DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the arguments, on pages 6-8, regarding Claims 1-4, 9-13 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1), Applicant argues that with incorporation of cancelled claims 9 and 16 into independent claims 1 and 10, Berke fails to disclose “electrically connecting a third IC to the second adaption board, wherein a third connection mechanism between the third IC and the circuit board is different from the first connection mechanism and the second connection mechanism.” Specifically, Applicant quotes paragraph [0016] of Berke and asserts that because the memory modules inserted into riser card 162 (second IC) and riser card 164 (third IC) in Fig. 2 are both DDR3 DIMMs, they have identical connection mechanisms.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. During examination, claims are given their Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) consistent with the Specification (MPEP 2111). Applicant’s instant Specification explicitly states that ICs with different connection mechanisms can “have the same number of pins and the same pin distribution positions, but the pins in the same position receive different signals”; [0016]. Furthermore, claims 1 and 10 recite “a third connection mechanism between the third IC and the circuit board” and do not require the second IC and third IC to be different memory generations. In the system of Fig. 2 of Berke, the first IC, DDR4 SDRAM DIMMs 198 and 200, is electrically connected directly to the circuit board, system memory 114, via native 284-pin DDR4 sockets 186 and 188, first connection mechanism; [0015], [0018], and Fig. 2. The second IC, DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs 170 and 172 is electrically connected to the system memory 114 via the first adaption board, memory riser card 162, inserted into DIMM socket 158, second connection mechanism; [0016] and Fig. 2. The third IC, DDR3 DIMMs, is electrically connected to the system memory 114 via a separate second adaption board, memory riser card 164, inserted into a separate DIMM socket 160, third connection mechanism; [0016] and Fig. 2. Because the third IC, DDR3 DIMMs on memory riser card 164, connects to the system memory 114 through a structurally separate second adaption board and a separate motherboard socket receiving distinct address, chip-select, and channel signals ([0015]-[0018], TABLE 1, and Fig. 2), the connection mechanism between the third IC and the circuit board is different from both the first connection mechanism and the second connection mechanism.
Furthermore, Berke explicitly discloses that the riser cards and DIMMs in Fig. 2 accommodate “different standards such as… DDR2 DIMM standards” as week as “Very Low Profile (VLP) DIMMS which have a height of approximately 18 mm as opposed to the more common Low Profile (LP) DIMMs which have a height of approximately 30 mm”; [0016]-[0017] and Fig. 2, which utilize different physical heights, planar spacing, and signaling characteristics. Berke expressly teaches in paragraphs [0019]-[0020] that the riser cards “permit a plurality of mixed configurations” where “all possible arrangements of channels, numbers of DIMM sockets on the motherboard, number of riser cards, and number of DIMMs on the riser card are permitted.” Therefore, Berke anticipates claims 1 and 10 under U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Because dependent claims 2-4 and 11-13 were argued solely based on their dependency from claims 1 and 10, the rejections of claims 1-4 and 10-13 are maintained.
With respect to the arguments, on pages 8 and 9, regarding Claims 5, 6, 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Berke in view of Ramon and Claims 7 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Berke in view of Almendarez, Applicant asserts that US 6,351,827 is directed to “Co” rather than “Ramon” or “Almendarez” and requests the correct citation numbers for the rejections of claims 5-8, 14, and 15.
Examiner clarifies the citations as follows:
For claims 5, 6, 14, and 15, US 6,351,827 B1 is the exact reference relied upon and quoted in the previous Office Action. The inventor’s full name on US 6,351,827 B1 is “Ramon S. Co”. The rejection above has been updated to refer to Co et al. (hereinafter, “Co”; US 6351827).
For claims 7 and 8, Almendarez is US 2021/0286003 A1, which was properly cited in Form PTO-892 accompanying the previous Office Action and quoted by paragraph number in the rejection of claims 7 and 8. The typographical error in the previous heading repeating US 6,351,827 B1 has been corrected above to recite Almendarez (US 2021/0286003).
Because Applicant did not contest the substantive teachings of Co or Almendarez, the rejections of claims 5-8, 14, and 15 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berke et al. (hereinafter, “Berke”, US 2013/0054949).
