DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 18/817,169 filed on August 27, 2024, presents claims 1-20 for examination, claims priority to PCT/CN1023/077966, filed on 2/23/2023, and foreign priority to CN202210195864.8, filed on 3/1/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/2025, was filed before the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 12, “the at least one type of device information” is not clear whether it refers to “at least one type of device information” in line 7 or in line 8. Further “one type of device information” in lines 13-14 is not clear whether is the same one type of device information as that in lines 7 and 8. The office action treats them as the same one type of device information.
Claim 14 has the same issue as claim 1, and is objected to for the same reason.
Dependent claims 2-7 and 15-20 are objected to for the same reason because of their dependencies from their respective independent claim 1 or 14 .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 6-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claim 1, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a system claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 1,
“ … determine at least one target installation package based on the original installation package, wherein the at least one target installation package one-to-one corresponds to the at least one type of device information, and each target installation package has a function and/or a page layout corresponding to one type of device information; …,”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually determine at least one target installation package as defined in the claim. Thus, the limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the following additional elements
“An application development system”
“a first electronic device; a second electronic device; a third electronic device; and a server;”
“wherein the first electronic device is configured to send an original installation package of a target application to the server, and the original installation package of the target application indicates a function corresponding to at least one type of device information and/or a page layout corresponding to at least one type of device information;
wherein the server is configured to: receive the original installation package, of the target application, sent by the first electronic device, and … ; receive a first download request sent by the second electronic device, wherein the first download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application; send a first installation package to the second electronic device, wherein the first installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the second electronic device; receive a second download request sent by the third electronic device, wherein the second download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application; and send a second installation package to the third electronic device, wherein the second installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the third electronic device,
wherein the second electronic device is configured to: send the first download request to the server, and receive the first installation package sent by the server, and
wherein the third electronic device is configured to: send the second download request to the server, and receive the second installation package sent by the server.”
Wherein “An application development system”, “a first electronic device; a second electronic device; a third electronic device; and a server;” are cited as generic computers, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The rest of the claim limitations are just sending and receiving processes which are insignificant extra-solution activities such as data transmitting and gathering, according to MPEP 2106.05(g); thus, not indicative of an integration into a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements “An application development system”, “a first electronic device; a second electronic device; a third electronic device; and a server;” that are mere use of generic computer to implement the abstract idea, thus, are not an inventive concept. The rest of the claim limitations are just sending and receiving processes which are insignificant extra-solution activities and are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. Accordingly, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claim 8, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a device claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 8,
“
…, and the target installation package is determined … based on an original installation package of the target application.”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually determine the target installation package as defined in the claim. Thus, the limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the following additional elements
“An electronic device”, a memory”; and “a processor”,
“sending a first download request to a server, wherein the first download request is used to request to download an installation package of a target application; and
receiving a first installation package sent by the server, wherein the first installation package is a target installation package corresponding to device information of the electronic device, and [the target installation package is determined] by the server based on an original installation package of the target application.”
Wherein “An electronic device”, a memory”; and “a processor” are cited as generic computer or computer components, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The rest of the claim limitations are just sending and receiving processes which are insignificant extra-solution activities such as data transmitting and gathering, according to MPEP 2106.05(g); thus, not indicative of an integration into a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements “An electronic device”, a memory”; and “a processor” that are mere use of generic computer to implement the abstract idea, thus, are not an inventive concept. The rest of the claim limitations are just sending and receiving processes which are insignificant extra-solution activities and are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. Accordingly, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claim 14, This claim is within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a server claim under Step 1.
