DETAILED ACTION
Objections to the Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 3 is missing a letter “ω” based on the original FIG. 3.
Claim Interpretation
Office Note: The term “angular velocity” recited in the claims is interpreted as “any of angular velocity, radial velocity, Doppler velocity, and yaw-rate” based on at least paragraphs [0012], [0015], and [0023] of the specification as originally filed.
An exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). To act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. CCS Fitness, Inc. v. Brunswick Corp., 288 F.3d 1359, 1366, 62 USPQ2d 1658, 1662 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has provided lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has acted as his/her own lexicographer.
In paragraphs [0012], [0015], and [0023] of the specification as originally filed, the term “i.e.” is used to provide equivalency between the terms including “angular velocity,” “radial velocity,” “Doppler velocity,” and “yaw-rate” (see “I.e..” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/i.e.. Accessed 29 Apr. 2026.).
Therefore, “angular velocity,” “radial velocity,” “Doppler velocity,” and “yaw-rate” are interpreted as the same velocities following the applicant’s definition provided in the specification as originally filed.
Office Note: The term “pair” recited in the claims is interpreted as “to become associated with another” (“Pair.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/pair. Accessed 4 Dec. 2025.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 12, 13, 15-19, 21-26, 28, 29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialer et al. (US 2021/0011150 A1, hereinafter “Bialer”) in view of Schoor (US 2020/0371198 A1) further in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0128995 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Bialer discloses a vehicular driving assist system, the vehicular driving assist system comprising:
a sensor disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular driving assist system, the sensor sensing exterior of the equipped vehicle (Bialer at para. [0024]: “the automobile 10 may be equipped with one or more digital cameras 62, one or more range sensors 64, one or more vehicle speed sensors 66, one or more vehicle dynamics sensors 68, and any requisite filtering, classification, fusion and analysis hardware and software for processing raw sensor data”);
wherein the sensor is operable to capture sensor data (Bialer at para. [0026]: “Each sensor generates electrical signals indicative of a characteristic or condition of a targeted object”);
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein sensor data captured by the sensor is transferred to the ECU (Bialer at para. [0025]: “Using data from the sensing devices 62, 64, 66, 68, the CPU 36 identifies surrounding driving conditions, determines characteristics of road surface conditions, identifies objects within a detectable range of the vehicle 10, determines attributes of the target object, such as size, relative position, angle of approach, relative speed, etc., and executes automated control maneuvers based on these executed operations”);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises at least one data processor (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein the ECU is operable to process captured sensor data provided to the ECU (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of sensor data captured by the sensor, detects an object present exterior of the equipped vehicle (Bialer at para. [0025]: “Using data from the sensing devices 62, 64, 66, 68, the CPU 36 identifies surrounding driving conditions, determines characteristics of road surface conditions, identifies objects within a detectable range of the vehicle 10, determines attributes of the target object, such as size, relative position, angle of approach, relative speed, etc., and executes automated control maneuvers based on these executed operations”);
However, Bialer does not explicitly state:
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a first set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a second set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities;
wherein the first set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a first time and the second set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a second time that is after the first time;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system converts (i) the first set of angular velocities into a first set of Cartesian velocities and (ii) the second set of angular velocities into a second set of Cartesian velocities;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system pairs each Cartesian velocity from the first set of Cartesian velocities with a corresponding Cartesian velocity from the second set of Cartesian velocities to generate a set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object; and
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle and controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
Nevertheless, Bialer at least suggests the idea of determining a set of velocity vectors of a detected object detected by sensors of a vehicle, converting the set of velocity vectors into a set of Cartesian velocities, determining velocity of the detected object based on the Cartesian velocities, and controlling the vehicle based on the determined velocity (See Bialer at para. [0032]-[0041]).
