times and it presented adjacent to at least “ESPN” and/or “RCN”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas and Ellis, by allowing the channels and content items already present in Thomas to be arranged and presented in a similar way as shown in Ellis, in order to provide an improved system and method for an interactive media guidance application that focuses a user's attention on a group of media channels, that provides focused information on a group of media channels, and that executes a function of the guidance application on a group of media channels (Ellis; page 1, paragraph 5).
Thomas in view of Ellis does not explicitly disclose a channel bar including a plurality of representations of channels, wherein the plurality of representations of channels includes a representation of a first channel at a first position within a respective order and a representation of a second channel at a second position, adjacent to the first position, within the respective order, and wherein the representation of the first channel includes an indication of a first content item that is currently available on the first channel, and the representation of the second channel includes an indication of a second content item that is currently available on the second channel; and
displaying a content guide with a plurality of channels, including the first channel and the second channel and information on currently available content including the first content item and the second content item, and the information arranged in adjacent arrays that are organized in the respective order along an axis.
In a related art, Togashi does disclose a channel bar including a plurality of representations of channels, wherein the plurality of representations of channels includes a representation of a first channel at a first position within a respective order and a representation of a second channel at a second position, adjacent to the first position, within the respective order, and wherein the representation of the first channel includes an indication of a first content item that is currently available on the first channel, and the representation of the second channel includes an indication of a second content item that is currently available on the second channel (initial display can have a channel bar/array presented along a particular axis, wherein the channel representations in the bar/array have thumbnail images corresponding to the current programming of the particular channel; page 4, paragraphs 58-59, and page 5, paragraph 70 – page 6, paragraph 73, and Fig. 4, elements 20 and 21, and wherein channels arranged in a particular order, Fig. 4, see “1 Broadcasting Station A 013” next to “2 Broadcasting Station B 021”, which is next to “4 Broadcasting Station C 141”, etc.); and
displaying a content guide with a plurality of channels, including the first channel and the second channel and information on currently available content including the first content item and the second content item, and the information arranged in adjacent arrays that are organized in the respective order along an axis (after providing further instruction, display can be enlarged to show full screen EPG with the channel representations still in the same order along the axis, and channel programming information arranged by time along a different, adjacent axis; page 6, paragraphs 74-76, and Figs. 8-10, elements 20, 21, and 23, and see “1 Broadcasting Station A 013”still next to “2 Broadcasting Station B 021”, which is still next to “4 Broadcasting Station C 141”, etc., and programming information “A1” through “A5”, “B1” through “B7”, etc., and wherein the channel representations correspond to the current channel content that is displayed in the channel programming information columns; page 4, paragraph 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas, Ellis, and Togashi, by allowing the channels and content items already present in Thomas in view of Ellis to be arranged and presented in a similar way as shown in Togashi, in order to provide an improved system and method for receiving EPG information and generating an EPG display image based on the EPG information, wherein the EPG display image has a plurality of frames corresponding to channels, the frames containing a thumbnail image and program information corresponding to the respective channels of the frame (Togashi; page 1, paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 2, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses generating the updated user interface further includes: ceasing displaying the playing content for the respective channel in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the content guide on the display device (Thomas; user input to navigate between the various GUI’s; col. 30, lines 53-62, and col. 38, lines 3-6, i.e. such as from the current Watch GUI to a Composite Channel Home GUI/Subscribed Composite Channel Home GUI; Fig. 21, elements 2150 and 2155, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, or from the current Watch GUI to a Browse Channels GUI; Fig. 17, element 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and wherein this new GUI will not have the previously played content, i.e. it ceases being displayed).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the second plurality of channels in the content guide correspond to the first plurality of channels in the channel bar (Thomas; plurality of channels can be those of subscribed channels, wherein the subscribed channels were also provided in the User Lists and Filters interface; Fig. 22A, element 1515, and col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and col. 43, lines 42-57, and Togashi; similar/same channels shown in the channel bar/array, and with the full guide; page 4, paragraphs 58-59, and page 6, paragraphs 74-76, and Figs. 4 and 8-10, elements 20 and 21).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses respective positions of the arrays representing the second plurality of channels in the content guide correspond to respective positions of the representations of the first plurality of channels in the channel bar (Thomas; both the presented channel arrays and the User Lists and Filters channels can be presented in an arranged/organized way such that they are presented along at least a vertical axis, i.e. they are all positioned in a vertical way; Fig. 22A, element 1515, and Fig. 21, elements 2150 and 2155, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and Ellis; Fig. 10, element 1050, and Togashi; EPG with the channel representations still in the same order along the axis, and channel programming information arranged by time along a different adjacent axis; page 6, paragraphs 74-76, and Figs. 8-10, elements 20, 21, and 23, and see “1 Broadcasting Station A 013”still next to “2 Broadcasting Station B 021”, which is still next to “4 Broadcasting Station C 141”, etc., and programming information “A1” through “A5”, “B1” through “B7”, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses while displaying the content guide, displaying, in the updated user interface, information about a currently-selected content item in the content guide (Ellis; information area can provide information about a currently selected program; page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 10, element 1032, and providing information associated with a selected/highlighted program; page 9, paragraph 91, and page 16, paragraph 142, and Fig. 15, element 1530, and Thomas; Fig. 25, see “Media Item Description”).