DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 is suggested changed to “A terminal apparatus that transmits a request for a location information service, to which identification information of a terminal apparatus provided by a display communication processing apparatus is added, to the display communication processing apparatus.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is written with only a preamble with claim body entirely omitted. Although it is possible in theory, it is not the case for claim 8 because the preamble does not claim a complete invention. Specifically, claim 8 recites “a request for a location information service” but fails to provide a purpose of the request. An essential, subsequent step/action following obtaining a result from the request to specify how the location information service is used to achieve a specific purpose/goal should be provided to make the invention meaningful and complete. Furthermore, it is unclear what is referred to by “location information” associated with the location information service, e.g., information on a location of the terminal apparatus, information on a location of the display communication processing apparatus, or information on a location of another terminal apparatus/display communication processing apparatus. For the above reasons, the current claim 8 does not have a definite patent scope.
Claim 9 is rejected because it depends on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2016/0125464).
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches a terminal apparatus (Fig. 1: terminal 11) that transmits a request for a location information service ([0045]: “location information service” is interpreted as service of verifying information stored in the DB server 16 related with the corresponding to the terminal 11, which results from a request triggered by terminal 11 transmitting its identification information through WAS 13 via web server 12; [0047]: “the web server 12 acquires and provides information stored in the DB server 16 through the WAS 13 in response to the request of the terminal 11”), to which identification information of a terminal apparatus ([0045]: “The web server 12 verifies information stored in the DB server 16 related with the corresponding to the terminal 11 through the WAS 13 based on identification information transmitted from the terminal 11 and provides the verified information to the terminal 11”; Examiner’s Note: “identification information of a terminal apparatus” is interpreted as the verified information corresponding to identification information transmitted from the terminal 11) provided by a display communication processing apparatus (Fig. 1: DB server 16) is added, to the display communication processing apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 10-16 are allowed.
Claims 1 and 10 each is allowed primarily because it is not obvious to achieve all features of claim 1 and claim 11 as a whole by combining different techniques. Some exemplary prior art is listed as follows:
US 2020/0273425 teaches in Fig. 1 display apparatuses 30 (Note: according to [0033], “The display apparatus 30 may, for example, be configured as a computer which performs a predetermined operation by execution of an arbitrary program stored in the storage device 34 in FIG. 2 by the processing device 33 in FIG. 2”; according to [0034], “The output device 35 in FIG. 2 is configured to output any visual information to an operator, and may be provided with a display device” teaches a display in the display apparatus 30) are configured to be able to be connected with each other and the host controller 10 via connection interface 32 (Fig. 2) and network 20 (Note: according to [0031], “the network 20 may be provided with an antenna to realize a wireless communication” implies that the connection interface includes an antenna, i.e., equivalence to first antenna in claim 1) and to be able to be connected with terminal 40 via near field communication antenna 37 (equivalence to second antenna in claim 1). US 2020/0273425 further teaches in Fig. 4 and [0041]-[0043] “when the terminal 40 and the display apparatus 30B are connected by Near Field Communication, the terminal 40 requests transmission of identification information or data including the identification information to the display apparatus 30B”, “the terminal 40 stores the received data including the identification information to the storage device 44”. US 2020/0273425, however, does not teach features associated a third antenna of claim 1.
US 2021/0019769 teaches in Figs. 1-5 a plurality of display communication processing apparatus (i.e., support stand with detachable display 202) connected to each other and network 16 via first wireless communication unit 114 and a mobile device/terminal is connected to a support stand when being attached to the support stand. However, it does not teach about a service from the network is provided to the mobile device via an antenna of the support stand.
US 2011/0110336 teaches a radio communication apparatus configured to use one of the application servers via the first base station, wherein, when the radio communication apparatus is handed over to the second base station, it is determined whether to switch the application server that the radio communication apparatus uses to another application server, which is related to one technique disclosed by the instant application.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XUEMEI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629