Detailed Office Action
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed 02/18/2026. The applicant has amended claims 1 and 3-6. The applicant has cancelled Claim 2. The applicant has newly added Claim 7. Claims 1 and 3-7 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-7 remain pending in the application.
Reply to Applicant’s Remarks
Applicant’s remarks filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Claim Interpretation Under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 02/18/2026 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations previously set forth. The 112(f) interpretations have therefore been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 101:
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 02/18/2024 have not overcome the 35 U.S.C 101 rejections previously set forth. Regarding the Applicant’s argument that “these limitations require interaction with real-world vehicle components…and therefore are not merely a mental process that can be performed in the human mind” the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The said real-world components are merely generic sensors gathering data, which is an extra solution activity. Such data is then used in mental processes, because the limitation encompasses a person looking at available data and forming a simple judgement (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) either manually or using a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea.
Further, because the claims only recite mental processes and insignificant extra solution activities, there are no additional elements that can integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, the claim cannot provide an improvement to the technology as an improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea. (see MPEP 2106.05(a) Section II, “However, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea…is not an improvement in technology”).
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103:
Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks, filed 02/18/2026, with regard to the rejections of Claims 1 and 3-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s).
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “greater” is misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of the claims’ subject matter eligibility will follow the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50-57 (January 7, 2019) (“2019 PEG”).
101 Analysis - With respect to Claim 1
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis - Step 1:
Claims 1 and 6 are directed towards apparatuses which are directed to the statutory category of a machine. Therefore Claims 1 and 6 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis- Step 2A Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental process.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 recites, inter alai:
“An in-vehicle apparatus to be applied to a vehicle, the in-vehicle apparatus comprising circuitry configured to:
store preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle;
receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle;
calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier
receive image data of the load from one or both of an imager disposed in the vehicle and a portable device;
calculate, based on the received image data, a frontal projected area of the load and a side projected area of the load;
determine a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load;
determine a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load;
calculate a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate
generate route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption;
and transmit the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information.”
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind.
For example, “calculating”, “determining”, and “generating” in the context of this claim, all encompass a person looking at available data and forming a simple judgement (determination, analysis, comparison, etc.) either manually or using a pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
As drafted, the above claims, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental processes performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), that are merely completed via generic computer components. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis:
Regarding Prong Two of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 1 recites, inter alai:
“An in-vehicle apparatus to be applied to a vehicle, the in-vehicle apparatus comprising circuitry configured to:
store preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle;
receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle;
calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier
receive image data of the load from one or both of an imager disposed in the vehicle and a portable device;
calculate, based on the received image data, a frontal projected area of the load and a side projected area of the load;
determine a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load;
determine a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load;
calculate a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate
generate route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption;
and transmit the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information.”
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “circuitry configured to…” and “one or more processors configured to…”, these limitations merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose vehicle control environment. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). The device(s) and processor(s) are recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the steps.
Regarding the additional limitations of “store…”, “receive…” and “transmit…” these limitations merely describe the sending, receiving, and storing of data which is in insignificant extra solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis:
The claims do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, the act of collecting data and displaying data amounts to no more than merely storing and displaying information of the exception and thus is an extra-solution activity. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding dependent claims 3-5 and 7, no claim further adds a limitation that introduces any practical applications to the claimed invention, the dependent claims merely add more mental process, mathematical concepts, and post-solution activities and are thus not patent eligible.
Therefore, Claims 1 and 3-7 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdowson et al (WO 2014048995 A1) in view of Sugiyama et al (JP 2016049922 A), Karrie et al (US 20090024310 A1), Placa et al (DE 102019007493 A1), and Zhao et al (CN 113984079 A). Hereafter referred to as Widdowson, Sugiyama, Karrie, Placa, and Zhao respectively.