Under Prong 1, Step 2A:
However, the limitations of claim 14,
“ A server comprising:
a memory storing executable instructions; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the executable instructions to perform operations of:
receiving, from a first electronic device, an original installation package of a target application, wherein the original installation package of the target application indicates a function corresponding to at least one type of device information and/or a page layout corresponding to at least one type of device information;
determining at least one target installation package based on the original installation package, wherein the at least one target installation package one-to-one corresponds to the at least one type of device information, and each target installation package has a function and/or a page layout corresponding to one type of device information;
receiving a first download request sent by a second electronic device, wherein the first download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application; and sending a first installation package to the second electronic device, wherein the first installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the second electronic device; and
receiving a second download request sent by a third electronic device, wherein the second download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application, and sending a second installation package to the third electronic device, wherein the second installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the third electronic device.”
as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. E.g. the user can manually determine at least one target installation package as defined in the claim. Thus, the limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1 Step 2A.
Under Prong 2, Step 2A:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the following additional elements
“An server”, “a memory”, and “a processor”,
“receiving, from a first electronic device, an original installation package of a target application, wherein the original installation package of the target application indicates a function corresponding to at least one type of device information and/or a page layout corresponding to at least one type of device information;”
“receiving a first download request sent by a second electronic device, wherein the first download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application; and sending a first installation package to the second electronic device, wherein the first installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the second electronic device; and
receiving a second download request sent by a third electronic device, wherein the second download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application, and sending a second installation package to the third electronic device, wherein the second installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the third electronic device.”
Wherein “An server”, “a memory”, and “a processor” are cited as generic computer or computer components, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The rest of the claim limitations are just sending and receiving processes which are insignificant extra-solution activities such as data transmitting and gathering, according to MPEP 2106.05(g); thus, not indicative of an integration into a practical application.
Under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements “An server”, “a memory”, and “a processor” that are mere use of generic computer to implement the abstract idea, thus, are not an inventive concept. The rest of the claim limitations are just sending and receiving processes which are insignificant extra-solution activities and are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. Accordingly, the claim does not appear to be patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
With respect to claims 2 and 15, “wherein the first installation package and the second installation package satisfy at least one of the following conditions:
a data amount of the first installation package is different from a data amount of the second installation package;
a package name of the first installation package is different from a package name of the second installation package;
a function file in the first installation package is different from a function file in the second installation package; or
a layout file in the first installation package is different from a layout file in the second installation package.” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the user can manually determine whether the packages satisfy the conditions.
With respect to claims 3 and 9, “wherein the second electronic device is further configured to:
before sending the first download request to the server, send the device information of the second electronic device to the server, and receive information that is sent by the server and that is of an application whose running is supported by the second electronic device; and display the information of the application whose running is supported by the second electronic device,
wherein the third electronic device is further configured to:
before sending the second download request to the server, send the device information of the third electronic device to the server, and receive information that is sent by the server and that is of an application whose running is supported by the third electronic device; and display the information of the application whose running is supported by the third electronic device, and
wherein the server is further configured to:
receive the device information of the second electronic device sent by the second electronic device, and send, to the second electronic device, the information of the application whose running is supported by the second electronic device; and receive the device information of the third electronic device sent by the third electronic device, and send, to the third electronic device, the information of the application whose running is supported by the third electronic device.”
Wherein the electronic devices and the server are cited as generic computers, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not constitute an inventive concept. The “sending …”, “receiving …” and “displaying …” are insignificant extra-solution activities such as data transmitting and gathering which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Symantec for receiving and transmitting data.
With respect to claims 6, 11 and 19, “wherein the device information comprises at least one of a device type or a screen parameter.”
as drafted, is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, and does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
With respect to claims 7 and 13, “wherein the second electronic device is further configured to:
after receiving the first installation package sent by the server, download the first installation package, and install the target application on the second electronic device based on the first installation package; or
after receiving the first installation package sent by the server, download the first installation package, and display a service widget of the target application on the second electronic device based on the first installation package,
wherein the third electronic device is further configured to:
after receiving the second installation package sent by the server, download the second installation package, and install the target application on the third electronic device based on the second installation package; or
after receiving the second installation package sent by the server, download the second installation package, and display a service widget of the target application on the third electronic device based on the second installation package.”
Wherein the electronic devices and the server are cited as generic computers, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not constitute an inventive concept. The “receiving …”, “sending …” and “displaying …” are insignificant extra-solution activities such as data transmitting and gathering which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Symantec for receiving and transmitting data. The “downloading …” and “installing …” are insignificant extra-solution activities such as retrieving and storing data which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. for retrieving and storing data.
