Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN110008879) in view of Chauhan et al. (US2024/0412379) and Zhang et al. (CN115359530).
To claim 1, Wang teach a fatigue detection system (Figs. 2, 5-6), comprising:
an image sensor configured to capture at least one facial image of a driver (paragraph 0028);
a voice sensor configured to collect a voice of the driver (paragraph 0028);
a memory configured to store the at least one facial image and the voice; a database configured to store at least one music file, and each of the at least one music file comprises at least one music feature (paragraph 0108, obviously stored locally); and
a processor coupled to the image sensor, the voice sensor, the memory, and the database, the processor configured to extract at least one micro-expression feature from the at least one facial image (paragraph 0030), and establish a fatigue detection model based on the at least one micro-expression feature, and utilize the fatigue detection model to obtain a fatigue detection result of the driver (paragraphs 0031-0036),
wherein the processor is further configured to extract at least one fatigue feature from the at least one facial image based on the fatigue detection result, and utilize a cross modal retrieval algorithm to match the at least one fatigue feature with the at least one music feature to obtain the at least one music file corresponding to the at least one matched music feature (paragraphs 0038, 0073, 0090, 0099),
wherein the processor is further configured to utilize a voice detection algorithm to identify the voice to obtain a voice recognition result of the driver (paragraph 0080, speech recognition),
wherein the processor is further configured to determine a mental state of the driver based on the fatigue detection result and the voice recognition result (paragraph 0080), and
wherein the processor is further configured to control a music player to play the at least one music file based on the mental state of the driver (paragraph 0081).
But, Wang do not expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to process the at least one facial image by utilizing a generative adversarial network model to generate at least one super-resolution facial image, and wherein the processor is further configured to extract the at least one micro-expression feature from the at least one facial image and the at least one super-resolution facial image.
Chauhan teach processing the at least one facial image by utilizing a generative adversarial network model to generate at least one super-resolution facial image (paragraph 0042, Enhanced Super-Resolution Generative Adversarial Network), which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the apparatus and method of Wang, in order to enhance image.
Zhang teach extracting micro-expression features by fusing features extracted from both low-resolution image and high-resolution/super-resolution image, to improve both recognition efficiency and accuracy of facial micro expression recognition (paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Chauhan and Zhang into the system of Wang, in order to improve both recognition efficiency and accuracy of facial micro expression recognition.
To claim 6, Wang, Chauhan and Zhang teach claim a fatigue detection method (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claims 2 and 7, Wang, Chauhan and Zhang teach claims 1 and 6.
Wang teach wherein the processor is further configured to identify at least one facial region in the at least one facial image by utilizing a face detection algorithm (paragraph 0012).
To claims 3 and 8, Wang, Chauhan and Zhang teach claims 2 and 7.
Wang teach wherein the processor is further configured to utilize a micro-expression feature extraction algorithm to extract the at least one micro-expression feature in the at least one facial region (paragraphs 0006, 0030).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 August 20, 2026