DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, Figs. 9-11 in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged. The Applicant has stated that claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-13 read on Species B. The Examiner agrees, but also feels, based on the dependency of claims 7-13, that claim 6 should also be permitted to be examined. As such, currently Claims 1 and 4-13 are pending while claims 2-3 and 14-20 have been withdrawn.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is longer than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication WO2012/043034 to Sugiyama (hereinafter “Sugiyama”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2020/0178763 to Tilson (hereinafter “Tilson”). In regard to claim 1, Sugiyama discloses an overtube comprising:
a supply and discharge port that is located on a proximal end side and through which a fluid is supplied and discharged (Elements 23a-b); a first region (Fig. 2, 20) that is located on a distal end side with respect to the supply and discharge port (see Fig. 1) and includes an outer tube (Element 27) having a flexibility, an inner tube (Element 26) having a flexibility, and a shape-deformable body (Element 25) that is deformable and is provided between the outer tube and the inner tube (see Fig. 2); wherein the first region is switchable between a first state in which the fluid is supplied to a space between the outer tube and the inner tube via the supply and discharge port and a second state that is stiffer than the first state and in which the fluid is discharged (see highlighted and underlined section of Sugiyama’s English translation which has been provided with this action)
However, Sugiyama does not disclose a second region that is located on the distal end side of the first region. In regards to claims 1 and 4-5, Tilson discloses a dynamically rigidizing medical instrument comprising:
Regarding claim 1, a first region (Element 577a), a second region that is located on the distal end side with respect to the first region and includes the outer tube and the inner tube (Element 577b-c, [0123][0124]), wherein the first region is switchable between a first state a second state that is stiffer than the first state and in which the fluid is discharged, and the second region is softer than the second state of the first region ([0123] [0124] teaches the use of multiple chambers supplied by a fluid to control the stiffness of multiple sections of the device. Therefore, Tilson has taught that multiple regions along the device can have stiffer or softer regions depending on the insertion path of the device.)
Regarding claim 4, wherein the second region includes the shape-deformable body, and the second region is switchable between the first state in which the fluid is supplied to the space between the outer tube and the inner tube via the supply and discharge port and the second state in which the fluid is discharged ([0123][0124])
wherein the first state of the second region is softer than the first state of the first region, and the second state of the second region is softer than the second state of the first region ([0123] [0124] teaches the use of multiple chambers supplied by a fluid to control the stiffness of multiple sections of the device. Therefore, Tilson has taught that multiple regions along the device can have stiffer or softer regions depending on the insertion path of the device.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the deformable second region such as that taught by Tilson in order to prevent the endoscope from looping which can cause damage within the colon (Tilson [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not disclose the interlayer as described in Applicant’s claim 6. Specifically, Tilson is the closest piece of prior art showing an interlayer in Element 4399a, but does not disclose that this interlayer comes into contact with shape-deformable body in the second state so that the first region becomes stiff.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795