With regards to claim 1, Berke teaches an IC test method, comprising:
electrically connecting a circuit board to a first IC; generating a first test signal to test the first IC (connecting a motherboard (system memory 114) to “DDR4 SDRAM DIMMs 198 and 200” (the first IC); [0018]) and performing "memory initialization" and "training" (generating test signals) via the BIOS and memory controller 150; [0033]);
electrically connecting the circuit board to a first adaption board, and electrically connecting a second IC to the first adaption board, wherein a first connection mechanism between the first IC and the circuit board and a second connection mechanism between the second IC and the circuit board are different (connecting the motherboard to a "memory riser card 162" (the first adaption board) inserted into DIMM socket 158 and "DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs 170 and 172" (the second IC) inserted into sockets 166 and 168;[0016]; Fig, 2; where the mechanisms differ by pin count (284 vs 240) and standard (DDR4 vs DDR3); [0016]);
and generating a second test signal to test the second IC by the control IC (the memory controller 150 performing "DRAM training" specifically for the DDR3 DIMMs behind the memory buffer; [0033], [0034]);
wherein the IC test method further comprises: electrically connecting the circuit board to a second adaption board, and electrically connecting a third IC to the second adaption board (memory riser card 164 (second adaption board) inserted into DIMM socket 160 and “DDR3 DIMMs” (the third IC) inserted therein; [0016]-[0017]; Fig. 2),
wherein a third connection mechanism between the third IC and the circuit board is different from the first connection mechanism and the second connection mechanism (riser cards can accommodate “different standards such as… DDR2 DIMM standards” or “Very Low Profile (VLP) DIMMs” which utilize different physical height and signaling than standard DDR3/DDR4; [0016]-[0018]; Fig. 2) and
testing the third IC by the control IC (the memory controller 150 initializes all modules across all populated channels; [0018], [0020]).
With regards to claims 2 and 11, Berke teaches the IC test method of claim 1. Berke further teaches wherein a data output rate of the first IC is higher than a data output rate of the second IC (“DDR4 SDRAM DIMMs 198 and 200” (the first IC) operating at "2133 MT/s" and DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs 170 and 172 (the second IC)/riser configurations operating at "1600 MT/s"; [0018]; [0019]; TABLE 1).
With regards to claims 3 and 12, Berke teaches the IC test method of claim 1. Berke further teaches wherein the first IC is a DDR4 and the second IC is a DDR3 (the native board modules are "DDR4-based"; [0018], [0021]; and the riser-based modules on memory riser card 162 are "DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs 170 and 172"; [0016], [0022]).
With regards to claims 4 and 13, Berke teaches the IC test method of claim 1. Berke further teaches wherein the first IC and the second IC are ICs with an identical type (Berke specifies that in a "DDR4-based IHS, the DIMM sockets on riser card 250 may also conform to the proposed DDR4 standards"; [0028]. Therefore, the motherboard natively supports DDR4 (first IC) and the riser card in this embodiment also supports DDR4 (second IC)).
With regards to claim 10, Berke teaches an IC test system ("information handling system (IHS)" ([0002])), comprising:
a circuit board, which can electrically connect to a first IC (a motherboard ("system memory 114") with "DDR4 SDRAM DIMM sockets 186, 188, 190"; [0015], [0018]; Fig. 2; configured to electrically connect to "DDR4 SDRAM DIMMs 198 and 200" (the first IC); [0018]);
a first adaption board, which can electrically connect to the circuit board and a second IC (a "memory riser card 162" (the first adaption board) configured to be "inserted into DIMM socket 158" (the circuit board); [0016]). The riser card includes sockets (166, 168) that electrically connect to "DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs 170 and 172" (the second IC) [0016]),
wherein a first connection mechanism between the first IC and the circuit board and a second connection mechanism between the second IC and the circuit board are different (the first connection (DDR4) uses a "284-pin standard" and the second connection (DDR3) uses a "240-pin standard"; [0016]);
and a control IC, which can test the first IC via the circuit board and test the second IC via the first adaption board (the memory controller 150 performing "DRAM training" specifically for the DDR4 SDRAM DIMMs; [0018], [0019]; and DDR3 DIMMs behind the memory buffer; [0033], [0034]);
wherein the IC test system further comprises: a second adaption board, which can electrically connect to the circuit board and a third IC (a memory riser card 164 (second adaption board) and a third memory module inserted therein; [0016], [0017]; Fig. 2),
wherein a third connection mechanism between the third IC and the circuit board is different from the first connection mechanism and the second connection mechanism (riser cards can accommodate “different standards such as… DDR2 DIMM standards” or a shorter-height riser card 180 and “Very Low Profile (VLP) DIMMs” which utilize different physical height and signaling than standard DDR3/DDR4; [0016]-[0018]; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berke et al. (hereinafter, “Berke”, US 2013/0054949) in view of Co et al. (hereinafter, “Co”; US 6351827).