In the same field of endeavor, Schoor teaches:
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a first set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0039]: “A radial velocity vr,0=0 is measured at an antenna position (0,y0) situated at the origin. A radial velocity vr,i is measured at an antenna position (0,yi)”; para. [0055]: “FIG. 6 schematically shows three located radar targets having different radial velocities vr”);
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a second set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0048]: “Shifts Ma(i) are subtracted from frequency positions fa(i) in step S16, and remaining frequency positions fa(i)-llfa(i) are evaluated in step S18 and used to determine individual radial velocities vr,i of channels i. This takes place according to the FMCW equation”; Radial velocities are determined at different frequency positions (i.e., “second set of angular velocities”));
wherein the first set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a first time and the second set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a second time that is after the first time (Schoor at para. [0048]: “Shifts Ma(i) are subtracted from frequency positions fa(i) in step S16, and remaining frequency positions fa(i)-llfa(i) are evaluated in step S18 and used to determine individual radial velocities vr,i of channels i. This takes place according to the FMCW equation”; Radial velocities are determined at different frequency positions which involves time shifts (i.e., “first time” “second time that is after the first time”));
wherein the vehicular driving assist system converts (i) the first set of angular velocities into a first set of Cartesian velocities and (ii) the second set of angular velocities into a second set of Cartesian velocities (Schoor at para. [0039]: “This radial velocity corresponds to the projection of Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) toward the radial direction of the antenna position, and is thus a function of aspect angle θi of the radar target at the antenna position”; para. [0040]: “The relationship between aspect angles θi of evaluation channels i, Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) of the point target, and the individual radial velocities that are estimated from the spectrum in the particular evaluation channels i, is given by equation (1)”; All individual velocities from all frequency positions (“first set of angular velocities” and “second set of angular velocities”) correspond to the projection of Cartesian velocities (“first set of Cartesian velocities” and “second set of Cartesian velocities”) as described by equation (1));
wherein the vehicular driving assist system pairs each Cartesian velocity from the first set of Cartesian velocities with a corresponding Cartesian velocity from the second set of Cartesian velocities to generate a set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object (Schoor at para. [0041]: “Based on individual radial velocities vr, in the particular evaluation channels, the vector of Cartesian velocities vxy may then be estimated according to the least squares method”; para. [0050]: “The Cartesian velocity of the radar target is estimated in step S22 based on equations (1) and (2). For an output of the radar sensor, these equations may be transformed, for example, to a radial velocity and a tangential velocity (or angular velocity) relative to the origin”); and
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Schoor at para. [0055]: “FIG. 6 schematically shows three located radar targets having different radial velocities vr, but for which the same Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) has been estimated. These radar targets are associated with an extended object 60”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer by adding the angular velocities of Schoor with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor is to provide rapid and simple estimation of a velocity of an extended radar object.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor does not explicitly state:
controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches:
controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Chen at para. [0080]: “method 900 include causing a driving path of the AV to be determined in view of the improved state vector of the object. Operations of block 940 can be performed similarly to operations of block 730 of method 700”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor by adding the controlling the equipped vehicle of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve driving safety.
Regarding claim 2, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system, responsive to generating the set of paired Cartesian velocities, determines a set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities, and wherein each Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other object Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities (Chen at para. [0077]: “method 900 can continue with estimating a state vector Y(t) of an object corresponding to the first plurality of return points. The state vector can include a translational velocity V of the object (e.g., components of V along a chosen system of coordinate axes) and a rotational (e.g., angular) velocity Ω of the object (e.g., components of Ω)”; para. [0079]: “operations of blocks 910, 920, and 930 can be repeated for additional return points obtained for frames τ+Δτ, τ+2Δτ, τ+3Δτ, etc., to track the object over a desired time horizon”; The state vector corresponds to “set of object Cartesian velocities”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the object Cartesian velocities of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 3, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 2.
Chen further teaches wherein each Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities is different from at least one other Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities (Chen at para. [0079]: “operations of blocks 910, 920, and 930 can be repeated for additional return points obtained for frames τ+Δτ, τ+2Δτ, τ+3Δτ, etc., to track the object over a desired time horizon”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the each Cartesian velocity of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 4, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 2.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system filters the object Cartesian velocities by (i) selecting a subset of angular velocities from the first set of angular velocities and the second set of angular velocities to generate the set of paired Cartesian velocities, (ii) determining an error for each angular velocity in the selected subset of angular velocities based on the set of object Cartesian velocities and (iii) discarding angular velocities in the selected subset of angular velocities with determined errors greater than an error threshold (Chen at para. [0052]: “a minimum of three return points can be sufficient to determine the three independent variables X1=V0r, X2=V0s-R0Ωv and X3=V0t R0Ωs that characterize the distribution of velocities of a rigid body” “selecting ( e.g., randomly) any three equations from the system of N linear equation would determine a set of variables X1, X2, X3 that are, generally, different from the variables obtained using some other different set” “outlier sets of X1, X2, X3 can be discarded, based on various known filtering algorithms”; A threshold is necessary to determine outliers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the filtering of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 5, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 2.