With respect to claim 10, “wherein the first installation package comprises a function file corresponding to the device information of the electronic device and/or a layout file corresponding to the device information of the electronic device, and the layout file corresponding to the device information of the electronic device comprises a display resource corresponding to the device information of the electronic device.”
as drafted, is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, and does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
With respect to claims 12 and 20, “wherein the screen parameter comprises at least one of a screen shape, a screen size, or a screen resolution.”
as drafted, is merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, and does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
With respect to claim 16, “wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations of:
receiving the device information of the second electronic device sent by the second electronic device;
sending, to the second electronic device, information of an application whose running is supported by the second electronic device; and
receiving the device information of the third electronic device sent by the third electronic device, and sending, to the third electronic device, information of an application whose running is supported by the third electronic device.”
Wherein the electronic devices and the processor are cited as generic computers, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not constitute an inventive concept. The “receiving …”, and “sending …”are insignificant extra-solution activities such as data transmitting and gathering which are recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II), Symantec for receiving and transmitting data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ZHANG (WO 2019218952 A1, hereinafter, “ZHANG”, please refer to the attached NPL copy).
With respect to claim 8, ZHANG anticipates An electronic device comprising (e.g. Fig. 20, p37, last paragraph, “FIG. 20 is a block diagram showing a partial structure of a mobile phone related to a terminal provided by an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 20, the mobile phone includes: a radiofrequency (RF) circuit 1110, a memory 1120, an input unit 1130, a display unit 1140, a sensor 1150, an audio circuit 1160, a wireless fidelity (WiFi) module 1170, and a processor 1180. …”):
a memory storing executable instructions; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the executable instructions to perform operations comprising:
sending a first download request to a server, wherein the first download request is used to request to download an installation package of a target application (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 208-212, p19 third paragraph, “When the user needs to download the fast application, the user may send a download request message to the server through the terminal, where the download request message includes device information of the terminal. …”); and
receiving a first installation package sent by the server, wherein the first installation package is a target installation package corresponding to device information of the electronic device, and the target installation package is determined by the server based on an original installation package of the target application (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 210-214. P20 sixth paragraph, “After the server obtains the request message sent by the terminal, the server may send the main installation package and the corresponding at least one resource package to the terminal according to the download address carried in the request message sent by the terminal. …”).
With respect to claim 10, ZHANG anticipates wherein the first installation package comprises a function file corresponding to the device information of the electronic device and/or a layout file corresponding to the device information of the electronic device, and the layout file corresponding to the device information of the electronic device comprises a display resource corresponding to the device information of the electronic device (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 203-205. P17 fifth paragraph to p18 second paragraph. “The server obtains the complete installation package of the fast application, and can split the complete installation package into a main installation package and at least two resource packages according to resource configuration rules. For example, the complete installation package structure of the fast application as shown in Table 1 is obtained by splitting the server to obtain a plurality of sub-packages. For details, refer to FIG. 3, the fast application complete installation package is obtained by the server according to the resource configuration rule. A main installation package, a high resolution picture resource package, a medium resolution picture resource package, a low resolution picture resource package, a vertical screen page layout resource package, a horizontal screen page layout resource package, a Chinese resource package, and an English resource package, wherein The files included in the main installation package are shown in Figure 4. Since the quick application contains a common resource file, the main installation package includes a common configuration file and a general resource file.” Wherein the resolution picture resource package suggests device information and/or a layout file corresponding to device).
With respect to claim 11, ZHANG anticipates wherein the device information comprises at least one of a device type or a screen parameter (e.g. Fig. 2, step 208, P19 second paragraph. “The terminal device may obtain device information of the terminal in the process of using, where the device information may include configuration information of the terminal and hardware information of the terminal. The configuration information may include screen resolution information of the terminal, language information currently used, and layout usage status information of the current terminal, and the hardware information may include information for reporting the type of the terminal to the server. ….”).