Regarding Claim 1,Widdowson teaches an in-vehicle apparatus to be applied to a vehicle (see at least Widdowson [English Translation, pg.3 para.9-10] The apparatus may further comprise means for capturing the image of a vehicle…The apparatus may comprise means for communication with computing means of a vehicle thereby to provide data corresponding to a height of a roof load of the vehicle)
the in-vehicle apparatus comprising circuitry configured to:
receive image data of the load from one or both of an imager disposed in the vehicle and a portable device (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.3 para.3] The apparatus may be operable automatically to detect a location of the roof load from the captured image. The apparatus may be operable automatically to detect the location of an upper boundary of the roof load on the displayed image, for example by optical analysis of the image)
calculate, based on the received image data, a frontal projected area of the load and a side projected area of the load (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.2 para.9 and pg.6 para.3] a height of a roof load may be determined with accuracy in a convenient manner. It is to be understood that the ability to determine accurately a roof load height may assist a vehicle operator in reducing a risk of collision of the vehicle with an overhead obstacle such as a bridge or other structure. Since the first dimension of the overlay corresponds to a known dimension of the vehicle, other dimensions within the captured image can be calculated....It is to be understood that in some embodiments the device 10 may compare dimensions of features of the overlays 210, 250 in a captured image along respective axes, for example along respective orthogonal axes such as respective horizontal and vertical axes. The device 10 may for example compare a horizontal length and vertical height of a given feature such as a door window 120, 122 in order to determine a tilt of the device 10 about a horizontal axis. The device 10 may subsequently employ this information to generate a 3D model of the size and position of the roof load 150) The disclosure in Widdowson teaches calculating both the height and “other dimensions” of the roof load, which may include the length, width and area of the roof load. The disclosure further teaches generating based on image data a 3D model of the size of the roof load, because a 3D model would need the area of each side of the roof load, the disclosure teaches a calculation that includes calculating both a frontal area and a side area.
Further, even if calculating and generating the 3D model would not require explicitly calculating each side area of the roof load, the disclosure in Widdowson teaches calculating the side area of the roof load (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.2 para.9] a height of a roof load may be determined with accuracy in a convenient manner…Since the first dimension of the overlay corresponds to a known dimension of the vehicle, other dimensions within the captured image can be calculated) and it would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to additionally calculate the frontal projected area if the side projected area is already being calculated.
Widdowson however, does not explicitly teach the in-vehicle apparatus comprising circuitry configured to:
receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle;
calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier.
Karrie, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches circuitry configured to: receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle (see at least Karrie [¶ 6, 9] According to embodiments of the invention this is achieved with the sensing device being arranged in the spatial vicinity of the additional load which is, or can be, positioned in the roof region of the vehicle. The center of gravity position variable is then determined on the basis of the weightload variable which indicates the additional load....the sensing device is a sensor device which is sensitive to the weightload. The weightload sensitive sensor device may include, for example, at least one strain gauge which is provided for measuring the weight or the weight distribution of the additional load)
calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier (see at least Karrie [¶ 9] The weight position variable is then present in the form of a resistance signal which changes with the weight or with the weight distribution of the additional load, and which permits precise estimation of the center of gravity of the vehicle both in the vertical and horizontal directions with respect to the underlying surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle and calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of not only understanding the area and dimensions of the roof load, but also the weight of the roof load, information that can be used to improve the traveling of the vehicle it is loaded on as discussed in Karrie (see at least Karrie [¶ 8] the instantaneous level of the center of gravity of the vehicle has a considerable influence on the transverse dynamics behavior of the vehicle in the case of transverse accelerations which act on the vehicle, such as when traveling through a bend, and carrying out an avoidance maneuver, in the case of an inclined underlying surface or due to cross wind influences).
Further, Widdowson does not explicitly teach circuitry configured to:
determine a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load;
determine a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load.
