DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Priority is being given to 08/28/2023.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendments filed on 04/16/2026.
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12, 14, and 16-17 have been amended.
Claim 13 is cancelled.
Claim 21 is added.
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are currently rejected.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
In response to receiving the priority document, foreign priority is now being given to the application.
In response to applicants amendments to the drawings, the drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s specification defines “stopping risk” as “the stopping risk may be calculated based on the size of the stoppable area, whether it is a stopping prohibited area such as a crosswalk, firefighting facility, or the like, maximum speed information of the road, traffic flow information, and the like, and the stopping risk may be calculated by assigning a different weight to each factor [0109]”. As shown in the figs. 6 and 8 of Tsuji as provided by applicant, the traffic flow info corresponding to another vehicle in the vicinity of the host vehicle affects the ability of the vehicle to make it to stopping zone R22 and instead has to divert to stopping area R24. Therefore the examiner is not persuaded that Tsuji does not teach "determine, based on a determination that the minimal risk maneuver is needed and based on the determined at least one of route complexity or stopping risk values of the identified stoppable areas, a minimal risk maneuver type of a plurality of minimal risk maneuver types of the vehicle ...,". Therefore applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejections are being maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuji et. al. (US 2021/0229658), herein Tsuji.
Regarding claim 1:
An apparatus (The vehicle control system 1 includes an information obtaining part 30 and a vehicle control apparatus 10 [0050]) for controlling autonomous driving of a vehicle (The vehicle control system 1 controls the vehicle in the assisted driving and in the automated driving [0049]; the evacuation traveling control is the automated driving [0077]), the apparatus comprising:
at least one sensor (the information obtaining part 30 includes multiple cameras 31, multiple radars 32, a location sensor 33, a vehicle state sensor 34, a passenger condition sensor 35, an external communication unit 36, and a driving operation sensor 37 [0054]) configured to detect a surrounding environment of the vehicle (The multiple cameras 31 obtain image data that show vehicle surroundings, by photographing surroundings of the vehicle, including an on-road obstacle [0056]), and generate surrounding environment information (the vehicle surrounding recognizing unit 111 performs image processing on an image that is obtained by the camera 31, to generate two-dimensional map data showing a region where the vehicle can move, such as a travel road [0082]); and
a processor (the control section 100 may include a processor 835 [0076]) configured to generate vehicle state information by monitoring a state of the vehicle during autonomous driving of the vehicle (The information of the state of the vehicle, which is obtained by the vehicle state sensor 34, is transmitted to the vehicle control apparatus 10 [0064]) and control the autonomous driving of the vehicle (The vehicle control apparatus 10 controls each component of the actuator 40 and of the vehicle control system 1 on the basis of information that are obtained by each component of the vehicle control system 1 [0072]),
wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on at least one of the surrounding environment information (the examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.) or the vehicle state information (The passenger condition estimating unit 114 estimates condition of a driver on the basis of output of the passenger condition sensor 35, for example, in terms of health status, feeling, or posture of the driver. For example, the passenger condition estimating unit 114 generates data that shows movement of a driver, from output of the passenger condition sensor 35, by using a learning model generated by deep learning. In this example, the passenger condition estimating unit 114 detects an abnormality in physical condition of a driver [0089]), whether a minimal risk maneuver is needed (fig. 2A, S11 - YES),
identify stoppable areas that can be reached (stoppable regions R21 to R25, as shown in FIG. 6, are extracted in step S31 [0140]; In step S15, the stop location determining unit 131 stets a candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space. Specifically, the stop location determining unit 131 sets a start point Ps and an end point Pe of the candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space [0117]) within a maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) that can be driven in a minimum risk maneuver state (limit at least one of an elapsed time or a travel distance after the detection of the abnormality in physical condition, in accordance with the degree of the abnormality in physical condition; and set the stop location within the limitation [0010]) or within a maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120]) during which the vehicle can be operated in the minimum risk maneuver state (limit at least one of an elapsed time or a travel distance after the detection of the abnormality in physical condition, in accordance with the degree of the abnormality in physical condition; and set the stop location within the limitation [0010]),
classify the identified stoppable areas (In step S23, evaluation of the width of the road shoulder region, which is hereinafter also referred to as “road shoulder width evaluation”, is executed. FIGS. 5 and 7A show examples in which each point Px is evaluated by three stages of “A”, “B”, and “C”, depending on the width of the road shoulder region. [0129]) into full-shoulder stoppable areas (The evaluation “A” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “whole width of the vehicle+0.5 meters or more”. The evaluation “B” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “whole width of the vehicle+less than 0.5 meters” [0129]) or half-shoulder stoppable areas (The evaluation “C” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “less than the whole width of the vehicle” [0129]),
determine at least one of route complexity (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]) or stopping risk values (he movable body evaluation is performed on an “on-road obstacle that is moving or on-road obstacle that is likely to move soon”, such as a pedestrian, a vehicle that is traveling, or a vehicle that temporarily stops on the travel road due to, e.g., waiting for the traffic light. These on-road obstacles are collectively referred to as “dynamic obstacles”. In the movable body evaluation, as in the case of the quasi-movable body evaluation, “1” is set in the case in which no on-road obstacle exists on the normal line between the travel path of the own vehicle H and the road shoulder region, whereas “0” is set in the case in which an on-road obstacle exists thereon [0134]) of the identified stoppable areas (fig. 2B, S25; In step S25, the state of the road shoulder at the time of executing this control process is evaluated. The method of evaluating the road shoulder is not specifically limited. However, for example, a combination of the static evaluation based on the road information, and the dynamic evaluation, is executed as the road shoulder evaluation. [0132]),
determine, based on a determination that the minimal risk maneuver is needed (fig. 2A, S11 - YES) and based on the determined at least one of route complexity or stopping risk values of the identified stoppable areas (fig. 2A, S20), a minimal risk maneuver type (searching for and setting an emergency stop location is executed in the next step S30 (refer to FIG. 2C) [0196]) of a plurality of minimal risk maneuver types of the vehicle (The control section is configured to perform an evacuation traveling control. The road information contains information relating to a width of a road shoulder region along a width direction end of the road. The control section is further configured to, in the evacuation traveling control, generate an evacuation path on which the vehicle is made to evacuate to the road shoulder region, on the basis of the road information stored in the storage, and further configured to control traveling of the vehicle in such a manner that the vehicle travels on the evacuation path. The control section is further configured to, during performing the evacuation traveling control, calculate a collision risk with respect to an on-road obstacle in the evacuation traveling control, on the basis of vehicle surrounding information that is obtained by an information obtaining part mounted on the vehicle. In a case in which the collision risk is a predetermined degree or higher, the control section interrupts the evacuation traveling control and makes the vehicle stop in a travel lane. [0014]) and a target point where the vehicle will stop (fig. 2A, S30 & fig. 2C, S37; stoppable regions R21 to R25, as shown in FIG. 6, are extracted in step S31 [0140]), and
control, based on the determined minimal risk maneuver type and the target point, the vehicle to stop at the target point (The control section is further configured to, in making the vehicle automatically stop in a state in which the vehicle travels in a second travel lane that is separated from a road shoulder region more than a first travel lane adjacent to the road shoulder region, execute the following processes: a process of searching for a stop location where the vehicle is to stop, on the basis of the road shoulder region information, to set the target location at the stop location, and generating an evacuation path to the stop location as the target path; a process of decelerating the vehicle to a predetermined speed or lower; a process of making the vehicle change from the second travel lane to a free space of the first travel lane, on the basis of the vehicle surrounding information; and a process of making the vehicle travel at the predetermined speed or lower in the first travel lane and making the vehicle enter the stop location from the first travel lane and stop at the stop location [0008]).