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system determines a non-linear predicted path of the detected object based on the set of object Cartesian velocities, and wherein the vehicular driving assist system controls the equipped vehicle based on the non-linear predicted path of the detected object (Chen at para. [0036]: “The AVCS 140 can also include a driving path selection system for selecting a particular path through the immediate driving environment, which can include selecting a traffic lane, negotiating a traffic congestion, choosing a place to make a U-tum, selecting a trajectory for a parking maneuver, and so on”; para. [0072]: “The control system can determine a new path for the AV, which can include braking, changing lanes, stopping, backing up and so on. The control system can subsequently output instructions to powertrain and steering 150, vehicle electronics 160, signaling 170, etc., to ensure that the AV follows the determined driving path”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the non-linear predicted path of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 9, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the sensor comprises a single sensor (Chen at para. [0041]: “The AV 202 has a sensor 206, which can be a lidar, such as a coherent lidar, an FMCW lidar, a hybrid coherent/ToF lidar, a combination of a coherent and incoherent lidar. etc., or any other device that allows to sense the radial velocity information in addition to the range (distance) information”; para. [0065]: “Other methods described above in relation to a single-sensor setup can be used in the multi-sensor setup as well”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the single sensor of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 12, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is different from at least one other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is different from at least one other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities (Chen at para. [0019], [0067], [0069], [0070]: Since each angular velocity is associated with a respective point corresponding to the object, each angular velocity is different from each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the each angular velocity of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 13, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system filters the set of paired Cartesian velocities using an outlier rejection process (Chen at para. [0052]: “a minimum of three return points can be sufficient to determine the three independent variables X1=V0r, X2=V0s-R0Ωv and X3=V0t R0Ωs that characterize the distribution of velocities of a rigid body” “selecting ( e.g., randomly) any three equations from the system of N linear equation would determine a set of variables X1, X2, X3 that are, generally, different from the variables obtained using some other different set” “outlier sets of X1, X2, X3 can be discarded, based on various known filtering algorithms”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the outlier rejection process of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 15, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system controls the equipped vehicle by controlling at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) acceleration of the vehicle and (ii) steering of the vehicle (Chen at para. [0037]: “Algorithms and modules of AVCS 140 can generate instructions for various systems and components of the vehicle, such as the powertrain and steering 150”; para. [0038]: “the AVCS 140 can determine that an obstacle identified by the data processing system 130 is to be avoided by decelerating the vehicle until a safe speed is reached, followed by steering the vehicle around the obstacle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the controlling of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 16, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the sensor comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) an ultrasonic sensor and (ii) a lidar sensor (Chen at para. [0027]: “The sensing system 120 can include one or more lidar sensors 122 (e.g., lidar rangefinders)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the sensor of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 17, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the sensor comprises a radar sensor, and wherein the radar sensor transmits radio signals and receives radio signals, and wherein sensor data is captured based on the received radio signals (Chen at para. [0018]: “A lidar emits one or more laser signals (pulses) that travel to an object and then detects arrived signals reflected from the object”; para. [0019]: “Each frame can include numerous return points ( or simply "points") corresponding to reflections from various objects of the environment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the sensor of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 18, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 17.
Chen further teaches wherein captured sensor data further comprises (i) range data, (ii) azimuth data, (iii) elevation data and (iv) power data (Chen at para. [0022]: “A coherent lidar allows, in addition to obtaining the range information, associating a radial velocity with the return points of the point cloud (radial velocimetry)”; para. [0033]: “Each point can be associated with various data, such as a timestamp of the frame, coordinates of the reflecting surface, radial velocity of the reflecting surface, intensity of the reflected signal, and so on”; para. [0067]: “the coordinates can be a distance to the reflecting region (e.g., determined from the time of flight of the returned signals), and one or more directional angles, such as the azimuthal angle specifying direction within the horizontal plane and the polar angle specifying the elevation above ( or below) the horizontal plane” (emphasis added)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the sensor data of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 19, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein controlling the equipped vehicle comprises controlling the equipped vehicle to avoid colliding with the detected object (Chen at para. [0038]: “the AVCS 140 can determine that an obstacle identified by the data processing system 130 is to be avoided by decelerating the vehicle until a safe speed is reached, followed by steering the vehicle around the obstacle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer by adding the controlling of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 21, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the detected object comprises another vehicle traveling along a road that intersects the road along which the equipped vehicle is traveling, and wherein controlling the equipped vehicle comprises controlling the equipped vehicle to avoid collision with the detected other vehicle (Chen at FIG. 2 and para. [0040]: “Based on classification of various objects by object classification module 188 as well as previously tracked motion of the objects (by cluster tracking module 184), a behavior prediction module 190 can forecast how the identified objects are likely to move within a certain time horizon, e.g., whether a truck is likely to stop before an intersection, cross the intersection without stopping, turn at the intersection, and so on. Behavior prediction module 190 can also forecast velocity and acceleration/deceleration of the identified objects, responses of the objects to changing traffic and road conditions, and so on. Information from (e.g., forecasts) from behavior prediction module 190 can be provided to AVCS 140 to enable driving path selection, as described above in relation to FIG. 1A”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the another vehicle of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 22, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
Chen further teaches wherein the detected object comprises a pedestrian, and wherein controlling the equipped vehicle comprises controlling the equipped vehicle to avoid the detected pedestrian (Chen at para. [0019]: “A single object, such as another vehicle, a road sign, a pedestrian, and so on, can generate multiple return points”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the detected object of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 23, Bialer discloses a vehicular driving assist system, the vehicular driving assist system comprising:
a sensor disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular driving assist system, the sensor sensing exterior of the equipped vehicle (Bialer at para. [0024]: “the automobile 10 may be equipped with one or more digital cameras 62, one or more range sensors 64, one or more vehicle speed sensors 66, one or more vehicle dynamics sensors 68, and any requisite filtering, classification, fusion and analysis hardware and software for processing raw sensor data”);