Placa, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches circuitry configured to: determine a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load (see at least Placa [English Translation pg.2 para.5 and pg.3 para.4 and pg.3 para.9] a vehicle weight and an air resistance are determined taking roof structures and trailer loads into account and are included in the determination of the range. This makes it possible to determine automatically or manually which additional loads, in particular on the roof and / or the trailer coupling, are bearing on the vehicle. For the vehicle, in particular the electric vehicle, the probable range can be determined and displayed accordingly before the start of the journey, taking into account the prevailing actual loads....the exact weight of each piece of luggage that is loaded onto the vehicle can be precisely determined....actual range of a vehicle can ultimately be determined from the additional weight and the changed air resistance 2 , in particular an electric vehicle with a known battery charge can be determined)
determine a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load (see at least Placa [English Translation, pg.2 para.5 and pg.3 para.9] a vehicle weight and an air resistance are determined taking roof structures and trailer loads into account and are included in the determination of the range. This makes it possible to determine automatically or manually which additional loads, in particular on the roof and / or the trailer coupling, are bearing on the vehicle. For the vehicle, in particular the electric vehicle, the probable range can be determined and displayed accordingly before the start of the journey, taking into account the prevailing actual loads....the changed air resistance is determined by determining the different air resistance coefficients of the trailer load 4th , the roof structure 3 and the other loads 6th determined...actual range of a vehicle can ultimately be determined from the additional weight and the changed air resistance 2 , in particular an electric vehicle with a known battery charge can be determined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for determining a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load and determining a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the range estimation of the vehicle as discussed in Placa (see at least Placa [English Translation, pg.3 para.3] Advantageously, changing loads can be determined immediately and incorporated into a new calculation of the range of the vehicle. The aim is to dynamically determine the respective load condition of the vehicle as precisely as possible).
Further, Widdowson does not explicitly teach circuitry configured to:
store preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle;
calculate a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate.
Sugiyama, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches circuitry configured to: store preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle (see at least Sugiyama [English Translation pg.5 para.6, pg.4 para.8, pg.5 para.8] The energy consumption P is the sum of the auxiliary machine power consumption P.sub.load and the drive power consumption .sub.Pv by driving the tire, and can be expressed by the following formula...Therefore, accurate energy consumption P (W) can be obtained by correctly estimating not only the speed pattern and gradient pattern but also parameters such as rolling resistance coefficient, vehicle weight, air resistance coefficient, and auxiliary machine power consumption....FIG. 4 is a diagram schematically showing energy consumption in each part of the electric vehicle, and schematically shows the motor 13, the engine 14, the generator 15, the battery 31, the auxiliary machine 32, and the tire 33. The generator 15 generates power using the rotational force of the engine 14 and charges the battery 31 with the generated power)
calculate a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate (see at least Sugiyama [English Translation pg.4 para.8] accurate energy consumption P (W) can be obtained by correctly estimating not only the speed pattern and gradient pattern but also parameters such as rolling resistance coefficient, vehicle weight, air resistance coefficient, and auxiliary machine power consumption).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for storing preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle and calculating a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the accuracy of the power consumption calculation by incorporating multiple vehicle factors such as weight and aerodynamics as discussed in Sugiyama (see at least Sugiyama [English Translation pg.4 para.8] Therefore, accurate energy consumption P (W) can be obtained by correctly estimating not only the speed pattern and gradient pattern but also parameters such as rolling resistance coefficient, vehicle weight, air resistance coefficient, and auxiliary machine power consumption).
Further, Widdowson does not explicitly teach circuitry configured to:
generate route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption;
and transmit the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information.
Zhao, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches circuitry configured to:
generate route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption (see at least Zhao [English Translation Abstract] a route planning method, device, electronic device and storage medium, by obtaining battery information and travel information of the electric vehicle, according to the departure place, destination and user preference, planning the initial route of the electric vehicle, according to the vehicle condition data of the electric vehicle and the road traffic data of the initial route, determining the battery energy consumption of the electric vehicle in the driving process, according to the initial route, battery energy consumption and charging station distribution map, determining the target charging station, adjusting the initial route according to the target charging station to obtain the target route. by comprehensively considering the user preference, vehicle condition and road traffic condition, considering the route of the charging station for the user recommendation)
and transmit the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information (see at least Zhao [English Translation pg.4 para.3, pg.5 para.3] as shown in FIG. 1, when the vehicle (electric vehicle) is connected with the server communication, when the vehicle needs to route planning, sending the route planning request to the server, the server in response to the route planning request, executing the technical solution of the invention is the vehicle route planning, and the planning route is fed back to the vehicle...can control the human-computer interaction interface in the vehicle, such as a display screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for generating route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption and transmitting the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving both the accuracy of electric vehicle route planning and the driving of the user as discussed in Zhao (see at least Zhao [English Translation pg.2 para.5] improves the accuracy of the electric vehicle route planning, improves the driving experience of the user).