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses displaying a representation of the currently-selected content item in a respective array of the arrays with a first visual characteristic, and displaying representations of unselected content items in the arrays with a second visual characteristic, different from the first visual characteristic (Ellis; selected content/programming can be outlined/highlighted, which the other content/programming remains non-outlined/non-highlighted; Fig. 10, element 1001, and page 9, paragraph 89, and page 13, paragraph 126, and page 14, paragraph 133).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses displaying the representation of the currently-selected content item with the first visual characteristic includes displaying, in the representation of the currently-selected content item, information of a first type about the currently-selected content item (Ellis; selected content/programming can be outlined/highlighted; Fig. 10, element 1001, and page 9, paragraph 89, and page 13, paragraph 126, and page 14, paragraph 133, and wherein selected content/program can include specific information, i.e. of a type such as title, rating, indicator, etc., in the selection area; page 14, paragraph 127, and Thomas; information included in a selected media item can include an indication/information about subscription/payment for the media item; Fig. 19, element 1660, and col. 35, lines 53-63, and media description information; Fig. 25, element 2550, see “Media Item Description”).
Regarding claim 8, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the representations of the unselected content items do not include respective information of the first type about the respective unselected content items (Ellis; information provided for the programming can be of a specific type, such as title, rating, indicator, etc., wherein this is interpreted that information available for a selected content/program would only be available for that content/program and none of the other non-selected but displayed content/programs, i.e. currently selected is indicated as newly available while the other displayed content/programs are all reruns/old; page 14, paragraph 127).
Regarding claim 9, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the user interface is associated with a first category of channels and a second category of channels, channels in the first category of channels include content that shares a first common characteristic, channels in the second category of channels include content that shares a second common characteristic, different from the first common characteristic (Thomas; can include channels that are grouped into a composition of channels, i.e. those having a shared characteristic/category, such that a first channel category/grouping is different from a second channel category/grouping; Fig. 17, elements 1705, and col. 36, lines 13-31, and wherein can be presented to include channels grouped by subscribed/unsubscribed, i.e. sharing subscription/unsubscribed characteristics; col. 13, lines 26-52, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710), and the first plurality of channels in the channel bar and the second plurality of channels in the content guide are selected so as to include channels from the first category of channels but not channels from the second category of channels (Thomas; showing subscribed channels and not unsubscribed ones; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and col. 43, lines 42-57, and Ellis; only showing content based on a particular category, such as Sports; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 10, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses while displaying the content guide, receiving an input corresponding to a request to display channels from the second category of channels instead of the first category of channels and in response receiving the input ceasing display of the first category of channels in the content guide and displaying a plurality of channels from the second category of channels in the content guide (Ellis; while displaying the guide with particular category of channels, i.e. Fig. 10, can receive input/request to revert back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, and see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”).
Regarding claim 12, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the input corresponding to the request to display channels from the second category of channels instead of the first category of channels comprises scrolling, along the first axis, through the first category of channels in the content guide to the second category of channels in the content guide (Ellis; can move through/between the categories of channels in at least a vertical, i.e. first axis, direction, i.e. from Sports to Music, from Movies to News, etc.; Fig. 7, element 701, and see at least “Sports”, “Music”, “Movies”, and “News”, and wherein with at least scrolling operations; page 15, paragraph 134, and Thomas, can move vertically, i.e. first axis, from a first category of channels to a second category of channels; Fig. 17, elements 1705, and Fig. 26, elements 2655, 1657, and 1658).
Regarding claim 13, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses receiving the input corresponding to the request to display channels from the second category of channels instead of the first category of channels comprises receiving an input corresponding to a request to switch the channel bar from displaying the first category of channels to displaying the second category of channels (Ellis; can receive input/request to revert back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”, and Thomas; changes to presented content can be made based on input in relation to/with the User Lists and Filters interface, i.e. channel bar; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 33, and Togashi; initial display can have a channel bar/array presented along a particular axis; Fig. 4, elements 20 and 21, and page 4, paragraphs 58-59).