Regarding claim 2:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
determine at least one of route complexity values (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]) of the full-shoulder stoppable areas or stopping risk values (“collision risk” [0241]) of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (the stoppable region R24 is recognized, and the determination results in YES in step S81, when the own vehicle H reaches the location H7. Then, in consideration of the other vehicles Jb stopping in the stoppable region R24, the determination results in YES in step S85. That is, in response to entering the stoppable region R24, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the collision risk with respect to the other vehicles Jb, as being the predetermined degree or higher, whereby the emergency stop control part 130 interrupts the first-travel-lane traveling process but executes resetting of the stop location [0241]),
determine, based on at least one of the determined route complexity values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.) or stopping risk values (“collision risk” [0241]) of the full-shoulder stoppable areas, whether or not stopping is possible at the full-shoulder stoppable areas (when the own vehicle H reaches the location H7. Then, in consideration of the other vehicles Jb stopping in the stoppable region R24, the determination results in YES in step S85. That is, in response to entering the stoppable region R24, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the collision risk with respect to the other vehicles Jb, as being the predetermined degree or higher, whereby the emergency stop control part 130 interrupts the first-travel-lane traveling process but executes resetting of the stop location [0241]),
determine, based on stopping not being possible at the full-shoulder stoppable areas (fig. 3D, S85 - YES), at least one of route complexity values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas or stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (in step S26, the evaluation value relating to the dynamic evaluation of a point Px ahead of the current location of the own vehicle H is updated in the analysis list L. FIG. 7D shows an updated analysis list L2. In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]; Emergency stop in the stoppable region R25 is performed in a manner substantially the same as that in making a stop in the stoppable region R24 in «Evacuation Traveling Control (3)», and therefore, descriptions thereof are omitted herein [0255]), and
determine, based on at least one of the route complexity values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas or the stopping risk values (fig. 3S, S91) of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (Emergency stop in the stoppable region R25 [0255]), the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S93 or S99) and the target point (stoppable region R25 [0255]; In step S99, the emergency stop control part 130 makes the own vehicle H stop in the travel lane. The method of determining the lane in which the own vehicle H is to stop, and the method of determining a stop location in the selected travel lane, are not specifically limited. [0267]).
Regarding claim 3:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
search for the stoppable areas that can be reached (stoppable regions R21 to R25, as shown in FIG. 6, are extracted in step S31 [0140]; In step S15, the stop location determining unit 131 stets a candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space. Specifically, the stop location determining unit 131 sets a start point Ps and an end point Pe of the candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space [0117]) within the maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) or the maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120])
Regarding claim 4:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 3, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
identify full-shoulder stoppable areas that can be reached (in the example in FIG. 6, in which there are two stoppable regions having the evaluation value of “A”, that is, the stoppable regions R22 and R24 [0143]) within the maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) or the maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120]),
determine route complexity values of the identified full-shoulder stoppable areas (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]),
determine a full-shoulder stoppable area (In step S38, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R22, because the stoppable region R22 is the closest region where the vehicle can stop at the time this control process is executed, among the stoppable regions having the same priority, which is the valuation value of “A” in this case [0143]), of the identified full-shoulder stoppable areas, as the target point, wherein a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (The risk calculator 133 may calculate a collision risk value for collision risk by multiplying a first risk value and a second risk value together. The first risk value is set for a candidate of a location where the own vehicle H stops, which is hereinafter referred to as a “stop location candidate”. The second risk value is set for movement of the own vehicle H until the own vehicle H reaches the stop location candidate. A specific method of calculating the collision risk value will be described later [0151]), and wherein the full-shoulder stoppable area has the lowest route complexity value among the route complexity values of the identified full-shoulder stoppable areas (In step S38, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R22, because the stoppable region R22 is the closest region where the vehicle can stop at the time this control process is executed, among the stoppable regions having the same priority, which is the valuation value of “A” in this case [0143]), and
determine a full-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (in the example in FIG. 6, in which there are two stoppable regions having the evaluation value of “A”, that is, the stoppable regions R22 and R24, as shown in FIG. 7A [0143]).