Regarding Claim 3, Widdowson in view of Karrie, Placa, Sugiyama, and Zhao teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Widdowson further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: communicate with the portable device (see at least Widdowson [English Translation, pg.3 para.10] The apparatus may comprise means for communication with computing means of a vehicle thereby to provide data corresponding to a height of a roof load of the vehicle. The apparatus may be operable to provide data corresponding to a height of a roof load of the vehicle by one selected from amongst a wireless link, optionally a short range radio connection such as Bluetooth (RTM), a short message service (SMS) communication, an email and a wired link)
send a message requesting to provide the image data of the load to the portable device (see at least Widdowson [English Translation, pg.3 para.10-11 and pg.3 para.5] The apparatus may comprise means for communication with computing means of a vehicle thereby to provide data corresponding to a height of a roof load of the vehicle. The apparatus may be operable to provide data corresponding to a height of a roof load of the vehicle by…a short message service (SMS) communication…In a further aspect of the invention for which protection is sought there is provided a vehicle having computing means operable to communicate with apparatus according to any preceding aspect of the invention, the vehicle being operable to receive data corresponding to a height of a roof load of the vehicle from the apparatus....the apparatus may be operable to request a user to switch on one or more illumination means of the vehicle before an image of the vehicle is captured).
Regarding Claim 6,Widdowson teaches an in-vehicle apparatus to be applied to a vehicle (see at least Widdowson [English Translation, pg.3 para.9-10] The apparatus may further comprise means for capturing the image of a vehicle…The apparatus may comprise means for communication with computing means of a vehicle thereby to provide data corresponding to a height of a roof load of the vehicle)
the in-vehicle apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and one or more memories communicably coupled to the one or more processors (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.2 para.4 and pg.5 para.5] Aspects of the present invention provide an apparatus, a method, computer program code, a computer readable storage medium…the apparatus may be arranged to receive from an external source an image of a vehicle for processing)
wherein the one or more processors are configured to
receive image data of the load from one or both of an imager disposed in the vehicle and a portable device (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.3 para.3] The apparatus may be operable automatically to detect a location of the roof load from the captured image. The apparatus may be operable automatically to detect the location of an upper boundary of the roof load on the displayed image, for example by optical analysis of the image)
calculate, based on the received image data, a frontal projected area of the load and a side projected area of the load (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.2 para.9 and pg.6 para.3] a height of a roof load may be determined with accuracy in a convenient manner. It is to be understood that the ability to determine accurately a roof load height may assist a vehicle operator in reducing a risk of collision of the vehicle with an overhead obstacle such as a bridge or other structure. Since the first dimension of the overlay corresponds to a known dimension of the vehicle, other dimensions within the captured image can be calculated....It is to be understood that in some embodiments the device 10 may compare dimensions of features of the overlays 210, 250 in a captured image along respective axes, for example along respective orthogonal axes such as respective horizontal and vertical axes. The device 10 may for example compare a horizontal length and vertical height of a given feature such as a door window 120, 122 in order to determine a tilt of the device 10 about a horizontal axis. The device 10 may subsequently employ this information to generate a 3D model of the size and position of the roof load 150) The disclosure in Widdowson teaches calculating both the height and “other dimensions” of the roof load, which may include the length, width and area of the roof load. The disclosure further teaches generating based on image data a 3D model of the size of the roof load, because a 3D model would need the area of each side of the roof load, the disclosure teaches a calculation that includes calculating both a frontal area and a side area.
Further, even if calculating and generating the 3D model would not require explicitly calculating each side area of the roof load, the disclosure in Widdowson teaches calculating the side area of the roof load (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.2 para.9] a height of a roof load may be determined with accuracy in a convenient manner…Since the first dimension of the overlay corresponds to a known dimension of the vehicle, other dimensions within the captured image can be calculated) and it would be obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to additionally calculate the frontal projected area if the side projected area is already being calculated.