Regarding claim 14, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the user interface is associated with a first category of channels and a second category of channels, channels in the first category of channels include content that shares a first common characteristic, channels in the second category of channels include content that shares a second common characteristic, different from the first common characteristic (Thomas; can include channels that are grouped into a composition of channels, i.e. those having a shared characteristic/category, such that a first channel category/grouping is different from a second channel category/grouping; Fig. 17, elements 1705, and col. 36, lines 13-31, and wherein can be presented to include channels grouped by subscribed/unsubscribed, i.e. sharing subscription/unsubscribed characteristics; col. 13, lines 26-52, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710), the first plurality of channels in the channel bar are selected so as to include channels from the first category of channels but not channels from the second category of channels (Thomas; showing subscribed channels and not unsubscribed ones; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and Ellis; only showing content based on a particular category, such as Sports; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Togashi; initial display can have a channel bar/array presented along a particular axis; Fig. 4, elements 20 and 21, and page 4, paragraphs 58-59), and the method further comprises:
before receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the content guide on the display device, receiving an input corresponding to a request to switch the channel bar from displaying the first category of channels to displaying the second category of channels (Thomas, when original GUI with the Watch GUI is displayed, i.e. before request to display the Composite Channel Home GUI/Subscribed Composite Channel Home GUI/Browse Channels GUI, user can interact with the User Lists and Filters interface, i.e. channel bar, and can change presented information/categories; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 33, and Ellis; with initial category selection screen; Fig. 7, elements 710, and Togashi; initial display can have a channel bar/array presented along a particular axis; Fig. 4, elements 20 and 21, and page 4, paragraphs 58-59); and
in response to receiving the input ceasing display of the first category of channels in the channel bar and displaying the second category of channels in the channel bar (Thomas; changes to presented content can be made based on input in relation to/with the User Lists and Filters interface, i.e. channel bar; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 33, and Ellis; changing to different category for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”, and Togashi; initial display can have a channel bar/array presented along a particular axis; Fig. 4, elements 20 and 21, and page 4, paragraphs 58-59), wherein:
the input corresponding to the request to display the content guide on the display device is received while the channel bar is displaying the second category of channels and not the first category of channels (Thomas; navigating from Watch GUI, i.e. which has the User Lists and Filters interface showing particular categories(s), i.e. a second instead of a first, of content/channels; Fig. 22A, element 1515, and col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, to Composite Channel Home GUI/Subscribed Composite Channel Home GUI which presents a plurality of channels and content; Fig. 21, elements 2150, 2155, 2157, and 2158, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, or from the current Watch GUI to a Browse Channels GUI which presents a plurality of channels and content; Fig. 17, element 1705, 1710, 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and Togashi; after providing further instruction, display can be enlarged to show full screen EPG; page 6, paragraphs 74-76, and Figs. 8-10, elements 20, 21, and 23), and the second plurality of channels in the content guide includes channels from the second category of channels but not the first category of channels (Thomas; showing subscribed channels and not unsubscribed ones; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and col. 43, lines 42-57, and Ellis; only showing content based on a particular category, such as Sports; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Examiner’s Note, these citations are interpreted to also include showing a second category and not a first, similar to showing the first and not the second).
Regarding claim 15, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses while displaying the content guide, receiving an input corresponding to a selection of a representation of a respective content item in the content guide (Ellis; can select particular program/content from the guide; page 12, paragraph 114, and page 13, paragraph 126); and
in response to receiving the input in accordance with a determination that the respective content item is currently-available, playing the respective content item on the display device (Ellis; if available, can access the channel for playback; page 12, paragraph 114, and page 13, paragraph 126, and playback of selected and available content; page 16, paragraph 141), and in accordance with a determination that the respective content item is not currently-available, displaying one or more selectable user interface elements on the display that enable a user to perform operations associated with future playback of the respective content item (Ellis; if selected program is for a future available program, system can provide options to set a reminder for future programming and/or set a recording for future programming; page 12, paragraph 114, and page 13, paragraph 126).
Regarding claim 16, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the selectable user interface elements include: a notification element for providing a notification when the respective content item becomes available (Ellis; options to set a reminder, i.e. notification, for future programming; page 12, paragraph 114, and page 13, paragraph 126);
a content item information element for displaying a user interface corresponding to the respective content item (Ellis; can provide input for presentation of overlay related to the content/programming, schedule information, etc.; page 9, paragraph 91, and Thomas; with at least description information for the content; col. 35, lines 31-40, and Fig. 22A, element 2210, and col. 41, lines 1-14); and
a channel information element for displaying a user interface corresponding to a respective channel on which the respective content item is available (Ellis; can provide input for presentation of overlay; page 9, paragraph 91, and with Channel group information relating to channel(s); page 17, paragraph 146, and Thomas; can display Channel information relating to a content item; col. 35, lines 31-40, and Fig. 19, element 1900, and col. 37, lines 40-59).
