DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Syed (US 2012/0314127 A1).
Claim 15, Syed teaches an image capturing apparatus (video camera 120; paragraph 0035) controlled by a control apparatus (video camera 120 may be commanded by an operator node 110; paragraph 0036), the image capturing apparatus comprising:
an image capturing device configured to generate a live view image at a different image quality according to a send request for the live view image based on an image quality designation command included in a request from the control apparatus (video camera 120 changes modes to provide different quality video based on command by operator node 110; paragraph 0036-0038); and
at least one processor or circuit configured to function as a communication unit configured to send the live view image generated by the image capturing device to the control apparatus (video camera 120 may include communication modules to communicate video streams to one or more operator nodes 110; paragraph 0033, 0051).
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected as a method claim for performing the functions of the apparatus of claim 15.
Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected as a -transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute each of steps of a method for performing the functions of the apparatus of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Syed (US 2012/0314127 A1).
Claim 1, Chen teaches a control system (Fig. 7) in which a plurality of image capturing apparatuses (n number of cameras; paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3) are controlled by a control apparatus (smart dual-view video recorder SVR 340 can send a control signal to individual cameras; paragraph 0040, 0042 and Fig. 3), wherein the control apparatus includes:
at least one processor or circuit (processor and circuits are inherent to the system of Fig. 7) configured to function as:
a display control unit (display controller 750; Fig. 7) configured to be capable of controlling display device to display a live view image sent from each of the plurality of image capturing apparatuses in a plurality of display regions (live video windows are displayed on a screen; paragraph 0033 and Figs. 1-2), each corresponding to one of the plurality of image capturing apparatuses (paragraph 0033), in the display device, and capable of changing a display method for each of the plurality of display regions (operator can select a source video for full screen display or to use different split views; paragraph 0010-0012, 0034, Fig. 1); and
a first communication unit (inherently present in the networked system of Chen: see SVR modems 710-730; paragraph 0049 and Fig. 7) configured to request the live view image from each of the image capturing apparatuses (SVR determines the dimensions of a display window and a live-view stream is transmitted from each corresponding camera to the SVR; paragraph 0046, 0043),
and each of the image capturing apparatuses (n smart dual-view cameras 310, 320, 330; paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3) includes:
an image capturing device configured to generate the live view image at a different image quality according to a send request for the live view image from the control apparatus (smart live-view processor 450 for each smart dual-view camera 310-330 produces a live-view video stream 451 carrying data only for the visible displayed pixels in its display window according to the control signal 462; paragraph 0043); and
at least one processor or circuit configured to function as a second communication unit configured to send the live view image generated by the image capturing device to the control apparatus (live-view video is multiplexed together with other downstream information by the camera-side modem 460 and sent to SVR 340 over communication channel 461),
but Chen is silent regarding wherein the request includes an image quality designation command in which whether a high-quality live view image having resolution higher than a predetermined resolution should be transmitted or a low-quality live view image having resolution less than or equal to the predetermined resolution should be transmitted is designated,
and wherein the image capturing device is configured to generate the live view image at a different image quality based on the image quality designation command included in the request from the control apparatus.
Syed teaches a control system (system 100; paragraph 0035) for a plurality of image capturing apparatuses (video cameras 120; see Fig. 2), wherein a request includes an image quality designation command in which whether a high-quality live view image having resolution higher than a predetermined resolution should be transmitted or a low-quality live view image having resolution less than or equal to the predetermined resolution should be transmitted is designated (operator node 110 generates a video mode request to change to another video mode that provides higher quality video; paragraph 0038. See descriptions of possible resolutions in paragraph 0034),
and wherein the image capturing device is configured to generate the live view image at a different image quality based on the image quality designation command included in the request from the control apparatus (system controls which video mode of a video camera 120 is active in response to a command by the operator node 110; paragraph 0035-0036).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the teaching of Syed with that of Chen in order to reduce communication latency and/or improve reliability of communication (see paragraph 0037 of Syed).
Claim 2, Chen further teaches wherein the first communication unit makes a request to each of the image capturing apparatuses for the live view image at the image quality suited to the image capturing apparatus in accordance with the display method for each of the plurality of display regions (each camera receives its own display windows information and generated the live-view view accordingly; paragraph 0052), and the image capturing device generates the live view image at the image quality requested by the control apparatus (smart live-view processor 450 for each smart dual-view camera 310-330 produces a live-view video stream 451 carrying data only for the visible displayed pixels in its display window according to the control signal 462; paragraph 0043).
