Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the respective rectifiers" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0316438 (Crewson) in view of US 2003/0099122 (Cho).
For claim 1, Crewson figure 1 teaches a high power (HP) generator (power modulator 1) configured to deliver a pulsed high power with a high voltage value and/or a high current value (see, e.g., figure 2) to a capacitive load (40), the HP generator comprising:
a plurality of low power (LP) generators (22),
each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (see, e.g., figure 3, 52),
wherein, during operation, the respective energy storage component is charged to a respective predefined value related to the respective energy storage component, the predefined value being a voltage of a capacitor or a current of an inductor (see, e.g., para [0055], “…each switched pulse generator section 22 is based on a 94 .mu.F capacitor charged to 1 kV by the power supply arrangement.”),
each respective LP generator configured to supply, during operation, at an output thereof a respective LP-generator output, which corresponds to the respective predefined value of the energy storage component incorporated in the respective LP generator (figure 4A, each capacitor can generate a VB so when they are added together, they can create a larger voltage, VA),
a coupling (see, e.g., figure 3, where 24 controls the connection of its energy storage units to the output through switches 53) in which the plurality of LP generators is electrically connected such that a coupling-value at an output of the coupling, which corresponds to an output of the HP generator, is obtainable, wherein the coupling-value is a voltage, a current, or a power, and wherein, during operation, the coupling-value is higher than the LP-generator output at the output of one of the plurality of LP generators (see, e.g., figure 4A, para [0040] “ In FIG. 4A, a regular pattern of two pulses of amplitude VB and one pulse of amplitude VA is achieved by turning on the switched pulse generator section 22B two times in a row and then the switched pulse generator section 22A one time and repeating that operation.” ), and
a control unit (switch control 24) configured to select a respective power contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators to the output of the HP generator during power delivery of the HP generator, in order to generate a rise and/or a decay of a pulse at the output of the coupling (see, e.g., figure 10A),
wherein a charging energy for each respective energy storage component of the plurality of LP generators is supplied (performed by power supply 12).
However, Crewson does not explicitly teach how to implement its power supply 12.
Nevertheless, Cho figures 28 and 29 teach a power supply that comprises a charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer (29t) with a primary winding (left side) and a secondary winding (right side) for each respective LP generator, the HP generator further comprising an inverter connected to the primary windings, the inverter comprising a full-bridge circuit (272) and a buck converter (260).
Given Cho, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the power supply 12 in Crewson with a transformer, full-bridge circuit, and buck converter for the purpose of lowering the DC voltage while converting the DC voltage to an AC voltage.
For claim 2, Crewson figure 1 teaches a high power (HP) generator (power modulator 1) configured to deliver a pulsed high power with a high voltage value-and/or a high current value (see, e.g., figure 2) to a capacitive load (load 40), the HP generator comprising:
a plurality of low power (LP) generators (22), each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (see, e.g., figure 3, 52), wherein, during operation, the respective energy storage component is charged to a respective predefined value related to the respective energy storage component, the predefined value being a voltage of a capacitor or a current of an inductor (see, e.g., para [0055], “…each switched pulse generator section 22 is based on a 94 .mu.F capacitor charged to 1 kV by the power supply arrangement.”),
each respective LP generator configured to supply, during operation, at an output thereof a respective LP-generator-value output which corresponds to the respective predefined value of the respective energy storage component incorporated in the respective LP generator, a coupling in which the plurality of LP generators is electrically connected such that a coupling-value (see, e.g., figure 3, where 24 controls the connection of its energy storage units to the output through switches 53) at an output of the coupling, which corresponds to an output value at an output of the HP generator, is obtainable, wherein the coupling-value is a voltage, a current, or a power, and wherein, during operation, the coupling-value is higher than the LP-generator output at the output of one of the plurality of LP generators (see, e.g., figure 4A, para [0040] “In FIG. 4A, a regular pattern of two pulses of amplitude VB and one pulse of amplitude VA is achieved by turning on the switched pulse generator section 22B two times in a row and then the switched pulse generator section 22A one time and repeating that operation.”), and
a control unit (switch control 24) configured to select a respective power contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators to the value of the HP generator during power delivery of the HP generator, in order to generate a rise and/or a decay of a pulse at the output of the coupling (see, e.g., figure 10A),
However, Crewson does not explicitly teach how to implement its power supply 12.
Nevertheless, Cho figures 28 and 29 teach a power supply that comprises a charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer (29t) with a primary winding (left side) and a secondary winding (right side) for each respective LP generator, the HP generator further comprising an inverter connected to the primary windings, the inverter comprising a full-bridge circuit (272) and a buck converter (260).
Given Cho, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the power supply 12 in Crewson with a transformer, full-bridge circuit, and buck converter for the purpose of lowering the DC voltage while converting the DC voltage to an AC voltage.
For claim 3, Crewson further teaches the control unit is further configured to select the respective power contribution of the plurality of LP generators in a way that one or a combination of following features is accomplished:
the output of the coupling and/or the output of the HP generator is a step-function, (see, e.g., para [0055], “Each switched pulse generator section 22 can therefore in the present embodiment contribute 8.75 J in each discharging step, which in the present embodiment is 15 .mu.s long.”), at a rising edge and/or a falling edge of a pulse, and/or during the pulse, the plurality of LP generators is activated sequentially during the pulse, the plurality of LP generators is connected by switching only (see, e.g., para [0040]).
