DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21, 28, 35 were amended, claims 21-40 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 28, 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Instant application 18/817,448
US 12079346 B2
21. An apparatus, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to the one or more processors and comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
causing generation of a prediction model based on training data;
causing application of the prediction model to input data corresponding to first software vulnerabilities,
wherein each of the first software vulnerabilities is associated with a first prediction that a first exploit will be developed for that particular first software vulnerability; and
receiving, based on the application of the prediction model to the input data, output data that indicates, for each of the first software vulnerabilities, a second prediction that the first exploit will also be used in an attack.
1. A device, comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to the one or more processors and comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform operations comprising:
receiving input data comprising one or more features for each software vulnerability of a plurality of software vulnerabilities; causing application of a prediction model to the input data; and
generating, based on the application of the prediction model to the input data, output data, wherein: the output data indicates a prediction of whether an exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities;
and the one or more features indicate a number of copies of software affected by each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities.
The device of claim 1, wherein the prediction of whether the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities comprises a prediction of whether the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities within a particular number of days.
6. The device of claim 1, wherein the output data indicates, for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities, a probability that the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities and used in an attack.
28. A method, comprising:
causing generation of a prediction model based on training data;
causing application of the prediction model to input data corresponding to first software vulnerabilities,
wherein each of the first software vulnerabilities is associated with a first prediction that a first exploit will be developed for that particular first software vulnerability; and
receiving, based on the application of the prediction model to the input data, output data that indicates, for each of the first software vulnerabilities, a second prediction that the first exploit will also be used in an attack.
7. A method, comprising:
receiving input data comprising one or more features for each software vulnerability of a plurality of software vulnerabilities; causing application of a prediction model to the input data; and
generating, based on the application of the prediction model to the input data, output data, wherein: the output data indicates a prediction of whether an exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities, and the one or more features indicate a number of copies of software affected by each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities.
10. The method of claim 7, wherein the prediction of whether the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities comprises a prediction of whether the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities within a particular number of days.
12. The method of claim 7, wherein the output data indicates, for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities, a probability that the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities and used in an attack.
35. One or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
causing generation of a prediction model based on training data;
causing application of the prediction model to input data corresponding to first software vulnerabilities,
wherein each of the first software vulnerabilities is associated with a first prediction that a first exploit will be developed for that particular first software vulnerability; and
receiving, based on the application of the prediction model to the input data, output data that indicates, for each of the first software vulnerabilities, a second prediction that the first exploit will also be used in an attack.
13. One or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving input data comprising one or more features for each software vulnerability of a plurality of software vulnerabilities;
causing application of a prediction model to the input data; and generating, based on the application of the prediction model to the input data, output data, wherein: the output data indicates a prediction of whether an exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities;
and the one or more features indicate a number of copies of software affected by each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities.
16. The one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media of claim 13, wherein the prediction of whether the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities comprises a prediction of whether the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities within a particular number of days.
18. The one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media of claim 13, wherein the output data indicates, for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities, a probability that the exploit will be developed for each software vulnerability of the plurality of software vulnerabilities and used in an attack.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12079346 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because similar limitations with minor obvious variations.
Similarly, Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11275844 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because similar limitations with minor obvious variations.
Similarly, Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 10762212 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because similar limitations with minor obvious variations.
Similarly, Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 10114954 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because similar limitations with minor obvious variations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24, 26-27, 28-29, 31, 33-36, 38, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copty et al. (US 20180232523 A1:IDS supplied) in view of WEI et al(CN 107798245 A).