Widdowson however, does not explicitly teach the one or more processors configured to:
receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle;
calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier.
Karrie, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches one or more processors configured to: receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle (see at least Karrie [¶ 6, 9] According to embodiments of the invention this is achieved with the sensing device being arranged in the spatial vicinity of the additional load which is, or can be, positioned in the roof region of the vehicle. The center of gravity position variable is then determined on the basis of the weightload variable which indicates the additional load....the sensing device is a sensor device which is sensitive to the weightload. The weightload sensitive sensor device may include, for example, at least one strain gauge which is provided for measuring the weight or the weight distribution of the additional load)
calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier (see at least Karrie [¶ 9] The weight position variable is then present in the form of a resistance signal which changes with the weight or with the weight distribution of the additional load, and which permits precise estimation of the center of gravity of the vehicle both in the vertical and horizontal directions with respect to the underlying surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for receive sensor data from a weight sensor disposed on a roof rail of the vehicle or a roof carrier of the vehicle and calculate, based on the received sensor data, a load weight of a load placed on the roof rail or the roof carrier with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of not only understanding the area and dimensions of the roof load, but also the weight of the roof load, information that can be used to improve the traveling of the vehicle it is loaded on as discussed in Karrie (see at least Karrie [¶ 8] the instantaneous level of the center of gravity of the vehicle has a considerable influence on the transverse dynamics behavior of the vehicle in the case of transverse accelerations which act on the vehicle, such as when traveling through a bend, and carrying out an avoidance maneuver, in the case of an inclined underlying surface or due to cross wind influences).
Further, Widdowson does not explicitly teach one or more processors configured to:
determine a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load;
determine a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load.
Placa, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches one or more processors configured to: determine a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load (see at least Placa [English Translation pg.2 para.5 and pg.3 para.4 and pg.3 para.9] a vehicle weight and an air resistance are determined taking roof structures and trailer loads into account and are included in the determination of the range. This makes it possible to determine automatically or manually which additional loads, in particular on the roof and / or the trailer coupling, are bearing on the vehicle. For the vehicle, in particular the electric vehicle, the probable range can be determined and displayed accordingly before the start of the journey, taking into account the prevailing actual loads....the exact weight of each piece of luggage that is loaded onto the vehicle can be precisely determined....actual range of a vehicle can ultimately be determined from the additional weight and the changed air resistance 2 , in particular an electric vehicle with a known battery charge can be determined)
determine a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load (see at least Placa [English Translation, pg.2 para.5 and pg.3 para.9] a vehicle weight and an air resistance are determined taking roof structures and trailer loads into account and are included in the determination of the range. This makes it possible to determine automatically or manually which additional loads, in particular on the roof and / or the trailer coupling, are bearing on the vehicle. For the vehicle, in particular the electric vehicle, the probable range can be determined and displayed accordingly before the start of the journey, taking into account the prevailing actual loads....the changed air resistance is determined by determining the different air resistance coefficients of the trailer load 4th , the roof structure 3 and the other loads 6th determined...actual range of a vehicle can ultimately be determined from the additional weight and the changed air resistance 2 , in particular an electric vehicle with a known battery charge can be determined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for determining a first deterioration rate based on the load weight of the load and determining a second deterioration rate based on the frontal projected area of the load and the side projected area of the load with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the range estimation of the vehicle as discussed in Placa (see at least Placa [English Translation, pg.3 para.3] Advantageously, changing loads can be determined immediately and incorporated into a new calculation of the range of the vehicle. The aim is to dynamically determine the respective load condition of the vehicle as precisely as possible).
Further, Widdowson does not explicitly teach one or more processors configured to:
store preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle;
calculate a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate.