wherein the sensor is operable to capture sensor data (Bialer at para. [0026]: “Each sensor generates electrical signals indicative of a characteristic or condition of a targeted object”);
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein sensor data captured by the sensor is transferred to the ECU (Bialer at para. [0025]: “Using data from the sensing devices 62, 64, 66, 68, the CPU 36 identifies surrounding driving conditions, determines characteristics of road surface conditions, identifies objects within a detectable range of the vehicle 10, determines attributes of the target object, such as size, relative position, angle of approach, relative speed, etc., and executes automated control maneuvers based on these executed operations”);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises at least one data processor (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein the ECU is operable to process captured sensor data provided to the ECU (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of sensor data captured by the sensor, detects an object present exterior of the equipped vehicle (Bialer at para. [0025]: “Using data from the sensing devices 62, 64, 66, 68, the CPU 36 identifies surrounding driving conditions, determines characteristics of road surface conditions, identifies objects within a detectable range of the vehicle 10, determines attributes of the target object, such as size, relative position, angle of approach, relative speed, etc., and executes automated control maneuvers based on these executed operations”);
However, Bialer does not explicitly state:
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a first set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is different from at least one other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities, and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a second set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is different from at least one other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities;
wherein the first set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a first time and the second set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a second time that is after the first time;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system converts (i) the first set of angular velocities into a first set of Cartesian velocities and (ii) the second set of angular velocities into a second set of Cartesian velocities;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system pairs each Cartesian velocity from the first set of Cartesian velocities with a corresponding Cartesian velocity from the second set of Cartesian velocities to generate a set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object; and
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle and controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
Nevertheless, Bialer at least suggests the idea of determining a set of velocity vectors of a detected object detected by sensors of a vehicle, converting the set of velocity vectors into a set of Cartesian velocities, determining velocity of the detected object based on the Cartesian velocities, and controlling the vehicle based on the determined velocity (See Bialer at para. [0032]-[0041]).
In the same field of endeavor, Schoor teaches:
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a first set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is different from at least one other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0039]: “A radial velocity vr,0=0 is measured at an antenna position (0,y0) situated at the origin. A radial velocity vr,i is measured at an antenna position (0,yi)”), and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0055]: “FIG. 6 schematically shows three located radar targets having different radial velocities vr”);
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a second set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is different from at least one other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0048]: “Shifts Ma(i) are subtracted from frequency positions fa(i) in step S16, and remaining frequency positions fa(i)-llfa(i) are evaluated in step S18 and used to determine individual radial velocities vr,i of channels i. This takes place according to the FMCW equation”; Radial velocities are determined at different frequency positions (i.e., “second set of angular velocities”)), and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0055]: “FIG. 6 schematically shows three located radar targets having different radial velocities vr”);
wherein the first set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a first time and the second set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a second time that is after the first time (Schoor at para. [0048]: “Shifts Ma(i) are subtracted from frequency positions fa(i) in step S16, and remaining frequency positions fa(i)-llfa(i) are evaluated in step S18 and used to determine individual radial velocities vr,i of channels i. This takes place according to the FMCW equation”; Radial velocities are determined at different frequency positions which involves time shifts (i.e., “first time” “second time that is after the first time”));
wherein the vehicular driving assist system converts (i) the first set of angular velocities into a first set of Cartesian velocities and (ii) the second set of angular velocities into a second set of Cartesian velocities (Schoor at para. [0039]: “This radial velocity corresponds to the projection of Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) toward the radial direction of the antenna position, and is thus a function of aspect angle θi of the radar target at the antenna position”; para. [0040]: “The relationship between aspect angles θi of evaluation channels i, Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) of the point target, and the individual radial velocities that are estimated from the spectrum in the particular evaluation channels i, is given by equation (1)”; All individual velocities from all frequency positions (“first set of angular velocities” and “second set of angular velocities”) correspond to the projection of Cartesian velocities (“first set of Cartesian velocities” and “second set of Cartesian velocities”) as described by equation (1));
wherein the vehicular driving assist system pairs each Cartesian velocity from the first set of Cartesian velocities with a corresponding Cartesian velocity from the second set of Cartesian velocities to generate a set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object (Schoor at para. [0041]: “Based on individual radial velocities vr, in the particular evaluation channels, the vector of Cartesian velocities vxy may then be estimated according to the least squares method”; para. [0050]: “The Cartesian velocity of the radar target is estimated in step S22 based on equations (1) and (2). For an output of the radar sensor, these equations may be transformed, for example, to a radial velocity and a tangential velocity (or angular velocity) relative to the origin”); and
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Schoor at para. [0055]: “FIG. 6 schematically shows three located radar targets having different radial velocities vr, but for which the same Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) has been estimated. These radar targets are associated with an extended object 60”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer by adding the angular velocities of Schoor with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor is to provide rapid and simple estimation of a velocity of an extended radar object.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor does not explicitly state:
controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches:
controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Chen at para. [0080]: “method 900 include causing a driving path of the AV to be determined in view of the improved state vector of the object. Operations of block 940 can be performed similarly to operations of block 730 of method 700”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor by adding the controlling the equipped vehicle of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve driving safety.