With respect to claim 12, ZHANG anticipates wherein the screen parameter comprises at least one of a screen shape, a screen size, or a screen resolution (e.g. Fig. 2, step 208, P19 second paragraph. “The terminal device may obtain device information of the terminal in the process of using, where the device information may include configuration information of the terminal and hardware information of the terminal. The configuration information may include screen resolution information of the terminal, language information currently used, and layout usage status information of the current terminal, and the hardware information may include information for reporting the type of the terminal to the server. ….”).
With respect to claim 13, ZHANG anticipates wherein after the operation of receiving the first installation package sent by the server, the processor is further configured to perform an operation of:
downloading the first installation package, and installing the target application on the electronic device based on the first installation package (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 208-216. P21 last paragraph, “After the terminal performs decompression on obtaining the main installation package and the at least one resource package, the terminal may execute the fast application and display the corresponding page. As shown in Figure 5-B, the phone can display a "hungry" page with a high resolution image, a default vertical screen, and a Chinese locale, as shown in Figure 6-A. The tablet can display the fast application page corresponding to Table 1, displaying high resolution pictures, vertical screen layout status and Chinese language page.”); or
downloading the first installation package, and displaying a service widget of the target application on the electronic device based on the first installation package (e.g. Fig. 2, step 208, P19 second paragraph. “The terminal device may obtain device information of the terminal in the process of using, where the device information may include configuration information of the terminal and hardware information of the terminal. The configuration information may include screen resolution information of the terminal, language information currently used, and layout usage status information of the current terminal, and the hardware information may include information for reporting the type of the terminal to the server. ….”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (WO 2019218952 A1, hereinafter, “ZHANG”, please refer to the attached NPL copy).
With respect to claim 1, ZHANG discloses An application development system comprising (e.g. p13 last paragraph, “Referring to FIG. 1 , FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a system framework of an application scenario according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, where a terminal establishes a communication connection with a server, and the terminal may be a mobile phone, a computer, a television, or a tablet computer. …”):
a first electronic device;
a second electronic device; a third electronic device; and
a server;
wherein the first electronic device is configured to send an original installation package of a target application to the server, and the original installation package of the target application indicates a function corresponding to at least one type of device information and/or a page layout corresponding to at least one type of device information (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 201-202. p16 fifth paragraph to p17 third paragraph. “202. The application development device sends a complete installation package of the fast application to the server.”); wherein the server is configured to: receive the original installation package, of the target application, sent by the first electronic device, and determine at least one target installation package based on the original installation package, wherein the at least one target installation package one-to-one corresponds to the at least one type of device information, and each target installation package has a function and/or a page layout corresponding to one type of device information (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 203-205. P17 fifth paragraph to p18 second paragraph. “The server obtains the complete installation package of the fast application, and can split the complete installation package into a main installation package and at least two resource packages according to resource configuration rules. For example, the complete installation package structure of the fast application as shown in Table 1 is obtained by splitting the server to obtain a plurality of sub-packages. For details, refer to FIG. 3, the fast application complete installation package is obtained by the server according to the resource configuration rule. A main installation package, a high resolution picture resource package, a medium resolution picture resource package, a low resolution picture resource package, a vertical screen page layout resource package, a horizontal screen page layout resource package, a Chinese resource package, and an English resource package, wherein The files included in the main installation package are shown in Figure 4. Since the quick application contains a common resource file, the main installation package includes a common configuration file and a general resource file.”); receive a first download request sent by the second electronic device, wherein the first download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 209. p19 third to fourth paragraphs. “209. The terminal sends a download request message to the server.” Also see step 212. “212. The terminal sends a download target installation package request to the server.”); send a first installation package to the second electronic device, wherein the first installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the second electronic device (e.g. Fig. 2, step 213. P20 last paragraph, “After the server obtains the request message sent by the terminal, the server may send the main installation package and the corresponding at least one resource package to the terminal according to the download address carried in the request message sent by the terminal. As shown in FIG. 7, when the mobile phone in FIG. 5-B requests to download "Hungry", according to the device information of the mobile phone, the server can match the terminal with the "Hungry" main installation package in FIG. 7 and The high-resolution picture resource package, the server