Sugiyama, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches one or more processors configured to: store preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle (see at least Sugiyama [English Translation pg.5 para.6, pg.4 para.8, pg.5 para.8] The energy consumption P is the sum of the auxiliary machine power consumption P .sub.load and the drive power consumption .sub.Pv by driving the tire, and can be expressed by the following formula...Therefore, accurate energy consumption P (W) can be obtained by correctly estimating not only the speed pattern and gradient pattern but also parameters such as rolling resistance coefficient, vehicle weight, air resistance coefficient, and auxiliary machine power consumption....FIG. 4 is a diagram schematically showing energy consumption in each part of the electric vehicle, and schematically shows the motor 13, the engine 14, the generator 15, the battery 31, the auxiliary machine 32, and the tire 33. The generator 15 generates power using the rotational force of the engine 14 and charges the battery 31 with the generated power)
calculate a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate (see at least Sugiyama [English Translation pg.4 para.8] accurate energy consumption P (W) can be obtained by correctly estimating not only the speed pattern and gradient pattern but also parameters such as rolling resistance coefficient, vehicle weight, air resistance coefficient, and auxiliary machine power consumption).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for storing preset information including a reference specific power consumption of the vehicle and calculating a specific power consumption of the vehicle based on the reference specific power consumption of the vehicle, the first deterioration rate, and the second deterioration rate with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the accuracy of the power consumption calculation by incorporating multiple vehicle factors such as weight and aerodynamics as discussed in Sugiyama (see at least Sugiyama [English Translation pg.4 para.8] Therefore, accurate energy consumption P (W) can be obtained by correctly estimating not only the speed pattern and gradient pattern but also parameters such as rolling resistance coefficient, vehicle weight, air resistance coefficient, and auxiliary machine power consumption).
Further, Widdowson does not explicitly teach one or more processors configured to:
generate route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption;
and transmit the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information.
Zhao, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches one or more processors configured to:
generate route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption (see at least Zhao [English Translation Abstract] a route planning method, device, electronic device and storage medium, by obtaining battery information and travel information of the electric vehicle, according to the departure place, destination and user preference, planning the initial route of the electric vehicle, according to the vehicle condition data of the electric vehicle and the road traffic data of the initial route, determining the battery energy consumption of the electric vehicle in the driving process, according to the initial route, battery energy consumption and charging station distribution map, determining the target charging station, adjusting the initial route according to the target charging station to obtain the target route. by comprehensively considering the user preference, vehicle condition and road traffic condition, considering the route of the charging station for the user recommendation)
and transmit the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information (see at least Zhao [English Translation pg.4 para.3, pg.5 para.3] as shown in FIG. 1, when the vehicle (electric vehicle) is connected with the server communication, when the vehicle needs to route planning, sending the route planning request to the server, the server in response to the route planning request, executing the technical solution of the invention is the vehicle route planning, and the planning route is fed back to the vehicle...can control the human-computer interaction interface in the vehicle, such as a display screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for generating route information including a charging timing in travel from a departure point to a destination based on a current amount of charge and the calculated specific power consumption and transmitting the route information to a navigator to cause the navigator to perform route guidance based on the route information with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving both the accuracy of electric vehicle route planning and the driving of the user as discussed in Zhao (see at least Zhao [English Translation pg.2 para.5] improves the accuracy of the electric vehicle route planning, improves the driving experience of the user).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdowson et al (WO 2014048995 A1) in view of Sugiyama et al (JP 2016049922 A), Karrie et al (US 20090024310 A1), Placa et al (DE 102019007493 A1), Zhao et al (CN 113984079 A), and Chen (CN 116246233 A). Hereafter referred to as Widdowson, Sugiyama, Karrie, Placa, Zhao, and Chen respectively.
Regarding Claim 4, Widdowson in view of Karrie, Placa, Sugiyama, and Zhao teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Widdowson further teaches a display configured to display information (see at least Widdowson [English Translation pg.2 para.6] display a captured image of at least a portion of the vehicle and roof load on display means of the apparatus).
However, Widdowson does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to, when the frontal projected area is greater than a first predetermined area or the side projected area is larger than a second predetermined area, cause the display to display an error message.
