This action is in response to the correspondence filed 08/28/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,689,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the elements of claims 1, 11 and 20 of the present application are anticipated by each of the claim elements of claims 1, 10 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,689,538.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1, 11 and 20, the scope of the claims cannot be clearly determined rendering them indefinite. Specifically, a method performed by an authentication system is claimed, however the elements include steps or functions which are performed by a verification system which is not claimed as being included within the authentication system. The limitation stating, “wherein the verification system is configured to identify the authentication information and use the coded sequence to determine whether the second device is an authentic device associated with the user and the interaction initiated by the first device is approved,” is not performed by the claimed authentication system. The scope of the claims includes the steps or functions performed by the authentication system, while the steps and functions of the verification system fall outside of the scope of the claims unless the verification system is claimed as being a part of the authentication system. It is unclear as to whether the Applicant intended to format the claims in a way that the verification fell within the scope of the claim. Thus, in the claims present state, the limitation of “wherein the verification system is configured to identify the authentication information and use the coded sequence to determine whether the second device is an authentic device associated with the user and the interaction initiated by the first device is approved,” does not further limit the scope of the claims. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as intended use language which does not further limit the scope of the claim and is not granted patentable weight. Please feel free to contact the Examiner with any questions or concerns.
As to claims 2, 7, 8, 10 and 14-16, the claims include limitations similar to those of claims 1, 11 and 20, discussed above, in that they include steps or functions which are not performed by the authentication system and therefore rendered indefinite for the same reasons as claims 1, 11 and 20.
As to claim 3, the steps are performed by the authentic device, therefore, similar to those performed by the verification system discussed above, the elements do not further limit the scope of the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as intended use language which does not further limit the scope of the claim and is not granted patentable weight.
As to claims 4-6, 9, 11-13 and 17-20, the claims do not cure the deficiency of claims 1 and 11 and are rejected under 35 USC § 112 for their dependency upon claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 8-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0095219 to Hurley (Applicant’s IDS).
As to claims 1, 11 and 20, Hurley teaches a method, performed by an authentication system, to facilitate interaction authentication, the method comprising: subsequent to initiation of an interaction by a first device associated with a user (FIG. 5, paragraph 40, electronic device communicates payment device identification data with merchant subsystem [claimed interaction by a first device]), communicating with a second device to receive data stored by the second device (FIG. 5 and paragraph 41, received transaction request data from merchant subsystem to the commercial entity subsystem); generating a coded sequence based on at least a portion of the data (FIG. 5 and paragraph 42, payment request data may be encrypted or otherwise formatted by commercial entity subsystem 400 before communication to the target payment device 100 using one or more suitable commercial entity keys, wherein the payment request data may include any suitable information included in or based on the transaction request data of step 504 that may identify one or more particulars of the transaction to that device 100); and transmitting authentication information, including the coded sequence, over an interaction network monitored by a verification system (paragraph 42, transmit the payment request data), wherein the verification system is configured to identify the authentication information and use the coded sequence to determine whether the second device is an authentic device associated with the user and the interaction initiated by the first device is approved (the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 2, Hurley teaches wherein the coded sequence included in the authentication information is a first coded sequence (FIG. 5 and paragraph 42, payment request data may be encrypted or otherwise formatted by commercial entity subsystem 400 before communication to the target payment device 100 using one or more suitable commercial entity keys, wherein the payment request data may include any suitable information included in or based on the transaction request data of step 504 that may identify one or more particulars of the transaction to that device 100), and the verification system is configured to generate, for comparison with the first coded sequence, a second coded sequence expected from an interaction between the authentication system and the authentic device associated with the user (paragraph 67, confirm that the security code matches the security code provided at step 611, thereby providing an additional layer of security to process 600; furthermore, the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 3, Hurley teaches wherein the portion of the data used to generate the first coded sequence includes a first key (paragraph 18, a merchant key may be determined by the commercial entity through use of merchant identification information received from the merchant via the transaction request), and the authentic device associated with the user stores a second key known and used by the verification system to generate the second coded sequence such that a match between the first coded sequence and the second coded sequence indicates the first key is a same key as the second key, and the second device is the authentic device associated with the user (the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 4, Hurley teaches wherein, when the first coded sequence and the second coded sequence match based on the comparison, the second device is determined to be the authentic device associated with the user and the interaction initiated by the first device is approved (paragraph 67, confirm that the security code matches the security code