can send the main installation package and the high-resolution picture resource package to the terminal according to the download address sent by the terminal. …”); receive a second download request sent by the third electronic device, wherein the second download request is used to request to download an installation package of the target application (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that another or third electronic device may request an installation package corresponding to its device information in the same or similar fashion as the second electronic device.); and send a second installation package to the third electronic device, wherein the second installation package is a target installation package that is in the at least one target installation package and that corresponds to device information of the third electronic device (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the server would send a second installation package corresponding to the device information in the same or similar fashion as to the second electronic device.),
wherein the second electronic device is configured to: send the first download request to the server, and receive the first installation package sent by the server (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 209. p19 third to fourth paragraphs. “209. The terminal sends a download request message to the server.” Also see step 212. “212. The terminal sends a download target installation package request to the server.” Fig. 2, steps 214-215. P21 second to fifth paragraphs, “After receiving the primary installation package and the at least one resource package, the terminal may verify …”), and
wherein the third electronic device is configured to: send the second download request to the server, and receive the second installation package sent by the server (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that another or third electronic device is configured in the same way as the second electronic device. See Fig. 2 steps 209, and 214-215 as cited above.).
With respect to claim 2, ZHANG discloses wherein the first installation package and the second installation package satisfy at least one of the following conditions:
a data amount of the first installation package is different from a data amount of the second installation package;
a package name of the first installation package is different from a package name of the second installation package;
a function file in the first installation package is different from a function file in the second installation package (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 203-205. P17 fifth paragraph to p18 second paragraph. “The server obtains the complete installation package of the fast application, and can split the complete installation package into a main installation package and at least two resource packages according to resource configuration rules. For example, the complete installation package structure of the fast application as shown in Table 1 is obtained by splitting the server to obtain a plurality of sub-packages. For details, refer to FIG. 3, the fast application complete installation package is obtained by the server according to the resource configuration rule. A main installation package, a high resolution picture resource package, a medium resolution picture resource package, a low resolution picture resource package, a vertical screen page layout resource package, a horizontal screen page layout resource package, a Chinese resource package, and an English resource package, wherein The files included in the main installation package are shown in Figure 4. Since the quick application contains a common resource file, the main installation package includes a common configuration file and a general resource file.”); or
a layout file in the first installation package is different from a layout file in the second installation package.
With respect to claim 6, ZHANG discloses wherein the device information comprises at least one of a device type or a screen parameter (e.g. Fig. 2, step 208, P19 second paragraph. “The terminal device may obtain device information of the terminal in the process of using, where the device information may include configuration information of the terminal and hardware information of the terminal. The configuration information may include screen resolution information of the terminal, language information currently used, and layout usage status information of the current terminal, and the hardware information may include information for reporting the type of the terminal to the server. ….”);
With respect to claim 7, ZHANG discloses wherein the second electronic device is further configured to:
after receiving the first installation package sent by the server, download the first installation package, and install the target application on the second electronic device based on the first installation package (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 208-216. P21 last paragraph, “After the terminal performs decompression on obtaining the main installation package and the at least one resource package, the terminal may execute the fast application and display the corresponding page. As shown in Figure 5-B, the phone can display a "hungry" page with a high resolution image, a default vertical screen, and a Chinese locale, as shown in Figure 6-A. The tablet can display the fast application page corresponding to Table 1, displaying high resolution pictures, vertical screen layout status and Chinese language page.”); or
after receiving the first installation package sent by the server, download the first installation package, and display a service widget of the target application on the second electronic device based on the first installation package,
wherein the third electronic device is further configured to:
after receiving the second installation package sent by the server, download the second installation package, and install the target application on the third electronic device based on the second installation package (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that another or third electronic device is configured in the same way as the second electronic device. See Fig. 2, steps 208-216. P21 last paragraph as cited above.); or
after receiving the second installation package sent by the server, download the second installation package, and display a service widget of the target application on the third electronic device based on the second installation package.
