DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In view of Applicants argument, see Remarks of 08/14/2026 Page 9, disclosing “Because a plurality of bead rollers rotatably coupled to the centering bead is shown in Figs. 3A-3C, 5A, 5B, 6A, and 6B, no corrected drawing sheets are required and no cancelation of claim 10 is necessary.”. Examiner disagrees. Applicant has argued and highlighted many elements in the claim except for the claimed “wheels”. Applicant argues “Because a plurality of bead rollers rotatably coupled to the centering bead is shown” while the claimed subject matter of Claim 10 discloses “wherein the plurality of wheels comprise a plurality of bead rollers rotatably coupled to the centering bead”. Applicant has failed to highlight and point to the plurality of wheels comprising bead rollers, nor is a wheel as described in the Specification as element 210, disclosed in any Figs. 3A-3C, 5A, 5B, 6A, and 6B. Therefore the Drawing Objection stands.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21-24 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. A description of the mutually exclusive characteristics of each species or grouping of species is as follows:
Claims 21-24 are directed to a centering bead comprising a tubular body having a central aperture extending therethrough, wherein at least a portion of a plurality of bead rollers projects beyond an outer surface of the tubular body.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, Claims 21-24 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of wheels comprise a plurality of bead rollers” of Claim 10, “the body portion configured to couple to the shaft” of Claim 1must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The Examiner request clearly citing the element numbers of the shaft, tubular body, and body portion. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 discloses “wherein the plurality of wheels comprise a plurality of bead rollers rotatably coupled to the centering bead”. The Specification fails to clearly point out the wheel element of 210 comprising a plurality of bead rollers 310. Applicant’s Specification supports the centering bead assembly including a plurality of bead rollers. However wheels comprising a plurality of bead rollers fails to be clearly defined, thus Claim 10 is considered indefinite. All subsequent claims are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wekell (US 20190049410), hereinafter ‘Wekell’.
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1, Wekell discloses a centering assembly for an eddy current probe (Abstract) having a shaft, comprising: a body portion (Fig. 4, 60) configured to couple to the shaft (Fig. 9, showing probe center/interior occupied by shaft); and a plurality of wheels rotatably coupled to the body portion (Fig. 2, balls 10; Para [0031] Front cover 60 has slots 61 that limit the ball travel and retain the balls 10), wherein each of the plurality of wheels is received within the body portion (Figs. 2 and 6) such that at least a portion less than an entirety of each of the plurality of wheels projects beyond an outer surface of the body portion (Figs. 2 and 6, showing balls 10 projecting beyond outer surface of body portion).
Regarding Claim 2, Wekell further discloses wherein the body portion comprises: a tubular or frustoconical base (Fig. 4, element 60 as annotated below), and a plurality of resilient cantilevered legs (Fig. 6, 61) that project radially and distally outwardly from the tubular or frustoconical base (Fig. 4), wherein the plurality of wheels are positioned within at least two of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs (Fig. 2, showing balls 10 positioned within at least two of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs).
Regarding Claim 3, Wekell further discloses wherein the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs are circumferentially spaced from each other, and wherein the plurality of wheels are positioned alternately within axial slots in every other one of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs (Fig. 2, balls 10 shown positioned alternately within axial slots in every other one of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs).
Regarding Claim 5, Wekell further disclose wherein the plurality of wheels are provided on each of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wekell (US 20190049410), hereinafter ‘Wekell’.
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 4, Wekell discloses the assembly of claim 3 above. Wekell further discloses wherein the plurality of wheels comprise three wheels (Fig. 1, showing three balls 10).
Wekell discloses the claimed invention of five circumferentially spaced resilient cantilevered legs (Fig. 5) except for the wherein the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs comprise six circumferentially spaced resilient cantilevered legs. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and an obvious matter of design choice to, to modify wherein the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs comprise six circumferentially spaced resilient cantilevered legs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device and/or since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Benis Co., 193 USPQ 8, In re Rose, 105 uspq 237 (CCPA 1955), In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wekell (US 20190049410), hereinafter ‘Wekell’ as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Napeloni et al. (US 4843896), hereinafter ‘Napeloni’.
Regarding Claim 6, Wekell fails to disclose wherein each of the every other one of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs that include axial slots further include axle apertures formed transversely through the axial slots, and wherein each of the plurality of wheels are coupled to the body portion via respective axles received within the axial apertures.
Napeloni discloses an inspection probe comprising a plurality of resilient cantilevered legs (Fig. 1, legs holding wheels 116 as annotated in Fig. 1 below) that include axial slots further include axle apertures formed transversely through the axial slots, and wherein each of the plurality of wheels (Fig. 1, 116) are coupled to a body portion (Fig. 1, 70) via respective axles received within the axial apertures (Fig. 1, 114; Col. 3, Lines 29-30 wheel is pivotally connected at end 114) for the benefit of constantly maintaining the probe on the same or parallel longitudinal axis or orientation as the vessel inspecting the vessel (Abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and provide wherein each of the every other one of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs that include axial slots further include axle apertures formed transversely through the axial slots, and wherein each of the plurality of wheels are coupled to the body portion via respective axles received within the axial apertures for the benefit of constantly maintaining the probe on the same or parallel longitudinal axis or orientation as the vessel inspecting the vessel as taught by Napeloni in the Abstract, Fig. 1, and Col. 3, Lines 29-30.