Regarding claim 5:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 4, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
based on a failure to identify a full-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (fig. 3D, S85 – YES; the process in which the collision risk of collision with an obstacle on a road is the predetermined degree or higher, is interrupted, and a stop location is set in order to execute the operation in the process subsequent to the interrupted process. This enables changing to a stop location and an evacuation path by the use of which an emergency stop is safely performed, before the collision risk is actualized due to change in traffic flow after the evacuation path to the emergency stop location is once set [0257]), search for half-shoulder stoppable areas (In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]),
based on an identification of half-shoulder stoppable areas where route complexity values are lower than route complexity values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (fig. 2C, S38) and stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas being lower than a threshold risk (Fig. 3D, S85 – NO & S92 - NO), determine a half-shoulder stoppable area, where a stopping risk value is the lowest among the stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (The risk calculator 133 calculates the collision risk value with respect to each of the stop location candidates. Then, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the stop location candidate having a low collision risk value, which is calculated by the risk calculator 133, as the stop location. [0269]), as the target point and determine a half-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (In step S31 in FIG. 2C, only the region R25 is extracted as the stoppable region [0246]), and
based on a failure to identify a half-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than the route complexity values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (fig. 3D, S92 - YES), determine an in-lane stop or a straight stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S99).
Regarding claim 6:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 4, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
based on a failure to identify a full-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (fig. 3D, S85 – YES; the process in which the collision risk of collision with an obstacle on a road is the predetermined degree or higher, is interrupted, and a stop location is set in order to execute the operation in the process subsequent to the interrupted process. This enables changing to a stop location and an evacuation path by the use of which an emergency stop is safely performed, before the collision risk is actualized due to change in traffic flow after the evacuation path to the emergency stop location is once set [0257]), search for half-shoulder stoppable areas (In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]),
based on an identification of half-shoulder stoppable areas where route complexity values are lower than or equal to the threshold value (fig. 2C, S38) and stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas being lower than a threshold risk (Fig. 3D, S85 – NO & S92 - NO), determine a half-shoulder stoppable area, where a stopping risk value is the lowest among the stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (The risk calculator 133 calculates the collision risk value with respect to each of the stop location candidates. Then, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the stop location candidate having a low collision risk value, which is calculated by the risk calculator 133, as the stop location. [0269]), as the target point and determine a half-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (In step S31 in FIG. 2C, only the region R25 is extracted as the stoppable region [0246]), and
based on a failure to identify a half-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than or equal to the threshold value (fig. 3D, S92 - YES), determine an in-lane stop or a straight stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S99).
Regarding claim 7:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 3, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
identify full-shoulder stoppable areas and half-shoulder stoppable areas that can be reached (In step S32, it is determined that whether there is a stoppable region between the current location of the own vehicle H, or the start point Ps in the case in which the current location is before the start point Ps, and the end point Pe. In the example in FIG. 4, in which the stoppable region R11 is extracted, the determination results in YES in step S32, and the control flow advances to the next step S33. Also, in the example in FIG. 6, in which the stoppable regions R21 to R25 are extracted [0141]) within the maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) or the maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120]),
determine route complexity values and stopping risk values of the identified full-shoulder stoppable areas and half-shoulder stoppable areas (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]), and
based on a failure to identify a stoppable area where a stopping risk value is lower than a threshold risk and a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (fig. 3D, S92 - YES), select an in-lane stop or a straight stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S99).
Regarding claim 8:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 7, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
based on an identification of stoppable areas where stopping risk values are lower than a threshold risk (fig. 2C, S38) and route complexity values are lower than or equal to a threshold value (Fig. 3D, S85 – NO & S92 - NO), select a stoppable area where a route complexity value is the lowest among the route complexity values of the stoppable areas where a stopping risk value is lower than the threshold risk (fig. 3D, S93; Thus, the emergency stop control part 130 starts control for making the own vehicle H enter the stoppable region R22 and stop at the emergency stop location in step S93. [0186]),
based on the selected stoppable area being a full-shoulder stoppable area (n the example in FIG. 6, in which there are two stoppable regions having the evaluation value of “A”, that is, the stoppable regions R22 and R24, as shown in FIG. 7A [0143]), determine a full-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 2C, S35 or S38) and determine the selected stoppable area as the target point (In step S38, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R22, because the stoppable region R22 is the closest region where the vehicle can stop at the time this control process is executed, among the stoppable regions having the same priority [0143]), and
based on the selected stoppable area not being a full-shoulder stoppable area (In step S26, the evaluation value relating to the dynamic evaluation of a point Px ahead of the current location of the own vehicle H is updated in the analysis list L. FIG. 7D shows an updated analysis list L2. In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]), determine a half-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 2C, S35; The evaluation “C” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “less than the whole width of the vehicle”. [0129]) and determine the selected stoppable area as the target point (Then, in the next step S36, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R25 [0247]).
Regarding claim 9:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 2, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, based on a number of intersections to pass (For the case in which the own vehicle H passes through a crosswalk or an intersection, the second risk value is set relatively high [0273]), a number of left turns (the second risk value is set relatively higher for a case of turning left or right at an intersection than for a case of straightly advancing an intersection [0273]), a number of right turns (the second risk value is set relatively higher for a case of turning left or right at an intersection than for a case of straightly advancing an intersection [0273]), and a distance to a destination (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]), determine a route complexity value of a full-shoulder stoppable area or determine a route complexity value of a half-shoulder stoppable area (The destination path generator 132 generates an evacuation path to the emergency stop location, which is set by the stop location determining unit 131. Specifically, the destination path generator 132 executes processing similar to the path generation performed by the path generator 116. Specifically, the destination path generator 132 generates multiple path candidates on the basis of output of the vehicle surrounding recognizing unit 111 [0148]; The risk calculator 133 may calculate a collision risk value for collision risk by multiplying a first risk value and a second risk value together. The first risk value is set for a candidate of a location where the own vehicle H stops, which is hereinafter referred to as a “stop location candidate”. The second risk value is set for movement of the own vehicle H until the own vehicle H reaches the stop location candidate. A specific method of calculating the collision risk value will be described later. [0151]).