Regarding claim 19, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the second plurality of channels in the content guide have currently-available content having a first shared characteristic (Thomas; can include channels that are grouped into a composition of channels, i.e. those having a shared characteristic/category, such that a first channel category/grouping is different from a second channel category/grouping; Fig. 17, elements 1705, and col. 36, lines 13-31, and wherein can be presented to include channels grouped by subscribed/unsubscribed, i.e. sharing subscription/unsubscribed characteristics; col. 13, lines 26-52, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710).
Regarding claim 20, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the updated user interface is associated with a first category of channels and a second category of channels (Ellis; displayed channels can include categories relating to at least sports that are currently available, and sports that are available in the future; Fig. 13, element 1310, and page 15, paragraph 136), channels in the first category of channels include currently-available content having the first shared characteristic (Ellis; sports channels, i.e. shared characteristic, which are currently-available, i.e. have been recorded and are available to watch; Fig. 13, element 1310, and see at least “Fox Sports” with “Jogging” and “RCN” with “Volleyball”, and page 15, paragraph 136), channels in the second category of channels do not have currently-available content having the first shared characteristic, but have future content having the first shared characteristic within a predetermined time threshold of a current time (Ellis; sports channels, i.e. shared characteristic, which are not currently-available, i.e. available in the future for the current day, i.e. within a time threshold; Fig. 13, element 1310, and see at least “Fox Sports” with “England v. Denmark” and “ESPN” with “Monday Night Football”, and page 15, paragraph 136), and the second plurality of channels in the content guide are selected so as to include channels from the first and second categories of channels (Thomas; can include channels that are grouped into a composition of channels, i.e. those having a shared characteristic/category, such that a first channel category/grouping is different from a second channel category/grouping; Fig. 17, elements 1705, and col. 36, lines 13-31, and wherein can be presented to include channels grouped by subscribed/unsubscribed, i.e. sharing subscription/unsubscribed characteristics; col. 13, lines 26-52, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710, including sports currently available and sports available in the future; Fig. 13, element 1310, and see at least “Fox Sports” with “Jogging”, “RCN” with Volleyball”, “Fox Sports” with “England v. Denmark”, and “ESPN” with “Monday Night Football”, and page 15, paragraph 136).
Regarding claim 21, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the channels in the first category of channels and the channels in the second category of channels are displayed in separate regions of the content guide (Thomas; different categories of channels can be displayed below/above others, i.e. in separate regions; Fig. 17, elements 1705, and Ellis; different categories, such as future programming and currently available programming can be displayed below/above others, i.e. in separate regions; Fig. 13, element 1310).
Regarding claim 22, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the second plurality of channels in the content guide includes content items having the first shared characteristic, and content items not having the first shared characteristic (Thomas; channels can include those that can be of a particular category and are subscribed to and require pay, i.e. a first shared characteristic, and those that are of a particular category and do not require pay but can still be subscribed to, i.e. not the characteristic; Fig. 17, elements 1645 and 1660, and col. 36, lines 13-31), representations of the content items having the first shared characteristic in the content guide have a first visual characteristic in the content guide, and representations of the content items not having the first shared characteristic have a second visual characteristic, different from the first visual characteristic, in the content guide (Thomas; channels which require payment will be shown with a first visual characteristic, i.e. “$” paid icon, while others will not be shown with this, but only the “subscribe” visual characteristic; col. 36, lines 13-31, and Fig. 17, elements 1645 and 1660, and Fig. 21, elements 1645 and 1660).
Regarding claim 23, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses while displaying the representations of the content items having the first shared characteristic with the first visual characteristic and the representations of the content items not having the first shared characteristic with the second visual characteristic (Thomas; channels which require payment will be shown with a first visual characteristic, i.e. “$” paid icon, while others will not be shown with this, but only the “subscribe” visual characteristic; col. 36, lines 13-31, and Fig. 17, elements 1645 and 1660), receiving an input corresponding to a request to change a currently-designated characteristic from the first shared characteristic to a second shared characteristic (Ellis; while displaying the guide with particular category of channels, i.e. Fig. 10, can receive input/request to revert back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, and see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”, and Thomas; while displaying the GUI, can receive user input to navigate between the various GUI’s, i.e. such as changing categories from the particular categories presented; col. 30, lines 53-62, and col. 38, lines 3-6, and Fig. 17, elements 1705); and
in response to receiving the input: modifying the content guide to include a third plurality of channels that have currently-available content having the second shared characteristic instead of the first shared characteristic, the third plurality of channels including content items having the second shared characteristic, and content items not having the second shared characteristic (Thomas; channels, i.e. at least a third can include those that can be of a particular category, i.e. at least a second/different, and are subscribed to and require pay, i.e. a second shared characteristic, and those that are of a particular category and do not require pay but can still be subscribed to, i.e. not the characteristic; Fig. 17, elements 1645 and 1660, and col. 36, lines 13-31); and
displaying representations of the content items having the second shared characteristic with the first visual characteristic and displaying representations of the content items not having the second shared characteristic with the second visual characteristic (Thomas; channels of the particular category which require payment will be shown with a first visual characteristic, i.e. “$” paid icon, while others with the category will not be shown with this, but only the “subscribe” visual characteristic; col. 36, lines 13-31, and Fig. 17, elements 1645 and 1660, and Fig. 21, elements 1645 and 1660).