Regarding Claim 8, Wekell in view of Napeloni further disclose wherein an outside diameter of each of the plurality of wheels is significantly larger than an outside diameter of each of the axles (Wekell in view of Napeloni, Napeloni wheel is 116 larger than pivot connection 114).
Regarding Claim 9, Wekell in view of Napeloni further discloses wherein an outside diameter of each of the plurality of wheels is larger than an outside diameter of each of the axles (Wekell in view of Napeloni, Napeloni wheel is 116 larger than pivot connection 114) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein an outside diameter of each of the plurality of wheels is approximately three times larger than an outside diameter of each of the axles.
Nonetheless, modifying Napeloni to have the relative dimensions of the wheels approximately three times larger than an outside diameter of each axle as recited in the claims would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brignac et al. (US 20080289421), hereinafter ‘Brignac’, and further in view of Napeloni et al. (US 4843896), hereinafter ‘Napeloni’.
Regarding Claim 1, Brignac discloses a centering assembly (Fig. 1, centering apparatus 100; Para [0019] the expansion mechanism 118 is configured to outwardly extend the second end of the first and second plurality of fingers 106 with respect to a longitudinal axis 120 of the shaft member 102, so as to bring the rotatable rollers 114 into contact with an inner surface 122 of the tube to be inspected, thereby centering the inspection probe 104 with respect to the inside diameter of the tube 116) for an eddy current probe (Para [0003] use within field of eddy current inspection) having a shaft (Fig. 1, shaft 102), comprising: a body portion (Fig. 1, fingers 106) configured to couple to the shaft (Fig. 1, 106 coupled to 108/102; Para [0017] fingers 106 is pivotally attached at a first end thereof to a mounting surface 108 affixed to one end 112 of the shaft member 102); and a plurality of wheels rotatably coupled to the body portion (Fig. 1, plurality of rotatable roller 114 coupled to 106), wherein a portion of each of the plurality of wheels projects beyond an outer surface of the body portion (Fig. 2, showing 114 projecting out beyond portion 104).
Brignac fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of wheels is received within the body portion such that a portion less than an entirety of each of the plurality of wheels projects beyond an outer surface of the body portion.
Napeloni discloses an inspection probe comprising a plurality of wheels (Fig. 1, 116) is received within a body portion (Fig. 1, 70) such that a portion less than an entirety of each of the plurality of wheels projects beyond an outer surface of the body portion (Fig. 1, wheels project beyond outer surface of body portion 70 at end 114; Col. 3, lines 28-31) for the benefit of constantly maintaining the probe on the same or parallel longitudinal axis or orientation as the vessel inspecting the vessel (Abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and provide wherein each of the plurality of wheels is received within the body portion such that a portion less than an entirety of each of the plurality of wheels projects beyond an outer surface of the body portion for the benefit of constantly maintaining the probe on the same or parallel longitudinal axis or orientation as the vessel inspecting the vessel as taught by Napeloni in the Abstract, Col. 3, lines 28-31, and in Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 2, Brignac further discloses wherein the body portion comprises: a tubular or frustoconical base (Fig 1, 106 shown as elongated tubular shape).
Brignac fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of resilient cantilevered legs that project radially and distally outwardly from the tubular or frustoconical base wherein the plurality of wheels are positioned within at least two of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs.
Napeloni discloses a plurality of resilient cantilevered legs that project radially and distally outwardly from the tubular or frustoconical base wherein the plurality of wheels are positioned within at least two of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 7, the closest prior art fails to disclose nor would it be obvious to combine “wherein a remaining plurality of resilient cantilevered legs that do not include wheels comprise axle access grooves formed in an outer surface thereof and aligned with the axle apertures within the alternating resilient cantilevered legs” in combination with all other limitations of the claim and base claim renders the claim allowable over the prior art.
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 20, the closest prior art fails to disclose nor would it be obvious to combine “a plurality of probe centering wheels rotatably coupled to the tubular or frustoconical base and positioned within at least two of the plurality of resilient cantilevered legs, wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of probe centering wheels projects beyond an outer surface of the tubular or frustoconical base; and wherein the at least one centering bead comprises: a curvilinear outer surface having a maximum outside diameter at its axial midpoint, a plurality of roller apertures formed at the axial midpoint for receiving a respective plurality of bead rollers, and wherein the plurality of bead rollers are rotatably coupled within the plurality of roller apertures” in combination with all other limitations of the claim renders the claim allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALESA ALLGOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858