Regarding claim 24, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 23.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system, responsive to generating the set of paired Cartesian velocities, determines a set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities, and wherein each Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other object Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities (Chen at para. [0077]: “method 900 can continue with estimating a state vector Y(t) of an object corresponding to the first plurality of return points. The state vector can include a translational velocity V of the object (e.g., components of V along a chosen system of coordinate axes) and a rotational (e.g., angular) velocity Ω of the object (e.g., components of Ω)”; para. [0079]: “operations of blocks 910, 920, and 930 can be repeated for additional return points obtained for frames τ+Δτ, τ+2Δτ, τ+3Δτ, etc., to track the object over a desired time horizon”; The state vector corresponds to “set of object Cartesian velocities”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the object Cartesian velocities of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 25, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 24.
Chen further teaches wherein each Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities is different from at least one other Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities (Chen at para. [0079]: “operations of blocks 910, 920, and 930 can be repeated for additional return points obtained for frames τ+Δτ, τ+2Δτ, τ+3Δτ, etc., to track the object over a desired time horizon”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the each Cartesian velocity of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 26, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 24.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system determines a non-linear predicted path of the detected object based on the set of object Cartesian velocities, and wherein the vehicular driving assist system controls the equipped vehicle based on the non-linear predicted path of the detected object (Chen at para. [0036]: “The AVCS 140 can also include a driving path selection system for selecting a particular path through the immediate driving environment, which can include selecting a traffic lane, negotiating a traffic congestion, choosing a place to make a U-tum, selecting a trajectory for a parking maneuver, and so on”; para. [0072]: “The control system can determine a new path for the AV, which can include braking, changing lanes, stopping, backing up and so on. The control system can subsequently output instructions to powertrain and steering 150, vehicle electronics 160, signaling 170, etc., to ensure that the AV follows the determined driving path”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the non-linear predicted path of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 28, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 23.
Chen further teaches wherein the sensor comprises a single sensor (Chen at para. [0041]: “The AV 202 has a sensor 206, which can be a lidar, such as a coherent lidar, an FMCW lidar, a hybrid coherent/ToF lidar, a combination of a coherent and incoherent lidar. etc., or any other device that allows to sense the radial velocity information in addition to the range (distance) information”; para. [0065]: “Other methods described above in relation to a single-sensor setup can be used in the multi-sensor setup as well”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer by adding the single sensor of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 29, Bialer discloses a vehicular driving assist system, the vehicular driving assist system comprising:
a (Bialer at para. [0024]: “the automobile 10 may be equipped with one or more digital cameras 62, one or more range sensors 64, one or more vehicle speed sensors 66, one or more vehicle dynamics sensors 68, and any requisite filtering, classification, fusion and analysis hardware and software for processing raw sensor data”);
wherein the (Bialer at para. [0026]: “Each sensor generates electrical signals indicative of a characteristic or condition of a targeted object”);
an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein sensor data captured by the (Bialer at para. [0025]: “Using data from the sensing devices 62, 64, 66, 68, the CPU 36 identifies surrounding driving conditions, determines characteristics of road surface conditions, identifies objects within a detectable range of the vehicle 10, determines attributes of the target object, such as size, relative position, angle of approach, relative speed, etc., and executes automated control maneuvers based on these executed operations”);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises at least one data processor (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein the ECU is operable to process captured sensor data provided to the ECU (Bialer at para. [0012]: “non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions executable by at least one of one or more processors of one or more programmable control units, such as an electronic control unit (ECU) or control module, to govern operation of a disclosed vehicle, system or device”);
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of sensor data captured by the single sensor, detects an object present exterior of the equipped vehicle (Bialer at para. [0025]: “Using data from the sensing devices 62, 64, 66, 68, the CPU 36 identifies surrounding driving conditions, determines characteristics of road surface conditions, identifies objects within a detectable range of the vehicle 10, determines attributes of the target object, such as size, relative position, angle of approach, relative speed, etc., and executes automated control maneuvers based on these executed operations”);
However, Bialer does not explicitly state:
a single sensor,
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a first set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a second set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities;
wherein the first set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a first time and the second set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a second time that is after the first time;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system converts (i) the first set of angular velocities into a first set of Cartesian velocities and (ii) the second set of angular velocities into a second set of Cartesian velocities;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system pairs each Cartesian velocity from the first set of Cartesian velocities with a corresponding Cartesian velocity from the second set of Cartesian velocities to generate a set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, responsive to generating the set of paired Cartesian velocities, determines a set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object, and wherein each Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other object Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities; and