With regards to claims 5 and 14, Berke teaches the IC test method of claim 1. Berke further teaches wherein a number of at least one first pin of the first IC is different from a number of at least one second pin of the second IC (DDR4 SDRAM DIMMs 198 and 200 having a "284-pin count" and DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs 170 and 172 having a "240-pin count"; [0015], [0016], [0018]),
and the second IC is electrically connected to the first adaption board via the second pin (the DDR3 SDRAM DIMMs 170 and 172 are inserted into the sockets 166 and 168 on the memory riser card 162 (first adaption board); [0016], [0021]; Fig. 2).
Berke does not teach wherein the first IC is electrically connected to the first adaption board via the first pin.
However, Co teaches wherein the first IC is electrically connected to the first adaption board via the first pin ("Test socket 51 on one surface of test adapter board 50 mates with connectors on SIMM/DIMM memory module 18, the module-under test"; Col. 5, lines 22-24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Berke to incorporate the teachings of Co wherein the first IC is electrically connected to the first adaption board via the first pin to achieve "easy access to SIMM/DIMM test socket 51" and to ensure that a "robotic arm would be able to insert and remove memory modules" without the "obstruction of cables 48 and expansion cards 46" (Col. 5, lines 15-22; Co).
With regards to claims 6 and 15, Berke teaches the IC test method of claim 1. Berke does not teach wherein a first resistance value, a first capacitance value and a first inductance value of the first adaption board are lower than a second resistance value, a second capacitance value and a second inductance value of the circuit board.
However, Co teaches wherein the first resistance value, first capacitance value and first inductance value of the first adaption board are lower than the values of the circuit board (the adaptor board is "mounted close" to the motherboard with "short electrical connections" to "minimize added loading on the PC's memory bus" and "minimize signal discontinuity"; Col. 3, lines 61-62; Col. 5, lines 46-51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adaption board of Berke to incorporate the short traces and close-mounting taught by Co wherein a first resistance value, a first capacitance value and a first inductance value of the first adaption board are lower than a second resistance value, a second capacitance value and a second inductance value of the circuit board to facilitate high-speed testing and prevent signal degradation on the memory bus using routine engineering practices.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berke et al. (hereinafter, “Berke”, US 2013/0054949) in view of Almendarez (US 2021/0286003).
With regards to claim 7, Berke teaches the IC test method of claim 1. Berke does not teach first comprising: computing a first resistance value, a first capacitance value or a first inductance value of the first adaption board; and generating at least one reference control parameter of the second IC according to the first resistance value, the first capacitance value or the first inductance value by a control IC.
However, Almendarez teaches first comprising: computing a first resistance value, a first capacitance value or a first inductance value of the first adaption board; and generating at least one reference control parameter of the second IC according to the first resistance value, the first capacitance value or the first inductance value by a control IC (a test controller (control IC) automatically evaluates electrical parameters of a signal path and generates reference data; [0008], [0013]. Specifically, Almendarez teaches a signal processing apparatus operable to "evaluate a parameter associated with each signal" to produce a "final ATE test program"; [0005], [0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Berke to incorporate the automated evaluation logic of Almendarez wherein first comprising: computing a first resistance value, a first capacitance value or a first inductance value of the first adaption board; and generating at least one reference control parameter of the second IC according to the first resistance value, the first capacitance value or the first inductance value by a control IC to provide the customer with a "data record that can be more closely, or computationally, analyzed" ([0026] Almendarez) to ensure high-speed signal integrity across different hardware interfaces.
With regards to claim 8, Berke teaches the IC test method of claim 1. Berke does not teach further comprising: computing a signal offset caused by the first adaption board; and generating at least one reference control parameter of the second IC according to the signal offset by a control IC.
However, Almendarez teaches further comprising: computing a signal offset caused by the first adaption board; and generating at least one reference control parameter of the second IC according to the signal offset by a control IC (computing a signal offset caused by an intermediate board ("interposer 126") and generating reference parameters accordingly. Almendarez teaches that the system measures differences in signals to identify "short-duration spikes (e.g., microseconds or nanoseconds)" which are the functional equivalent of timing or voltage offsets; [0006]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Berke to include the signal offset computation of Almendarez wherein further comprising: computing a signal offset caused by the first adaption board; and generating at least one reference control parameter of the second IC according to the signal offset by a control IC to "improve on certain of the above concepts" regarding signal spikes and "laborious, time-consuming" manual testing ([0006]-[0007] Almendarez), thereby allowing the control IC to automatically derive optimized reference parameters for the customer based on the specific signal offsets introduced by the adaption board.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSAMAH MURSHED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/STEVEN L YENINAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858