DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to application 18/817243 filed on 08/28/2024. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/04/2024 has been acknowledged and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “user interface service module” and “streaming output service module” in claims 1-3, 7.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, claim 1 recites “a user interface service module configured to control…” and “a streaming output service module configured to encode…” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Regarding claim 1, the “user interface service module” and “streaming output service module” are considered specialized functions, such that the “user interface service module” and “streaming output service module” must disclose the corresponding structure to perform the entire claimed function and an algorithm for the claimed “control one or more image elements…” and “encode the live video output.” However, the “user interface service module” and “streaming output service module” are shown as a “blank boxes” in figure 1B. The written description does not disclose any structure that actually performs the entire claimed function and that the structure is clearly linked to the functions. The specification merely states that the “user interface service module” is responsible for controlling one or more image elements (Applicant’s PGPub, Paragraph 17) and that the “streaming output service module” is responsible for encoding live output video (Applicant’s PGPUB, Paragraph 17). To show an algorithm, it is required to disclose at least two steps, which applicant’s specification does not. Therefore, the written description is deficient. Claims 2, 3, 7 also have the same deficiencies.
Per Federal Register [Vol. 76, No 27, Weds. Feb 9, 2011] guidance, pg. 7167:
The following is a list of non-structural terms that may invoke § 112, ¶6: "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for." This list is not exhaustive and other non-structural terms may invoke § 112, ¶6
Claims 1-3, 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Specifically, claim 1 recites “a user interface service module configured to control…” and “a streaming output service module configured to encode…” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Regarding claim 1, the “user interface service module” and “streaming output service module” are considered specialized functions, such that the “user interface service module” and “streaming output service module” must disclose the corresponding structure to perform the entire claimed function and an algorithm for the claimed “control one or more image elements…” and “encode the live video output.” However, the “user interface service module” and “streaming output service module” are shown as a “blank boxes” in figure 1B. The written description does not disclose any structure that actually performs the entire claimed function and that the structure is clearly linked to the functions. The specification merely states that the “user interface service module” is responsible for controlling one or more image elements (Applicant’s PGPub, Paragraph 17) and that the “streaming output service module” is responsible for encoding live output video (Applicant’s PGPUB, Paragraph 17). To show an algorithm, it is required to disclose at least two steps, which applicant’s specification does not. Therefore, the written description is deficient. Claims 2, 3, 7 also have the same deficiencies. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
If applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. SEE ALSO MPEP 2181: Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is the structure, material or act described in the specification as performing the entire claimed function and equivalents to the disclosed structure, material or act. As a result, section 112(f) or pre-AIA section 112, sixth paragraph, limitations will, in some cases, be afforded a more narrow interpretation than a limitation that is not crafted in "means plus function" format.
To overcome this rejection, applicant is encouraged to amend claim 1 with substance equivalent to:
1. A multi-platform live streaming device, comprising:
a processor in communication with a memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor, provide:
a user interface service module…
a streaming output service module…
wherein the screen layout…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazar et al. (US 2020/0344498) in view of Hussain et al. (US 2019/0261025).
Regarding claim 1, Lazar disclosed:
A multi-platform live streaming device, comprising: a user interface service module (Figure 6, director user interface 310) configured to control one or more image elements (Figure 6, representations) based on a user interface setting (Paragraph 154, scene subregion selections), thereby determining screen layouts of a local monitoring video (Figure 6, layout selector 352) and a live output video (Figure 8, live monitor region 390) respectively (Paragraph 79, live media streaming system that includes multiple participant computing devices (i.e., multi-platform). Paragraphs 151-152, representations are images or video that can be selected for inclusion into the broadcast. Paragraph 154, layout selector 352 provides the director with options as to how a scene region 354 is to be subdivided into scene subregions such as full, two equal subregions, three equal subregions, etc.); and
encode the live output video to generate live streaming media and streaming the live streaming media simultaneously to multiple live streaming platforms (Paragraph 90, streaming the video to various downstream users. Paragraph 130, director computing device receives multiple incoming media streams and the video and audio is encoded using WebRTC compatible VP8 codec and Opus audio codec);
wherein the screen layout of the local monitoring video can differ from that of the live output video (Paragraph 179, Figure 8, the director user interface 310 showing all the different regions of control for the audio/video streams, where the live video monitor region only shows the selected representations).
While Lazar disclosed encoding the video (see above), the encoding is done by the users and not the director user interface. Lazar did not explicitly disclose a streaming output service module configured to encode the live output video to generate live streaming media and streaming the live streaming media simultaneously to multiple live streaming platforms.
