DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2024/0206857; hereinafter Shin).
Shin shows an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus and method (abstract) comprising: a storage unit that stores an image sequence consisting of a plurality of images arranged in time series, which are generated by repetition of transmission and reception of ultrasonic waves ([0099]); a setting unit that sets an evaluation period for the image sequence based on reference information indicating a status of an ultrasonic examination in a case in which a freeze operation is performed ([0069], [0101]); a selection unit that extracts an image group belonging to the evaluation period from the image sequence and evaluates each image constituting the image group to select a recommended image from the image group ([0104]-[0105], [0119]-[0121]); and a display unit that displays the recommended image after the freeze operation ([0104]).
Shin also shows wherein the setting unit includes a first determination unit that determines a past reference time used as a reference in a case of setting the evaluation period, based on all or a part of the reference information (diastolic period, [0074]; preset period, [0077]; reference range, [0081]), and a second determination unit that determines a time width that is a size of the evaluation period, based on all or a part of the reference information (preset period, [0077]; reference range, [0081], [0146]); wherein the reference information includes at least one of information for specifying a type of the image sequence, information for specifying an examiner, or information for specifying a type of the freeze operation (retrospective/prospective image range, [0072]; heart ultrasound, [0074]); wherein the reference information is first reference information, and the selection unit evaluates each image constituting the image group based on second reference information indicating the status of the ultrasonic examination ([0085]); wherein the second reference information includes at least one of information for specifying a type of the image sequence or information for specifying an examiner (retrospective/prospective image range, [0072]; heart ultrasound, [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2024/0206857; hereinafter Shin) and Kibe (US 2023/0293151).
Shin discloses the invention substantially as described in the 102 rejection above.
Shin fails to show a generation unit that generates a guide image including a first display element indicating the evaluation period and a second display element indicating a time point corresponding to the recommended image, wherein the recommended image and the guide image are displayed on the display unit.
Kibe discloses an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus. Kibe teaches a generation unit that generates a guide image including a first display element indicating the evaluation period and a second display element indicating a time point corresponding to the recommended image, wherein the recommended image and the guide image are displayed on the display unit ([0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0080]; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Shin to display an evaluation period and time point corresponding to a recommended image as taught Kibe, in order to provide the user with additional context regarding a specific timepoint at which the image is stable such as an end diastolic time point, to thereby improve the accuracy of the diagnosis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen (US 2016/0081663) discloses methods and systems for automated detection and measurement of a target structure including a freeze operation and recommended image (abstract);
Chiang (US 2021/0015456) discloses methods and systems for ultrasound monitoring (abstract);
Matsumura (US 2008/0269606) discloses methods for displaying elastic images in an ultrasound system, including various display formats (abstract, Fig. 15);
Oonuki (US 2006/0241449) discloses methods and systems for diagnostic ultrasound, including various display formats including time information ([0058], [0096] Fig. 9).
/JONATHAN CWERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797