With regards to claim 21, 28, 35 Copty discloses, An apparatus(FIG 3 and associated text; also apparatus run Method as per FIG 2a-2b; and One or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations as per [0006] ), comprising:
one or more processors (0091] In some exemplary embodiments, an Apparatus 300 may comprise one or more Processor(s) 302. Processor 302 may be a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a microprocessor, an electronic circuit, an Integrated Circuit (IC) or the like. Processor 302 may be utilized to perform computations required by Apparatus 300 or any of it subcomponents.); and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to the one or more processors and comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform operations ([0006] Yet another exemplary embodiment of the disclosed subject matter is a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium retaining program instructions, which program instructions when read by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method) comprising:
causing generation of a prediction model based on training data ([0061] On Step 220, a predictive model may be trained based on the set of variants and labels thereof. In some exemplary embodiments, the predictive model may be trained to determine which data is useful and which data is not needed, to give accurate predictions. The set of variant inputs may be used as a training data set to build the predictive model. A test set comprising inputs from the set of variant inputs may be used to validate the predictive model, after training thereof without the test set.[0067]);
wherein software vulnerabilities is associated with a prediction that a exploit will be developed for that particular software vulnerability ([0062] In some exemplary embodiments, an initial training set may be utilized prior to Step 220 to train an initial predictive model. The initial predictive model may be configured to predict whether an input would cause the program to reach one or more vulnerabilities…. In some exemplary embodiments, the refinement of the initial predictive model may be performed without re-using the initial training set. In some exemplary embodiments, the predictive model may be configured to predict whether an input would cause the program to reach the one or more vulnerabilities or the vulnerability.).
receiving, based on the application of the prediction model to the input data, output data that indicates, for each of the first software vulnerabilities, a second prediction that the first exploit will also be used in an attack ([0066] However, after one hour of generation, the generated inputs may be used to train the predictive model and create a first predictive model. After additional inputs are generated (e.g., in a second hour), a second predictive model may be created based on all the inputs generated thus far. It will be appreciated that any timeframe for an iteration may be defined by a user based on her preferences. [0046-0048] Predictive Model 150 may determine whether Input 142 would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability. Additionally or alternatively, Predictive Model 150 may output a confidence score for the classification of Input 142. The confidence score may be a probability of the classification being correct (e.g. the estimated probability that a safe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to not reach the vulnerability and the estimated probability that an unsafe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability).).
Copty does not exclusively but WEI teaches, determining data corresponding to first software vulnerabilities (Page 3 para 9; step three, searching for all the software bug prediction software, establishing the history of software vulnerability database, and marking each software component has a number of vulnerability from the disclosed software vulnerability database;), wherein each of the first software vulnerabilities is associated with a first prediction that a first exploit will be developed for that particular first software vulnerability (Page 3 para 10; step four, step two, calculating the network attribute value of each node to obtain as input for the machine learning algorithm, the number of vulnerabilities in step three as the output of a machine learning algorithm for training and testing the machine learning algorithm according to the performance evaluation index of the machine learning algorithm to determine the best performance prediction model;);
causing application of the prediction model to input the data (Page 3 para11; bug prediction of the new software component step five, obtained in the fourth step of best performance prediction model applied to the software project.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Copty’s method with teaching of WEI in order to Provide a software security vulnerability predicting method based on component dependency graph, from different angles provides a metric of software code to establish vulnerability prediction model (WEI abstract).
With regards to claim 22, 29, 36 Copty further discloses, wherein: the training data corresponds to second software vulnerabilities ([0018] In some exemplary embodiments, the input analysis platform may utilize an initial predictive model that is configured to predict whether an input would cause the program to reach one or more vulnerabilities. The one or more vulnerabilities may or may not comprise vulnerability that the predictive model is trained based on. When the predictive model is provided to the input analysis platform, it may replace the initial predictive model. In response to the replacement, the input analysis platform may utilize the predictive model instead of the initial predictive model, to perform predictions of whether an input would cause the program to the vulnerability. In some exemplary embodiments, the predictive model may be a refinement of the initial predictive model. The predictive model may be configured to predict whether an input would cause the program to reach the one or more vulnerabilities or the vulnerability. In some exemplary embodiments, the predictive model may be trained based on the initial predictive model in addition to the set of variant inputs and labels thereof. See also [0006];); and each of the second software vulnerabilities comprises a second exploit developed for that particular second software vulnerability ([0066] However, after one hour of generation, the generated inputs may be used to train the predictive model and create a first predictive model. After additional inputs are generated (e.g., in a second hour), a second predictive model may be created based on all the inputs generated thus far. It will be appreciated that any timeframe for an iteration may be defined by a user based on her preferences. Note: second predictive model uses output of first predictive model [0046-0048] Predictive Model 150 may determine whether Input 142 would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability. Additionally or alternatively, Predictive Model 150 may output a confidence score for the classification of Input 142. The confidence score may be a probability of the classification being correct (e.g. the estimated probability that a safe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to not reach the vulnerability and the estimated probability that an unsafe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability)).