However, Crewson does not teach its amplitude step to be less than 1 kV. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the step less than 1kV, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
For claim 4, Crewson further teaches more than four LP generators of the plurality of LP generators (figure 1 shows six 22s) are electrically connected in the coupling, wherein in particular at least 6, in particular 10 or more, preferably 15 or more LP generators are coupled in one coupling, and/or wherein a number of LP generators electrically connected in the coupling is high enough to form at the output of the coupling (output is the summation of the 22s that are turned on by the controller):
pulses with a voltage rise and/or a voltage fall with values equal to or higher than a sum of the LP-generator-values-outputs of the plurality of LP generators, and a step-line pulse shape, wherein a value of a step is equal to or higher than the LP-generator output(s) of one or more of the LP generators (see, e.g., figure 10A).
For claim 5, Crewson further teaches a balancing circuit (figure 3, diode 57), the balancing circuit comprising a component allowing a current to flow in one direction only (diodes allow current to only flow in one direction).
For claim 8, Crewson further teaches the control unit is configured to select the respective power contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a sequenced way through the plurality of LP generators, wherein each pulse sequence begins on a different LP generator (see, e.g., figures 10-10c, para [0058]).
For claim 9, Crewson further teaches the control unit comprises switching units (53).
However, Crewson does not teach the parameters/tolerances of its IGBTs. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the IGBTs have a current rise capability of at least 10 A/µs, and/or having a capability of withstanding a voltage of at least 0.5 kV with voltage rise and fall rates of at least 15 kV/µs, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine sill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
For claim 10, Crewson further teaches the control unit is configured to select the respective power contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a way to reduce voltage overshoots at the output of the HP generator and/or at a dedicated location on the capacitive load (see, e.g., para [0058]).
For claim 11, Crewson further teaches at least one LP generator comprises an LP-generator-value-output limiting circuit (55).
For claim 13, Crewson further teaches a capacitance is provided in parallel to a switching unit (see figure 3, see also para [0033]).
For claim 14, Crewson does not explicitly teach how to implement its power supply 12.
Nevertheless, Cho figures 28 and 29 teach a power supply that comprises a charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer (29t) with a primary winding (left side) and a secondary winding (right side) for each respective LP generator, the HP generator further comprising an inverter connected to the primary windings, the inverter comprising a full-bridge circuit (272) and a buck converter (260).
Given Cho, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the power supply 12 in Crewson with a transformer, full-bridge circuit, and buck converter for the purpose of lowering the DC voltage while converting the DC voltage to an AC voltage.
For claim 15, Crewson teaches a method of supplying a plasma process with high power pulses having varying amplitudes provided by a high power (HP) generator (power modulator 1), the HP generator comprising a plurality of low power (LP) generators (switched pulse generator sections 22) electrically connected in a coupling, each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (storage 51), the method comprising:
continuously charging the respective energy storage component of each respective LP generator of the plurality of generators over a transformer to a respective predefined value (see, e.g., para [0048]), the predefined value being a voltage of a capacitor (energy storage 51 is a capacitor) or a current of an inductor selectively coupling outputs values-of at least some of the plurality of LP generators to obtain a desired output value-of the HP generator corresponding to a pulse having a desired amplitude, by controlling the plurality of LP generators (see, e.g., figure 2, 24 operates the 22s such that the summation of the selected 22s reach the desired voltage level).
For claim 16, Cho further teaches transforming and the rectifying its voltages (see, e.g., para [0095]).
For claim 17, Crewson further teaches each LP generator is connected to a respective switching unit (the switches that are controlled by 24).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crewson in view of Cho as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0323576 (Crawford).
For claim 6, Crewson does not explicitly teach using damping circuits.
Nevertheless, Crawford teaches the use of damping circuits (see, e.g., figure 3, para [0002] and [0077] – [0086]).
Given Crawford, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to implement a damping circuit for each LP generator for the purpose of compensating for the parasitic resonance that becomes larger as the output current from the switched pulse generators.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crewson in view of Cho as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 5,905,646 (Rolf).
For claim 7, Crewson does not explicitly teach using liquid to cool off its circuitry.
Nevertheless, Rolf teaches cooling its circuity by immersing it in oil (see, e.g, column 14, line 14 “Main parts of the system… are immersed in oil for isolating and cooling the system.”).
Given Rolf, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have parts of Crewson liquid cooled for the purpose of improving longevity and performance of the circuits.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crewson in view of Cho as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2024/0048056 (Miller).
For claim 12, Crewson does not explicitly teach having its control unit configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way.
Nevertheless, Miller teaches having its control unit configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way (see, e.g., para [0137], “In some embodiments, a system can include a pulse generator that is galvanically isolated”).
Given Miller, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to select Crewson’s 22s in a galvanically isolated way for the purpose allowing the use of two different voltage domains.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). The wherein clauses (except the last one) have changed the scope of the claim since the claim now requires "charging energy for each respective energy storage component" and "wherein each secondary winding is connected to a respective rectifier". Before all that was required was a single secondary winding connected to a single rectifier and now a plurality of secondary windings each connected to a respective rectifier of a plurality of rectifiers.
/ADAM D HOUSTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842