provided at step 611, thereby providing an additional layer of security to process 600; furthermore, the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 5, Hurley teaches wherein, when the first coded sequence and the second coded sequence do not match based on the comparison, the interaction initiated by the first device is denied (paragraph 67, confirm that the security code matches the security code provided at step 611, thereby providing an additional layer of security to process 600, wherein interaction would not continue if the security code does not match; furthermore, the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 6, Hurley teaches wherein the authentication system stores a transaction key (paragraph 18, a merchant key may be determined by the commercial entity through use of merchant identification information received from the merchant via the transaction request), and the method further comprises: using the transaction key to encode a predetermined authentication identifier (paragraph 18, wherein the credential, which may include an identifier, may be encrypted using the key); and including the predetermined authentication identifier as part of the authentication information transmitted to the verification system (paragraphs 18 and 42, transmit the payment request including the encrypted identifier), wherein the predetermined authentication identifier is known by the verification system, and is used to identify the authentication information as the verification system is monitoring the interaction network (the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claims 8 and 16, Hurley teaches receiving, as input to the authentication system, an identifier (paragraph 41, the received transaction request data communicated from merchant subsystem 200 to commercial entity subsystem 400 (e.g., via path 85) may include a merchant identifier that may identify the particular merchant sending the data, a transaction identifier that may identify the particular purchase transaction to be financed, one or more pieces of information specific to that transaction (e.g., purchase price, description of product/service being purchased, shipping information, etc.), identification of the currency to be used during the transaction, a list of financial institutions whose payment credentials may be accepted by merchant subsystem 200, and/or one or more fields of customizable information that may be uniquely customized by merchant subsystem 200 for a particular transaction); and including the identifier as part of the authentication information transmitted to the verification system (paragraph 42, transmitted payment request may include a merchant identifier that may identify the particular merchant that instigated step 506 (e.g., the merchant that sent transaction request data at step 504), a transaction identifier that may identify the particular purchase transaction to be financed, one or more pieces of information specific to that transaction (e.g., purchase price, description of product/service being purchased, shipping information, etc.), and/or one or more fields of customizable information that may be uniquely customized by merchant subsystem 200 for a particular transaction), wherein the verification system is further configured to determine whether the identifier matches an expected identifier, and approve the interaction initiated by the first device further based on the determination (the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 9, Hurley teaches wherein the identifier is a predetermined identifier associated with the second device (paragraph 41, payment device identification data or merchant identifier).
As to claim 10, Hurley teaches wherein the identifier is generated by the verification system and transmitted to the first device in response to the initiation of the interaction by the first device (the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 12, Hurley teaches wherein the portion of the data used to generate the coded sequence includes a private key associated with the second device, and the private key is known and used by the verification system to generate the expected coded sequence (paragraph 42, payment request data may be encrypted or otherwise formatted by commercial entity subsystem 400 before communication to the target payment device 100 using one or more suitable commercial entity keys (e.g., ISD key 156k and/or any other suitable access key, such as one or more of keys 151k, 155a, 155b, 158k) that may be available to commercial entity subsystem 400 and that may be associated with the payment device 100 that is to receive such payment request data [e.g., for creating a secure communication channel between commercial entity subsystem 400 and the payment device 100, such that payment device 100 may utilize an associated device key for decrypting or otherwise reformatting the payment request data before use by device 100 so as to ensure that the source of the payment request data is trustworthy]).
As to claim 13, Hurley teaches the payment request data may include using a transaction key to encode a predetermined authentication identifier (paragraph 42, payment request data may be encrypted or otherwise formatted by commercial entity subsystem 400 before communication to the target payment device 100 using one or more suitable commercial entity keys (e.g., ISD key 156k and/or any other suitable access key, such as one or more of keys 151k, 155a, 155b, 158k) that may be available to commercial entity subsystem 400 and that may be associated with the payment device 100 that is to receive such payment request data [e.g., for creating a secure communication channel between commercial entity subsystem 400 and the payment device 100, such that payment device 100 may utilize an associated device key for decrypting or otherwise reformatting the payment request data before use by device 100 so as to ensure that the source of the payment request data is trustworthy]; and including the predetermined authentication identifier as part of the authentication interaction information transmitted to the verification system (paragraph 42, transmitted payment request may include a merchant identifier that may identify the particular merchant that instigated step 506 (e.g., the merchant that sent transaction request data at step 504), a transaction identifier that may identify the particular purchase transaction to be financed, one or more pieces of information specific to that transaction (e.g., purchase price, description of product/service being purchased, shipping information, etc.), and/or one or more fields of customizable information that may be uniquely customized by merchant subsystem 200 for a particular transaction).
