DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed August 28, 2024 has been considered.
________________________________________
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because the phrase "the fans has a second axis of rotation" contains a grammatical error. Claim 1 introduces a fan, and the plural noun "fans" does not agree with "has".
Suggested Correction: In claim 2, replace "the fans has a second axis of rotation" with "the fan has a second axis of rotation".
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 4,353,309 A.
Reference 2 - US 2008/0179973 A1.
Reference 3 - US 2014/0062371 A1.
Reference 4 - EP 3,876,399 A1.
Reference 5 - US 2008/0089025 A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A bogie for a rail vehicle, comprising a bogie frame with two longitudinal beams, (L2) a traction motor with a motor shaft, wherein the traction motor is arranged between the longitudinal beams, (L3) a cooling device by which the traction motor can be cooled, wherein the cooling device comprises a fan and a fan drive (L4) which can be operated independently of a rotational speed of the motor shaft, (L5) wherein the cooling device is arranged between the longitudinal beams.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses a railway vehicle truck or bogie having longitudinal side frames 8 and 9 supporting wheelsets 1 and 2, Figures 1-4. (L2) Traction motors 30 and 31 are mounted on respective live axles 4 between side frames 8 and 9; each motor has a casing 36 or 37 and a power-transmitting shaft parallel to its associated axle, column 3, lines 45-65 and Figure 2. (L3) Reference 2 discloses electric motor cooling fan 1200 mounted directly to electric motor 1100, paragraphs [0026]-[0029] and Figures 1-2. (L4) Auxiliary motor 1030 is distinct from electric motor 1100 and drives cooling fan 1200, paragraph [0027]. Reference 2 explains that this independently driven blower provides airflow regardless of main-motor speed, paragraphs [0002]-[0003]. (L5) Applying Reference 2's directly mounted cooling fan to either Reference 1 traction motor in its existing between-side-frame location places the compact fan and its drive in the available envelope above and between side frames 8 and 9. This final spatial relationship is the proposed installation, not a measurement from an unscaled figure.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to equip each selected traction motor of Reference 1 with Reference 2's directly mounted fan and distinct auxiliary motor while retaining Reference 1's between-side-frame motor installation. Reference 2 identifies inadequate low-speed airflow from a main-shaft fan and teaches a directly mounted auxiliary blower that avoids complex ductwork. The auxiliary blower is compatible with the accessible motor envelope between Reference 1's side frames and does not alter the axle drive connection. The predictable result is compact cooling that remains effective independently of traction-motor shaft speed.
________________________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 1, wherein (L1) the motor shaft has a first axis of rotation and wherein the fans has a second axis of rotation, (L2) wherein the first axis of rotation and the second axis of rotation are essentially orthogonal to the direction of travel.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 1 and its complete combination of References 1 and 2 are incorporated. (L1) Reference 1 mounts each traction motor with its shaft parallel to live axle 4, and Reference 2 discloses a separate fan shaft driven by auxiliary motor 1030. Reference 2 further teaches top-mounted vertical or horizontal fan-unit orientations, paragraphs [0025]-[0028] and Figures 1 and 13-14. (L2) Reference 1's axle-parallel motor shaft is transverse to rail travel. Retaining Reference 2's illustrated top-mounted blower gives a substantially vertical fan axis. Both the transverse motor axis and vertical fan axis are essentially orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of rail travel.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's transverse traction-motor shaft and use Reference 2's top-mounted blower orientation. Reference 2 expressly permits vertical or horizontal blower mounting and identifies direct mounting and maintenance access as design benefits. A vertical blower axis on the top of the transverse motor avoids interference with the axle and transmission, makes technical sense in the available bogie envelope, and predictably leaves both rotational axes orthogonal to travel.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 1, wherein (L1) at least one of the traction motor and the fan and the fan drive are arranged at least partially between two wheels of an axle of the bogie.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 1 and its complete combination of References 1 and 2 are incorporated. (L1) Reference 1 mounts traction motor 30 or 31 directly on live axle 4 within the lateral span between the two wheels 3 of its wheelset, Figures 1-3 and column 3, lines 45-65. The stated at-least-one alternative is therefore met by the traction motor. Directly mounting Reference 2's blower does not disturb that motor placement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's axle-mounted traction motor between wheels 3 when adding Reference 2's auxiliary blower. Keeping the established motor bearings, axle gearing and casing restraint avoids redesign of the traction load path. The directly mounted blower predictably cools the same motor while the traction motor remains at least partly between the wheels.