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle and controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
Nevertheless, Bialer at least suggests the idea of determining a set of velocity vectors of a detected object detected by sensors of a vehicle, converting the set of velocity vectors into a set of Cartesian velocities, determining velocity of the detected object based on the Cartesian velocities, and controlling the vehicle based on the determined velocity (See Bialer at para. [0032]-[0041]).
In the same field of endeavor Schoor teaches:
a single sensor (Schoor at para. [0033]: “the radar sensor is an FMCW radar; i.e., the frequency of the transmission signal that is delivered by oscillator 24 is periodically modulated in the form of a sequence of rising and/or falling frequency ramps”),
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a first set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the first set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0039]: “A radial velocity vr,0=0 is measured at an antenna position (0,y0) situated at the origin. A radial velocity vr,i is measured at an antenna position (0,yi)”; para. [0055]: “FIG. 6 schematically shows three located radar targets having different radial velocities vr”);
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, via processing at the ECU of captured sensor data, determines a second set of angular velocities for the detected object, and wherein each angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other angular velocity of the second set of angular velocities (Schoor at para. [0048]: “Shifts Ma(i) are subtracted from frequency positions fa(i) in step S16, and remaining frequency positions fa(i)-llfa(i) are evaluated in step S18 and used to determine individual radial velocities vr,i of channels i. This takes place according to the FMCW equation”; Radial velocities are determined at different frequency positions (i.e., “second set of angular velocities”));
wherein the first set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a first time and the second set of angular velocities for the detected object is determined at a second time that is after the first time;
wherein the vehicular driving assist system converts (i) the first set of angular velocities into a first set of Cartesian velocities and (ii) the second set of angular velocities into a second set of Cartesian velocities (Schoor at para. [0048]: “Shifts Ma(i) are subtracted from frequency positions fa(i) in step S16, and remaining frequency positions fa(i)-llfa(i) are evaluated in step S18 and used to determine individual radial velocities vr,i of channels i. This takes place according to the FMCW equation”; Radial velocities are determined at different frequency positions which involves time shifts (i.e., “first time” “second time that is after the first time”));
wherein the vehicular driving assist system pairs each Cartesian velocity from the first set of Cartesian velocities with a corresponding Cartesian velocity from the second set of Cartesian velocities to generate a set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object (Schoor at para. [0039]: “This radial velocity corresponds to the projection of Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) toward the radial direction of the antenna position, and is thus a function of aspect angle θi of the radar target at the antenna position”; para. [0040]: “The relationship between aspect angles θi of evaluation channels i, Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) of the point target, and the individual radial velocities that are estimated from the spectrum in the particular evaluation channels i, is given by equation (1)”; All individual velocities from all frequency positions (“first set of angular velocities” and “second set of angular velocities”) correspond to the projection of Cartesian velocities (“first set of Cartesian velocities” and “second set of Cartesian velocities”) as described by equation (1));
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, responsive to generating the set of paired Cartesian velocities, determines a set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object, and wherein each Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities is associated with a respective point on the detected object and is determined independent of each other object Cartesian velocity of the set of object Cartesian velocities (Schoor at para. [0041]: “Based on individual radial velocities vr, in the particular evaluation channels, the vector of Cartesian velocities vxy may then be estimated according to the least squares method”; para. [0050]: “The Cartesian velocity of the radar target is estimated in step S22 based on equations (1) and (2). For an output of the radar sensor, these equations may be transformed, for example, to a radial velocity and a tangential velocity (or angular velocity) relative to the origin”); and
wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Schoor at para. [0055]: “FIG. 6 schematically shows three located radar targets having different radial velocities vr, but for which the same Cartesian velocity (vx,vy) has been estimated. These radar targets are associated with an extended object 60”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer by adding the angular velocities of Schoor with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor is to provide rapid and simple estimation of a velocity of an extended radar object.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor does not explicitly state:
controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches:
controls the equipped vehicle based at least in part on the determined velocity of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Chen at para. [0080]: “method 900 include causing a driving path of the AV to be determined in view of the improved state vector of the object. Operations of block 940 can be performed similarly to operations of block 730 of method 700”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor by adding the angular velocities of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Regarding claim 32, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 29.
