DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tao (US 8649188).
With respect to claim 1, Tao et. al (US 8649188) discloses a high power (HP) generator (10, high voltage, fast rise/fall time, variable repetition rate power generator 10 , col. 3 lines 17-19) configured to deliver a pulsed high power with a high voltage value and/or a high current value to a capacitive load (Cr), the HP generator comprising: a plurality of low power (LP) generators (Cr1 and Cr2), each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (Cr capacitors), wherein, during operation, the respective energy storage component is charged to a respective predefined value related to the respective energy storage component, each respective LP generator configured to supply, during operation, at an output thereof a respective LP-generator-value, which corresponds to the respective predefined value of the respective energy storage component incorporated in the respective LP generator, a coupling in which the plurality of LP generators is electrically connected such that a coupling-value at an output of the coupling, which corresponds to an output value at an output of the HP generator, is obtainable, and wherein, during operation, at least in some states of the HP generator, the coupling-value is higher than the LP-generator-value at the output of one of the plurality of LP generators, a control unit (60) configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators to the output value of the HP generator during power delivery of the HP generator, in order to generate a rise and/or a decay of a pulse at the output of the coupling, wherein the control unit further comprises switching units (14-20), having a current rise capability of at least 10 A/µs, and/or having a capability of withstanding a voltage of at least 0.5 kV with (the working voltage of the switches 14-20 that is generally about 1 kV for high voltage fast turn-on/off MOSFETs that employ current semiconductor technology) voltage rise and fall rates of at least 15 kV/µs (According to one embodiment, the power converter 10 can achieve a pulse repetition rate exceeding 100 kpps, a pulse rise/fall time of about 10 nanoseconds, a high voltage magnitude of at least 30 kV, and a pulse width of about 20 nanoseconds).
With respect to claim 2, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to select the respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a way that one or a combination of following features is accomplished: the output of the coupling and/or the output of the HP generator is a step-function, at a rising edge and/or a falling edge of a pulse, and/or during the pulse, the plurality of LP generators is activated sequentially during the pulse, at least one amplitude step is lower than 1 kV, the plurality of LP generators is connected by switching only (Each MOSFET switch S1-S4 is driven via a corresponding gate drive module 60 that also employs a galvanic barrier. Each gate drive module 60 comprises an isolated, high speed, current source according to one embodiment. ).
With respect to claim 3, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein more than four LP generators are electrically connected in the coupling, and/or wherein a number of LP generators electrically connected in the coupling is high enough to form at the output of the coupling: pulses with a voltage rise and/or a voltage fall with values equal to or higher than a sum of the LP-generator-values of the number of LP generators, and a step-line pulse shape, wherein a value of a step is equal to or higher than the LP-generator-value(s) of one or more of the LP generators. (Here the associated switching of the capacitors would produce a voltage as such and thus deemed within the scope of the invention.)
With respect to claim 4, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein a charging energy (from power source 28) of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer (fig. 3, transformer in 60) with a primary winding and a secondary winding for each respective LP generator, a. wherein the secondary winding is connected to a rectifier (rectifier of diodes), the rectifier is connected to the energy storage (capacitors) component of the corresponding LP generator and/or b. wherein a plurality of the primary windings is connected in series.
With respect to claim 5, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein a charging energy of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a plurality of transformers (transformers in 40 and 60), and wherein each respective transformer corresponds to a respective LP generator (capacitors) and comprises at least one balancing winding, and wherein a balancing winding of one transformer is connected to a balancing winding of a different transformer.
With respect to claim 6, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, further comprising a balancing circuit (diodes in 12) , the balancing circuit comprising a component (diode) allowing a current to flow in one direction only.
With respect to claim 7, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, further comprising a damping circuit positioned between each pair of adjacent LP generators of the plurality of LP generators in an open chain configuration, wherein the damping circuit comprises a resistor and/or an inductor. (Noise coupling paths are effectively minimized and damped so that the embodied system can be properly operated in an electromagnetic noisy environment. Many of these features are described in further detail herein with reference to FIG. 3.)
With respect to claim 9, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (60) is configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a sequenced way through the plurality of LP generators, wherein each pulse sequence begins on a different LP generator. (The sequence providing the switching for the switches can be programmed as such and is deemed within the scope of the invention)
With respect to claim 10, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (60) is configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a way to reduce voltage overshoots at the output of the HP generator and/or at a dedicated location on the capacitive load (Cr). (here, the control unit can be configured to do so and is deemed within the scope of the invention.)
With respect to claim 11, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein each LP generator of the plurality of LP generator comprises an LP-generator-value limiting circuit (considered diodes in parallel with capacitors which would limit as such) .
With respect to claim 12, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (60) is configured to select a respective contribution of each of the plurality of LP generators in a galvanically isolated way, via a fiber optic connection (see fig. 2 “The modules 32 are designed in a way that the charging circuitry and gate driver are fully isolated with the fiber optic links for the gating signal and multiple coaxial cables with multiple toroidal cores for low voltage gate drive power and high voltage charging power.”) or a magnetically coupling. (here, the control unit can be configured to do so and is deemed within the scope of the invention.)
With respect to claim 13, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein a capacitance (Cr’s) is provided in parallel to a switching unit (S1-S4).
With respect to claim 14, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein a charging energy (28) of the plurality of LP generators is supplied over a transformer (transformer in 60) with a primary winding and a secondary winding for each respective LP generator (capacitor) , the HP generator further comprising an inverter connected to the primary windings, the inverter comprising a full-bridge circuit (see for example full bridge inverter 12 and stack full bridge inverter 32) and a buck converter .