________________________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 3, wherein (L1) the fan drive is arranged orthogonally to the direction of travel closer to one of the wheels than the traction motor and the fan.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 3, including claim 1 and the complete combination of References 1 and 2, are incorporated. (L1) Reference 4 discloses a traction-motor assembly having drive side E and opposite side O, with the traction-motor body followed by fan 20 and auxiliary motor 22 toward opposite side O, paragraphs [0021], [0028] and [0031]-[0035], Figures 1 and 2. Installing that disclosed component order on Reference 1's transverse axle-mounted traction motor, while retaining Reference 1's wheelset and drive connection, places auxiliary motor 22 toward the opposite-side wheel. The auxiliary fan drive is therefore closer to that wheel than the traction-motor body and fan 20. This relationship follows from the disclosed component order and transverse installation, not from measuring an unscaled drawing.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange Reference 4's integrated fan 20 and auxiliary motor 22 on the opposite side O of Reference 1's transverse traction motor while retaining the existing drive-side wheelset connection. Reference 4 locates the auxiliary drive beyond the fan to provide independent forced ventilation without disturbing the main-motor drive side. Preserving that order is mechanically compatible with Reference 1's axle-mounted motor and keeps the auxiliary drive away from the transmission. The predictable result places the fan drive nearer the opposite-side wheel than the traction-motor body and fan.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 1, wherein (L1) the bogie has a transmission which mechanically operatively connects the motor shaft and at least one wheelset shaft, (L2) the traction motor and the fan being arranged orthogonally to the direction of travel between the fan drive and the transmission.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 1 and its complete combination of References 1 and 2 are incorporated. (L1) Reference 1 connects each traction motor 30 or 31 to live axle 4 through the associated axle-drive transmission, column 3, lines 45-65 and Figures 1-3. (L2) Reference 4 discloses the order drive side E, traction-motor body, fan 20, auxiliary motor 22 and opposite side O, paragraphs [0021], [0028] and [0031]-[0035], Figures 1 and 2. Coupling drive side E to Reference 1's wheelset transmission and retaining Reference 4's opposite-side fan and auxiliary motor places the traction motor and fan between the auxiliary fan drive and the transmission in the transverse direction of Reference 1's bogie.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect drive side E of Reference 4's traction-motor assembly to Reference 1's wheelset transmission and retain fan 20 and auxiliary motor 22 on opposite side O. This preserves Reference 1's mechanical traction-power path while providing Reference 4's independently driven cooling on the non-drive side. The arrangement separates the fan drive from the transmission and avoids interference with the drive-side connection. The predictable result is the disclosed transverse order with the traction motor and fan between the auxiliary fan drive and transmission.
________________________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 1, wherein (L1) the cooling device can be supplied with electric current by a cooling converter.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 1 and its complete combination of References 1 and 2 are incorporated. (L1) Reference 3 discloses inverter 131 supplying electrical power to traction motor blower 135, paragraph [0014]. Blower 135 is powered by a blower motor that receives electrical power from inverter 131, and the separate inverter permits blower speed to be controlled independently of traction-motor speed, paragraph [0016]. Inverter 131 therefore supplies the electrically driven cooling device and is the claimed cooling converter.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to supply Reference 2's auxiliary motor and cooling fan from Reference 3's dedicated inverter. Reference 3 teaches that a separately supplied traction-motor blower can be controlled independently of traction-motor speed, which is the same operating objective served by Reference 2's distinct auxiliary fan drive. Connecting the auxiliary fan motor to the dedicated inverter is electrically and functionally compatible with the combined bogie and cooling system, and predictably provides controllable cooling current independently of the traction motor.
________________________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 6, wherein (L1) the bogie has a plurality of cooling devices, and (L2) one cooling converter is formed for each cooling device.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 6, including claim 1 and the complete combination of References 1-3, are incorporated. (L1) Reference 3 explains that a locomotive may include a plurality of traction motor blowers 135, paragraph [0016]. (L2) Reference 3 further teaches an embodiment in which each of a plurality of distinct inverters supplies electrical power to a distinct component, paragraph [0014]. Applying that expressly disclosed distinct-inverter architecture to the plurality of traction-motor blowers gives each blower its own inverter, thereby forming one cooling converter for each cooling device.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate the independently driven cooling device for the bogie's traction motors and assign a distinct Reference 3 inverter to each blower. Reference 3 teaches both plural traction-motor blowers and distinct inverters supplying distinct components, while its separate-inverter arrangement permits independent blower-speed control. Repeating the same inverter-fed blower channel for each cooled motor is electrically modular, avoids coupling blower control to another motor's cooling demand, and predictably provides independently controllable cooling for each device.