Chen further teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system determines a non-linear predicted path of the detected object based on the set of object Cartesian velocities, and wherein the vehicular driving assist system controls the equipped vehicle based on the non-linear predicted path of the detected object (Chen at para. [0036]: “The AVCS 140 can also include a driving path selection system for selecting a particular path through the immediate driving environment, which can include selecting a traffic lane, negotiating a traffic congestion, choosing a place to make a U-tum, selecting a trajectory for a parking maneuver, and so on”; para. [0072]: “The control system can determine a new path for the AV, which can include braking, changing lanes, stopping, backing up and so on. The control system can subsequently output instructions to powertrain and steering 150, vehicle electronics 160, signaling 170, etc., to ensure that the AV follows the determined driving path”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the non-linear predicted path of Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen is to improve accuracy of velocity determination.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Wang (US 2020/0371228 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 2.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen does not explicitly state wherein the vehicular driving assist system determines one or more candidate sets of object Cartesian velocities based on a range of yaw rates, and wherein each determined candidate set of object Cartesian velocities is determined based on a respective yaw rate of the range of yaw rates.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system determines one or more candidate sets of object Cartesian velocities based on a range of yaw rates, and wherein each determined candidate set of object Cartesian velocities is determined based on a respective yaw rate of the range of yaw rates (Wang at para. [0047]: “RANSAC methods may reject returns that were originally associated with the object 228, e.g., by the data association component 134, but that are not actually from the object 228”; para. [0048]: “a yaw rate, e.g., an instantaneous yaw rate, and an instantaneously two-dimensional velocity, can be determined for an object 228 based on radar data associated with the object 228”; para. [0055]: “the determination of the yaw rate and/or the two-dimensional velocity from a relatively larger set of returns can provide enhanced outlier rejection, thereby resulting in improved accuracy”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the range of yaw rates of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Wang is to improve accuracy of object detection. Specifically, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the outlier rejection of vehicle data based on the yaw rate as taught by Wang to reject outliers in the candidate sets of object Cartesian velocities of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen to improve accuracy in the data set.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen, Wang, and McEwan et al.(US 2021/0103050 A1, hereinafter “McEwan”).
Regarding claim 7, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Wang teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 6.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Wang does not explicitly state wherein the vehicular driving assist system determines a particular yaw rate from the range of yaw rates that minimizes an error between a set of predicted angular velocities and the first set of angular velocities or the second set of angular velocities, and wherein the vehicular driving assist system selects the determined candidate set of object Cartesian velocities based on the particular yaw rate as the set of object Cartesian velocities of the detected object.
Nevertheless, Wang at least suggests the idea of utilizing the yaw rate to provide outlier rejection for improving accuracy (see Wang at para. [0055]).
In the same field of endeavor, McEwan teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system determines a particular yaw rate from the range of yaw rates that minimizes an error between a set of predicted angular velocities and the first set of angular velocities or the second set of angular velocities, and wherein the vehicular driving assist system selects the determined candidate set of object Cartesian velocities based on the particular yaw rate as the set of object Cartesian velocities of the detected object (McEwan at para. [0053]: “The process 300 begins at block 305 in which vehicle 105 state data and corresponding radar data having lateral velocity greater than a predetermined lateral velocity threshold and/or a yaw rate greater than a predetermined yaw rate threshold is filtered, i.e., removed”; para. [0071]: “The above-mentioned thresholds can be determined based on sensor data collected via one or more suitable vehicle 105 sensor systems and empirical analysis applied to the sensor data”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Wang by adding the particular yaw rate of McEwan with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen, Wang, and McEwan is to improve accuracy of object detection. Specifically, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the outlier rejection of vehicle data based on the yaw rate as taught by Wang while utilizing the particular yaw rate to reduce noise as taught by McEwan to reject outliers in the candidate sets of object Cartesian velocities of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Wang to improve accuracy in the data set.