Regarding claim 11:
Tsuji teaches:
A method performed by a processor (The computer readable program instructions that may implement the systems and methods described in this disclosure may be provided to one or more processors [0293]) for controlling autonomous driving of a vehicle (The vehicle control system 1 controls the vehicle in the assisted driving and in the automated driving [0049]; the evacuation traveling control is the automated driving [0077]), the method comprising:
acquiring, based on autonomous driving of the vehicle, at least one of surrounding environment information (The multiple cameras 31 obtain image data that show vehicle surroundings, by photographing surroundings of the vehicle, including an on-road obstacle [0056]) or vehicle state information (The information of the state of the vehicle, which is obtained by the vehicle state sensor 34, is transmitted to the vehicle control apparatus 10 [0064]);
determining, based on at least one of the surrounding environment information (the examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.) or the vehicle state information (The passenger condition estimating unit 114 estimates condition of a driver on the basis of output of the passenger condition sensor 35, for example, in terms of health status, feeling, or posture of the driver. For example, the passenger condition estimating unit 114 generates data that shows movement of a driver, from output of the passenger condition sensor 35, by using a learning model generated by deep learning. In this example, the passenger condition estimating unit 114 detects an abnormality in physical condition of a driver [0089]), whether a minimal risk maneuver is needed (fig. 2A, S11 - YES);
identifying stoppable areas that can be reached (stoppable regions R21 to R25, as shown in FIG. 6, are extracted in step S31 [0140]; In step S15, the stop location determining unit 131 stets a candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space. Specifically, the stop location determining unit 131 sets a start point Ps and an end point Pe of the candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space [0117]) within a maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) that can be driven in a minimum risk maneuver state (limit at least one of an elapsed time or a travel distance after the detection of the abnormality in physical condition, in accordance with the degree of the abnormality in physical condition; and set the stop location within the limitation [0010]) or within a maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120]) during which the vehicle can be operated in the minimum risk maneuver state (limit at least one of an elapsed time or a travel distance after the detection of the abnormality in physical condition, in accordance with the degree of the abnormality in physical condition; and set the stop location within the limitation [0010]),
classifying the identified stoppable areas (In step S23, evaluation of the width of the road shoulder region, which is hereinafter also referred to as “road shoulder width evaluation”, is executed. FIGS. 5 and 7A show examples in which each point Px is evaluated by three stages of “A”, “B”, and “C”, depending on the width of the road shoulder region. [0129]) into full-shoulder stoppable areas (The evaluation “A” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “whole width of the vehicle+0.5 meters or more”. The evaluation “B” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “whole width of the vehicle+less than 0.5 meters” [0129]) or half-shoulder stoppable areas (The evaluation “C” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “less than the whole width of the vehicle” [0129]),
determining at least one of route complexity (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]) or stopping risk values (he movable body evaluation is performed on an “on-road obstacle that is moving or on-road obstacle that is likely to move soon”, such as a pedestrian, a vehicle that is traveling, or a vehicle that temporarily stops on the travel road due to, e.g., waiting for the traffic light. These on-road obstacles are collectively referred to as “dynamic obstacles”. In the movable body evaluation, as in the case of the quasi-movable body evaluation, “1” is set in the case in which no on-road obstacle exists on the normal line between the travel path of the own vehicle H and the road shoulder region, whereas “0” is set in the case in which an on-road obstacle exists thereon [0134]) of the identified stoppable areas (fig. 2B, S25; In step S25, the state of the road shoulder at the time of executing this control process is evaluated. The method of evaluating the road shoulder is not specifically limited. However, for example, a combination of the static evaluation based on the road information, and the dynamic evaluation, is executed as the road shoulder evaluation. [0132]),
determining, based on a determination that the minimal risk maneuver is needed (fig. 2A, S11 - YES) and based on the determined at least one of route complexity or stopping risk values of the identified stoppable areas (fig. 2A, S20), a minimal risk maneuver type (searching for and setting an emergency stop location is executed in the next step S30 (refer to FIG. 2C) [0196]) of a plurality of minimal risk maneuver types of the vehicle (The control section is configured to perform an evacuation traveling control. The road information contains information relating to a width of a road shoulder region along a width direction end of the road. The control section is further configured to, in the evacuation traveling control, generate an evacuation path on which the vehicle is made to evacuate to the road shoulder region, on the basis of the road information stored in the storage, and further configured to control traveling of the vehicle in such a manner that the vehicle travels on the evacuation path. The control section is further configured to, during performing the evacuation traveling control, calculate a collision risk with respect to an on-road obstacle in the evacuation traveling control, on the basis of vehicle surrounding information that is obtained by an information obtaining part mounted on the vehicle. In a case in which the collision risk is a predetermined degree or higher, the control section interrupts the evacuation traveling control and makes the vehicle stop in a travel lane. [0014]) and a target point where the vehicle will stop (fig. 2A, S30 & fig. 2C, S37; stoppable regions R21 to R25, as shown in FIG. 6, are extracted in step S31 [0140]), and
controlling, based on the determined minimal risk maneuver type and the target point, the vehicle to stop at the target point (The control section is further configured to, in making the vehicle automatically stop in a state in which the vehicle travels in a second travel lane that is separated from a road shoulder region more than a first travel lane adjacent to the road shoulder region, execute the following processes: a process of searching for a stop location where the vehicle is to stop, on the basis of the road shoulder region information, to set the target location at the stop location, and generating an evacuation path to the stop location as the target path; a process of decelerating the vehicle to a predetermined speed or lower; a process of making the vehicle change from the second travel lane to a free space of the first travel lane, on the basis of the vehicle surrounding information; and a process of making the vehicle travel at the predetermined speed or lower in the first travel lane and making the vehicle enter the stop location from the first travel lane and stop at the stop location [0008]).
