DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hulbert et al (EP 0 690 588; art cited by applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hulbert teaches an apparatus of a radio communication device (figs. 1 and 4), the apparatus comprising: a plurality of signal paths, each signal path of the plurality of signal paths is configured to receive a radio frequency (RF) signal from a corresponding RF circuit (fig. 4, Rake Fingers 6, 8 and 10); and a processor (fig. 4, 40) configured to: determine first signal paths (fingers for data demodulation) and a second signal path (col. 3, lines 34-36, searcher) from the plurality of signal paths, wherein the first signal paths are configured to receive first RF signals of the RF signals (fig. 4, one of the fingers 6, 8 and 10); demodulate the first RF signals received from the first signal paths to decode received communication data (fig. 4, one of the finger designated as first signal path); and perform, for a frequency band, an RF environmental sensing operation based on a digital signal converted from a second RF signal of the RF signals, wherein the second RF signal is provided by the second signal path (col. 1, lines 3-6 and 41-45 and col. 4, lines 43-59, the “searching” is interpreted as “sensing” because it detects, by means of correlation, a power value relating to a certain delay in certain bandwidth).
Regarding independent claim 16, the claim recites similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 17, Hulbert further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a spectral content of a frequency band based on the digital signal. See col. 4, lines 43-59, the searcher determines a power delay profile in order to find the most appropriate delays for demodulation finger assignment and therefore determines a spectral content of the frequency band of the digital signal.
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 19, Hulbert further teaches wherein each signal path is capable to demodulate a received digital signal and to perform an RF environmental sensing operation based on the received digital signal. See col. 1, lines 46-58, each parallel path can be used either as finger (demodulation) or searcher (sensing).
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 20, Hulbert further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to selectively perform the RF environmental sensing operation with or demodulate a respective RF signal received from each signal path of the plurality of signal paths. See col. 3, lines 32-38 and col. 4, lines 43-59, each path can selectively perform either function based on a decision of the controller.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Hulbert further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to process the digital signal for the RF environmental sensing operation in a trusted execution environment. Spread spectrum communications is a secured and trusted communications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hulbert et al (EP 0 690 588; art cited by applicant).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 18, Hulbert teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach wherein the first and second RF signals are derived from a same receive (RX) antenna. However, Hulbert teaches the receiver to receive radio signal, therefore, it is inherent to have antenna. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized to modify the system of Hulbert by employing a single antenna so as to save cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are allowed over prior art of record.
Claims 6-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Das et al (US 12,267,097), Suzuki et al (US 2012/0087334), Taoka et al (US 2013/0033979), Kakishima et al (US 2015/0078289), Nishikawa et al (US 2017/0127389) and Niu et al (US 2018/0310230) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for radio communications. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests a remote radio unit comprising: an antenna array; a fronthaul interface; a plurality of signal paths, each signal path of the plurality of signal paths is configured to receive a radio frequency, RF, signal from a corresponding RF circuit; and a processor configured to: determine first signal paths and a second signal path from the plurality of signal paths, wherein the first signal paths are configured to receive first RF signals of the RF signals; demodulate the first RF signals received from the first signal paths to decode received communication data; perform, for a frequency band, an RF environmental sensing operation based on a digital signal converted from a second RF signal of the RF signals, wherein the second RF signal is provided by the second signal path, wherein the fronthaul interface is configured to provide a communication between the remote radio unit and an external communication device that is external to the remote radio unit; and implement a first portion of a radio communication protocol stack and send communication data to the external communication device, wherein the communication data is obtained by implementing the first portion of the radio communication protocol stack to the first RF signals as recited in claim 13 and further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 6-10, 12, 14 and 15.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634