With respect to claim 14, it recites similar features as claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason. Note that ZHANG teaches A server comprising:
a memory storing executable instructions; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the executable instructions to perform operations of (e.g. Fig. 21. P42, fourth paragraph from the last, “The present application further provides a server 2100. Referring to FIG. 21, an embodiment of the server in the embodiment of the present application includes: a processor 2101, a memory 2102, an input and output device 2103, and a bus 2104; …”).
With respect to claim 15, it recites same features as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 16, ZHANG discloses wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations of:
receiving the device information of the second electronic device sent by the second electronic device (e.g. Fig. 2, step 208-209. P19 second and third paragraphs, “When the user needs to download the fast application, the user may send a download request message to the server through the terminal, where the download request message includes device information of the terminal. …”);
sending, to the second electronic device, information of an application whose running is supported by the second electronic device (e.g. Fig. 2, step 213. P20 last paragraph, “After the server obtains the request message sent by the terminal, the server may send the main installation package and the corresponding at least one resource package to the terminal according to the download address carried in the request message sent by the terminal. As shown in FIG. 7, when the mobile phone in FIG. 5-B requests to download "Hungry", according to the device information of the mobile phone, the server can match the terminal with the "Hungry" main installation package in FIG. 7 and The high-resolution picture resource package, the server can send the main installation package and the high-resolution picture resource package to the terminal according to the download address sent by the terminal. …”); and
receiving the device information of the third electronic device sent by the third electronic device, and sending, to the third electronic device, information of an application whose running is supported by the third electronic device (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that another or third electronic device is configured in the same way as the second electronic device. The server would interact with the third electronic device in same way. See Fig. 2 steps 208-209, and 213 as cited above.);
With respect to claim 19, it recites same features as claim 6, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 20, ZHANG discloses wherein the screen parameter comprises at least one of a screen shape, a screen size, or a screen resolution (e.g. Fig. 2, step 208, P19 second paragraph. “The terminal device may obtain device information of the terminal in the process of using, where the device information may include configuration information of the terminal and hardware information of the terminal. The configuration information may include screen resolution information of the terminal, language information currently used, and layout usage status information of the current terminal, and the hardware information may include information for reporting the type of the terminal to the server. ….”)
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (WO 2019218952 A1, hereinafter, “ZHANG”, please refer to the attached NPL copy) in view of JIANG et al. (WO 2021118890 A1, hereinafter, “JIANG”, Please refer to the attached NPL copy).
With respect to claim 3, ZHANG discloses The system according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic device is further configured to:
before sending the first download request to the server, send the device information of the second electronic device to the server, and receive information that is sent by the server and that is of an application whose running is supported by the second electronic device; and [display the information of the application whose running is supported by the second electronic device] (e.g. Fig. 2, step 208-209. P19 second and third paragraphs, “When the user needs to download the fast application, the user may send a download request message to the server through the terminal, where the download request message includes device information of the terminal. …” step 211, p20 third paragraph, “After the server integrates the download resource list, the download resource list may be sent to the terminal, where the download resource list carries the download address of the target installation package that the server determines for the terminal that matches the configuration of the terminal. …”),
wherein the third electronic device is further configured to:
before sending the second download request to the server, send the device information of the third electronic device to the server, and receive information that is sent by the server and that is of an application whose running is supported by the third electronic device; and [display the information of the application whose running is supported by the third electronic device] (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that another or third electronic device is configured in the same way as the second electronic device. See Fig. 2 steps 208-209, and 211 as cited above. ), and
wherein the server is further configured to:
receive the device information of the second electronic device sent by the second electronic device, and send, to the second electronic device, the information of the application whose running is supported by the second electronic device (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 209-210. P19 last paragraph, “… here the server may determine, according to the device information of the terminal, the target installation package that matches the hardware of the terminal. …” step 211, p20 third paragraph, “After the server integrates the download resource list, the download resource list may be sent to the terminal, where the download resource list carries the download address of the target installation package that the server determines for the terminal that matches the configuration of the terminal. …”); and receive the device information of the third electronic device sent by the third electronic device, and send, to the third electronic device, the information of the application whose running is supported by the third electronic device. (one of ordinary skill in the art understands that another or third electronic device is configured in the same way as the second electronic device. The server would interact with the third electronic device in same way. See Fig. 2 steps 209-210, and 211 as cited above.);
ZHANG does not appear to explicitly disclose
display the information of the application whose running is supported by the second or the third electronic device.