Regarding claim 24, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses while displaying the second plurality of channels having currently-available content having a shared characteristic in the content guide (Thomas; can display channels having shared characteristic in that that they are subscribed; Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and 2470, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710), determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic (Thomas; when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 12, line 62 – col. 13, line 6); and
in response to determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic (Thomas; when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it can be removed from the interfaces/GUIs which show the subscribed channels as it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 12, line 62 – col. 13, line 6), maintaining the first channel in the content guide and in the channel bar (Thomas; user can be unsubscribed from channel, i.e. not sharing characteristic, however, system can then prevent access to channel, i.e. interpreted as not removing channel from the interfaces/GUIs; col. 12, line 62 – col. 13, line 6, and col. 43, lines 28-41, and Fig. 27, and col. 44, lines 21-61, and wherein additionally, unsubscribed channels will also still be presented in the interfaces/GUIs in order to entice subscription; Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1645, and 1660, and col. 35, lines 41-52).
Regarding claim 25, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses while displaying the second plurality of channels having currently-available content having a shared characteristic in the content guide (Thomas; can display channels having shared characteristic in that that they are subscribed; Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and 2470, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710), determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic, and in response to determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic, removing the first channel from the content guide and the channel bar (Thomas; when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it can be removed from the interfaces/GUIs which show the subscribed channels as it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 12, line 62 – col. 13, line 6, and col. 32, lines 34-47, and col. 34, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 28, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses the content guide includes representations of one or more content items that are available on-demand, and the representations of the one or more content items that are available on-demand include a visual indication indicating that the content item is available for on-demand presentation (Ellis; can at least present on-demand content in guide which shows visual indication of at least “On-Demand” and/or “Purchased”; Fig. 13, elements 1310, and Fig. 14A, see at least “RCN On-Demand” and “ESPN On-Demand”).
Regarding claim 30, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses scrolling past an end of the channel bar along the first axis and after scrolling past the end of the channel bar along the first axis, selecting a content guide user interface element displayed adjacent to the channel bar for displaying the content guide (user can navigate out of, i.e. end of, the User List and Filters interface that is presented along the vertical axis to an adjacent interface element, i.e. Menu, which will allow for requesting the content guide; Fig. 19, elements 1515 and 1915, and col. 30, lines 53-62, and col. 38, lines 3-10, and Ellis; with at least scrolling operations; page 15, paragraph 134).
Regarding claim 31, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses receiving a selection input in a first predefined region on a touch-sensitive surface of a second electronic device (Ellis; can include input via touch of secondary/remote device/control; page 9, paragraph 89), wherein the touch-sensitive surface includes a plurality of predefined regions, including the first predefined region, the plurality of predefined regions being associated with different functions (Ellis; again with touch, and wherein with different functions corresponding to different regions that can be touched; page 9, paragraph 89, and Fig. 4, at least elements 402, 404, and 412).
Claim 34, which discloses an electronic device, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
one or more processors (Thomas; with at least a processor; col. 45, lines 27-47);
memory (Thomas; with at least a memory; col. 45, lines 27-33);
a display device (Thomas; including at least a display; col. 45, lines 49-59, and Fig. 28, element 2810);
one or more input devices (Thomas; inputs; col. 45, lines 49-59, and Fig. 28, elements 2812 and 2814); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed (Thomas; including at least executable instructions stored in a memory; col. 45, line 27-col. 46, line 7).
Claim 35, which discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Thomas; computer-readable storage medium can include a solid-state, i.e. non-transitory, memory; col. 46, lines 8-21).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al., US 8,850,490 in view of Ellis, US 2007/0157248 and Togashi et al., US 2010/0083316, and further in view of Frusciano, US 8,589,977.
Regarding claim 11, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 10, as well as the input corresponding to the request to display channels from the second category of channels instead of the first category of channels comprises an input (Ellis; while displaying the guide with particular category of channels, i.e. Fig. 10, can receive input/request to revert back to category selection screen, which will allow user to select different category for display of those channels; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and page 9, paragraph 93, and page 13, paragraph 124, and changing from previous Sports category to News/World category; Fig. 7, elements 710, see “Sports” and “News”, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and page 17, paragraph 148, and Fig. 17, element 1701, and see “World” and “Sports”), scrolling (Ellis; with at least scrolling operations; page 15, paragraph 134), and a list of categories of channels, the list of categories of channels including the first category of channels and the second category of channels (Ellis; listing of categories of channels, including at least the first/second that can be presented; Fig. 7, elements 701 and 710, and Fig. 8, elements 801 and 810).
Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi does not explicitly disclose scrolling past an end of a content guide along a first axis, and after scrolling past the end of the content guide along the first axis, selecting a second category of channels from a list of categories of channels.
In a related art, Frusciano does disclose scrolling past an end of a content guide along a first axis, and after scrolling past the end of the content guide along the first axis, selecting a second category of channels from a list of categories of channels (system can determine that user has scrolled in a direction, i.e. along an axis, past an end of a particular category, and can then provide a next/different category; col. 8, lines 24-48, and Fig. 4, at least elements 402, 420, and 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas, Ellis, Togashi, and Frusciano by allowing different techniques to be used for navigating among various categories of channels/content that were already disclosed in Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi, in order to provide and improved system and method for controlling scroll rates and/or the presentation of guides listing information to users of devices such as televisions, set top boxes, etc. (Frusciano; col. 1, lines 46-49).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al., US 8,850,490 in view of Ellis, US 2007/0157248 and Togashi et al., US 2010/0083316, and further in view of Jeong, US 2013/0088455.
Regarding claim 17, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as while displaying the content guide, receiving an input associated with a currently-available content item in the content guide, and in response to receiving the input playing the currently-available content item on the display device (Ellis; can select particular program/content from the guide and if available, can access the channel for playback; page 12, paragraph 114, and page 13, paragraph 126, and playback of selected and available content; page 16, paragraph 141), and operations associated with the currently-available content item (Ellis; operations can include at least recording the content; page 13, paragraph 126, providing controls, purchasing, etc.; page 12, paragraph 117, and Thomas; controls/operations in relation to the currently-available and presenting content; col. 40, lines 43-67).
Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that an input has a duration that is shorter than a threshold time period, performing an operation; and
in accordance with a determination that the input has a duration that is longer than the threshold time period, displaying one or more selectable user interface elements on the display that enable a user to perform operations.
In a related art, Jeong does disclose in accordance with a determination that an input has a duration that is shorter than a threshold time period, performing an operation (when touch input has for less than a preset time, i.e. threshold, particular operation can be performed, such as playback; page 4, paragraph 47, and page 9, paragraph 102); and
in accordance with a determination that the input has a duration that is longer than the threshold time period, displaying one or more selectable user interface elements on the display that enable a user to perform operations (when touch input is greater than a preset time, i.e. threshold, a menu can be presented with options for performing other operations; page 9, paragraphs 101-103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas, Ellis, Togashi, and Jeong by allowing thresholds to be utilized with the already present inputs of Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi, in order to provide an improved system and method for controlling a function in a touch device which may improve convenience of user input for changing various option values used during a function operation in a touch device supporting touch based input (Jeong; page 1, paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 18, Thomas in view of Ellis, Togashi, and Jeong discloses the selectable user interface elements include: a play element for playing the currently-available content item on the display device (Thomas; controls can include playback/play controls; col. 40, lines 42-67, and Jeong; for playback control operations; page 9, paragraph 103);
a content item information element for displaying a user interface corresponding to the currently-available content item on the display (Jeong; menu for different options; page 9, paragraph 103, and Ellis; can provide input for presentation of overlay related to the content/programming, schedule information, etc.; page 9, paragraph 91, and Thomas; with at least description information for the content; col. 35, lines 31-40, and Fig. 22A, element 2210, and col. 41, lines 1-14); and
a channel information element for displaying a user interface corresponding to a respective channel on which the currently-available content item is available (Jeong; menu for different options; page 9, paragraph 103, and Ellis; can provide input for presentation of overlay; page 9, paragraph 91, and with Channel group information relating to channel(s); page 17, paragraph 146, and Thomas; can display Channel information relating to a content item; col. 35, lines 31-40, and Fig. 19, element 1900, and col. 37, lines 40-59).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al., US 8,850,490 in view of Ellis, US 2007/0157248 and Togashi et al., US 2010/0083316, and further in view of Barrett et al., US 2003/0196202.
Regarding claim 26, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as while displaying the second plurality of channels having currently-available content having a shared characteristic in the content guide (Thomas; can display channels having shared characteristic in that that they are subscribed; Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and 2470, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710), determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic, and in response to determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic performing an operation (Thomas; when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it can be removed from the interfaces/GUIs which show the subscribed channels as it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 32, lines 34-47, and col. 34, lines 61-67).
While Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi also discloses the first channel in the content guide and in the channel bar (Thomas; GUIs contain at least first/second channels; Fig. 21, elements 2150, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and when the channels are subscribed channels, these are also included in the previously presented first plurality of channels from the User Lists and Filters interface; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and Togashi; similar/same channels shown in the channel bar/array, and with the full guide; page 4, paragraphs 58-59, and page 6, paragraphs 74-76, and Figs. 4 and 8-10, elements 20 and 21), and removing the first channel from the content guide and the channel bar (Thomas; when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it can be removed from the interfaces/GUIs which show the subscribed channels as it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 12, line 62 – col. 13, line 6, and col. 32, lines 34-47, and col. 34, lines 61-67), Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that a content item on the first channel is currently-selected, maintaining the channel, and in accordance with a determination that a content item on the first channel is not currently-selected, performing another operation.
In a related art, Barrett does disclose in accordance with a determination that a content item on the first channel is currently-selected, maintaining the channel, and in accordance with a determination that a content item on the first channel is not currently-selected, performing another operation (system can determine if input has been received, i.e. such as moving off the current selection, or remaining on the current selection, and the EPG can then update only once input/movement is determined, i.e. the channel will remain if it is currently selected, but can be removed/updated once input is received; page 5, paragraphs 57-59, and Fig. 10A, elements 1004, 1006, and 1008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas, Ellis, Togashi, and Barrett by allowing interface/guide updates to occur only at certain times, in order to provide an improved system and method for prioritizing the order in which information is displayed such that a viewer's selection and focus is always kept current (Barrett; page 1, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 27, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as while displaying the second plurality of channels having currently-available content having a shared characteristic in the content guide (Thomas; can display channels having shared characteristic in that that they are subscribed; Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and 2470, and Ellis; content based on a particular categories, i.e. shared characteristics, such as Sports, News, etc.; Fig. 10, element 1031, and page 13, paragraph 125, and Fig. 7, elements 710), determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic, and in response to determining that the first channel no longer has currently-available content having the shared characteristic performing an operation (Thomas; when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it can be removed from the interfaces/GUIs which show the subscribed channels as it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 32, lines 34-47, and col. 34, lines 61-67).
While Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi also discloses the first channel in the content guide and in the channel bar (Thomas; GUIs contain at least first/second channels; Fig. 21, elements 2150, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and when the channels are subscribed channels, these are also included in the previously presented first plurality of channels from the User Lists and Filters interface; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and Togashi; similar/same channels shown in the channel bar/array, and with the full guide; page 4, paragraphs 58-59, and page 6, paragraphs 74-76, and Figs. 4 and 8-10, elements 20 and 21), after other operations, ceasing display of the content guide and the channel bar in the user interface (Ellis; after performing various navigation/interactions and other operations, user can exit the guidance application; page 9, paragraph 93, and Thomas; GUIs contain at least first/second channels; Fig. 21, elements 2150, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and when the channels are subscribed channels, these are also included in the previously presented first plurality of channels from the User Lists and Filters interface; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15), and after ceasing display of the content guide and the channel bar in the user interface, redisplaying the content guide and the channel bar in the user interface (Ellis; after performing various navigation/interactions and other operations, user can exit the guidance application, which can then be followed by activation of a GUIDE button which will again redisplay the media guidance application; page 9, paragraph 93, and Thomas; GUIs contain at least first/second channels; Fig. 21, elements 2150, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and when the channels are subscribed channels, these are also included in the previously presented first plurality of channels from the User Lists and Filters interface; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and immediately after presenting interface to adjust subscription settings, user can again be provided with Watch GUI that again contains the User Lists and Filters and other channel/programming content; col. 43, lines 18-27), the content guide and the channel bar having the first channel removed therefrom (Thomas; when channel is determined to be unsubscribed it can be removed from the interfaces/GUIs which show the subscribed channels as it no longer shares the subscribed characteristic; col. 32, lines 34-47, and col. 34, lines 61-67), Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi does not explicitly disclose in response to a determination, maintaining a channel, and after maintaining the first channel, performing other operations.
In a related art, Barrett does disclose in response to a determination, maintaining a channel, and after maintaining the first channel, performing other operations (system can determine if input has been received, i.e. such as moving off the current selection, or remaining on the current selection, and the EPG can then update only once input/movement is determined, i.e. the channel will remain if it is currently selected, but can be removed/updated once input is received, i.e. after being maintained and other operations/input detected; page 5, paragraphs 57-59, and Fig. 10A, elements 1004, 1006, and 1008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas, Ellis, Togashi, and Barrett by allowing interface/guide updates to occur only at certain times, in order to provide an improved system and method for prioritizing the order in which information is displayed such that a viewer's selection and focus is always kept current (Barrett; page 1, paragraph 5).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al., US 8,850,490 in view of Ellis, US 2007/0157248 and Togashi et al., US 2010/0083316, and further in view of Grad, US 2011/0078739.