Regarding claim 12:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 11, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
determining at least one of route complexity values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]) or stopping risk values (“collision risk” [0241]) of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (the stoppable region R24 is recognized, and the determination results in YES in step S81, when the own vehicle H reaches the location H7. Then, in consideration of the other vehicles Jb stopping in the stoppable region R24, the determination results in YES in step S85. That is, in response to entering the stoppable region R24, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the collision risk with respect to the other vehicles Jb, as being the predetermined degree or higher, whereby the emergency stop control part 130 interrupts the first-travel-lane traveling process but executes resetting of the stop location [0241]);
determining, based on at least one of the determined route complexity values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.) or stopping risk values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (“collision risk” [0241]), whether or not stopping is possible at the full-shoulder stoppable areas (when the own vehicle H reaches the location H7. Then, in consideration of the other vehicles Jb stopping in the stoppable region R24, the determination results in YES in step S85. That is, in response to entering the stoppable region R24, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the collision risk with respect to the other vehicles Jb, as being the predetermined degree or higher, whereby the emergency stop control part 130 interrupts the first-travel-lane traveling process but executes resetting of the stop location [0241])
determining, based on stopping not being possible at the full-shoulder stoppable areas (fig. 3D, S85 - YES), at least one of route complexity values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas or stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (in step S26, the evaluation value relating to the dynamic evaluation of a point Px ahead of the current location of the own vehicle H is updated in the analysis list L. FIG. 7D shows an updated analysis list L2. In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]; Emergency stop in the stoppable region R25 is performed in a manner substantially the same as that in making a stop in the stoppable region R24 in «Evacuation Traveling Control (3)», and therefore, descriptions thereof are omitted herein [0255]), and
determining, based on at least one of the route complexity values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas and the stopping risk values (fig. 3S, S91) of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (Emergency stop in the stoppable region R25 [0255]), the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S93 or S99) and the target point (stoppable region R25 [0255]; In step S99, the emergency stop control part 130 makes the own vehicle H stop in the travel lane. The method of determining the lane in which the own vehicle H is to stop, and the method of determining a stop location in the selected travel lane, are not specifically limited. [0267]).
Regarding claim 14:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 11, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
searching for full-shoulder stoppable areas that can be reached (in the example in FIG. 6, in which there are two stoppable regions having the evaluation value of “A”, that is, the stoppable regions R22 and R24 [0143]) within the maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) or the maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120]);
determining route complexity values of the searched full-shoulder stoppable areas (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]);
determining a full-shoulder stoppable area (In step S38, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R22, because the stoppable region R22 is the closest region where the vehicle can stop at the time this control process is executed, among the stoppable regions having the same priority, which is the valuation value of “A” in this case [0143]), of the identified full-shoulder stoppable areas, as the target point, wherein a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (The risk calculator 133 may calculate a collision risk value for collision risk by multiplying a first risk value and a second risk value together. The first risk value is set for a candidate of a location where the own vehicle H stops, which is hereinafter referred to as a “stop location candidate”. The second risk value is set for movement of the own vehicle H until the own vehicle H reaches the stop location candidate. A specific method of calculating the collision risk value will be described later [0151]), and wherein the full-shoulder stoppable area has the lowest route complexity value among the route complexity values of the identified full-shoulder stoppable areas (In step S38, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R22, because the stoppable region R22 is the closest region where the vehicle can stop at the time this control process is executed, among the stoppable regions having the same priority, which is the valuation value of “A” in this case [0143]); and
determining a full-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (in the example in FIG. 6, in which there are two stoppable regions having the evaluation value of “A”, that is, the stoppable regions R22 and R24, as shown in FIG. 7A [0143]).
Regarding claim 15:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 14, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
based on a failure to identify a full-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (fig. 3D, S85 – YES; the process in which the collision risk of collision with an obstacle on a road is the predetermined degree or higher, is interrupted, and a stop location is set in order to execute the operation in the process subsequent to the interrupted process. This enables changing to a stop location and an evacuation path by the use of which an emergency stop is safely performed, before the collision risk is actualized due to change in traffic flow after the evacuation path to the emergency stop location is once set [0257]), search for half-shoulder stoppable areas (In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]); and
performing one of:
based on an identification of half-shoulder stoppable areas where route complexity values are lower than the route complexity values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (fig. 2C, S38) and the stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas being lower than a threshold risk (Fig. 3D, S85 – NO & S92 - NO), determine a half-shoulder stoppable area, where a stopping risk value is the lowest among the stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (The risk calculator 133 calculates the collision risk value with respect to each of the stop location candidates. Then, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the stop location candidate having a low collision risk value, which is calculated by the risk calculator 133, as the stop location. [0269]), as the target point and determine a half-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (In step S31 in FIG. 2C, only the region R25 is extracted as the stoppable region [0246]) or
based on a failure to identify a half-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than the route complexity values of the full-shoulder stoppable areas (fig. 3D, S92 - YES), determining an in-lane stop or a straight stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S99).
Regarding claim 16:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 14, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
based on a failure to identify a full-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (fig. 3D, S85 – YES; the process in which the collision risk of collision with an obstacle on a road is the predetermined degree or higher, is interrupted, and a stop location is set in order to execute the operation in the process subsequent to the interrupted process. This enables changing to a stop location and an evacuation path by the use of which an emergency stop is safely performed, before the collision risk is actualized due to change in traffic flow after the evacuation path to the emergency stop location is once set [0257]), searching for half-shoulder stoppable areas (In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]);
performing one of:
based on an identification of half-shoulder stoppable areas where route complexity values are lower than or equal to the threshold value (fig. 2C, S38) and stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas being lower than a threshold risk (Fig. 3D, S85 – NO & S92 - NO), determine a half-shoulder stoppable area, where a stopping risk value is the lowest among the stopping risk values of the half-shoulder stoppable areas (The risk calculator 133 calculates the collision risk value with respect to each of the stop location candidates. Then, the emergency stop control part 130 determines the stop location candidate having a low collision risk value, which is calculated by the risk calculator 133, as the stop location. [0269]), as the target point and determine a half-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (In step S31 in FIG. 2C, only the region R25 is extracted as the stoppable region [0246]); or
based on a failure to identify a half-shoulder stoppable area where a route complexity value is lower than or equal to the threshold value (fig. 3D, S92 - YES), determining an in-lane stop or a straight stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S99).