Claims 8, 14, 27, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Bongio Karrman et al. (US 2021/0255307 A1, hereinafter “Karrman”).
Regarding claim 8, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen does not explicitly state wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines heading of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Karrman teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines heading of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Karrman at para. [0026]: “The prediction component may use the velocity to predict a future state of a detected object based at least in part on the velocity, such as a predicted trajectory (e.g., predicted heading, predicted velocity, predicted path)”; para. [0061]: “the object 318 may have a center of rotation, c, and movement of the object 318 may be characterized by a velocity in the x-direction, e.g., a velocity Vx, a velocity in the y-direction, e.g., a velocity Vy, (at least in a Cartesian coordinate system, although other coordinate systems may be used)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the heading of Karrman with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Karrman is to improve accuracy of object detection.
Regarding claim 14, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 13.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen does not explicitly state wherein the outlier rejection process comprises a random sample consensus (RANSAC) filtering process.
In the same field of endeavor, Karrman teaches wherein the outlier rejection process comprises a random sample consensus (RANSAC) filtering process (Karrman at para. [0059]:“operation 312 may further comprise executing a RANSAC algorithm to reject outliers in the radar data and/or subset of the radar data. By way of non-limiting example, RANSAC methods may reject returns that were identified as being part of the subset of the radar data associated with the object 318, but that are not actually from the object 318”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the RANSAC filtering process of Karrman with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Karrman is to improve accuracy of object detection.
Regarding claim 27, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 23.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen does not explicitly state wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines heading of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Karrman teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of paired Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines heading of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Karrman at para. [0026]: “The prediction component may use the velocity to predict a future state of a detected object based at least in part on the velocity, such as a predicted trajectory (e.g., predicted heading, predicted velocity, predicted path)”; para. [0061]: “the object 318 may have a center of rotation, c, and movement of the object 318 may be characterized by a velocity in the x-direction, e.g., a velocity Vx, a velocity in the y-direction, e.g., a velocity Vy, (at least in a Cartesian coordinate system, although other coordinate systems may be used)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the heading of Karrman with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Karrman is to improve accuracy of object detection.
Regarding claim 33, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 29.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen does not explicitly state wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines heading of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Karrman teaches wherein the vehicular driving assist system, based on the set of object Cartesian velocities for the detected object, determines heading of the detected object relative to the equipped vehicle (Karrman at para. [0026]: “The prediction component may use the velocity to predict a future state of a detected object based at least in part on the velocity, such as a predicted trajectory (e.g., predicted heading, predicted velocity, predicted path)”; para. [0061]: “the object 318 may have a center of rotation, c, and movement of the object 318 may be characterized by a velocity in the x-direction, e.g., a velocity Vx, a velocity in the y-direction, e.g., a velocity Vy, (at least in a Cartesian coordinate system, although other coordinate systems may be used)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the heading of Karrman with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Karrman is to improve accuracy of object detection.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Ishiyama (JP 2000318485 A). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of Ishiyama.
Regarding claim 20, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen teaches the vehicular driving assist system of claim 1.
However, Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen does not explicitly state wherein the detected object comprises a leading vehicle in front of the equipped vehicle and within a traffic lane along which the equipped vehicle is traveling, and wherein controlling the equipped vehicle comprises controlling the equipped vehicle to follow the detected leading vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Ishiyama teaches wherein the detected object comprises a leading vehicle in front of the equipped vehicle and within a traffic lane along which the equipped vehicle is traveling, and wherein controlling the equipped vehicle comprises controlling the equipped vehicle to follow the detected leading vehicle (Ishiyama at para. [0008]: “This automatic following vehicle 1 is provided with a radar device 2 at the tip of the vehicle 1a. This radar device 2 emits a radar wave, reflects it on a reflector (not shown), which is a mirror-finished plate provided at the rear end of the front vehicle, and scans the reflected radar wave within a predetermined angle range. The received signal from the radar device 2 is output to the preceding vehicle recognizing means 12 of the controller 11”; para. [0009]: “A target steering angle calculation for calculating a target steering angle based on the brake command means 15 for outputting a control signal and the position data of the preceding vehicle obtained by the preceding vehicle recognition means 12 and outputting it as target steering angle data. The means 16 and the steering command means 17 for outputting a steering control signal based on the target steering angle data”; para. [0012]: “the controller 11 controls the accelerator, the brake, and the steering of the vehicle 1 so that the vehicle 1 follows the preceding vehicle and travels”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen by adding the controlling the equipped vehicle to follow the detected leading vehicle of Ishiyama with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Bialer in view of Schoor further in view of Chen and Ishiyama is to provide accurate following of a preceding vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found in the attached PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666