As to claim 14, Hurley teaches wherein the interaction network is an existing interaction rail platform supporting transmission of a plurality of different types of interaction communications (paragraph 21, a communications network may be used to provide one or more of paths 15, 15', 25, 35, 45, 55, 65, 75, and 85, which may be capable of providing communications using any suitable wired or wireless communications protocol. For example, one or more of paths 15, 15', 25, 35, 45, 55, 65, 75, and 85 may support Wi-Fi (e.g., an 802.11 protocol), ZigBee (e.g., an 802.15.4 protocol), WiDi.TM., Ethernet, Bluetooth.TM., BLE, high frequency systems (e.g., 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, and 5.6 GHz communication systems), infrared, TCP/IP, SCTP, DHCP, HTTP, BitTorrent.TM., FTP, RTP, RTSP, RTCP, RAOP, RDTP UDP, SSH, WDS-bridging, any communications protocol that may be used by wireless and cellular telephones and personal e-mail devices (e.g., GSM, GSM plus EDGE, CDMA, OFDMA, HSPA, multi-band, etc.), any communications protocol that may be used by a low power Wireless Personal Area Network ("6LoWPAN") module, any other communications protocol, or any combination thereof), and the verification system is configured to identify the communication including the authentication interaction information based on a presence of the predetermined authentication identifier (the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
As to claim 17, Hurley teaches wherein communicating with the second device further comprises: providing power to the second device to enable the communicating (paragraph 116, a reader of such a merchant terminal may emit a relatively low-power radio wave field that may be used to power an antenna utilized by NFC device module 130 (e.g., shared antenna 116 or NFC-specific antenna 134) and, thereby, enable that antenna to transmit suitable NFC communication information (e.g., credit card credential information) from NFC data module 132, via antenna 116 or antenna 134, to such a merchant terminal as an NFC communication).
As to claim 18, Hurley teaches wherein the authentication system is one of an automated teller machine, a point of sale device, or a terminal (FIG. 1A and paragraph 32, commercial entity subsystem 400 is a terminal).
As to claim 19, Hurley teaches the second device is a card including one or more cryptographic-enabled components ((the steps performed by the second device are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurley in view of US 20140031011 A1 to West.
As to claims 7 and 15, Hurley does not explicitly teach including a first geographic location of the authentication system as part of the authentication information transmitted to the verification system, wherein the verification system is further configured to receive information indicating a second geographic location of the first device as the authentication system is communicating with the second device, determine whether the first geographic location is within a predetermined distance of the second geographic location indicative of the user being in possession of and presenting the second device to the authentication system, and approve the interaction initiated by the first device further based on the determination.
However, West teaches including a first geographic location of the authentication system as part of the authentication information transmitted to the verification system (paragraph 32, the location authenticator communicates a current geographical location for the mobile device to a location-based authentication manager), wherein the verification system is further configured to receive information indicating a second geographic location of the first device as the authentication system is communicating with the second device, determine whether the first geographic location is within a predetermined distance of the second geographic location indicative of the user being in possession of and presenting the second device to the authentication system, and approve the interaction initiated by the first device further based on the determination (the steps performed by the verification system are not positively recited steps which require the step to be performed by the authentication system nor does it limit the claim to a particular structure [see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Hurley to include the method of transmitting the geographical location as part of the authentication information as taught by West in order to provide an extra layer of authentication, via multifactor authentication, using the predefined authorized locations, thus preventing unauthorized access from an area in which a lost or stolen device is location optimizing the overall security of the system.
Conclusion
MALCOLM . CRIBBS
Examiner
Art Unit 2497
/MALCOLM CRIBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497