However, this is taught in analogous art, JIANG (e.g. Fig. 8a, step S802, para [0075], “Step S802: Display a plurality of to-be-selected application fields, application categories, and application identifiers in the graphic interface according to the correspondence data, to receive the application specifying information of the application component.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of ZHANG with the invention of JIANG because it provides techniques for improving development efficiency. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for improving development efficiency as suggested by JIANG (see para [0020]).
With respect to claim 9, it recites similar features as claim 3, and is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 4-5, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (WO 2019218952 A1, hereinafter, “ZHANG”, please refer to the attached NPL copy) in view of Coussemaeker et al. (US 20100251231 A1, hereinafter, “Coussemaeker”).
With respect to claim 4, ZHANG discloses The system according to claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the server is configured to:
split and compile the original installation package based on a syntax notation in the original installation package, to obtain the at least one target installation package.
However, this is taught in analogous art, Coussemaeker (e.g. Fig. 6, steps 610-622. para [0045], “At block 616 the request package may be received at the fulfillment center server 208. …. In another embodiment, the request is qualified to see if the programmable device type is known by the fulfillment center server 208, ...” para [0049], “At block 622, the custom version of the application may be created by compiling the application using the custom makefile or using the preset compiler options developed at block 620. …” wherein the custom makefile suggests splitting the original installation package.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of ZHANG with the invention of Coussemaeker because it provides techniques for maintaining application compatibility over a wide range of execution environments. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing techniques for maintaining application compatibility over a wide range of execution environments as suggested by Coussemaeker (see para [0001-0003]).
With respect to claim 5, ZHANG as modified by Coussemaeker discloses The system according to claim 4, ZHANG further disclose wherein the first installation package comprises a function file corresponding to the device information of the second electronic device and/or a layout file corresponding to the device information of the second electronic device, and the layout file corresponding to the device information of the second electronic device comprises a display resource corresponding to the device information of the second electronic device (e.g. Fig. 2, steps 203-205. P17 fifth paragraph to p18 second paragraph. “The server obtains the complete installation package of the fast application, and can split the complete installation package into a main installation package and at least two resource packages according to resource configuration rules. For example, the complete installation package structure of the fast application as shown in Table 1 is obtained by splitting the server to obtain a plurality of sub-packages. For details, refer to FIG. 3, the fast application complete installation package is obtained by the server according to the resource configuration rule. A main installation package, a high resolution picture resource package, a medium resolution picture resource package, a low resolution picture resource package, a vertical screen page layout resource package, a horizontal screen page layout resource package, a Chinese resource package, and an English resource package, wherein The files included in the main installation package are shown in Figure 4. Since the quick application contains a common resource file, the main installation package includes a common configuration file and a general resource file.” Wherein the resolution picture resource package suggests device information and/or a layout file corresponding to device),
wherein the second installation package comprises a function file corresponding to the device information of the third electronic device and/or a layout file corresponding to the device information of the third electronic device, and the layout file corresponding to the device information of the third electronic device comprises a display resource corresponding to the device information of the third electronic device (see e.g. Fig. 2, steps 203-205, P17 fifth paragraph to p18 second paragraph as cited above).
With respect to claim 17, it recites similar features as claim 4, and is rejected for the same reason.
With respect to claim 18, it recites similar features as claim 5, and is rejected for the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Mun et al., US 20150067669 A1 teaches method for managing application and electronic device thereof.
/ZENGPU WEI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2197