Chen, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to, when the frontal projected area is greater than a first predetermined area or the side projected area is larger than a second predetermined area, cause the display to display an error message (see at least Chen [English Translation Abstract and pg.10 para.4, pg.11 para.1] The vehicle-mounted goods monitoring method of the embodiment application the invention, if finding the goods in the carriage is displaced, then prompt message, reminding the truck driver to safely drive or get out of the goods, re-placing goods, avoiding the further damage and loss of the goods...The embodiment of the application when the current image difference value is greater than the first difference threshold value, further judging whether the image difference value of the area to be monitored of the previous continuous interval if it is more and more, it shows that the image difference of the adjacent interval time point to be monitored area has increased trend, it is identified as the cargo displacement, so it can avoid the misjudgment of the cargo displacement, which greatly improves the accuracy of the judgment and alarm...judging whether the communication area is greater than the area threshold value, if so, indicating that the cargo has large displacement, the communication area is the cargo position where displacement occurs, namely, sending the alarm of the cargo displacement to the driver at the same time, it also can send the continuous image of the displacement of the goods position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for wherein the circuitry is configured to, when the frontal projected area is greater than a first predetermined area or the side projected area is larger than a second predetermined area, cause the display to display an error message with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the experience of the driver by warning them when loaded cargo should be rearranged or removed to avoid safety concerns or property damage as discussed in Chen (see at least Chen [English Translation Abstract] reminding the truck driver to safely drive or get out of the goods, re placing goods, avoiding the further damage and loss of the goods, greatly reducing the customer complaint rate, improving the experience of the customer).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdowson et al (WO 2014048995 A1) in view of Sugiyama et al (JP 2016049922 A), Karrie et al (US 20090024310 A1), Placa et al (DE 102019007493 A1), Zhao et al (CN 113984079 A), Chen (CN 116246233 A), and Salter et al (US 20170334344 A1). Hereafter referred to as Widdowson, Sugiyama, Karrie, Placa, Zhao, Chen, and Salter respectively.
Regarding Claim 5, Widdowson in view of Karrie, Placa, Sugiyama, Zhao and Chen teaches all limitations of Claim 4 as set forth above. Widdowson further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: acquire input information on a shape of the load and pieces of the load (see at least Widdowson [English Translation, pg.4 para.13] receiving an input from a user and changing an appearance of the vehicle overlay responsive to the input from the user whereby the user manipulates the overlay to obtain a prescribed correspondence between at least the first dimension of the vehicle overlay and the image; and receiving an input from the user in respect of a location of an upper boundary of the roof load on the image).
However, Widdowson does not explicitly teach, wherein the circuitry is further configured to: determine an appropriate loading way based on the input information that reduces one or both of the frontal projected area and the side projected area.
Salter, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: determine an appropriate loading way based on the input information that reduces one or both of the frontal projected area and the side projected area(see at least Salter [¶ 4, 22, 25-26] the controller is configured to output a signal to the electronic device indicative of the load placement of the cargo…The electronic device 42 may then share its determined location with the wireless communication transceivers 78 such that appropriate features (e.g., approach lighting or cargo placement suggestions and notifications) may be activated by the appropriate transceivers 78...The cargo routine 102 may perform a variety of functions designed to send information to the electronic device 42 and/or the display 50 which is configured to aid a person in loading (e.g., through cargo loading and placement instructions) and securing the cargo 30 (FIG. 1) to the roof rack 22 in real time. The cargo routine 102 may be utilized to provide guidance to a user of the electronic device 42 and/or display 50 on how to secure, load and/or place the cargo 30 to the roof rack 22 (e.g., a video and/or tutorial about how to attach and place the cargo 30 to the roof rack 22) and/or show real time data about the current configuration of the cargo 30 on the roof rack 22... the controller 38 is in communication with the vehicle sensors 110 and/or an accelerometer located within the electronic device 42. Such sensors 110 may be utilized during a test drive procedure (e.g., involving accelerating, braking, turning) to calculate the load dynamics and make suggestions on how to reposition the cargo 30 (e.g., shift the cargo 30 forward, towards the driver side, rearward, or towards the passenger side))
cause the display to display contents of the appropriate loading way (see at least Salter [¶ 30] because the load cells 34 and/or controller 38 transmit load information/warnings in real time to the display 50 and/or the electronic device 42, a driver of the vehicle 10 can immediately be made aware of the total load of the cargo 30, suggestions on how to improve load balance, oscillation of load which indicates shifting of the load or the load coming loose, or suggested driving dynamics changes (e.g., slow down, slower turns, limit acceleration, use smoother roads, etc)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain circuitry that is further configured to determine an appropriate loading way based on the input information that reduces one or both of the frontal projected area and the side projected area and cause the display to display contents of the appropriate loading way with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the safety of the driver/user by displaying to them suggestions that may improve the safe configuration of the loaded cargo as discussed in Salter (see at least Salter [¶ 30] because the load cells 34 and/or controller 38 transmit load information/warnings in real time to the display 50 and/or the electronic device 42, a driver of the vehicle 10 can immediately be made aware of the total load of the cargo 30, suggestions on how to improve load balance, oscillation of load which indicates shifting of the load or the load coming loose, or suggested driving dynamics changes (e.g., slow down, slower turns, limit acceleration, use smoother roads, etc).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widdowson et al (WO 2014048995 A1) in view of Sugiyama et al (JP 2016049922 A), Karrie et al (US 20090024310 A1), Placa et al (DE 102019007493 A1), Zhao et al (CN 113984079 A) and Haupt et al (US 20240012422 A1). Hereafter referred to as Widdowson, Sugiyama, Karrie, Placa, Zhao, and Haupt respectively.