Regarding claim 17:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 11, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
searching for full-shoulder stoppable areas and half-shoulder stoppable areas that can be reached (In step S32, it is determined that whether there is a stoppable region between the current location of the own vehicle H, or the start point Ps in the case in which the current location is before the start point Ps, and the end point Pe. In the example in FIG. 4, in which the stoppable region R11 is extracted, the determination results in YES in step S32, and the control flow advances to the next step S33. Also, in the example in FIG. 6, in which the stoppable regions R21 to R25 are extracted [0141]) within the maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) or the maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120]);
determining route complexity values and stopping risk values of the searched full-shoulder stoppable areas and half-shoulder stoppable areas (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]); and
based on a failure to identify a stoppable area where a stopping risk value is lower than a threshold risk and a route complexity value is lower than or equal to a threshold value (fig. 3D, S92 - YES), selecting an in-lane stop or a straight stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 3D, S99).
Regarding claim 18:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 17, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
based on an identification of stoppable areas where stopping risk values are lower than a threshold risk (fig. 2C, S38) and route complexity values are lower than or equal to a threshold value (Fig. 3D, S85 – NO & S92 - NO), selecting a stoppable area where a route complexity value is the lowest among the route complexity values of the stoppable areas where a stopping risk value is lower than the threshold risk (fig. 3D, S93; Thus, the emergency stop control part 130 starts control for making the own vehicle H enter the stoppable region R22 and stop at the emergency stop location in step S93. [0186]); and
performing one of:
based on the selected stoppable area being a full-shoulder stoppable area (in the example in FIG. 6, in which there are two stoppable regions having the evaluation value of “A”, that is, the stoppable regions R22 and R24, as shown in FIG. 7A [0143]), determining a full-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 2C, S35 or S38) and determine the selected stoppable area as the target point (In step S38, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R22, because the stoppable region R22 is the closest region where the vehicle can stop at the time this control process is executed, among the stoppable regions having the same priority [0143]),; or
based on the selected stoppable area not being a full-shoulder stoppable area (In step S26, the evaluation value relating to the dynamic evaluation of a point Px ahead of the current location of the own vehicle H is updated in the analysis list L. FIG. 7D shows an updated analysis list L2. In FIG. 7D, “0” is set for the region R24, as a result of evaluating the quasi-dynamic obstacle. This results in setting “0” for the region R24 as an evaluation value of the road shoulder evaluation. In this case, the evaluation values of the stoppable region R25 and the restricted region RN are not changed. [0244]), determining a half-shoulder stop as the minimal risk maneuver type (fig. 2C, S35; The evaluation “C” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “less than the whole width of the vehicle”. [0129]) and determine the selected stoppable area as the target point (Then, in the next step S36, an emergency stop location is set in the stoppable region R25 [0247]).
Regarding claim 19:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 12, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
wherein a route complexity value of a full-shoulder stoppable area or a route complexity value of a half-shoulder stoppable area is determined (The destination path generator 132 generates an evacuation path to the emergency stop location, which is set by the stop location determining unit 131. Specifically, the destination path generator 132 executes processing similar to the path generation performed by the path generator 116. Specifically, the destination path generator 132 generates multiple path candidates on the basis of output of the vehicle surrounding recognizing unit 111 [0148]; The risk calculator 133 may calculate a collision risk value for collision risk by multiplying a first risk value and a second risk value together. The first risk value is set for a candidate of a location where the own vehicle H stops, which is hereinafter referred to as a “stop location candidate”. The second risk value is set for movement of the own vehicle H until the own vehicle H reaches the stop location candidate. A specific method of calculating the collision risk value will be described later. [0151]) based on a number of intersections to pass(For the case in which the own vehicle H passes through a crosswalk or an intersection, the second risk value is set relatively high [0273]), a number of left turns (the second risk value is set relatively higher for a case of turning left or right at an intersection than for a case of straightly advancing an intersection [0273]), a number of right turns (the second risk value is set relatively higher for a case of turning left or right at an intersection than for a case of straightly advancing an intersection [0273]), and a distance to a destination (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]).
Regarding claim 21:
A vehicle (a vehicle [0049]) comprising:
at least one sensor (the information obtaining part 30 includes multiple cameras 31, multiple radars 32, a location sensor 33, a vehicle state sensor 34, a passenger condition sensor 35, an external communication unit 36, and a driving operation sensor 37 [0054]) configured to generate surrounding environment information (the vehicle surrounding recognizing unit 111 performs image processing on an image that is obtained by the camera 31, to generate two-dimensional map data showing a region where the vehicle can move, such as a travel road [0082]) by monitoring a surrounding environment of the vehicle (The multiple cameras 31 obtain image data that show vehicle surroundings, by photographing surroundings of the vehicle, including an on-road obstacle [0056]), and to generate vehicle state information by monitoring a state of the vehicle during autonomous driving of the vehicle (The information of the state of the vehicle, which is obtained by the vehicle state sensor 34, is transmitted to the vehicle control apparatus 10 [0064]);
a processor (the control section 100 may include a processor 835 [0076]); and
a memory storing instructions that are configured to be executed by the processor (The present disclosure may be embodied as a system, a method, and/or a computer program product. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium on which computer readable program instructions are recorded that may cause one or more processors to carry out aspects of the embodiment. [0288]) to cause the vehicle to:
determine, based on at least one of the surrounding environment information (the examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.) or the vehicle state information (The passenger condition estimating unit 114 estimates condition of a driver on the basis of output of the passenger condition sensor 35, for example, in terms of health status, feeling, or posture of the driver. For example, the passenger condition estimating unit 114 generates data that shows movement of a driver, from output of the passenger condition sensor 35, by using a learning model generated by deep learning. In this example, the passenger condition estimating unit 114 detects an abnormality in physical condition of a driver [0089]), whether a minimal risk maneuver is needed (fig. 2A, S11 - YES),