________________________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 1, wherein (L1) the traction motor is arranged in a motor housing, (L2) the fan and the fan drive are arranged in a cooling housing, (L3) wherein the motor housing and the cooling housing are fluidically connected, and (L4) the cooling housing is detachably flanged to the motor housing.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 1 and its complete combination of References 1 and 2 are incorporated. (L1) Reference 2 houses electric motor 1100 in motor enclosure 1040 and exterior housing 1050, paragraphs [0027]-[0029]. (L2) Auxiliary blower 13000 comprises auxiliary motor 13100 and fan 13700 as one fan unit, paragraphs [0044]-[0045] and Figures 13-14. (L3) Cooling fan 1200 communicates with air inlets 1300, rotor end areas 1400, air channel 1700 and exhaust ports 1800 of motor 1100, paragraph [0029] and Figure 2. (L4) The fan unit is directly and releasably coupled to exterior housing 1050 by mounting flange 13300 and fasteners received in apertures 13400-13600, paragraphs [0028], [0044] and [0047]-[0051].
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2's disclosed releasably flanged blower unit when adding independent cooling to Reference 1's traction motor. Reference 2 teaches one standardized blower that bolts directly to different motor enclosures without additional ductwork and can be removed for maintenance. The flange joins the blower flow path to the motor's internal channels while preserving separate motor and blower housings. The arrangement is mechanically compatible with Reference 1's motor casing and predictably provides serviceable, independent cooling.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 5.
Claim Text
The bogie according to claim 8, wherein (L1) the cooling housing has an axial air inlet and a radial air outlet.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 8, including claim 1 and the complete combination of References 1 and 2, are incorporated. (L1) Reference 5 discloses a compact fan arrangement in which air enters axially along airflow paths 126 and 134 and exits radially along airflow path 127 from the fan-side air-directing structure, Figures 9-12 and 17 and the accompanying description. Applying that axial-inlet and radial-outlet geometry to Reference 2's releasably flanged blower housing retains the direct fluid connection to the motor while providing the recited inlet and outlet directions. Reference 5 is relied upon for the airflow geometry, not for Reference 2's motor-housing flange or the inherited bogie arrangement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure Reference 2's detachable blower housing with Reference 5's axial inlet and radial outlet. Reference 5 uses that flow geometry to admit air along the fan axis and discharge it laterally after the fan changes the flow direction. The geometry is compatible with Reference 2's directly mounted blower because it changes the external intake and exhaust paths without altering the flange, auxiliary motor or motor-cooling connection. The predictable result is a compact removable cooling housing having axial intake and radial discharge.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A rail vehicle with at least one bogie according to claim 1.
Analysis
The limitations of claim 1 and its complete combination of References 1 and 2 are incorporated. (L1) Reference 1 expressly provides its motorized truck as a bogie supporting a railway vehicle body. Equipping that bogie with Reference 2's independently driven motor-cooling blower as analyzed for claim 1 provides the recited rail vehicle.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 1's motorized bogie, as modified with Reference 2's cooling arrangement, in the railway vehicle for which Reference 1 designed it. The auxiliary blower cools the traction motor during vehicle operation and does not alter the bogie's body-support or wheelset functions. The predictable result is a rail vehicle having at least one such cooled motorized bogie.
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 2 is also objected to for the grammatical error identified above. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 10 requires the distance between the two longitudinal beams, measured along the motor shaft, to be 2.4 to 3.6 times the axial extent of the traction motor. US 5,789,833 A shows compact rail-traction-motor placement and detailed bogie mounting, but does not disclose the claimed numerical relationship. US 2022/0009528 A1 shows a permanent-magnet motor arranged with longitudinal bogie beams, but likewise does not disclose the claimed beam-spacing-to-motor-extent ratio. The numerical values in US 4,353,309 A concern wheel conicity and suspension-pad stiffness rather than the claimed dimensional relationship. The claimed range is not shown or suggested by the closest reviewed publications.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 5,789,833 A was compared for compact rail-traction-motor placement and detailed bogie mounting, but it uses shaft-driven internal ventilation and does not disclose the claimed beam-spacing-to-motor-length ratio. US 2011/0169356 A1 was compared for axial intake and radial exhaust openings in a motor end structure, but its fan is driven by the main rotor shaft and it does not provide the separately driven detachable cooling housing of the applied combination. US 4,971,518 A was compared for a separately driven locomotive-ventilation fan and flanged duct connections, but its duct flanges do not disclose the detachable cooling-housing-to-traction-motor-housing relationship of claim 8.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615