Regarding Claim 7, Widdowson in view of Karrie, Placa, Sugiyama, and Zhao teaches all limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. However, Widdowson does not explicitly teach wherein the specific power consumption indicates a travel distance per unit amount of electric power consumption.
Sugiyama, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches wherein the specific power consumption indicates a travel distance per unit amount of electric power consumption (see at least Sugiyama [English translation Abstract] The vehicle energy management device includes an energy pattern generation part for calculating the energy consumption of an electric vehicle during traveling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for wherein the specific power consumption indicates a travel distance per unit amount of electric power consumption with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of defining specific power consumption in a way that matches how it is commonly defined in the art.
Further, Widdowson does not explicitly teach
wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
when (i) the side projected area is less than a first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is less than a second threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as a first value;
when (i) the side projected area is less than the first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is greater than or equal to the second threshold and less than a third threshold that is greater than the second threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as a second value;
when (i) the side projected area is less than the first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is greater than or equal to the third threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as a third value;
when (i) the side projected area is greater than or equal to the first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is less than the second threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as the second value;
when (i) the side projected area is greater than or equal to the first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is greater than or equal to the second threshold and less than the third threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as the third value;
when (i) the side projected area is greater than or equal to the first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is greater than or equal to the third threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as a fourth value;
wherein, in calculating the specific power consumption by the circuit, the second deterioration rate is used such that the value of the specific power consumption becomes smaller when the second deterioration rate is the second value than when the second deterioration rate is the first value, further the second deterioration rate acts such that the value of the specific power consumption becomes smaller when the second deterioration rate is the third value than when the second deterioration rate is the second value, and further the second deterioration rate acts such that the value of the specific power consumption becomes smaller when the second deterioration rate is the fourth value than when the second deterioration rate is the third value.
Haupt, in the same field as the endeavor, teaches when (i) the side projected area is less than a first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is less than a second threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as a first value (see at least Haupt [¶ 17, 5] The external geometry of the vehicle and of the at least one further vehicle can be specific to the journey, for example depend on a cargo of the respective vehicle….The actual air resistances can be specific for the respective journey of the vehicles involved and/or change during the journey depending on properties of the vehicles involved, for example depending on a variable body or an external geometry and/or external surface area that is dependent on the cargo).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system set forth in Widdowson to contain a system for when (i) the side projected area is less than a first threshold and (ii) the frontal projected area is less than a second threshold, determine the second deterioration rate as a first value with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification for benefit of improving the control of the vehicle by understanding how the vehicle and its respective cargo’s area is related to its aerodynamic drag/air resistance (see at least Haupt [¶ 4] In order to be able to set energetically optimal vehicle distances within the column, the exact knowledge of the connection between the air resistances of the vehicles and the vehicle distances is of central importance. Energy-efficient and automated controls for column-driving according to the prior art proceed from a fixed connection, typically determined through simulation, between air resistances and vehicle distances).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH ANDERSON YANOSKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664