identify stoppable areas that can be reached (stoppable regions R21 to R25, as shown in FIG. 6, are extracted in step S31 [0140]; In step S15, the stop location determining unit 131 stets a candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space. Specifically, the stop location determining unit 131 sets a start point Ps and an end point Pe of the candidate detection area for detecting an evacuation space [0117]) within a maximum distance (the distance or the travel time to the end point Pe may be a fixed value, or the value may be changed depending on type, severity, and urgency, of the abnormality of the physical condition of the driver [0121]) that can be driven in a minimum risk maneuver state (limit at least one of an elapsed time or a travel distance after the detection of the abnormality in physical condition, in accordance with the degree of the abnormality in physical condition; and set the stop location within the limitation [0010]) or within a maximum time (The method of setting the predetermined time period is not specifically limited, but, for example, it is set in accordance with the travel scene. Specifically, the end point Pe is set, e.g., at a point where the vehicle travels for 60 seconds from the start point Ps on an ordinary road, or at a point where the vehicle travels for 180 seconds from the start point Ps on an expressway [0120]) during which the vehicle can be operated in the minimum risk maneuver state (limit at least one of an elapsed time or a travel distance after the detection of the abnormality in physical condition, in accordance with the degree of the abnormality in physical condition; and set the stop location within the limitation [0010]),
classify the identified stoppable areas (In step S23, evaluation of the width of the road shoulder region, which is hereinafter also referred to as “road shoulder width evaluation”, is executed. FIGS. 5 and 7A show examples in which each point Px is evaluated by three stages of “A”, “B”, and “C”, depending on the width of the road shoulder region. [0129]) into full-shoulder stoppable areas (The evaluation “A” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “whole width of the vehicle+0.5 meters or more”. The evaluation “B” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “whole width of the vehicle+less than 0.5 meters” [0129]) or half-shoulder stoppable areas (The evaluation “C” means that the width of the road shoulder region is “less than the whole width of the vehicle” [0129]),
determine at least one of route complexity (On the basis of the path cost added to each of the multiple travel paths, the destination path generator 132 selects a travel path that is safe and shortest to the emergency stop location, from the multiple travel paths, as an evacuation path to the emergency stop location [0148]) or stopping risk values (he movable body evaluation is performed on an “on-road obstacle that is moving or on-road obstacle that is likely to move soon”, such as a pedestrian, a vehicle that is traveling, or a vehicle that temporarily stops on the travel road due to, e.g., waiting for the traffic light. These on-road obstacles are collectively referred to as “dynamic obstacles”. In the movable body evaluation, as in the case of the quasi-movable body evaluation, “1” is set in the case in which no on-road obstacle exists on the normal line between the travel path of the own vehicle H and the road shoulder region, whereas “0” is set in the case in which an on-road obstacle exists thereon [0134]) of the identified stoppable areas (fig. 2B, S25; In step S25, the state of the road shoulder at the time of executing this control process is evaluated. The method of evaluating the road shoulder is not specifically limited. However, for example, a combination of the static evaluation based on the road information, and the dynamic evaluation, is executed as the road shoulder evaluation. [0132]),
determine, based on a determination that the minimal risk maneuver is needed (fig. 2A, S11 - YES) and based on the determined at least one of route complexity or stopping risk values of the identified stoppable areas (fig. 2A, S20), a minimal risk maneuver type (searching for and setting an emergency stop location is executed in the next step S30 (refer to FIG. 2C) [0196]) of a plurality of minimal risk maneuver types of the vehicle (The control section is configured to perform an evacuation traveling control. The road information contains information relating to a width of a road shoulder region along a width direction end of the road. The control section is further configured to, in the evacuation traveling control, generate an evacuation path on which the vehicle is made to evacuate to the road shoulder region, on the basis of the road information stored in the storage, and further configured to control traveling of the vehicle in such a manner that the vehicle travels on the evacuation path. The control section is further configured to, during performing the evacuation traveling control, calculate a collision risk with respect to an on-road obstacle in the evacuation traveling control, on the basis of vehicle surrounding information that is obtained by an information obtaining part mounted on the vehicle. In a case in which the collision risk is a predetermined degree or higher, the control section interrupts the evacuation traveling control and makes the vehicle stop in a travel lane. [0014]) and a target point where the vehicle will stop (fig. 2A, S30 & fig. 2C, S37; stoppable regions R21 to R25, as shown in FIG. 6, are extracted in step S31 [0140]), and
control, based on the determined minimal risk maneuver type and the target point, the vehicle to stop at the target point (The control section is further configured to, in making the vehicle automatically stop in a state in which the vehicle travels in a second travel lane that is separated from a road shoulder region more than a first travel lane adjacent to the road shoulder region, execute the following processes: a process of searching for a stop location where the vehicle is to stop, on the basis of the road shoulder region information, to set the target location at the stop location, and generating an evacuation path to the stop location as the target path; a process of decelerating the vehicle to a predetermined speed or lower; a process of making the vehicle change from the second travel lane to a free space of the first travel lane, on the basis of the vehicle surrounding information; and a process of making the vehicle travel at the predetermined speed or lower in the first travel lane and making the vehicle enter the stop location from the first travel lane and stop at the stop location [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji et. al. (US 2021/0229658), herein Tsuji in view of Tam et. al. (US 2024/0375646), herein Tam.
Regarding claim 10:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 2, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to, based on a size of a stoppable area (“road shoulder width evaluation”, is executed. FIGS. 5 and 7A show examples in which each point Px is evaluated by three stages of “A”, “B”, and “C”, depending on the width of the road shoulder region [0129]), whether an area is a stopping prohibited area (existence of a road sign or a road marking for showing prohibition of parking and stopping [0130]), [maximum speed information of a road], and traffic flow information (speed of on-road obstacles, such as other vehicle J, in front of the own vehicle H and obliquely forward on a road shoulder side, obliquely rearward on a road shoulder side, and rearward of the own vehicle H, on the basis of output of the camera 31, the radar 32, and/or the external communication section 36 [0174]), determine a stopping risk value of a full-shoulder stoppable area or determine a stopping risk value of a half-shoulder stoppable area (The risk calculator 133 calculates, on the basis of vehicle surrounding information obtained by the information obtaining part 30, a collision risk that the own vehicle H collides with an on-road obstacle, in an evacuation path generating process, a decelerating process, a lane changing process, a first-travel-lane traveling process, and a stopping process).