However, in an analogous art, Hussain disclosed a streaming output service module configured to encode the live output video to generate live streaming media and streaming the live streaming media simultaneously to multiple live streaming platforms (Paragraph 47, 66, Figure 1A, the local broadcast software encodes a graphical overlay using video encoder 190 before it is sent to a multistream service. Paragraph 78, the video file is re-encoded to optimize it for individual streaming services).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lazar with Hussain because the references involve multistreaming, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the streaming output service module of Hussain with the teachings of Lazar in order to configure and optimize streaming protocols (Hussain, Paragraph 69).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 2, 9, the limitations of claims 1, 8, have been addressed. Lazar and Hussain disclosed:
wherein while the streaming output service module is streaming the live streaming media to the multiple live streaming platforms (Hussain, Paragraph 47, 66, Figure 1A, the local broadcast software encodes a graphical overlay using video encoder 190 before it is sent to a multistream service), the user interface service module is configured to adjust the screen layout of the live output video based on a modified user interface setting (Lazar, Paragraph 154, layout selector 352 provides the director with options as to how a scene region 354 is to be subdivided into scene subregions such as full, two equal subregions, three equal subregions. Paragraph 165, a media stream is selected for inclusion in the upper left quadrant of a four quadrant scene layout (as shown in Figure 7)).
For motivation, please refer to claim 1.
Regarding claims 3, 10, the limitations of claims 1, 8, have been addressed. Lazar and Hussain disclosed:
wherein the user interface service module is configured to determine and control transparency, position, size, and/or Z-axis position of the one or more image elements based on the user interface setting (Lazar, Paragraph 165, a media stream is selected for inclusion in the upper left quadrant (i.e., position) of a four quadrant scene layout (as shown in Figure 7)).
Regarding claims 4, 11, the limitations of claims 1, 8, have been addressed. Lazar and Hussain disclosed:
wherein the one or more image elements are utilized to display one or more of a timer user interface, a network connection status user interface, a status information user interface, a cursor or a pointer of a controller, a captured video or image outputted by an image capturing device (Lazar, Paragraph 152, lineup region 330 provides director with a mechanism for listing representations 332 of video of participants whose media streams have been selected by the director from the feed pool region 320 for mixing into a broadcast), and a base video or image outputted by a video source.
Regarding claims 6, 13, the limitations of claims 1, 8, have been addressed. Lazar and Hussain disclosed:
further comprising: a composer, configured to render graphics corresponding to different image elements, generate the local monitoring video based on a portion or all of the rendered graphics and generate the live output video based on a portion or all of the rendered graphics (Lazar, Paragraph 115, Figure 4, server system 200 includes a full WebRTC server side implementation using a WebRTC gateway 232 to handle publishing of incoming streams that have been transcoded in order to broadcast the streams).
Regarding claims 7, 14, the limitations of claims 1, 8, have been addressed. Lazar and Hussain disclosed:
wherein the streaming output service module is configured to change a bit rate corresponding to the live streaming media based on a network connection status between the live streaming device and one of the multiple live streaming platforms (Lazar, Paragraph 90, the system forms multiple copies of a particular digital video, each encoded with a respective bitrate to facilitate streaming of the same digital video to various down stream users who may have different time varying capacities to stream through adaptive bitrate streaming).
Claims 5, 12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazar et al. (US 2020/0344498) in view of Hussain et al. (US 2019/0261025) and Li et al. (US 2019/0281327).
Regarding claims 5, 12, the limitations of claims 4, 11, have been addressed. Lazar and Hussain disclosed:
wherein the one or more image elements are utilized to display the captured video or image (Lazar, Paragraph 152, lineup region 330 provides director with a mechanism for listing representations 332 of video of participants whose media streams have been selected by the director from the feed pool region 320 for mixing into a broadcast).
Lazar and Hussain did not explicitly disclose a quick response code (QR code) associated with a live streaming/broadcasting event that the live output video corresponds to.
However, in an analogous art, Li disclosed a quick response code (QR code) associated with a live streaming/broadcasting event that the live output video corresponds to (Paragraph 134, after sharing live streaming is selected, a QR code is outputted on the video live stream client in order to obtain pre-protocol information by scanning the QR code. After the verification process is completed, a connection request is made in order to start the live stream room).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Lazar and Hussain with Li because the references involve live streaming, and as such, are within the same environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the QR code of Li with the teachings of Lazar and Hussain in order to improve the efficiency of live streaming and improves the user experience (Li, Paragraph 50).
Conclusion
/S.C.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2451
/Soe Hlaing/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451