DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 9/10/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 7, 11-13, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan et al. “Ruan” US 2020/0406910 in view of Case et al. “Case” US 2016/0364343.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Ruan teaches a method and a network device (Switch 32 of Figure 1) for use in an automotive network, the network device comprising:
a semiconductor die and network-device circuitry, disposed on the die and configured to transfer traffic of the automotive network from one or more sources in the automotive network to one or more destinations in the automotive network (the automotive network switch is on a system-on-chip; Paragraph 31, see Figure 1. The invention aims to monitor the exchange of communication packets to identify anomalies; Paragraph 15, see also paragraphs 41 and 54 with respect to the network switch performing monitoring of packets. Paragraph 29 teaches the switch (32 of Figure 1) includes various components which monitor packets from a source to a destination. Thus one can see the switch (32) monitors traffic between a source and destination for performance degradation issues); the network-device circuitry comprising:
a switch fabric configured to forward packets of the traffic (switch core 52 connects ports 48 (see Figure 1)); and
an on-chip traffic monitor, disposed on the die and coupled to interconnection circuitry, the on-chip traffic monitor configured to monitor the traffic transferred on the interconnection circuitry and to detect a performance degradation in the network-device circuitry by analyzing the monitored traffic (The invention aims to monitor the exchange of communication packets to identify anomalies; Paragraph 15. Paragraphs 41-42 further teaches monitoring the packets to detect anomalies (i.e. performance degradation). Paragraph 29 teaches the switch (32 of Figure 1) includes various components which monitor packets from a source to a destination. Thus one can see the switch (32) monitors traffic between a source and destination for performance degradation issues).
Ruan does not expressly disclose interconnection circuitry configured to transfer the packets between the switch fabric and a memory of a host over a peripheral bus, the interconnection circuitry coupled between the switch fabric and peripheral bus; however, Case teaches a switch fabric forwarding communications (i.e. traffic) to peripheral devices (i.e. host). Paragraphs 21 and 25 disclose the peripheral components have associated memories, thus one can see the circuitry between the fabric (110 or 114) is viewed as the interconnection circuitry which would be transferring packets from fabrics (110 or 114) to the peripheral (i.e. host) devices as claimed, see Figure 1 and Figure 2 which further defines the circuitry (112 of Figure 1)).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ruan to include the interconnection circuitry located between the switch fabric and the host via a peripheral bus as taught by Case.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that data can be relayed/sent between peripheral devices and other portions of the system as taught by Case; Paragraph 21.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Ruan teaches the on-chip monitor selects a traffic flow from within the traffic and detects the performance degradation in the selected traffic flow (The switch can determine a fault based on a certain packet stream of one or more relevant packet streams; Paragraphs 51 and 54. Thus a traffic flow from within the traffic is selected/analyzed).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Ruan teaches multiple port circuits deposed on the die and configured to transmit/receive packets over the automotive network and a switch fabric to forward packets between the port circuits and identifying a traffic flow associated with a port circuit among port circuits (The switch can determine a fault based on a certain packet stream of one or more relevant packet streams; Paragraphs 51 and 54. Paragraph 5 (48 of Figure 1) teaches ports for sending/receiving packets. Thus one can see there are a plurality of ports with respect to traffic flows); and
Detecting the performance degradation by analyzing the traffic flow separately from one or more other traffic flows (The switch can determine a fault based on a certain packet stream of one or more relevant packet streams; Paragraphs 51 and 54. Thus a traffic flow from within the traffic is selected/analyzed).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Ruan teaches one or more hardware counters, wherein the on-chip monitor assigns a hardware counter among the hardware counters for measuring a traffic throughput of a selected traffic flow within the traffic (counters are used to count packets so events can be determined on a per port basis; Paragraphs 44-49 (see Figure 2). As the counters are associated with a given port, they would be associated with different traffic flows. Throughput is a metric determined based on packets; Paragraph 43. Thus one can see that counters measure traffic for a flow. Further, the claims only require there to be one counter, Thus the selection step doesn’t have any weight when there is one counter since there are not a plurality of counters to choose from).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Ruan teaches detecting performance degradation by analyzing latencies, intra-packet spacing, dropped packets, corruption or throughput (latency (paragraphs 38 and 43), dropped packets (paragraphs 36-37 and 43)).
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan in view of Case and further in view of Kim et al. “Kim” US 2023/0180005.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, while Ruan teaches identifying traffic flows and detecting performance degradation of traffic flows separately (The switch can determine a fault based on a certain packet stream of one or more relevant packet streams; Paragraphs 51 and 54. Thus a traffic flow from within the traffic is selected/analyze), Ruan does not teach identifying traffic associated with a given bus function of the peripheral bus. Kim teaches packet monitoring interfacing with a first encryption module which monitors packets and analyzes the results for determining network performance indications to detect abnormal situations; Paragraph 260. Further, the first encryption module includes virtual machines (i.e. bus functions) sharing a single PCI interface (i.e. peripheral bus) with respect to a host device; Paragraph 259. The teachings of Kim can be implemented in the automotive sector; Paragraph 110).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ruan to include monitoring traffic associated with a given bus function as taught by Kim.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can monitor/calculate packets for performance metrics and detect abnormal conditions as taught by Kim; Paragraph 260.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan in view of Case and further in view of Takeda US 2019/0031202.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, while Ruan teaches identifying traffic flows and detecting performance degradation of traffic flows separately (The switch can determine a fault based on a certain packet stream of one or more relevant packet streams; Paragraphs 51 and 54. Thus a traffic flow from within the traffic is selected/analyze), Ruan does not teach monitoring traffic associated with a given DMA engine of a plurality of DMA engines. Takeda teaches monitoring data with respect to a first DMA controller (153 of Figure 15). One can see there are a plurality of DMA controllers in Figure 15 (see also 155). The monitoring of data is for detecting abnormalities; Paragraph 141. The functions are with respect to a vehicle; Paragraph 49, see also Figures 1 and 2).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ruan to include monitoring traffic associated with a given DMA engine as taught by Takeda.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can monitor/calculate packets to determine abnormalities as taught by Takeda; Paragraph 141.
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan in view of Case and further in view of Raman et al. “Raman” US 2022/0091754.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, while Ruan teaches counting packets for throughput (See paragraph 45), Ruan does not disclose measuring the throughput by counting, using the counter, a traffic volume of the traffic flow over a defined measurement period. Raman teaches counters counting packets and calculating throughput with respect to time intervals; Paragraph 96.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ruan to include determining throughput by counting traffic over a period of time as taught by Raman.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that throughput can be determined among other metrics as taught by Raman; Paragraph 96.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan in view of Case and further in view of Ferguson et al. “Ferguson” US 2022/0141237.
Regarding claim 9, Ruan does not expressly disclose notifying a host in response to detecting the performance degradation; however, Ferguson teaches that upon detecting an abnormal event in the data stream (i.e. performance degradation) the monitor notifies the host; Paragraph 17. This system can be implemented on vehicles as well.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Ruan to include notifying a host upon detection of performance degradation as taught by Ferguson.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that further inspection/analysis can be performed on the abnormal event as taught by Ferguson; Paragraph 17.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruan in view of Case in view of Ferguson and further in view of Khan et al. “Khan” US 2023/0068739.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not teach sending a notification within 100 microseconds of the performance degradation; however, Khan teaches near real-time monitoring of data and sending alerts based on the monitoring. The near-real time monitoring means within a few milliseconds (i.e. less than 100 microseconds).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending a notification within 100 microseconds as taught by Khan.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can provide near real-time monitoring as taught by Khan; Paragraph 34.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411