DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 01/19/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2009/0316438 (Crewson).
Regarding claim 1, Crewson teaches a high power (HP) generator (Fig. 1 shows power modulator 1) configured to deliver a pulsed high power with a high voltage value and/or a high current value to a capacitive load (Fig. 1 shows load 40) [0037], the HP generator comprising: a plurality of low power (LP) generators (Fig. 1 shows plurality of switched pulse generator section 22), each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (Fig. 1 shows each switched pulse generator section 22 comprising a respective energy storage 51 constituted by capacitor 52 as shown in Fig. 3) [0033], wherein, during operation, the respective energy storage component is charged to a respective predefined value related to the respective energy storage component (capacitor 52 i.e. respective energy storage component is charged to a respective predefined value related to the respective energy storage component) [0033], each respective LP generator (Fig. 3 shows each respective switched pulse generator section 22) configured to supply, during operation, at an output thereof a respective LP-generator-value (during operation respective switched pulse generator sections 22 output thereof a respective value) [0032-0033, 0036], which corresponds to the respective predefined value of the respective energy storage component incorporated in the respective LP generator (output of the switched pulsed generator sections 22A-B corresponds to the respective predefined value of the respective capacitors 52A-B) [0033, 0038], a coupling in which the plurality of LP generators is electrically connected such that a coupling-value at an output of the coupling, which corresponds to an output value at an output of the HP generator, is obtainable, and wherein, during operation, at least in some states of the HP generator, the coupling-value is higher than the LP-generator-value at the output of one of the plurality of LP generators,
a control unit (Fig. 1 shows switch control 24) configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators to the output value of the HP generator during power delivery of the HP generator, in order to generate a rise and/or a decay of a pulse at the output of the coupling [0006-0007, 0058, 0066], and
a balancing circuit comprising a component allowing a current to flow in one direction only (Fig. 3 shows diode 57 allowing a current to flow in one direction only), the balancing circuit being connected between two LP generators (Fig. 3 shows diode 57 between two PFC 55A and 55B) [0033-35].
Regarding claim 2, Crewson teaches wherein the control unit is further configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a way that one or a combination of following features is accomplished: the output of the coupling and/or the output of the HP generator is a step-function, at a rising edge and/or a falling edge of a pulse, and/or during the pulse, the plurality of LP generators is activated sequentially during the pulse (Fig. 4A-E shows plurality of LP generators 22 is activated sequentially during the pulse) [0040-41], at least one amplitude step is lower than 1 kV [0055, 0057], the plurality of LP generators is connected by switching only (the plurality of LP generators 22 is connected by switching only as shown in Fig. 1) [0056].
Regarding claim 3, Crewson teaches wherein more than four LP generators is electrically connected in the coupling, and/or wherein a number of LP generators electrically connected in the coupling is high enough to form at the output of the coupling: pulses with a voltage rise and/or a voltage fall with values equal to or higher than a sum of the LP-generator-values of the number of LP generators, and a step-line pulse shape, wherein a value of a step is equal to or higher than the LP-generator-value(s) of one or more of the number of LP generators (more than four LP generators 22 is electrically connected in the coupling as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Crewson teaches wherein a charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer with a primary winding and a secondary winding for each respective LP generator (Fig. 1 shows a charging energy of the plurality LP generators 22 is supplied over a transformer 30 with a primary winding and a secondary winding for each respective LP generator 22) [0028], and the primary windings of the plurality of LP generators are connected in series (Fig. 1 shows primary windings of the plurality of LP generators 22 are connected in series).
Regarding claim 9, Crewson teaches wherein the control unit is configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a sequenced way through the plurality of LP generators, wherein each pulse sequence begins on a different LP generator [0057].
Regarding claim 10, Crewson teaches wherein the control unit comprises switching units, having a current rise capability of at least 10 A/us [0035].
Regarding claim 11, Crewson teaches wherein the control unit comprises switching units, having a capability of withstanding a voltage of at least 0.5 kV with a voltage rise and fall rates of at least 15 kV/µs [0047, 0055].
Regarding claim 12, Crewson teaches wherein the control unit is configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a way to reduce voltage overshoots at the output of the HP generator and/or at a dedicated location on the capacitive load [0063].
Regarding claim 13, Crewson teaches wherein at least one LP generator of the plurality of LP generators comprises an LP-generator-value limiting circuit [0063].
Regarding claim 14, Crewson teaches wherein the control unit is configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way, via a fiber optic connection or a magnetically coupling [0071].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0316438 (Crewson) in view of US 2024/0063780 (Lilja).
Regarding claim 4, Crewson teaches wherein a charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer with a primary winding and a secondary winding for each respective LP generator (Fig. 1 shows a charging energy of the plurality LP generators 22 is supplied over a transformer 30 with a primary winding and an secondary winding for each respective LP generator 22) [0028], rectifier switches [0068].
However, Crewson does not teach the secondary winding being connected to a rectifier, the rectifier being connected to the respective energy storage component of the corresponding LP generator.
However, Lilja teaches the secondary winding being connected to a rectifier, the rectifier being connected to the respective energy storage component of the corresponding LP generator (Fig. 1 shows rectifier bridge) [0028].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the secondary winding being connected to a rectifier, the rectifier being connected to the respective energy storage component of the corresponding LP generator as taught by Lilja in order to output a converted voltage thereby supplying power efficiently.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0316438 (Crewson) in view of US 2009/0039800 (Kimura).
Regarding claim 6, Crewson teaches wherein a charging energy of each respective LP generator of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a respective transformer (Fig. 1 shows a charging energy of the plurality LP generators 22 is supplied over a transformer 30) [0028].
However, Crewson does not teach wherein each respective transformer comprises a balancing winding.
However, Kimura teaches wherein each respective transformer comprises a balancing winding [0004].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each respective transformer comprises a balancing winding as taught by Kimura in order to ensure minimal voltage variance between the transformers windings thereby minimizing losses and enhancing voltage control.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0316438 (Crewson) in view of US 2024/0048056 (Miller).
Regarding claim 7, Crewson teaches further comprising a damping circuit positioned between each pair of adjacent LP generators of the plurality LP generators in an open chain configuration (Fig. 5 shows pulse flattening circuit 55 positioned between each pair of adjacent LP generators 22 in an open chain configuration) [0033, 0035].
However, Crewson does not teach wherein the damping circuit comprises a resistor and/or an inductor.
However, Miller teaches wherein the damping circuit comprises a resistor and/or an inductor (resistive damping element positioned between switching circuit) [0232].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the damping circuit comprises a resistor and/or an inductor taught by Miller in order to minimizing electrical loss in form of a resistor.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0316438 (Crewson) in view of US 5905646 (Woodburn).
Regarding claim 8, Crewson does not teach wherein the HP generator is at least partially directly liquid cooled, by being immersed in a dielectric cooling liquid.
However, Woodburn teaches wherein the HP generator is at least partially directly liquid cooled, by being immersed in a dielectric cooling liquid [Col 14 lines 15-20].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the HP generator is at least partially directly liquid cooled, by being immersed in a dielectric cooling liquid as taught by Woodburn in order to cool the circuitry thereby preventing the circuitry from damages due to overheating.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836