Tsuji does not explicitly teach, however Tam teaches:
based on… maximum speed information of a road (the road information (e.g., the speed limit [0083])… determine a stopping risk value of a full-shoulder stoppable area or determine a stopping risk value of a half-shoulder stoppable area (the motion controller 314 may control the vehicle to avoid the risk zone by stopping the vehicle behind the object, outside of the risk zone (e.g., maintaining the calculated target minimum separation distance between the vehicle and the object). In some implementations, the target minimum separation distance may be calculated based on a multiple of a length of the vehicle. For example, the distance could be one length of the vehicle, two lengths of the vehicle, and so forth. In some implementations, the risk zone may have a width corresponding to the lane in which the vehicle is traveling in the transportation network. The distance may depend on the movement information (e.g., the speed of the object) and/or the road information (e.g., the speed limit, presence of a two-lane road, an oncoming lane, a parallel lane in the same direction, and lane markings) [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsuji to include the teachings as taught by Tam with a reasonable expectation of success. Both arts are in the same field of endeavor of determining vehicle risk for stopping maneuvers. Tam teaches the benefit of “The system may then control the vehicle to avoid the risk zone by constraining a speed of the vehicle. For example, the system may then control the vehicle to avoid the risk zone by stopping the vehicle behind the object, outside of the risk zone (e.g., maintaining the calculated target minimum separation distance between the vehicle and the object). As a result, the vehicle (e.g., the AV), may reduce disruption to traffic flow by enabling an object (e.g., the lead vehicle) to perform the maneuver. [Tam, 0038]”.
Regarding claim 20:
Tsuji teaches all the limitations of claim 12, upon which this claim is dependent.
Tsuji further teaches:
wherein stopping risk of a full-shoulder stoppable area or stopping risk of a half-shoulder stoppable area is determined (The risk calculator 133 calculates, on the basis of vehicle surrounding information obtained by the information obtaining part 30, a collision risk that the own vehicle H collides with an on-road obstacle, in an evacuation path generating process, a decelerating process, a lane changing process, a first-travel-lane traveling process, and a stopping process) based on a size of a stoppable area (“road shoulder width evaluation”, is executed. FIGS. 5 and 7A show examples in which each point Px is evaluated by three stages of “A”, “B”, and “C”, depending on the width of the road shoulder region [0129]), whether an area is a stopping prohibited area (existence of a road sign or a road marking for showing prohibition of parking and stopping [0130]), [maximum speed information of a road], and traffic flow information (speed of on-road obstacles, such as other vehicle J, in front of the own vehicle H and obliquely forward on a road shoulder side, obliquely rearward on a road shoulder side, and rearward of the own vehicle H, on the basis of output of the camera 31, the radar 32, and/or the external communication section 36 [0174]).
Tsuji does not explicitly teach, however Tam teaches:
wherein stopping risk of a full-shoulder stoppable area or stopping risk of a half-shoulder stoppable area is determined (the motion controller 314 may control the vehicle to avoid the risk zone by stopping the vehicle behind the object, outside of the risk zone (e.g., maintaining the calculated target minimum separation distance between the vehicle and the object). In some implementations, the target minimum separation distance may be calculated based on a multiple of a length of the vehicle. For example, the distance could be one length of the vehicle, two lengths of the vehicle, and so forth. In some implementations, the risk zone may have a width corresponding to the lane in which the vehicle is traveling in the transportation network. The distance may depend on the movement information (e.g., the speed of the object) and/or the road information (e.g., the speed limit, presence of a two-lane road, an oncoming lane, a parallel lane in the same direction, and lane markings) [0083]) based on… maximum speed information of a road (the road information (e.g., the speed limit [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsuji to include the teachings as taught by Tam with a reasonable expectation of success. Both arts are in the same field of endeavor of determining vehicle risk for stopping maneuvers. Tam teaches the benefit of “The system may then control the vehicle to avoid the risk zone by constraining a speed of the vehicle. For example, the system may then control the vehicle to avoid the risk zone by stopping the vehicle behind the object, outside of the risk zone (e.g., maintaining the calculated target minimum separation distance between the vehicle and the object). As a result, the vehicle (e.g., the AV), may reduce disruption to traffic flow by enabling an object (e.g., the lead vehicle) to perform the maneuver. [Tam, 0038]”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Helfrich (US 2024/0011797) discloses controlling a driving operation of an autonomously controlled vehicle. In particular, a navigation system is controlled to autonomously operate the vehicle in a direction from a position of loss of location to a first upcoming stop position; and to controlling the vehicle to a stand-still operation when the vehicle arrives at the stop position for calibration of a sensor arranged to measure an angular velocity of the vehicle.
Kanoh (US 2020/0218269) discloses A control apparatus for performing travel control of a vehicle comprises a sensor configured to detect a state around the vehicle, and a travel controller configured to perform travel control for automated driving based on a detection result of the sensor. The travel controller is configured to, in a case where a predetermined condition is satisfied, select a target stop position located in a latitudinal direction with respect to a direction in which the vehicle moves, according to selection criteria, and to stop the vehicle at the target stop position. The selection criteria include a comparison between a speed of the vehicle and a threshold speed.
Hiruma (US 2020/0139990) discloses An electronic control device acquires at least one of subject vehicle information, surrounding environment information, and road information, detects an abnormality that has occurred in a vehicle during an autonomous driving based on a first travel plan, identifying a cause of the abnormality based on at least one of a content of the abnormality, the subject vehicle information, the surrounding environment information, and the road information, determines a situation around the vehicle based on at least one of the subject vehicle information, the surrounding environment information, and the road information, determines a target stop position for stopping the vehicle in a stoppable location based on the cause of the abnormality and the situation around the vehicle, and changes the first travel plan to a second travel plan for stopping the vehicle to the target stop position.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665