With regards to claims 24, 31, 38 Copty further discloses, wherein each of the second software vulnerabilities indicates whether the second exploit was used in a successflul attack ([0046] Additionally or alternatively, Predictive Model 150 may output a confidence score for the classification of Input 142. The confidence score may be a probability of the classification being correct (e.g. the estimated probability that a safe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to not reach the vulnerability and the estimated probability that an unsafe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability).
With regards to claim 27, 34, Copty further discloses, the operations further comprising generating the prediction model using machine learning ([0026] Another technical solution is to perform feature learning. In some exemplary embodiments, feature learning may be performed over the set of variant inputs, to automatically identify a vector of features representing inputs to be used by the machine learning modules. The feature learning may be performed based on the sample input and information provided about the sample input during generation of the variant inputs process (e.g., the mutation performed in genetic fuzz testing that created a variant input reaching the vulnerability), information provided by the auto-encoder neural network or the like. In some exemplary embodiments, pairs of inputs may be obtained, either by comparing the pairs after each input is created or by method of production thereof.).
With regards to claims 26, 33, 40 Copty further discloses, wherein the prediction is used to adjust a risk score of one or more of the first software vulnerabilities ([0046-0048] Predictive Model 150 may determine whether Input 142 would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability. Additionally or alternatively, Predictive Model 150 may output a confidence score for the classification of Input 142. The confidence score may be a probability of the classification being correct (e.g. the estimated probability that a safe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to not reach the vulnerability and the estimated probability that an unsafe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability). [0037] In some exemplary embodiments, Fuzzing Platform 110 may be configured to generate inputs based on a coverage metric, such as code coverage metric, path coverage metric, branch coverage metric, or the like. Fuzzing Platform 110 may employ a heuristic approach to input generation to improve the score of the coverage metric..
Claims 23, 25, 30, 32, 37, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copty et al(US 20180232523 A1:IDS supplied) in view of WEI et al(CN 107798245 A) and further in view of Sagoo et al(US 20070192866 A1).
With regards to claim 23, 30, 37 Copty in view of WEI do not but , Sagoo teaches, wherein each of the software vulnerabilities indicates whether the exploit was developed within a particular time period ([0121] E-mail worms (a threat to which systems might be exposed) might be described (in two dimensions) according to the probability that an e-mail sent across Internet links (an element of the Attack risk entity) will be carrying a worm of a given age (in hours) which exploits a software vulnerability of a given age (in days).). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Copty in view of WEI’s device/ptoduct/method with teaching of Sagoo in order to preventing malicious application behaviors, and more particularly, to using information on malicious application behaviors among device (Sagoo [0003])
With regards to claim 25, 32, 39 Copty in view of WEI and Sagoo discloses, wherein each of the second software vulnerabilities indicates whether the second exploit was used in the successful attack (Copty [0046] Additionally or alternatively, Predictive Model 150 may output a confidence score for the classification of Input 142. The confidence score may be a probability of the classification being correct (e.g. the estimated probability that a safe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to not reach the vulnerability and the estimated probability that an unsafe-labeled input would cause Program 102 to reach the vulnerability), whether the exploit was used in the attack within a particular time period ([0121] E-mail worms (a threat to which systems might be exposed) might be described (in two dimensions) according to the probability that an e-mail sent across Internet links (an element of the Attack risk entity) will be carrying a worm of a given age (in hours) which exploits a software vulnerability of a given age (in days).). Motivation would be same as stated in claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8099785 B1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED WALIULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498 18922772’