Regarding claim 29, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the content guide on the display device (Thomas; while displaying the GUI, can receive user input to navigate between the various GUI’s; col. 30, lines 53-62, and col. 38, lines 3-6, i.e. such as from the current Watch GUI to a Composite Channel Home GUI/Subscribed Composite Channel Home GUI which presents a plurality of channels; Fig. 21, elements 2150 and 2155, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, or from the current Watch GUI to a Browse Channels GUI which presents a plurality of channels; Fig. 17, element 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30), the first plurality of channels in the channel bar (Thomas; User Lists and Filters section/interface can be provided which contains channels of currently available content; Fig. 22A, element 1515, and col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15), the arrays of the content guide (Thomas; channel information/content is presented in arrays which are adjacently along the vertical axis; Fig. 21, elements 2150 and 2155, and col. 39, line 58 – col. 40, line 20, and Fig. 26, elements 2650 and 2655, and Fig. 17, elements 1705, 1710, and 1715, and col. 36, lines 13-30, and again with certain order/organization; col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15, and Ellis; information about the programs/content that are available for at least the channels are presented in the specific channel arrays; page 14, paragraph 127, and Fig. 10, element 1050, and see arrays for at least channels “ESPN” and “Fox Sports”), and the representations of a first plurality of channels (Thomas; User Lists and Filters section/interface can be provided which contains representations of channels of currently available content; Fig. 22A, element 1515, and col. 31, line 48 – col. 32, line 15).
Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi does not explicitly disclose displaying an animation of a representation(s) moving out of a user interface in a first direction while others move into the user interface in the first direction, the others aligned with and corresponding to the representation(s).
In a related art, Grad does disclose displaying an animation of a representation(s) moving out of a user interface in a first direction while others move into the user interface in the first direction, the others aligned with and corresponding to the representation(s) (system can animate program grid to have representation(s) animate off the screen in a first direction, with other representation(s) animating into their place in the same direction; page 5, paragraph 54, and Figs 3a and 3B, elements 41a and 41b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas, Ellis, Togashi, and Grad by allowing specific animations to be used with the already present navigation operations provided in Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi, in order to provide an improved system and method for producing an EPG from program information in an EPG database for a plurality of channels, with the EPG displaying items relating to the programs available on a plurality of channels at a specified times with the use of animation techniques (Grad; page 1, paragraph 2, and page 2, paragraph 15).
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al., US 8,850,490 in view of Ellis, US 2007/0157248 and Togashi et al., US 2010/0083316, and further in view of Hunter, US 2014/0006951.
Regarding claim 32, Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1.
Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi does not explicitly disclose while displaying a content guide, displaying a current time indicator in an updated user interface that indicates a current play position in currently-available content on a second plurality of channels in the content guide.
In a related art, Hunter does disclose while displaying a content guide, displaying a current time indicator in an updated user interface that indicates a current play position in currently-available content on a second plurality of channels in the content guide (can display an indicator of the current time shown in relation to playback positions in a plurality of currently available content channels; Fig. 2, elements 100 and 102, and page 11, paragraph 324).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Thomas, Ellis, Togashi, and Hunter, by allowing specific timing indicator to be utilized with the already present time information in Thomas in view of Ellis and Togashi, in order to provide an improved system and method for aggregating data relating to a plurality of media content items provided by a plurality of media content providers, providing the aggregated data to a user, and enabling a user to access particular content items by means of said aggregated data, wherein the content items are in the form of both scheduled content items and unscheduled content items (Hunter; page 1, paragraph 6).
Regarding claim 33, Thomas in view of Ellis, Togashi, and Hunter discloses the updated user interface further includes reference time indicators displayed along the second axis, adjacent the arrays in the content guide (Ellis; with at least time indicators shown above/adjacent and along the horizontal, i.e. second axis, to the channel arrays; Fig. 10, see timing such as at least “8:00 AM” and “8:30 AM”), wherein representations of content items in the arrays in the content guide are positioned along the second axis with respect to the reference time indicators in a manner corresponding to start and end times of the content items (Ellis; programming shown with start/end in relation to timing indicators; Fig. 10, see timing such as at least “8:00 AM” and “8:30 AM” and corresponding programming in relation to the timing), and
as the current time indicator approaches a respective position of a respective reference time indicator in the updated user interface, the respective position of the respective reference time indicator in the updated user interface is modified so as to move the respective reference time indicator to not obscure the current time indicator in the updated user interface (Hunter; current time indicator bar moves with the progression of the content/programming, and is moved/modified to represent the current time in relation to the content/programming, wherein it is presented in a way that does not obscure other information in the interface, i.e. semi-transparently; page 11, paragraph 324, and Fig. 2, element 102, and Fig. 19, element 102, and Ellis; again with at least time indicators shown; Fig. 10, see timing such as at least “8:00 AM” and “8:30 AM”).
Conclusion
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424