With respect to claim 15, Tao discloses a method of supplying a plasma (per col. 1 lines 14-15 plasma inverter is conceived in the associated method) process with high power pulses having varying amplitudes provided by a high power (HP) generator, the HP generator comprising a plurality of low power (LP) generators (capacitors and associated elememts) electrically connected in a coupling, each respective LP generator comprising a respective energy storage component (capacitor), the method comprising: a. continuously charging the respective energy storage components of each respective LP generator of the plurality of LP generators to a respective predefined value, b. selectively coupling output values of at least some of the plurality of LP generators to obtain a desired output value (via associated switch S1-S4) of the HP generator corresponding to a pulse having a desired amplitude, by controlling the plurality of LP generators, wherein the pulse has a current rise rate of at least 10 A/µs, and/or a voltage rise rate of at least 15 kV/µs. (According to one embodiment, the power converter 10 can achieve a pulse repetition rate exceeding 100 kpps, a pulse rise/fall time of about 10 nanoseconds, a high voltage magnitude of at least 30 kV, and a pulse width of about 20 nanoseconds).
With respect to claim 16, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of LP generators are each configured as stages of the HP generator. (Here, the production of the pulses of CR2 and Cr1 can be considered stages.)
With respect to claim 17, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to control each of the plurality of LP generators independently to generate the rise and/or the decay of the pulse at the output of the coupling. (Here per the disclosure “When switches (S2) 16 and (S4) 20 are turned on, a forward current is established inside inductor Lr 26 in a resonant fashion. These current reverses its direction after half resonant cycle and switches (S2) 16 and (S4) 20 are turned off and while switches (S1) 14 and (S3) 18 are turned on.” As such the devices S1 and S2 are operated independently.
With respect to claim 18, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein a sum of the LP- generator-values corresponds to the output value of the HP generator, a maximum output value of the HP generator corresponding to a sum of maximum LP-generator-values of the plurality of LP generators. (Here, “The output voltage of the full bridge inverter 12 can be increased according to one embodiment by stacking a plurality of full bridge inverters such as illustrated in FIG. 2.”)(col. 3 lines 38-46.)
With respect to claim 19, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 9, wherein each pulse sequence increases step-wise by the respective contribution of each LP generator and has a number of steps corresponding to the number of the plurality of LP generators. (Here, again the LP generators within the stack full bridge inverters determine the final output.)( The output voltage of the full bridge inverter 12 can be increased according to one embodiment by stacking a plurality of full bridge inverters such as illustrated in FIG. 2.”)col. 3 lines 38-46.
With respect to claim 20, Tao discloses the HP generator according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to selectively control the respective contribution of each LP generator to the output value of the HP generator multiple times during a single pulse. (Here, the reversal at ½ cycle is considered within the single pulse i.e. “When switches (S2) 16 and (S4) 20 are turned on, a forward current is established inside inductor Lr 26 in a resonant fashion. This current reverses its direction after half resonant cycle and switches (S2) 16 and (S4) 20 are turned off and while switches (S1) 14 and (S3) 18 are turned on.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao (US 8649188) in view of Burgener, II et al. (US 10425991).
With respect to claim 8, Tao discloses 8 the HP generator according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the HP generator is at least partially directly liquid cooled, by being immersed in a dielectric cooling liquid.
It is well known to use a pulsed system being immersed in a dielectric cooling liquid, see for Example Burgener, II disclosing the use of a pulsed generator system disposed in a water medium. It would have been obvious to use the pulsed generator system of Tao in a dielectric cooling system for the purpose of cooling the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument that a full bridge converts DC voltage to AC voltage, the Examiner contends this is consistent with the generation of power and as such read on the claim language used by the Applicant.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that only Vin generates power, the Examiner points out that using Vin, the downstream circuits would generate power. Furthermore, the stacking of the full bridge inverters as per fig. 2 is disclosed. “The magnitude of the fast rise pulse is substantially proportional to the DC voltage (Vin) 28. Vin 28 however, is limited by the working voltage of the switches 14-20 that is generally about 1 kV for high voltage fast turn-on/off MOSFETs that employ current semiconductor technology. The output voltage of the full bridge inverter 12 can be increased according to one embodiment by stacking a plurality of full bridge inverters such as illustrated in FIG. 2.”col. 3 lines 38-46.
In response to CR1, CR2 corresponding to LP generators, the examiner points out the LP generators of Applicant’s invention has the exact same structure of the invention of Tao, i.e. a switch in parallel with a diode powered by a voltage source and would operate in the same manner. As they contribute to the output and are downstream from Vin, they would presumably generate the hp power at the output combined with the other generators. As such the rejection is maintained.
With the respect to the customary term of generator it is within the scope of the CR1 and CR2 to generate power in the term one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize.
With respect to rise and decay, because a system (i.e. bridge) generates an AC signal, there is an inherent rise and decay of the signal as opposed to a dc signal. For example, one of the objectives of Tao is to have fast pulse rise and fall times. (col. 2 lines 15-20). As such the claim language is met.
With respect to a control unit, depending on the activation of the switches the output of the system in figure 1 is controlled and as such is within the scope of the claim language.
With respect to 103 rejections, no new arguments are disclosed and they rely on applicant’s transversal of the 102 claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/THOMAS J. HILTUNEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836