Claim 3, Chen in view of Syed teaches the control system according to claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first communication unit makes a request to the image capturing apparatus to send a low-quality live view image having a lower resolution (live-view window information is sent from SVR to camera; paragraph 0049) when the display control unit is not displaying the live view image in a maximized state (the ePTZ controller 520 of each camera crops and scales the size of a picture such that the resulting picture has the same size as the display window; paragraph 0046),
but Chen in view of Syed is silent regarding a predetermined resolution such that the low-quality live view image has a resolution less than or equal to a predetermined resolution. Chen teaches a full size full resolution video (claim 17) and lower resolution video (scaled picture; paragraph 0046). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered any resolution less than the full resolution to be a “predetermined resolution” such that a lower resolution video (compared to that of a full resolution video) is generated to reduce the bit rate required for data transmission (see paragraph 0019 of Chen).
Claim 4, Chen in view of Syed teaches the control system according to claim 2, wherein the first communication unit makes a request to the image capturing apparatus to send a low-quality live view image having a resolution less than a full resolution when the live view image displayed in the display region is cut off (video windows may overlap and be “cut off,” see paragraph 0033-0034. The live video is cropped, scaled, and masked such that only the visible displayed pixels in the display window are transmitted; paragraph 0043, 0049),
but Chen in view of Syed is silent regarding a predetermined resolution such that the low-quality live view image has a resolution less than or equal to a predetermined resolution. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered any resolution less than the full resolution to be a “predetermined resolution” such that a lower resolution video (compared to that of a full resolution video) is generated to reduce the bit rate required for data transmission (see paragraph 0019 of Chen).
Claim 5, Syed further teaches wherein each of the image capturing apparatuses further includes subject detection unit for detecting a subject (video camera 120 may be configured to detect the presence of a defined object within a video frame; paragraph 0037), and the image capturing device changes the image quality of the live view image generated, in accordance with a detection result from the subject detection unit (video camera 120 can change video modes based on sensing the occurrence of a defined event; paragraph 0036).
Claim 6, Syed further teaches wherein the image capturing device generates the high-quality live view image having a resolution higher than the predetermined resolution when a subject is detected by the subject detection unit (video mode may be changed when sensing the presence of a defined object, the changed video mode may provide higher quality video; paragraph 0036-0038).
Claim 7, Syed further teaches wherein the subject detected by the subject detection unit includes a person, an animal, or a car (vehicle license plate as a vehicle passes through the observed scene; paragraph 0037).
Claim 8, Chen in view of Syed teaches the control system according to claim 1, wherein the image capturing device generates a high-quality live view image having a high resolution when a command for a shooting operation or a setting operation is sent to the image capturing apparatus from the control apparatus (when a display window is set to be a full screen video, the live view is set to be a full size full resolution video; see paragraph 0033-0034, claim 17).
Chen in view of Syed is silent regarding a predetermined resolution such that the high-quality live view image has a resolution higher than the predetermined resolution. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered any resolution less than the full resolution to be a “predetermined resolution” such that a lower resolution video (compared to that of a full resolution video) is generated to reduce the bit rate required for data transmission (see paragraph 0019 of Chen).
Claim 9, Syed further teaches wherein the image capturing device generates live view images having two types of image qualities (video cameras 120 may operate in different modes having different resolutions; paragraph 0032, 0038).
Claim 11, Chen further teaches wherein the display control unit can change a size of the live view image for each of the plurality of display regions (video recorder has the capability to display source video from each camera at varying resolution and size; paragraph 0012, 0032).
Claim 13, Chen further teaches wherein the display control unit is capable of performing control to skip displaying, in the display region, the live view image sent from the image capturing apparatus corresponding to the display region (video windows may overlap and be “cut off,” see paragraph 0033-0034. The live video is cropped, scaled, and masked such that only the visible displayed pixels in the display window are transmitted; paragraph 0043, 0049. That is, the cut off areas of the live video are “skipped.”).
Claim 14, Chen in view of Syed teaches the control system according to claim 1, but is silent regarding wherein the display device is built into the control apparatus.
However, it is well-known in the art that a display device can be “built into,” i.e., physical connected to a control apparatus. Official Notice is taken for a display device built into a control apparatus in order to enhance portability and convenience of setup. Since Applicant has failed to traverse the examiner s assertion of official notice in the rejection of claim 14 in the previous action, the well-known in the art statement of a display device built into a control apparatus is taken to be admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03(c).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view Syed, and further in view of Daliyot (US 2017/0339336 A1).
Claim 12, Chen in view of Syed teaches the control system according to claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the display control unit controls the display device to display, in the display region, a live view image sent from the image capturing apparatus corresponding to the display region (paragraph 0040 and Figs. 1-2) and Chen further teaches an operation part for operating the image capturing apparatus (pan-tilt-zoom control; paragraph 0042),
but Chen in view of Syed is silent regarding wherein the display device displays the operation part for operating the image capturing apparatus.
Daliyot teaches wherein a display device displays an operation part for operating an image capturing apparatus (user interface of Fig. 3 includes a toolbar that allows access to video controls and display features; paragraph 0039).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Daliyot with that of Chen in view of Syed in order to allow a user to easily control and manipulate camera controls remotely (see paragraph 0029 of Daliyot).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIAWEI CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637